Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 89-91 are rejected under 112 second paragraph since claims 89-91 recited in optional format (i.e “in a case”) and not a positive recitation. Words such as “may, might, can, could, in case, when, potentially, possibly” are optional language and do not narrow claim limitations (In re Johnston, 77 USPQ2d 1788 (Fed Cir 2006)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 12-13, 18, 22, 27, 30, 36, 81-82 and 87-92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No, US 2022/0201791 to Yao et al. (hereinafter Yao)
As to claims 1, 22, 81 and 82, Yao discloses a method for configuring a radio resource control (RRC) state, comprising:
setting, by a user equipment (UE), an RRC state as a first RRC state according to configuration by a network device, wherein the first RRC state is an RRC state where the UE needs not listen to a paging from a radio access network (RAN) and a downlink transmission is not performed until the UE initiates an uplink transition (Yao; Fig.3; [0059] shows RRC inactive state corresponding to an RRC state as a first RRC state; [0064]-[0065] discloses RRC inactive state is configured by a network node (i.e. gNB). Fig.4:403; [0066] when the UE is in RRC inactive state, the UE sends an RRC resume request (RRCResumeRequest) message to the gNB corresponding to uplink transmission and Fig.4:405 [0068] shows and discloses the terminal receives the RRC resume message from the gNB corresponding to downlink transmission means a downlink transmission is not performed until the UE initiates an uplink transition. [0082] discloses When the terminal is in the RRC inactive state, the terminal usually tries to enter the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in four scenarios. Scenario 1 is receiving RAN paging from a network. Scenario 2 is triggering an uplink service or NAS signaling procedure. Scenario 3 is before a RAN-based notification area update (RAN-based notification area update, RNAU) needs to be performed after the terminal moves. Scenario 4 is after a preset timer (for example, T380) expires if the uplink service is not triggered. For Scenario 2, UE is in RRC inactive state where the UE needs not listen to a paging from a radio access network (RAN) to switch from RRC inactive state to RRC active state. Fig.4 also shows a UE in RRC inactive state can switch to RRC connection state without paging message)
wherein the first RRC state is:
a sub-state of a normal RRC INACTIVE state; or
an independent RRC state of the normal RRC INACTIVE state; or
a state where a RAN Notification Area Update (RNAU) is not performed (Yao; [0082] discloses When the terminal is in the RRC inactive state, the terminal usually tries to enter the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in four scenarios. Scenario 1 is receiving RAN paging from a network. Scenario 2 is triggering an uplink service or NAS signaling procedure. Scenario 3 is before a RAN-based notification area update (RAN-based notification area update, RNAU) needs to be performed after the terminal moves. Scenario 4 is after a preset timer (for example, T380) expires if the uplink service is not triggered. For Scenario 2 and Scenario 4, a UE is in RRC inactive state where the UE does not perform RAN Notification Area Update (RNAU) to switch from RRC inactive state to RRC active state. Here Yao is applied for the last alternative)
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses further comprising:
sending, by the UE, a resume request to the network device in the first RRC state (Yao; Fig.4:402; 403; [0065]-[0066] shows and discloses the UE sends a RRC resume request when the UE is in RRC inactive state (=first RRC state). Here Yao is applied for the 1st alternative) ; or
receiving, by the UE, a resume message sent by the network device; or
receiving, by the UE, downlink data sent by the network device after the UE switches the RRC state from the first RRC state to an active state according to the resume message, or
wherein the downlink data is downlink data that is not paged upon arriving at the network device and that is cached by the network device before the network device receives the resume request.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses further comprising:
canceling or not using, by the UE, periodic RNAU in the first RRC state, or canceling or not using, by the UE, RNAU triggered by change of RAN notification area (RNA) in the first RRC state (Yao; [0082] discloses When the terminal is in the RRC inactive state, the terminal usually tries to enter the RRC connected state from the RRC inactive state in four scenarios. Scenario 1 is receiving RAN paging from a network. Scenario 2 is triggering an uplink service or NAS signaling procedure. Scenario 3 is before a RAN-based notification area update (RAN-based notification area update, RNAU) needs to be performed after the terminal moves. Scenario 4 is after a preset timer (for example, T380) expires if the uplink service is not triggered means the UE is not using RNAU for Scenario 1, Scenario 2 and Scenario 4 when the UE is in RRC inactive state)
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses wherein
setting, by the UE, the RRC state as the first RRC state according to the configuration by the network device (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]), comprises:
receiving, by the UE, a RRC connection release message sent by the network device (Yao; Fig.4:401; 402);
switching, by the UE, the RRC state from an active state to the normal RRC_INACTIVE state according to the RRC connection release message (Yao; Fig.4:402):
receiving, by the UE, first configuration signaling sent by the network device (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]), and
switching, by the UE, the RRC state from the normal RRC INACTIVE state to the first RRC state according to the first configuration signaling (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]);
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the UE, second configuration signaling sent by the network device (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]); and
switching, by the UE, the RRC state from the first RRC state to the normal RRC INACTIVE state according to the second configuration signaling (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077])
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses wherein setting, by the UE, the RRC state as the first RRC state according to the configuration by the network device, comprises:
receiving, by the UE, third configuration signaling sent by the network device (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]); and
switching, by the UE, the RRC state from an active state to the first RRC state according to the third configuration signaling (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]).
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the UE, fourth configuration signaling sent by the network device, and switching, by the UE, the RRC state from the first RRC state to an idle state according to the fourth configuration signaling; or
sending, by the UE, a resume request to the network device in the first RRC state, receiving, by the UE, a resume message sent by the network device, and switching, by the UE, the RRC state from the first RRC state to an active state according to the resume message (Yao; Fig.4: 403 to 408. Here Yao is applied for the 2nd alternative), or maintaining, by the UE, the RRC state at the first RRC state according to the resume message
As to claim 27, the rejection of claim 22 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the network device, a resume request of the UE (Yao; [0061]; [0082]); and
determining, by the network device, a RAN notification area (RNA) where the UE is located according to the resume request (Yao; [0061];[0082]).
As to claim 30, the rejection of claim 22 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses wherein
configuring, by the network device, the UE to set the RRC state as the first RRC state, comprises:
sending, by the network device, a RRC connection release message to the UE, wherein the RRC connection release message is configured to instruct the UE to switch the RRC state from an active state to the normal RRC INACTIVE state: sending, by the network device, first configuration signaling to the UE, wherein the first configuration signaling is configured to instruct the UE to switch the RRC state from the normal RRC INACTIVE state to the first RRC state (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]).; and
wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the network device, second configuration signaling to the UE, wherein the second configuration signaling is configured to instruct the UE to switch the RRC state from the first RRC state to the normal RRC INACTIVE state (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]); or
wherein configuring, by the network device, the UE to set the RRC state as the first RRC state, comprises: sending, by the network device, third configuration signaling to the UE, wherein the third configuration signaling is configured to instruct the UE to switch the RRC state from an active state to the first RRC state
As to claim 36, the rejection of claim 22 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses further comprising:
sending, by the network device, fourth configuration signaling to the UE, wherein the fourth configuration signaling is configured to instruct the UE to switch the RRC state from the first RRC state to an idle state (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077]. Here Yao is applied for the 1st alternative); or
receiving, by the network device, a resume request sent by the UE in the first RRC state; and sending, by the network device, a resume message to the UE, wherein the resume message is configured to instruct the UE to switch the RRC state from the first RRC state to an active state or to maintain the RRC state at the first RRC state.
As to claim 87, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the configuration by the network device is determined based on a type of the UE, a capability of the UE, or an expectation of the UE (Yao; Fig.4:403 shows and discloses a UE sending RRC resume request corresponding to an expectation of the UE. Here Yao is applied for the 3rd alternative) .
As to claim 88, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the UE, UE capability reporting information to the network device, wherein the UE capability reporting information is configured to indicate that the UE supports the first RRC state (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077] discloses the UE in the RRC connected state may release the RRC link and restore to the RRC idle state. When temporarily having no service, the UE in the RRC connected state may suspend the RRC connection and enter the RRC inactive state, to reduce power consumption. The UE in the RRC inactive state may also resume the RRC link and enter the RRC connected state. Similarly, the UE in the RRC inactive state may alternatively release the RRC link and enter the RRC idle state. The UE in the RRC inactive state may alternatively perform connection resumption and try to enter the RRC connected state when a service is triggered or a radio access network (RAN)-based notification area update (RAN-based notification area update, RNAU) needs to be performed. Here Yao is applied for the 1st alternative)
; or
sending, by the UE, auxiliary information to the network device, wherein the auxiliary information is configured to indicate that the UE expects to switch to the first RRC state or expects to switch to the normal RRC_INACTIVE state.
As to claims 89, 90 and 91, the claim limitations are dependent on first and second alternative (i.e. a normal RRC INACTIVE state and an independent RRC state of the normal RRC INACTIVE state) of claim 1. Claim 1 is rejected based on the last alternative (i.e. a state where a RAN Notification Area Update (RNAU) is not performed) and therefore the limitations of claims 89, 90 and 91 are not considered here and rejected based on the last alternative of claim 1.
As to claim 92, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the first RRC state is still an RRC state having no independent downlink mode, and an RRC state where the network device obtains a position of the UE through uplink transmission performed by the UE (Yao; Fig.3; Fig.4; [0059]-[0077] discloses The UE in the RRC inactive state may also resume the RRC link and enter the RRC connected state. Similarly, the UE in the RRC inactive state may alternatively release the RRC link and enter the RRC idle state. The UE in the RRC inactive state may alternatively perform connection resumption and try to enter the RRC connected state when a service is triggered or a radio access network (RAN)-based notification area update (RAN-based notification area update, RNAU) needs to be performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 and 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2022/0201791 to Yao et al. (hereinafter Yao) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2020/0229111 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)
As to claim 25, Yao discloses
receiving, by the network device, a resume request of the UE (Yao; Fig.4:403, 404);
sending, by the network device, a resume message to the UE, wherein the resume message is configured to instruct the UE to switch the RRC state from the first RRC state to an active state (Yao; Fig.4:404, 405)
Yao discloses network device receives resume request and sends resume message to a UE, but fails to discloses of sending downlink data. However, Kim discloses further comprising:
caching, by the network device, downlink data for the UE in response to the downlink data arriving at the network device, and not performing paging on the downlink data (Kim; Fig.4E; [0538]-[0539] discloses the UE may operate in an RRC-connected mode 4e-03, an RRC-inactive mode or a lightly connected mode 4e-02, or an RRC-idle mode 4e-01 and pass through processes 4e-05, 4e-10, 4e-15, 4e-20, and 4e-25 for transition between the different modes. That is, if the LT in the RRC-idle mode 4e-01 has uplink data to be transmitted or in order to transmit and receive data by establishing the connection with the network to update a tracking area (periodically or if the UE escapes the tracking area), the UE may transition to the RRC-connected mode 4e-03 in step 4e-05); ; and
sending, by the network device, the downlink data to the UE (Kim; Fig.4E; [0538]-[0539] discloses the UE may operate in an RRC-connected mode 4e-03, an RRC-inactive mode or a lightly connected mode 4e-02, or an RRC-idle mode 4e-01 and pass through processes 4e-05, 4e-10, 4e-15, 4e-20, and 4e-25 for transition between the different modes. That is, if the LT in the RRC-idle mode 4e-01 has uplink data to be transmitted or in order to transmit and receive data by establishing the connection with the network to update a tracking area (periodically or if the UE escapes the tracking area), the UE may transition to the RRC-connected mode 4e-03 in step 4e-05. Here Kim is applied for the 1st alternative)
or
wherein the method further comprises:
caching, by the network device, downlink data for the UE in response to the downlink data arriving at the network device, and not performing paging on the downlink data;
receiving, by the network device, a resume request of the UE; and
sending, by the network device, a resume message to the UE, wherein the resume message carries the downlink data.
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
As to claim 86, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Yao discloses wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the UE, a resume request to the network device in the first RRC state (Yao; Fig.4:402 and 403);
Yao discloses network device receives resume request and sends resume message to a UE, but fails to discloses of sending downlink data. However, Kim discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a resume message sent by the network device, wherein the resume message carries downlink data, and wherein the downlink data downlink data that is not paged upon arriving at the network device and that cached by the network device before the network device receives the resume request (Kim; Fig.4E; [0538]-[0539] discloses the UE may operate in an RRC-connected mode 4e-03, an RRC-inactive mode or a lightly connected mode 4e-02, or an RRC-idle mode 4e-01 and pass through processes 4e-05, 4e-10, 4e-15, 4e-20, and 4e-25 for transition between the different modes. That is, if the LT in the RRC-idle mode 4e-01 has uplink data to be transmitted or in order to transmit and receive data by establishing the connection with the network to update a tracking area (periodically or if the UE escapes the tracking area), the UE may transition to the RRC-connected mode 4e-03 in step 4e-05)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way.
Conclusion
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478