DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 08/05/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11-12, 24, and 26-27 were amended, claims 10, 23, and 31 were cancelled, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
Response to Arguments
On pages 7-8 of their remarks, the applicant attempts to distinguish the claimed invention from Park, writing, “the start of the active state in Park is determined based on configured time points. However, in current claim 1, the active state of the first UE starts at a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information for requesting the channel state information, which time point is NOT configured by the bases station [sic] via any high-layer signaling or information but depends upon the first UE sending the first sidelink control information” (Remarks, p. 7-8).
However, this argument fails because nothing in the claims excludes the possibility that “the start of the active state ... is based on configured time points”, as the applicant alleges Park to teach. On the contrary, the claims, as reasonably construed, only require that the start of the valid time coincides with the time a SCI requesting CSI is sent. Nothing precludes the SCI from being sent at a “configured time point”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “the valid time is a duration from a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information” clearly encompasses a scenario where the “time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information” is “configured by the base station via ... high-layer signaling”. Nothing in the claims requires active time to begin spontaneously without prior planning or configuration. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Later on page 8, the applicant further attempts to distinguish the claims from Park by explaining their different methods for ending the active state, but these arguments are moot because a new reference (Freda et al.), not Park, was cited to address these claim limitations.
The applicant’s arguments against Kela on pages 8-9 are similarly moot because this reference is not relied upon in the current action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 11-12, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20220385409 A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Freda et al. (US 20230063472 A1, hereinafter “Freda”).
As to Claim 1:
Park teaches a method for a terminal to send sidelink SCI to another terminal to configure the active period of discontinuous reception (DRX).
Specifically, Park teaches:
A first User Equipment (UE) sending first sidelink control information
(“[A] method for performing an operation for a first user equipment (UE) In a wireless communication system may include ... receiving ... a CSI (Channel State Information) report from the second UE based on the SCI” (Park, 0030).
Here, “the second UE” maps to “a first user equipment”,
“receiving” maps to “sending” from the perspective of “the second UE”, and
“the SCI” maps to “first sidelink control information”).
The first sidelink control information is used for requesting channel state information
(“[A] method for performing an operation for a first user equipment (UE) In a wireless communication system may include transmitting a PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) including SCI (Sidelink Control Information) to a second user equipment (UE); and receiving ... a CSI (Channel State Information) report from the second UE based on the SCI” (Park, 0030).
Here, “the SCI” maps to “the first sidelink control information”,
“based on the SCI” maps to “used for requesting”, and
“CSI (Channel State Information)” maps to “channel state information”).
The first UE being in the active state within a valid time
(“[T]he receiving UE may determine whether to be awake in the OnDuration period by receiving the SCI including the wake-up bit at the start time of DRX OnDuration” (Park, 0128).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “the first UE”,
“to be awake” maps to “being in the active state”, and
“in the OnDuration period” maps to “within a valid time”).
The valid time is a duration from a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information
(“Referring to Fig. 8, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI within the ... start subframe of the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE.... [W]hen the SCI can be transmitted within the sidelink OnDuration period ... it may be assumed that the sidelink DRX OnDuration period of the transmitting UE and the sidelink DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE are synchronized” (Park, 0161, 0167).
Here, “the ... start subframe of the DRX OnDuration period” maps to “the valid time is a duration from a time point”,
“transmit the SCI within the ... start subframe” maps to “a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information”, and
“the transmitting UE” maps to “the first UE”).
Furthermore, although Park does not disclose the following features as arranged in the claim, it does separately teach, therefore rendering obvious:
The first UE receiving second sidelink control information in the active state
(“[T]he transmitting UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI ... SL CSI report request indicator ... active-time: the total period during which the UE monitors the PDCCH. This may include an on-duration of the DRX cycle” (Park, 0072, 0119).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “the first UE receiving”,
“the second SCI” maps to “second sidelink control information”, and
“on-duration of the DRX cycle” maps to “the active state”).
The second sidelink control information is used for scheduling the channel state information
(“[T]he SCI may include SL scheduling information. For example, the SCI may include SL scheduling information. For example, the UE may transmit at least one SCI to another UE to schedule the PSSCH ... [T]he transmitting UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI:” (Park, 0069, 0072).
Here, “the second SCI” maps to “the second sidelink control information”,
“include SL scheduling information” maps to “used for scheduling”, and
“CSI” maps to “channel state information”).
Park does not explicitly disclose:
The valid time is a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information
However, Freda does describe a method to configure a device with multiple DRX configurations.
Specifically, Freda teaches:
The valid time is a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information
(“The WTRU may remain in active monitoring state until reception of CSI feedback” (Freda, 0502).
Here, “active monitoring state” maps to “the valid time”,
“the WTRU” maps to “the first UE”, and
“until reception of CSI feedback” maps to “a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freda’s practice of ending a DRX window upon receiving CSI feedback into Park’s method for scheduling a CSI window with SCI. The SCI described in Park can schedule CSI transmission, so it makes sense to end the active segment of the DRX cycle once CSI is received if the device isn’t monitoring for anything else.
As to Claim 5:
From the list of:
The first UE receiving the channel state information sent by a second UE is determined based on the first UE receiving a report of the channel state information sent by the second UE, or a mapping relationship between the channel state information and the first sidelink control information
Park at least teaches:
The first UE receiving the channel state information sent by the second UE is determined based on the first UE receiving a report of the channel state information sent by the second UE
(“The transmitting UE may request HARQ feedback or a CSI report from the receiving UE” (Park, 0145).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “said the first UE receiving”,
“CSI report” maps to “channel state information ... determined based on ... receiving a report of the channel state information”, and
“the transmitting UE” maps to “sent by the second UE”).
As to Claim 6:
From the list of:
The first UE receiving a report of the channel state information sent by a second UE is determined based on indication information, or a report decoded from the channel state information
Park at least teaches:
The first UE receiving a report of the channel state information sent by the second UE is determined based on indication information
(“The transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE” (Park, 0154).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “said the first UE receiving”,
“a CSI Report” maps to “a report of the channel state information”,
“transmit” maps to “sent”,
“the transmitting UE” maps to “the second UE”,
“trigger” maps to “determined based on” because it is clear that a binary value such as the trigger bit described here serves to indicate the presence or absence of the CSI report, and
“trigger bit” maps to “indication information”).
Park also teaches:
The indication information is included in the first sidelink control information sent by the second UE to the first UE
(“The transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE” (Park, 0154).
Here, “trigger bit” maps to “the indication information”,
“including” maps to “included in”,
“an SCI” maps to “the first sidelink control information”,
“the transmitting UE” maps to “sent by the second UE”, and
“the receiving UE” maps to “the first UE”).
As to Claim 11:
Park teaches:
A user equipment comprising a memory and a processor
(“A first user equipment (UE) for use in a wireless communication system may include at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor” (Park, 0031).
Here, “a first user equipment (UE)” maps to “a user equipment”,
“include” maps to “comprising”,
“computer memory” maps to “a memory”, and
“at least one processor” maps to “a processor”).
The memory stores one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor
(“At least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor ... configured to store instructions such that the at least one processor performs specific operations by executing the instructions” (Park, 0031).
Here, “one computer memory” maps to “the memory”,
“store instructions” maps to “stores one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions”, and
“the at least one processor performs specific operations by executing the instructions” maps to “when executed by the processor, cause the processor”).
Send first sidelink control information
(“[A] method for performing an operation for a first user equipment (UE) In a wireless communication system may include ... receiving ... a CSI (Channel State Information) report from the second UE based on the SCI” (Park, 0030).
Here, “receiving” maps to “send” from the perspective of “the second UE”, and
“the SCI” maps to “first sidelink control information”).
The first sidelink control information is used for requesting channel state information
(“[A] method for performing an operation for a first user equipment (UE) In a wireless communication system may include transmitting a PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) including SCI (Sidelink Control Information) to a second user equipment (UE); and receiving ... a CSI (Channel State Information) report from the second UE based on the SCI” (Park, 0030).
Here, “the SCI” maps to “the first sidelink control information”,
“based on the SCI” maps to “used for requesting”, and
“CSI (Channel State Information)” maps to “channel state information”).
Control the first UE to be in the active state within a valid time
(“[T]he receiving UE may determine whether to be awake in the OnDuration period by receiving the SCI including the wake-up bit at the start time of DRX OnDuration” (Park, 0128).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “the first UE”,
“to be awake” maps to “control ... to be in the active state”, and
“in the OnDuration period” maps to “within a valid time”).
The valid time is a duration from a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information
(“Referring to Fig. 8, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI within the ... start subframe of the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE.... [W]hen the SCI can be transmitted within the sidelink OnDuration period ... it may be assumed that the sidelink DRX OnDuration period of the transmitting UE and the sidelink DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE are synchronized” (Park, 0161, 0167).
Here, “the ... start subframe of the DRX OnDuration period” maps to “the valid time is a duration from a time point”,
“transmit the SCI within the ... start subframe” maps to “a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information”, and
“the transmitting UE” maps to “the first UE”).
Furthermore, although Park does not disclose the following features as arranged in the claim, it does separately teach, therefore rendering obvious:
Receive second sidelink control information in the active state
(“[T]he transmitting UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI ... SL CSI report request indicator ... active-time: the total period during which the UE monitors the PDCCH. This may include an on-duration of the DRX cycle” (Park, 0072, 0119).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “receive”,
“the second SCI” maps to “second sidelink control information”, and
“on-duration of the DRX cycle” maps to “the active state”).
The second sidelink control information is used for scheduling the channel state information
(“[T]he SCI may include SL scheduling information. For example, the SCI may include SL scheduling information. For example, the UE may transmit at least one SCI to another UE to schedule the PSSCH ... [T]he transmitting UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI:” (Park, 0069, 0072).
Here, “the second SCI” maps to “the second sidelink control information”,
“include SL scheduling information” maps to “used for scheduling”, and
“CSI” maps to “channel state information”).
Park does not explicitly disclose:
The valid time is a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information
However, Freda does teach:
The valid time is a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information
(“The WTRU may remain in active monitoring state until reception of CSI feedback” (Freda, 0502).
Here, “active monitoring state” maps to “the valid time”,
“the WTRU” maps to “the first UE”, and
“until reception of CSI feedback” maps to “a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freda’s practice of ending a DRX window upon receiving CSI feedback into Park’s method for scheduling a CSI window with SCI. The SCI described in Park can schedule CSI transmission, so it makes sense to end the active segment of the DRX cycle once CSI is received if the device isn’t monitoring for anything else.
As to Claim 12:
Park teaches:
A non-transitory storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor
(“At least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor ... configured to store instructions such that the at least one processor performs specific operations by executing the instructions” (Park, 0031).
Here, “at least one computer memory” maps to “a non-transitory storage medium”,
“configured to store instructions” maps to “storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions”, and
“instructions such that the at least one processor performs specific operations by executing the instructions” maps to “instructions, which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor”).
Send first sidelink control information
(“[A] method for performing an operation for a first user equipment (UE) In a wireless communication system may include ... receiving ... a CSI (Channel State Information) report from the second UE based on the SCI” (Park, 0030).
Here, “receiving” maps to “send” from the perspective of “the second UE”, and
“the SCI” maps to “first sidelink control information”).
The first sidelink control information is used for requesting channel state information
(“[A] method for performing an operation for a first user equipment (UE) In a wireless communication system may include transmitting a PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) including SCI (Sidelink Control Information) to a second user equipment (UE); and receiving ... a CSI (Channel State Information) report from the second UE based on the SCI” (Park, 0030).
Here, “the SCI” maps to “the first sidelink control information”,
“based on the SCI” maps to “used for requesting”, and
“CSI (Channel State Information)” maps to “channel state information”).
Control the first UE to be in the active state within a valid time
(“[T]he receiving UE may determine whether to be awake in the OnDuration period by receiving the SCI including the wake-up bit at the start time of DRX OnDuration” (Park, 0128).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “the first UE”,
“to be awake” maps to “control ... to be in the active state”, and
“in the OnDuration period” maps to “within a valid time”).
The valid time is a duration from a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information
(“Referring to Fig. 8, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI within the ... start subframe of the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE.... [W]hen the SCI can be transmitted within the sidelink OnDuration period ... it may be assumed that the sidelink DRX OnDuration period of the transmitting UE and the sidelink DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE are synchronized” (Park, 0161, 0167).
Here, “the ... start subframe of the DRX OnDuration period” maps to “the valid time is a duration from a time point”,
“transmit the SCI within the ... start subframe” maps to “a time point when the first UE sends the first sidelink control information”, and
“the transmitting UE” maps to “the first UE”).
Furthermore, although Park does not disclose the following features as arranged in the claim, it does separately teach, therefore rendering obvious:
Receive second sidelink control information in the active state
(“[T]he transmitting UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI ... SL CSI report request indicator ... active-time: the total period during which the UE monitors the PDCCH. This may include an on-duration of the DRX cycle” (Park, 0072, 0119).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “receive”,
“the second SCI” maps to “second sidelink control information”, and
“on-duration of the DRX cycle” maps to “the active state”).
The second sidelink control information is used for scheduling the channel state information
(“[T]he SCI may include SL scheduling information. For example, the SCI may include SL scheduling information. For example, the UE may transmit at least one SCI to another UE to schedule the PSSCH ... [T]he transmitting UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI:” (Park, 0069, 0072).
Here, “the second SCI” maps to “the second sidelink control information”,
“include SL scheduling information” maps to “used for scheduling”, and
“CSI” maps to “channel state information”).
Park does not explicitly disclose:
The valid time is a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information
However, Freda does teach:
The valid time is a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information
(“The WTRU may remain in active monitoring state until reception of CSI feedback” (Freda, 0502).
Here, “active monitoring state” maps to “the valid time”,
“the WTRU” maps to “the first UE”, and
“until reception of CSI feedback” maps to “a duration ... to a time point when the first UE receives the channel state information”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Freda’s practice of ending a DRX window upon receiving CSI feedback into Park’s method for scheduling a CSI window with SCI. The SCI described in Park can schedule CSI transmission, so it makes sense to end the active segment of the DRX cycle once CSI is received if the device isn’t monitoring for anything else.
As to Claim 26:
From the list of:
The first UE receiving the channel state information sent by the second UE is determined based on the first UE receiving a report of the channel state information sent by the second UE, or a mapping relationship between the channel state information and the first sidelink control information
Park at least teaches:
The first UE receiving the channel state information sent by the second UE is determined based on the first UE receiving a report of the channel state information
(“The transmitting UE may request HARQ feedback or a CSI report from the receiving UE” (Park, 0145).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “said the first UE receiving”,
“CSI report” maps to “channel state information ... determined based on ... receiving a report of the channel state information”, and
“the transmitting UE” maps to “sent by the second UE”).
As to Claim 27:
From the list of:
The first UE receiving the report of the channel state information sent by the second UE is determined based on indication information, or a report decoded from the channel state information
Park at least teaches:
The first UE receiving the report of the channel state information sent by the second UE is determined based on indication information
(“The transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE” (Park, 0154).
Here, “the receiving UE” maps to “said the first UE receiving”,
“a CSI Report” maps to “a report of the channel state information”,
“transmit” maps to “sent”,
“the transmitting UE” maps to “the second UE”,
“trigger” maps to “determined based on” because it is clear that a binary value such as the trigger bit described here serves to indicate the presence or absence of the CSI report, and
“trigger bit” maps to “indication information”).
Park also teaches:
The indication information is included in the first sidelink control information sent by the second UE to the first UE
(“The transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE” (Park, 0154).
Here, “trigger bit” maps to “the indication information”,
“including” maps to “included in”,
“an SCI” maps to “the first sidelink control information”,
“the transmitting UE” maps to “sent by the second UE”, and
“the receiving UE” maps to “the first UE”).
Claim(s) 3 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Freda and further in view of Cai et al. (US 20100153804 A1, hereinafter “Cai”).
As to Claim 3:
The combination of Park and Freda does not explicitly disclose:
The valid time is within a range from longer than 0 to shorter than 20 milliseconds
However, Cai does teach a method for detecting a HARQ message during a DRX cycle using a round trip timer (RTT).
Specifically, Cai teaches:
The period is within a range from longer than 0 to shorter than 20 milliseconds
(“The DRX cycle might be defined to last about 20 milliseconds, and the DRX on-duration might be defined to be about four milliseconds within those 20 milliseconds” (Cai, 0013).
Here, “the DRX on-duration” maps to “the period”, and
“four milliseconds” maps to “within a range from longer than 0 to shorter than 20 milliseconds”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the duration of the DRX active period in Park’s method for active state configuration between 0 and 20 milliseconds as taught in Cai. 20 milliseconds is a common duration for the full DRX cycle, so it makes sense for the active segment of the DRX cycle to occupy a fraction of the full duration.
As to Claim 24:
The combination of Park and Freda does not explicitly disclose:
The valid time is within a range from longer than 0 to shorter than 20 milliseconds
However, Cai does teach:
The period is within a range from longer than 0 to shorter than 20 milliseconds
(“The DRX cycle might be defined to last about 20 milliseconds, and the DRX on-duration might be defined to be about four milliseconds within those 20 milliseconds” (Cai, 0013).
Here, “the DRX on-duration” maps to “the period”, and
“four milliseconds” maps to “within a range from longer than 0 to shorter than 20 milliseconds”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the duration of the DRX active period in Park’s method for active state configuration between 0 and 20 milliseconds as taught in Cai. 20 milliseconds is a common duration for the full DRX cycle, so it makes sense for the active segment of the DRX cycle to occupy a fraction of the full duration.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477