Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 15 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner et al. (US Pub 2019/0044113 cited in IDS) in view of Sakamoto et al. (JP 2019-125455 cited in IDS, a machine translation of which is attached).
In regard to claim 1, 15 and 16, Wagner et al. teach a device and battery pack comprising: a plurality of battery modules 2 stacked in a vertical direction; a pressing plate (end plates 5) comprising an upper pressing plate 5 and a lower pressing plate 5 located outside the plurality of battery modules; a first elastic member (partitions 4 and coil spring elements 6) extending through the plurality of battery modules and directly connected to the upper pressing plate and the lower pressing plate, wherein the first elastic member provides a tensile force between the upper pressing plate and the lower pressing plate (see annotated figure 1 below, paragraphs [0027-0035]).
Wagner et al. specifically describes a counteracting (compressive) force 8 acting on the battery module 1 but does not specifically show a pack case or second elastic member. However, Sakamoto et al. teach a similar battery module including battery modules 20 between two pressing plates 50 and the desirability to include a pack case (housing plates 30 and 40) configured to wrap the pressing plate, wherein the pack case comprises an upper pack cover 30a and a lower pack cover 30b, wherein the upper pack cover 30a is spaced from the upper pressing plate 50, wherein a second elastic member (pressure adjusting springs 60) is provided between having ends directly connected to the upper pack cover 30a and the upper pressing plate 50, and wherein the upper pressing plate 50 and the upper pack cover 30a are spaced from each other so the upper pressing plate can move relative to the upper pack cover because such helps maintain uniform pressure on the battery modules (see annotated figure 1 below, pages 2 through 6 of attached translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to include a pack case and second elastic member which compresses the pressing plates in the battery pack of Wagner et al. as such is an efficient way to supply uniform pressure to the module stack as taught by Sakamoto et al.
In regard to claim 2-4, Wagner et al. teach a quadrangular pillar (bracing element 7) as a distance retention portion provided between the pressing plates (in the combination this includes the cover), while no material is particularly described, a metallic bracing element would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed as metal has the mechanical properties required.
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner and Sakamoto et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hodgetts (US Patent No. 5,346,786 of record).
In regard to claim 5, 6 and 10, Wagner and Sakamoto et al. teach the battery pack according to claim 1 above. Wagner et al. further teach support plates (partition plates 4, i.e. heat sinks) and a battery cell (within module 2) comprising a first battery cell disposed in contact with the upper support plate 4 and a second battery cell disposed in contact with the lower support plate 4; and a cover plate (another partition plate 4) comprising an upper cover plate 4 located above the first battery cell and a lower cover plate 4 located under the second battery cell (paragraph [0032] and figure 1 above, at least six partition plates 4 are shown, no distinction is made between the claimed support and cover plates). Wagner et al. teach bracing elements 7 which act as support frames extending along opposite edges of cover plates and along a middle of the support plate having a predetermined height between the plates 4, 5 (paragraph [0034]).
Claim 5, 6 and 10 differ in calling for heat sinks between each battery cell provided on the upper surface thereof with a first protuberance protruding by a predetermined height, and wherein the upper support plate is provided with a first opening configured to receive the first protuberance. However, Hodgetts teaches a similar battery pack including cells 81-87 arranged within an adjustable support frame 27 that includes elastic spring members 53 and the desirability to provide the battery rack heat sink support plates with projecting ribs 71 or corresponding depressions 75 (see figure 2) in order to steady the orientation of the adjustable support and each translational motion of the pressure plate (see column 3 line 52 - column 5 line 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include protuberances and openings of predetermined sizes in the heat sinks and support plates of the Wagner and Sakamoto et al. as such maintains the alignment of the stack as taught by Hodgetts.
In regard to claims 7-9, in the combination, the first battery cell is located at an upper surface of the first protuberance, the second battery cell is located at a lower surface of the second protuberance and wherein the heat sink is provided on the lower surface thereof with a second protuberance protruding by a predetermined height, and wherein the lower support plate is provided with a second opening configured to receive the second protuberance as the structure of ribs and openings are provided on each cell and the designation of first and second cell is arbitrary.
In regard to claim 13 and 14, Wagner et al. necessarily includes electrode terminals which transfer current from the cell structure but do not describe busbar connections to draw current from the battery pack. However, Hodgetts further teaches a first busbar assembly is located between the upper support plate 33 and the upper cover plate 28, wherein the first busbar assembly comprises: a first busbar frame (support from 25) having a first receiving recess formed therein; and a busbar (conductor 60A) seated in the first receiving recess, the busbar being configured to have a concave-convex structure that is bent at a predetermined angle a plurality of times (see figure 2, column 4) which allows connection to the battery terminals 59, and a second busbar assembly (including conductor 60B) is located between the lower support plate 51 and the lower cover plate (frame 27) because such is effective to transfer current from the cell stack despite vibration and movement forces (column 4, lines 1-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include busbar frames with imbedded busbars in the battery pack of Wagner and Sakamoto et al. as such transfers current from the stack as taught by Hodgetts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 5,756,227 teaches a compressed cell stack with temperature control.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723