DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of a therapeutic composition comprising: (1) an antibody which binds CD39, wherein the anti-CD39 antibody comprises a heavy chain variable region (VH), wherein the VH further comprises an HCDR1 of SEQ ID NO: 2, an HCDR2 of SEQ ID NO: 25, and an HCDR3 of SEQ ID NO: 46; and a light chain variable region (VL), wherein the VL further comprises an LCDR1 of SEQ ID NO: 76, an LCDR2 of SEQ ID NO: 93, and an LCDR3 of SEQ ID NO: 111; and (2) an adoptive cell therapy comprising: a T cell comprising an anti-CD19 CART cell that binds to a melanoma antigen. in the reply filed on 20Nov2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20Nov2025.
Claim(s) 1-13 and 19-20 is/are presented for examination on the merits.
Specification
The use of trade name(s) or mark(s) used in commerce (e.g., Biolegend, Invitrogen, BD, R & D Systems, Themo Fisher, Charles River Laboratories, Miltenyi, Agilent), has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code [e.g., ¶ 0044]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2018/223101 A1 (hereinafter “WO101”).
Regarding instant claim(s) 1-7, WO101 teaches articles of manufacture and methods for treatment using adoptive cell therapy (ACT) [e.g., title, abstract]. WO101 further teaches that the ACT is a CD19 direct CAR T cell [e.g., ¶ 0037, 0111, 0122, 0320, 0539, 0796 embodiments 43, 87; examples 1-4]. WO101 teaches the administration of an additional agent wherein said agent is a CD39 antibody [e.g., ¶ 0742, 0750, ].
Regarding instant claim(s) 8-9, WO101 further teaches and embodiment wherein the CAR T cell recognizes gp100 [e.g., ¶ 0037, 0148, 0172, 0242, 0247, 0538].
Regarding instant claim(s) 10-13, WO101 further teaches the CAR comprises an extracellular binding moiety, a transmembrane domain, a CD28 or 4-1BB costimulatory domain, and a CD3z intracellular signaling domain [e.g., ¶ 0016, 0018-0024, 0044, 0149, 0173, 0247].
Regarding instant claim(s) 19, WO101 further teaches the CAR T cell composition comprises CD8+ T cells [e.g., ¶ 0006-0010, 0012, 0021, 0031-0035, 0046-0049, 0093-0094, 0114-0119, 0268].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/223101 A1 (hereinafter “WO101”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0062448 A1 (hereinafter “US448”).
The teachings of WO101 as recited above apply for 1.
WO101 does not expressly teach that the CD39 antibody comprises HCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 2, 25, and 46, respectively, and LCDR1-3 of SEQ ID NOs: 76, 93, and 111, respectively.
Regarding claim 20, US448 teaches anti-CD39 antibodies and therapeutic uses thereof, including activation, clonal expansion and homing of tumor specific T cells [e.g., title, abstract;¶ 0008]. US448 further teaches the CD39 comprising a VH of SEQ ID NO:180 and VL of SEQ ID NO: 220 [e.g., ¶ 0184], which have the same HCDR1-3 (instant SEQ ID NOs: 2, 25, 46) and LCDR1-3 (instant SEQ ID NOs: 76, 93, 111), see alignment below.
Alignment of HCDR1-3 (instant SEQ ID NOs: 2, 25, 46) with US448 VH of SEQ ID NO: 180:
Alignment of LCDR1-3 (instant SEQ ID NOs: 76, 93, 111)with US448 VL of SEQ ID NO: 220:
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the general CD39 antibody of the therapeutic composition comprising an anti-CD39 antibody and an adoptive cell therapy as taught by WO101, with the specific anti-CD39 VH (SEQ ID NO: 180) and VL (SEQ ID NO: 220) taught by US448, in the context of designing and developing a therapeutic composition for treating cancer. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to substitute the general CD39 antibody of the therapeutic composition comprising an anti-CD39 antibody and an adoptive cell therapy as taught by WO101, with the specific anti-CD39 VH (SEQ ID NO: 180) and VL (SEQ ID NO: 220) taught by US448, because WO101 teaches the basic composition comprising an anti-CD39 antibody and US448 further teaches the antigen binding sequence of the CD39 antibody and that anti-CD39 antibody administration results in activation, clonal expansion and homing of tumor specific T cells (which is beneficial for cancer therapy). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for a PHOSITA to substitute the substitute the general CD39 antibody of the therapeutic composition comprising an anti-CD39 antibody and an adoptive cell therapy as taught by WO101, with the specific anti-CD39 VH (SEQ ID NO: 180) and VL (SEQ ID NO: 220) taught by US448, because WO101 teaches the basic composition comprising an anti-CD39 antibody and US448 further teaches the antigen binding sequence of the CD39 antibody. This rationale aligns with the principle of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, supporting a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP § 2141).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
/AMY M. CHATTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643