Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the previously presented have been fully considered and has removed the section of the claim language previously rejected. The 112(b) rejection of Claims 1, 10, has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 13, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al (2021/0136802), hereinafter Cirik, in view of Ryu et al. (2021/0084625), hereinafter Ryu and Zhang (2024/0314767), hereinafter Zhang.
Re. Claims 1, 10, and 19, Cirik teaches an apparatus comprising: a receiver (¶0045 - the term “wireless device” may comprise… a wireless transmit and receive unit) that: receives, from a base station, first information indicating a first set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (¶0219 - The wireless device may receive DCI. The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating at least two TCI states… The at least two TCI states may comprise a first TCI state and a second TCI state); and receives, from the base station, second information indicating a second set of TCI states (¶0219 - The wireless device may receive DCI. The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating at least two TCI states… The at least two TCI states may comprise a first TCI state and a second TCI state); and wherein the first set of TCI states and the second set of TCI states are indicated by a codepoint in downlink control information (DCI) (¶0209 - The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating at least two TCI states… The TCI field indicating the at least two TCI states may comprise that a codepoint (e.g., 000, 010, 111, 100, etc.), indicated by the TCI field, indicates the at least two TCI states.), the codepoint points to an index of an activated TCI table with at least one TCI state (Fig. 24 & ¶0280 - At least one TCI codepoint of one or more TCI codepoints may comprise/indicate at least two TCI states (e.g., TCI codepoint 01 and TCI codepoint 10 as discussed with reference to FIG. 24)).
Yet, Cirik does not expressly teach wherein the first set of TCI states and the second set of TCI states each comprise a plurality of TCI states, and a processor that: determines an association between the first set of TCI states and a first set of transmission occasions; and determines an association between the second set of TCI states and a second set of transmission occasions, a number of adjacent indices corresponding to a set of TCI states, and wherein a plurality of consecutive neighboring indices of the index are determined based on the number of adjacent indices indicated.
However, Ryu explicitly teaches wherein the first set of TCI states and the second set of TCI states each comprise a plurality of TCI states (¶0029 - a first set of active TCI states for a first component carrier of a set of component carriers and a second set of active TCI states for a second component carrier of the set of component carriers) and a processor (¶0029 - An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor and memory coupled to the processor) that: determines an association between the first set of TCI states and a first set of transmission occasions (¶0103 - a first set of activated TCI states may be selected (e.g., by base station 105-a) for or be associated with the first CC 225-a); and determines an association between the second set of TCI states and a second set of transmission occasions (¶0103 – a second set of activated TCI states may be selected for or be associated with the second CC 225-b).
Yet, neither Cirik nor Ryu expressly teach wherein a second set of TCI states are indicated by a number of adjacent indices corresponding to a set of TCI states and a plurality of consecutive neighboring indices of the index are determined based on the number of adjacent indices indicated.
However, Zhang explicitly teaches wherein a second set of TCI states are indicated by a number of adjacent indices corresponding to a set of TCI states (¶0260-0261 - the first indication information indicates the K1 activated first TCI states and the K2 activated second TCI states in a manner of indicating a specific TCI state identifier or index… K1 is a value predefined in a protocol, or a value notified by the network device to the terminal device by using signaling information, or a value reported by the terminal device to the network device, or a value determined based on other information, or a value calculated based on a value of K2) and a plurality of consecutive neighboring indices of the index are determined based on the number of adjacent indices indicated (¶0020 – [T]he first TCI state mapping rule includes: The K1 first TCI states arranged in a first order are sequentially mapped to K1 codepoints in the L1 codepoints arranged in a second order, where K1≤L1, ¶0022 - The third order is an ascending order of TCI state identifiers, or a descending order of TCI state identifiers, or an order obtained by transforming a vector including the K2 second TCI states arranged in ascending order of TCI state identifiers, & ¶0260-0261 - the first indication information indicates the K1 activated first TCI states and the K2 activated second TCI states in a manner of indicating a specific TCI state identifier or index… K1 is a value predefined in a protocol, or a value notified by the network device to the terminal device by using signaling information, or a value reported by the terminal device to the network device, or a value determined based on other information, or a value calculated based on a value of K2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Ryu and Zhang to the teaching of Cirik. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission efficiency by improving data use and storage as Ryu provides that each set of TCI states are made up of a plurality of TCI states (Ryu, ¶0029) association between TCI states and TO’s that maps a first set of TCI states to a first set of TO, and likewise for a second set (Ryu ¶0103) and Zhang provides a that a series of indices are indicated via an index of adjacent TCI states to be used (Zhang, ¶0260-0261). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 4 and 13, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang teach claims 1 and 10.
Cirik further teaches wherein a number of TCI states is variable across a plurality of sets of TCI states (¶0353 - The plurality of TCI states may comprise the at least two TCI states. The at least one TCI state may comprise the at least two TCI states).
Re. Claims 6 and 15, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang teach claims 1 and 10.
Yet, neither Cirik nor Ryu expressly teach a number of the plurality of consecutive neighboring indices is explicitly indicated or configured in an increasing order of indexing with respect to the index.
However, Zhang further teaches wherein a number of the plurality of consecutive neighboring indices is explicitly indicated or configured in an increasing order of indexing with respect to the index (¶0021 - The first order is an ascending order of TCI state identifiers. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”) OR a decreasing order of indexing with respect to the index.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Zhang to the teaching of Cirik and Ryu. The motivation for such would be to improve efficiency within searching via indexing of TCI state identifiers as Zhang provides that the index of neighbors increases in order (Zhang, ¶0021). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 7 and 16, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang teach claims 1 and 10.
Yet, neither Cirik nor Ryu expressly teach wherein a number of the plurality of consecutive neighboring indices is implied as a remaining number of indices above the index.
Zhang further teaches wherein a number of the plurality of consecutive neighboring indices is implied as a remaining number of indices above the index (¶0012 – [T]he first codepoint is one of the P codepoints, ¶0025 – [A] minimum codepoint value in the L1 codepoints is X, where X is predefined… X is an integer, and 0≤X+L1≤P. Examiner interprets that the sequence of codepoints between the current codepoint X and its neighbors up to maximum index P imply the remaining number of indices above the index. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”) OR a remaining number of indices below the index.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Zhang to the teaching of Cirik and Ryu. The motivation for such would be to improve efficiency within searching via indexing of TCI state identifiers as Zhang provides that the index of neighbors increases in order (Zhang, ¶0021). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang teach claims 1 and 10.
Cirik further teaches wherein multiple TCI states are associated with a single demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port (¶0209 - [T]he first TCI state may comprise that at least one first DM-RS port).
Re. Claims 9 and 18, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang teach claims 1 and 10.
Cirik further teaches wherein transmission occasions within a slot are in a spatial domain, a frequency domain (¶0211 - A first transmission occasion of the at least two PDSCH transmission occasions and a second transmission occasion of the at least two PDSCH transmission occasions may have/comprise a non-overlapping frequency domain resource allocation. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”), OR a time domain.
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Ryu, Zhang and Kim et al (2023/0112271), hereinafter Kim.
Re. Claims 2, 11 and 20, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang teach claims 1 and 10.
Cirik further teaches wherein the first set of TCI states comprises a downlink TCI, (¶0292 - The DCI 2104 may schedule a TB… The TB may be for a downlink reception (e.g., via a PDSCH) at the wireless device… The DCI 2104 may comprise a TCI field indicating at least two TCI states. The at least two TCI states may comprise a first TCI state (e.g., TCI 1) and a second TCI state (e.g., TCI 2)), the second set of TCI states comprises an uplink TCI, (¶0292 - The DCI 2104 may schedule a TB… The TB may be for an uplink reception (e.g., via a PUSCH) at a base station… The DCI 2104 may comprise a TCI field indicating at least two TCI states. The at least two TCI states may comprise a first TCI state (e.g., TCI 1) and a second TCI state (e.g., TCI 2)).
Additionally, Ryu further teaches wherein the first set of transmission occasions is associated with downlink reception, the second set of transmission occasions is associated with uplink transmission (¶0112 – link 405 may support communication using CCs 425-a, 425-b, and 425-c, and additional CCs 425 may also be supported on link 405 (e.g., 16 uplink CCs 425 or 16 downlink CCs 425 may be used for carrier aggregation on link 405). Examiner interprets that the CCs 425-a and 425-b have been previously shown to be mapped to the first and second sets of TCI’s respectively, as such, this excerpt shows that either CC has the potential to be associated with uplink or downlink transmission).
Yet, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang do not expressly teach wherein the first set of TCI states contains N TCI states and the second set of TCI states contain the M TCI states indicated by a single TCI codepoint.
However, Kim explicitly teaches wherein the first set of TCI states contains N TCI states (¶0226 – [F]or N TCI states, the N TCI states may be mapped one by one as the candidate index increases) and the second set of TCI states contain the M TCI states indicated by a single TCI codepoint (¶0226 – [F]or N TCI states, the N TCI states may be mapped one by one as the candidate index increases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang. The motivation for such would be to improve data management and structure as Kim provides a variable number of TCI states within each set of TCI states (Kim ¶0226). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 3 and 12, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang teach claims 1 and 10.
Yet, Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang do not expressly teach wherein the first set of TCI states is associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and the second set of TCI states is associated with a second TRP.
However, Kim does explicitly teach wherein the first set of TCI states is associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP) (¶0263 - TRP 1 transmits even/odd candidates so that even/odd candidates are mapped to TCI state 1) and the second set of TCI states is associated with a second TRP (¶0263 - TRP 2 conversely transmits odd/even candidates, so odd/even candidates may be mapped to TCI state 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teaching of Cirik, Ryu, and Zhang. The motivation for such would be to improve efficiency by creating a map between TCI states and TRP’s as Kim provides a mapping between TCI states and TRP candidates (Kim ¶0263). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner appreciates Applicant’s time and candor during the 12/22/2025 interview and in accordance with said interview, Examiner has reviewed the amended claims and current state of the art through the present references and concluded that while previously presented excerpts of Zhang did not expressly refer to indices for the set of TCI states, ¶0260-0261 (the first indication information indicates the K1 activated first TCI states and the K2 activated second TCI states in a manner of indicating a specific TCI state identifier or index… K1 is a value predefined in a protocol, or a value notified by the network device to the terminal device by using signaling information, or a value reported by the terminal device to the network device, or a value determined based on other information, or a value calculated based on a value of K2) does provide that the K1 and K2 list of TCI states can be indicated via a state identifier or index, and that K1 (the total length of the TCI state list) is determined via various possible signals. Further, Applicant argues that there was no showing of a set of TCI states indicated by DCI, however Examiner maintains that Cirik ¶0209 (The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating at least two TCI states… The TCI field indicating the at least two TCI states may comprise that a codepoint (e.g., 000, 010, 111, 100, etc.), indicated by the TCI field, indicates the at least two TCI states) adequately discloses this limitation. As such, Examiner upholds the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for the independent claims and all such claims depending therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
• Lee et al. (2022/0039073) - ¶0007 - 0026;
• Zhang et al. (2023/0052764) – Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, ¶0110 – 0111;
• Svedman et al. (2023/0076897) - ¶0420, ¶0466.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475