DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 4 has been amended. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4, and 7-8 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGlone et al. (US4655660A), hereinafter "McGlone".
Regarding claim 1, McGlone teaches a retaining nut (see Figs 1-2), the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) designed in two parts (see Fig 1, Examiner notes housing 12 and insert 24 as designed in two parts) including a base body (Fig 1, housing 12) and a ring (Fig 1, insert 24), the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) having an inner surface (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an inner surface of insert 24 assembled with housing 12 as having an inner surface) and an outer surface (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an outer surface of insert 24 assembled with housing 12 as an outer surface), as well as a screw-in side (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a side of housing 12 adjacent head 16 as a screw-in side) and a feedthrough side (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a side of housing 12 distal head 16 as a feedthrough side), wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) on the screw-in side (see Fig 1) has a first inner diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter of housing 12 adjacent head 16 as has a first inner diameter) and is provided (see Fig 1) with a first internal thread (see Fig 1, Examiner notes threads 20 adjacent head 16 as a first internal thread),
wherein a free inner diameter (see Fig 1) of the first internal thread (see Fig 1) forms the first inner diameter (see Fig 1),
wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) on the feedthrough side (see Fig 1) has a second inner diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 as has a second inner diameter),
wherein the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) is smaller (see Fig 1) than the first inner diameter (see Fig 1),
wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) tapers conically (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a tapering interior of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 as tapers conically) in a pressing region (see Fig 1, Col 2, lines 38-50, Examiner notes a region of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 for swaging into nut recess 22 as a pressing region) between the first inner diameter (see Fig 1) of a first inner surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner surface of housing 12 adjacent head 16 as a first inner surface) of the base body (12) to the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) of a second inner surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner surface of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 as a second inner surface) of the ring (24) in a longitudinal direction (see Figs 1-2) such that the first inner diameter (see Fig 1) forms a widest diameter (see Fig 1) of the pressing region (see Fig 1) and the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) forms a narrowest diameter (see Fig 1) of the pressing region (see Fig 1);
wherein the first inner diameter (see Fig 1) is arranged (see Fig 1) on the base body (12) and the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) is arranged (see Fig 1) on the ring (24), wherein the ring (24) has an external thread (Fig 1, threads 26) and the base body (12) has a second internal thread (see Fig 1, Examiner notes threads 20 distal head 16 as has a second internal thread) arranged (see Fig 1) on the feedthrough side (see Fig 1), and wherein the external thread (26) is screwed into (see Fig 2, Col 2, lines 38-50) the second internal thread (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to claim 1 and further teaches characterized in that the ring (24) can be inserted (see Fig 2) into the base body (12) of the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) and the base body (12) encloses (see Fig 2) the ring (24) at least in regions (see Fig 2),
wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) forms the first inner surface (see Fig 1) on the base body (12) and forms the second inner surface (see Fig 1) on the ring (24).
Regarding claim 4, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to claim 1 and further teaches characterized in that the second internal thread (see Fig 1) and the first internal thread (see Fig 1) merge (see Fig 1) into one another (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to any of claims 1 or 2 and further teaches characterized in that on the outer surface (see Fig 2), at least one first actuation region (Fig 1, head 16) is provided (see Fig 1), which is designed to grip and rotate the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) in a positive-fitting manner (see Fig 1, Col 2, lines 14-37, Examiner notes standard hex head 16 as is designed to grip and rotate the retaining nut in a positive-fitting manner).
Regarding claim 8, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to any of claims 1 or 2 and further teaches characterized in that at least one second actuation region (Fig 1, boss 30) is provided (see Fig 1) on the ring (24), said second actuation region (30) being designed for a positive-fitting rotation (see Fig 1, Col 2, lines 38-50, Examiner notes knurled boss 30 as being capable for a positive-fitting rotation) of the ring (24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 31, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to Pgs 4-5 of Applicant’s Remarks filed August 31, 2026, Applicant indicates that the Examiner alleges that the thread 20 adjacent to the head 16 corresponds to BOTH the first internal thread (23) recited in claim 1 AND the second internal thread (24) recited in claim 1, which is contrary to claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues the screw-in side having the first internal thread is configured to receive an external entity, such as a cable connection and the base body having the second internal thread is configured to receive the ring whereas thread 20 in McGlone is configured to receive only the insert 24, thus, McGlone does not disclose first and second internal threads, as recited in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes Applicant’s originally filed Drawings of Figs 1a-2b and originally filed Specification in at least Paragraph 0021 illustrates and indicates that the first internal thread and the second internal thread are formed as a single thread extending through the base body...means that the thread extends from the screw-in side as the first internal thread to the feedthrough side as the second internal thread...the first internal thread and the second internal thread expediently have the same size and pitch. Further, in response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., the combination of the first internal thread is configured to receive an external entity, such as a cable connection and the base body having the second internal thread is configured to receive the ring) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to Pg 5 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant indicates that the Examiner cites Fig 2 of McGlone and alleges that the insert 24 adjacent the boss 30 tapers conically which corresponds to the conical taper of inner surface (20) recited in claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues that the surface itself does not taper and only tapers once pressure is applied to it by the boss upon screwing of the insert 24 into the nut. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes as previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 3, 2026 and as set forth above, McGlone illustrates in at least Fig 2 that a tapering interior of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 tapers conically.
With respect to Pgs 5-6 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant indicates as illustrated in Fig 2 of McGlone, the tapering occurs from the feedthrough side (the side of the nut 12 distal from the head 16) to the screw-in side (the side of the nut 12 adjacent to the head); thus, the tapering occurs from left to right. Specifically, Applicant argues claim 1 recites that the tapering occurs from the first inner diameter to the second inner diameter, meaning that the first inner diameter is the widest diameter, and the second inner diameter is the narrowest diameter and thus, the tapering should occur from right to left according to Fig 2 of McGlone. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes Applicant’s arguments are further limiting than claim 1. Specifically, the Examiner notes claim 1 recites in part “...the inner surface (20) tapers conically in a pressing region (25) between the first inner diameter (21)…to the second inner diameter…” (emphasis added) and not from the first inner diameter to the second inner diameter as argued by the Applicant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675