DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2 have been amended. Claim 3 has been cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4, and 7-8 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed November 24, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGlone et al. (US4655660A), hereinafter "McGlone".
Regarding claim 1, McGlone teaches a retaining nut (see Figs 1-2), the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) designed in two parts (see Fig 1, Examiner notes housing 12 and insert 24 as designed in two parts) including a base body (Fig 1, housing 12) and a ring (Fig 1, insert 24), the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) having an inner surface (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an inner surface of insert 24 assembled with housing 12 as having an inner surface) and an outer surface (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an outer surface of insert 24 assembled with housing 12 as an outer surface), as well as a screw-in side (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a side of housing 12 adjacent head 16 as a screw-in side) and a feedthrough side (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a side of housing 12 distal head 16 as a feedthrough side), wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) on the screw-in side (see Fig 1) has a first inner diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter of housing 12 adjacent head 16 as has a first inner diameter) and is provided (see Fig 1) with a first internal thread (see Fig 1, Examiner notes threads 20 adjacent head 16 as a first internal thread),
wherein a free inner diameter (see Fig 1) of the first internal thread (see Fig 1) forms the first inner diameter (see Fig 1),
wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) on the feedthrough side (see Fig 1) has a second inner diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 as has a second inner diameter),
wherein the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) is smaller (see Fig 1) than the first inner diameter (see Fig 1),
wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) tapers conically (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a tapering interior of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 as tapers conically) in a pressing region (see Fig 1, Col 2, lines 38-50, Examiner notes a region of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 for swaging into nut recess 22 as a pressing region) between the first inner diameter (see Fig 1) of a first inner surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner surface of housing 12 adjacent head 16 as a first inner surface) of the base body (12) to the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) of a second inner surface (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner surface of insert 24 adjacent boss 30 as a second inner surface) of the ring (24) in a longitudinal direction (see Figs 1-2) such that the first inner diameter (see Fig 1) forms a widest diameter (see Fig 1) of the pressing region (see Fig 1) and the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) forms a narrowest diameter (see Fig 1) of the pressing region (see Fig 1);
wherein the first inner diameter (see Fig 1) is arranged (see Fig 1) on the base body (12) and the second inner diameter (see Fig 1) is arranged (see Fig 1) on the ring (24), wherein the ring (24) has an external thread (Fig 1, threads 26) and the base body (12) has a second internal thread (see Fig 1, Examiner notes threads 20 distal head 16 as has a second internal thread) arranged (see Fig 1) on the feedthrough side (see Fig 1), and wherein the external thread (26) is screwed into (see Fig 2, Col 2, lines 38-50) the second internal thread (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to claim 1 and further teaches characterized in that the ring (24) can be inserted (see Fig 2) into the base body (12) of the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) and the base body (12) encloses (see Fig 2) the ring (24) at least in regions (see Fig 2),
wherein the inner surface (see Fig 2) forms the first inner surface (see Fig 1) on the base body (12) and forms the second inner surface (see Fig 1) on the ring (24).
Regarding claim 4, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to claim 3 and further teaches characterized in that the second internal thread (see Fig 1) and the first internal thread (see Fig 1) merge (see Fig 1) into one another (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to any of claims 1 or 2 and further teaches characterized in that on the outer surface (see Fig 2), at least one first actuation region (Fig 1, head 16) is provided (see Fig 1), which is designed to grip and rotate the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) in a positive-fitting manner (see Fig 1, Col 2, lines 14-37, Examiner notes standard hex head 16 as is designed to grip and rotate the retaining nut in a positive-fitting manner).
Regarding claim 8, McGlone teaches the retaining nut (see Figs 1-2) according to any of claims 1 or 2 and further teaches characterized in that at least one second actuation region (Fig 1, boss 30) is provided (see Fig 1) on the ring (24), said second actuation region (30) being designed for a positive-fitting rotation (see Fig 1, Col 2, lines 38-50, Examiner notes knurled boss 30 as being capable for a positive-fitting rotation) of the ring (24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675