Claims 1,3-5,18 and 20 are pending.
Claims 2,6-17, 19 and 21-22 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued
examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the
finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's
submission filed on 06/16/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Cirik et al, US 20220159733 A1, in view of Frenne et al, US 20220038207 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Cirik discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a terminal from a base station, configuration information related to one or more control resource sets ([0198] The base station may transmit, to the UE, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more CORESETs and one or more search space sets. The configuration parameters may indicate an association between a search space set and a CORESET.);
and receiving, by the terminal from the base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the one or more control resource sets ([0199] The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI formats.).,
wherein the configuration information includes information for configuring a quasi co- location (QCL) RS (reference signal) for the one or more control resource sets ([0253] The receiving the PDCCH in/via the coreset based on the antenna port quasi co-location property may comprise that (the wireless device determines that) at least one DM-RS port of the PDCCH is quasi co-located (QCL-ed) with a reference signal (e.g., SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS).),
wherein a plurality of first QCL RSs are configured for the first control resource set and one or more second QCL RSs different from the plurality of first QCL RSs are configured for the second control resource set([0360-0362] The first coreset and the third coreset may be in the same coreset group (e.g., the first coreset group) based on the first antenna port quasi co-location property and the third antenna port quasi co-location property being the same. The wireless device may group the second coreset and the fourth coreset in the second coreset group based on the second antenna port quasi co-location property and the fourth antenna port quasi co-location property being the same. In an example, the wireless device may group two coresets in different coreset groups based on the respective antenna port quasi co-location property of the two coresets being different. The examiner interprets the first coreset group in one QCL RS and the second coreset group in a different QCL RS.),
and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes([0330] In an example, the first corset and the second coreset may be different. The first corset and the second coreset being different may comprise a first coreset index of the first corset and a second coreset index of the second coreset are different.).
Cirik does not disclose wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set , the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set, wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit.
However, Frenne does disclose wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set ([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously(i.e.) in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point. Multiple CORESETSs are configured and a repetition set is configured across the CORESETSs. Hence, a given PDCCH candidate is repeated, or mirrored, in another CORESET.), the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal ([0092] The WD 22 is configured by higher layer signaling such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling, to monitor at least one "repetition set of a PDCCH candidate"),
the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set ([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously(i.e.) in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point.),
wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit([0096] [0114] Simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets and there may also be PDCCH candidates monitored that do not belong to the repetition set. PDSCH transmission can begin immediately, even in the same orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbol as the PDCCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal of Cirik with and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set , the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set, wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit as taught by Frenne. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the channel estimation performance when demodulating control or data channels. (Frenne, [0012])
Regarding claim 18, Cirik discloses a terminal comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal ( [0212] for example, a speaker, a microphone, a keypad, a display, a touchpad, a power source, a satellite transceiver.);
and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to ([0211] The processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may comprise one or more controllers and/or one or more processors.):
receive, from a base station, configuration information related to one or more control resource sets ([0198] The base station may transmit, to the UE, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more CORESETs and one or more search space sets. The configuration parameters may indicate an association between a search space set and a CORESET.);
and receive, from the base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the one or more control resource sets ([0199] The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI formats.),
wherein the configuration information includes information for configuring a quasi co- location (QCL) RS (reference signal) for the one or more control resource sets ([0253] The receiving the PDCCH in/via the coreset based on the antenna port quasi co-location property may comprise that (the wireless device determines that) at least one DM-RS port of the PDCCH is quasi co-located (QCL-ed) with a reference signal (e.g., SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS).),
wherein a plurality of first QCL RSs are configured for the first control resource set and one or more second QCL RSs different from the plurality of first QCL RSs are configured for the second control resource set([0360-0362] The first coreset and the third coreset may be in the same coreset group (e.g., the first coreset group) based on the first antenna port quasi co-location property and the third antenna port quasi co-location property being the same. The wireless device may group the second coreset and the fourth coreset in the second coreset group based on the second antenna port quasi co-location property and the fourth antenna port quasi co-location property being the same. In an example, the wireless device may group two coresets in different coreset groups based on the respective antenna port quasi co-location property of the two coresets being different. The examiner interprets the first coreset group in one QCL RS and the second coreset group in a different QCL RS.),
and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes([0330] In an example, the first corset and the second coreset may be different. The first corset and the second coreset being different may comprise a first coreset index of the first corset and a second coreset index of the second coreset are different.).
Cirik does not disclose wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set, the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set, wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit.
However, Frenne does disclose wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set ([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit 34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there maybe one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point. Multiple CORESETSs are configured and a repetition set is configured across the CORESETSs. Hence, a given PDCCH candidate is repeated, or mirrored, in another CORESET.), the PDCCH
candidates are monitored, by the terminal ([0092] The WD 22 is configured by higher layer signaling
such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling, to monitor at least one "repetition set of a PDCCH candidate").
the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously(i.e.) in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point.),
wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit([0096] [0114] Simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets and there may also be PDCCH candidates monitored that do not belong to the repetition set. PDSCH transmission can begin immediately, even in the same orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbol as the PDCCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify
the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal of Cirik with and wherein, based on PDCCH
candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in
which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more
QCL RSs are configured as taught by Frenne. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the
channel estimation performance when demodulating control or data channels. (Frenne, [0012])
Regarding claim 20, Cirik discloses a processing apparatus configured to control a terminal, the processing apparatus comprising ( [0212] for example, a speaker, a microphone, a keypad, a display, a touchpad, a power source, a satellite transceiver.):
at least one processor([0211] The processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may comprise one or more controllers and/or one or more processors. .);
and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising ([0210] The reception processing system 1512, and/or the reception processing system 1522 may be coupled to a memory (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums).):
receiving, from a base station, configuration information related to one or more control resource sets ([0198] The base station may transmit, to the UE, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more CORESETs and one or more search space sets. The configuration parameters may indicate an association between a search space set and a CORESET.);
and receiving, from the base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the one or more control resource sets ([0199] The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI formats.),
wherein the configuration information includes information for configuring a quasi co- location (QCL) RS (reference signal) for the one or more one or more control resource sets([0253] The receiving the PDCCH in/via the coreset based on the antenna port quasi co-location property may comprise that (the wireless device determines that) at least one DM-RS port of the PDCCH is quasi co-located (QCL-ed) with a reference signal (e.g., SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS).),
wherein a plurality of first QCL RSs are configured for the first control resource set and one or more second QCL RSs different from the plurality of first QCL RSs are configured for the second control resource set([0360-0362] The first coreset and the third coreset may be in the same coreset group (e.g., the first coreset group) based on the first antenna port quasi co-location property and the third antenna port quasi co-location property being the same. The wireless device may group the second coreset and the fourth coreset in the second coreset group based on the second antenna port quasi co-location property and the fourth antenna port quasi co-location property being the same. In an example, the wireless device may group two coresets in different coreset groups based on the respective antenna port quasi co-location property of the two coresets being different. The examiner interprets the first coreset group in one QCL RS and the second coreset group in a different QCL RS.),
and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes([0330] In an example, the first corset and the second coreset may be different. The first corset and the second coreset being different may comprise a first coreset index of the first corset and a second coreset index of the second coreset are different.).
Cirik does not disclose wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set, the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set, wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit.
However, Frenne does disclose wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set ([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit 34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there maybe one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point. Multiple CORESETSs are configured and a repetition set is configured across the CORESETSs. Hence, a given PDCCH candidate is repeated, or mirrored, in another CORESET.), the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal ([0092] The WD 22 is configured by higher layer signaling such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling, to monitor at least one "repetition set of a PDCCH candidate"),
the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously(i.e.) in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point.),
wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit([0096] [0114] Simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets and there may also be PDCCH candidates monitored that do not belong to the repetition set. PDSCH transmission can begin immediately, even in the same orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbol as the PDCCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify
the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal of Cirik with wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in the first control resource set and the second control resource set, the terminal monitors the PDCCH candidates in both the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set, wherein a first control resource set and a second control resource set are frequency- division multiplexed and transmitted within a same time unit as taught by Frenne. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the channel estimation performance when demodulating control or data channels. (Frenne, [0012])
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Cirik et al, US 20220159733,in view of Frenne et al, US 20220038207 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Moon et al, US 20200280971 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Cirik discloses the method of wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] the wireless device may monitor PDCCH candidates.)
Cirik and Frenne do not disclose based on one QCL RS among the plurality of first QCL RSs in the first control resource set, and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more second QCL RSs in the second control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of first QCL RSs in the first control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1.),
and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more second QCL RSs in the second control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi CO location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik and Frenne with wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs in the first control resource set, and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more QCL RSs in the second control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Cirik does disclose configured by a predetermined transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state among a plurality of TCI states for the first control resource set ([0220] the coreset with a TCI state indicating a reference signal (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB)..).
Cirik and Frenne do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi-colocation
(QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik and Frenne the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the
transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Cirik does disclose the method wherein the predetermined TCI state is a first TCI state or a second TCI state ([0225-0226] The wireless device may not receive a downlink signal (e.g., PDCCH) via the second coreset in the second coreset group based on a reference signal (or a beam) indicated by a TCI state of the first coreset in the first coreset group. In an example, the base station may configure/activate the second coreset with a second TCI state indicating a second reference signal (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB). .)
Cirik and Frenne do not disclose or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states.
However, Moon does disclose or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states ([0344] a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a PDCCH, information indicating whether a DC field for indicating a TCI state is present or not, and a PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik and Frenne with wherein a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with the-a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Cirik does not disclose or suggest simultaneous monitoring of
PDCCH candidates in multiple frequency-division multiplexed control resource sets within
the same time unit while respectively applying different QCL reference signals for the
respective control resource sets.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees in Frenne paragraphs 0096,0098,0099 0114 disclose “Simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets and there may also be PDCCH candidates monitored PDSCH transmission can begin immediately, even in the same orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbol as the PDCCH. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point.”. Therefore, Frenne discloses monitoring of PDCCH candidates in multiple frequency-division multiplexed control resource sets within the same time unit while respectively applying different QCL.
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419