Claims 1,3-18, and 20 are pending.
Claims 2,19, and 21-22 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Levitsky et al, US 20200145983 A1., in view of Frenne et al, US 20220038207 A1., in view of Cirik et al, US 20220159733 A1, and in further view of Papasakellariou et al, US 20200304230 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Levitsky discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a terminal from a base station, configuration information related to one or more control resource sets([0079] FIG. 7 704 receiving from the BS 110, to the UE 120, a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETSs.);
and receiving, by the terminal from the base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the one or more control resource sets([0079] FIG. 7 704 receiving from BS 110, to the UE 120, a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.),
wherein the configuration information includes information for configuring a quasi co- location (QCL) RS (reference signal) for the one or more control resource sets([0079] an indication to activate at least one of the TCI states including one or more CSI-RS resources having a QCL relationship with an SS block. 704 receiving from the BS 110, a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETSs),
Levitsky does not disclose and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured,
However, Frenne does disclose and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured ([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously(i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there may be one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point. Multiple CORESETSs are configured and a repetition set is configured across the CORESETSs. Hence, a given PDCCH candidate is repeated, or mirrored, in another CORESET.), the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal ([0092] The WD 22 is configured by higher layer signaling such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling, to monitor at least one "repetition set of a PDCCH candidate"),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal of Levitsky with and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured as taught by Frenne. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the channel estimation performance when demodulating control or data channels. (Frenne, [0012])
Levitsky and Frenne do not disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set,
However, Cirik does disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set ([0196][0254] A CORESET may comprise a time-frequency resource in which the UE tries to decode a DCI using one or more search spaces. The base station may configure a CORESET in the time-frequency domain. In the example of FIG. 14A, a first CORESET 1401 and a second CORESET 1402 occur at the first symbol in a slot. The wireless device may monitor, for a DCI, a PDCCH in/via the coreset based on an antenna port quasi co-location property (e.g., DM-RS antenna port quasi co-location property).In an example, when the coreset is the first coreset, the reference signal may be the first reference signal(e.g., RS 1 in FIG. 18) and the antenna port quasi co-location property maybe the first antenna port quasi co-location property of the first coreset. In an example, when the coreset is the second coreset, the reference signal may be the second reference signal (e.g., RS 2 in FIG. 18) and the antenna port quasi co-location property may be the second antenna port quasi co-location property of the second coreset.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify of Levitsky and Frenne with the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of data that needs to be transmitted over the air interface. (Cirik, [0069])
Levitsky, Frenne, and Cirik do not disclose and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes.
However, Papasakellariou does disclose and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes([0007] The CCEs are non-overlapping when the CCEs are in CORESETs with different indexes, or are in CORESETs located in different symbols. The transmitter is further configured to transmit the PDCCHs with the first SCS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify of Levitsky, Frenne, and Cirik with and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes as taught by Papasakellariou. The motivation for doing so would be to improve a reception reliability for an associated TB at the gNB 102. (Papasakellariou, [0069])
Regarding claim 18, Levitsky does disclose a terminal comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal(FIG. 10 [0096] The transceiver 1008 is configured to transmit and receive signals for the communications device.);
and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to([0058] The symbols from the transmit processor 464maybe precoded by a TX MIMO processor 466 if applicable, further processed by the demodulators in transceivers 454a.):
receive, from a base station, configuration information related to one or more control resource sets([0079] FIG. 7 704 receive from the BS 110, a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs.);
and receive, from the base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the one or more control resource sets([0079] FIG. 7 704 receive from the BS 110, a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.),
wherein the configuration information includes information for configuring a quasi co- location (QCL) RS (reference signal) for the one or more control resource sets([0079] an indication to activate at least one of the TCI states including one or more CSI-RS resources having a QCL relationship with an SS block. A configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.),
Levitsky does not disclose and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured,
However, Frenne does disclose and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured ([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit 34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there maybe one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point. Multiple CORESETSs are configured and a repetition set is configured across the CORESETSs. Hence, a given PDCCH candidate is repeated, or mirrored, in another CORESET.), the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal ([0092] The WD 22 is configured by higher layer signaling such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling, to monitor at least one "repetition set of a PDCCH candidate"),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal of Levitsky with and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured as taught by Frenne. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the channel estimation performance when demodulating control or data channels. (Frenne, [0012])
Levitsky and Frenne do not disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set,
However, Cirik does disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set ([0196][0254] A CORESET may comprise a time-frequency resource in which the UE tries to decode a DCI using one or more search spaces. The base station may configure a CORESET in the time-frequency domain. In the example of FIG. 14A, a first CORESET 1401 and a second CORESET 1402 occur at the first symbol in a slot. The wireless device may monitor, for a DCI, a PDCCH in/via the coreset based on an antenna port quasi co-location property (e.g., DM-RS antenna port quasi co-location property).In an example, when the coreset is the first coreset, the reference signal may be the first reference signal(e.g., RS 1 in FIG. 18) and the antenna port quasi co-location property maybe the first antenna port quasi co-location property of the first coreset. In an example, when the coreset is the second coreset, the reference signal may be the second reference signal (e.g., RS 2 in FIG. 18) and the antenna port quasi co-location property may be the second antenna port quasi co-location property of the second coreset.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify of Levitsky and Frenne with the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of data that needs to be transmitted over the air interface. (Cirik, [0069])
Levitsky, Frenne, and Cirik do not disclose and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes.
However, Papasakellariou does disclose and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes([0007] The CCEs are non-overlapping when the CCEs are in CORESETs with different indexes, or are in CORESETs located in different symbols. The transmitter is further configured to transmit the PDCCHs with the first SCS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify of Levitsky, Frenne, and Cirik with and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes as taught by Papasakellariou. The motivation for doing so would be to improve a reception reliability for an associated TB at the gNB 102. (Papasakellariou, [0069])
Regarding claim 20, Levitsky does disclose a processing apparatus configured to control a terminal, the processing apparatus comprising([0056] A transmit processor 420 may receive data from a data source 412 and control information. Control information may be for the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).):
at least one processor([0055] FIG. 4 processors 466, 458, 464, and/or controller/processor 480);
and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising([0097] The computer-readable medium/memory 1012 is configured to store instructions that when executed by processor 1004, cause the processor 1004 to perform the operations.):
receiving, from a base station, configuration information related to one or more control resource sets([0079] FIG. 7 704 receiving from the BS 110, a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETSs.);
and receiving, from the base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the one or more control resource sets([0079] receiving from the BS 110, an indication to activate at least one of the TCI states. A configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.),
wherein the configuration information includes information for configuring a quasi co- location (QCL) RS (reference signal) for the one or more one or more control resource sets,
Levitsky does not disclose and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured,
However, Frenne does disclose and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured([0096] [0098] [0099] Among all the PDCCH the WD 22 monitors, via the monitoring unit 34, and attempts to decode, via the processing circuitry 84, simultaneously (i.e., in two or more contiguous downlink slots, in two or more CORESETs located in the same slot), there maybe one or more repetition sets. The PDCCH candidates within each repetition set maybe configured, via the processing circuitry 68, with different QCL assumptions. Another way is to configure at least two candidates in the repetition set to different CORESETSs. Since each CORESET is in turn associated with an independently configured TCI state, the network can use different TCI states (with a different source QCL reference signal) if CORESETs are transmitted from different transmission points or from different antenna panels within the same transmission point. Multiple CORESETSs are configured and a repetition set is configured across the CORESETSs. Hence, a given PDCCH candidate is repeated, or mirrored, in another CORESET.), the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal ([0092] The WD 22 is configured by higher layer signaling such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling, to monitor at least one "repetition set of a PDCCH candidate"),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the PDCCH candidates are monitored, by the terminal of Levitsky with and wherein, based on PDCCH candidates being configured to be monitored in a same time unit in a first control resource set in which a plurality of QCL RSs are configured and a second control resource set in which one or more QCL RSs are configured as taught by Frenne. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the channel estimation performance when demodulating control or data channels. (Frenne, [0012])
Levitsky and Frenne do not disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set,
However, Cirik does disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set in the same time unit based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set([0196][0254] A CORESET may comprise a time-frequency resource in which the UE tries to decode a DCI using one or more search spaces. The base station may configure a CORESET in the time-frequency domain. In the example of FIG. 14A, a first CORESET 1401 and a second CORESET 1402 occur at the first symbol in a slot. The wireless device may monitor, for a DCI, a PDCCH in/via the coreset based on an antenna port quasi co-location property (e.g., DM-RS antenna port quasi co-location property).In an example, when the coreset is the first coreset, the reference signal may be the first reference signal(e.g., RS 1 in FIG. 18) and the antenna port quasi co-location property maybe the first antenna port quasi co-location property of the first coreset. In an example, when the coreset is the second coreset, the reference signal may be the second reference signal (e.g., RS 2 in FIG. 18) and the antenna port quasi co-location property may be the second antenna port quasi co-location property of the second coreset.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify of Levitsky and Frenne with the PDCCH candidates are monitored by the terminal in the first control resource set and the second control resource set based on one or more different QCL RSs respectively related to each control resource set as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the amount of data that needs to be transmitted over the air interface. (Cirik, [0069])
Levitsky, Frenne, and Cirik do not disclose and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes.
However, Papasakellariou does disclose and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes([0007] The CCEs are non-overlapping when the CCEs are in CORESETs with different indexes, or are in CORESETs located in different symbols. The transmitter is further configured to transmit the PDCCHs with the first SCS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify of Levitsky, Frenne, and Cirik with and wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with different control resource set pool indexes as taught by Papasakellariou. The motivation for doing so would be to improve a reception reliability for an associated TB at the gNB 102. (Papasakellariou, [0069])
Claims 3-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Levitsky et al, US 20200145983 A1., in view of Frenne et al, US 20220038207 A1., in view of Cirik et al, US 20220159733 A1, in view of Papasakellariou et al, US 20200304230 A1, and in further view of Moon et al, US 20200280971 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs in the first control resource set, and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more QCL RSs in the second control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs in the first control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1.),
and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more QCL RSs in the second control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi co location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs in the first control resource set, and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more QCL RSs in the second control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027])
Regarding claim 4, Levitsky does disclose configured by a predetermined transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state among a plurality of TCI states for the first control resource set ([0079] FIG. 7 704 the BS 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.).
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027])
Regarding claim 5, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the predetermined TCI state is a first TCI state or a second TCI state ([0079] [0088] FIG. 7 a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETSs. To activate at least one of the TCI states, such that the signaled TC states indicate an implicit configuration of the RLM/BFD resources according to various implicit configurations.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states.
However, Moon does disclose or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states ([0344] a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a PDCCH, information indicating whether a DC field for indicating a TCI state is present or not, and a PDCCH DM-RS scrambling ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with the-a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027])
Regarding claim 6, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs only in the first control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs only in the first control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, and Cirik with the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs only in the first control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the coT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Levitsky does disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein, based on one QCL RS being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the one QCL RS related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein, based on one QCL RS being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the one QCL RS related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with the method wherein based on one QCL RS being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the one QCL RS related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Levitsky does disclose wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored even in a control resource set in which a same control resource set pool index and a same QCL RS as the second control resource set are configured.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored even in a control resource set in which a same control resource set pool index and a same QCL RS as the second control resource set are configured ([0344-0345] CORESETs sharing the same configuration parameter(s) may belong to the same CORESET group. The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored even in a control resource set in which a same control resource set pool index and a same QCL RS as the second control resource set are configured as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Levitsky does disclose the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein, based on a plurality of QCL RSs being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein, based on a plurality of QCL RSs being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set ([0344-0345]) Even when a plurality of CORESETs belong to the same CORESET group. The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with the method wherein, based on a plurality of QCL RSs being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with a same control resource set pool index.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with a same control resource set pool index ([0344-0345] CORESETSs sharing the same configuration parameter(s) may belong to the same CORESET group. the terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1. The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCHDM-RS of the CORESET#2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with the method wherein the first control resource set and the second control resource set are configured with a same control resource set pool index as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs in the first control resource set, and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more QCL RSs in the second control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs in the first control resource set, and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more QCL RSs in the second control resource set ([0344] The CORESET#1 and the CORESET#2, the terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1 and a PDCCHDM-RS of the CORESET#2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs in the first control resource set, and wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on one QCL RS among the one or more QCL RSs in the second control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI statesfor CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS configured by a predetermined transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state among a plurality of TCI states for the first control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS configured by a predetermined transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state among a plurality of TCI states for the first control resource set ([0344-0345] CORESETs sharing the same configuration parameter(s) may belong to the same CORESET group. The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1. A transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a PDCCH, information indicating whether a DCI field for indicating a TCI state.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored in the first control resource set based on a QCL RS configured by a predetermined transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state among a plurality of TCI states for the first control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thusthe spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the predetermined TCI state is a first TCI state or a second TCI state or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the predetermined TCI state is a first TCI state or a second TCI state or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states ([0344] a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a PDCCH, information indicating whether a DC field for indicating a TCI state is present or not, and a PDCCHDM-RS scrambling ID.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with the method wherein the predetermined TCI state is a first TCI state or a second TCI state or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state identity or a TCI state with the-a highest TCI state identity among the plurality of TCI states as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs only in the first control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi co location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#1)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs only in the first control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 15, Levitsky does disclose the method the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein, based on one QCL RS being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the one QCL RS related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein, based on one QCL RS being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the one QCL RS related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set ([0344] The terminal may assume that a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein based on one QCL RS being configured in the second control resource set the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the one QCL RS related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 16, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored even in a control resource set in which a same control resource set pool index and a same QCL RS as the second control resource set are configured.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored even in a control resource set in which a same control resource set pool index and a same QCL RS as the second control resource set are configured ([0344-0345] Even when a plurality of CORESETs belong to the same CORESET group. The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCHDMRS of the CORESET#2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored even in a control resource set in which a same control resource set pool index and a same QCL RS as the second control resource set are configured as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Levitsky does disclose the method wherein the PDCCH candidates are monitored ([0079] a configuration indicating TCI states for CORESETs on a PDCCH.)
Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou do not disclose the method wherein, based on a plurality of QCL RSs being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set.
However, Moon does disclose the method wherein, based on a plurality of QCL RSs being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set ([0344-0345] Even when a plurality of CORESETSs belong to the same CORESET group. The terminal may assume that a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship is established between a PDCCH DM-RS of the CORESET#2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levitsky, Frenne, Cirik, and Papasakellariou with wherein based on a plurality of QCL RSs being configured in the second control resource set, the PDCCH candidates are monitored based on the plurality of QCL RSs related to the second control resource set only in the second control resource set as taught by Moon. The motivation for doing so would be the base station can change the transmission bandwidth by performing the LBT operation within the COT, thus the spectrum usage and transmission performance can be improved. (Moon, [0027])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419