DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: at line 7 of claim 1, “cavity;” should apparently read –cavity; and--; at line 2 of claim 4, “or apex” should apparently read –or the apex--; at line 2 of claim 6, “wherein supply of a gas” should apparently read –wherein the supply of a gas--; and at line 2 of claim 12, “are in the form of” should apparently read --comprise-- or --are--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein supply of a gas through the input disperses gas downwards within the segregation cavity in a conical spray pattern” which appears to read on a method claim. Therefore, it is unclear how the structure of the barrier tent is being further limited.
Claim 9 recites “suction assisted removal of gases within the segregated patient cavity” which appears to read on a method claim. Therefore, it is unclear how the structure of the barrier tent is being further limited.
In claim 10, it is unclear if “suction is assisted” is the same as or different than “suction assisted removal of gases” recited in claim 9, from which claim 10 depends.
Claim 10 at line 2 recites the limitation "the base". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 at line 2 recites the limitation "the bottom". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Bonutti (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0060831). Regarding claim 1, Bonutti teaches a barrier tent (Fig. 14 and [0076]-[0081]) comprising: a canopy 502, at least a portion of the canopy (Fig. 14) being composed of flexible sheet material ([0081], [0065], [0071] discuss unfurling which would be a characteristic of a flexible material; [0097] discloses that the barrier tent “allows movement, twisting, sitting to standing” which would indicate a flexible material); a frame for supporting the canopy [0076]; the canopy and frame being configured such that an internal surface of the canopy defines at least a portion of a patient segregation cavity to enclose a patient's head and at least a portion of the patient's body within the patient segregation cavity (Abstract, [0076]); and a gas input 512 extending through the canopy (Fig. 14), the gas input 512 being positioned at a location configured such that supply of a gas through the input limits movement of aerosolised particles generated by or adjacent the patient toward the internal surface of the canopy (Fig. 14 and [0077]).
Regarding claim 2, the frame comprises a plurality of flexible elongate members ([0076] – “poles that may have inflatable rod and pistons for adjusting the height of the tent”).
Regarding claim 3, the segregation cavity has an upper portion or an apex that attaches to hook 504 (Fig. 14 and [0076]).
Regarding claim 4, the gas input 512 is located in or adjacent the upper portion or the apex (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 7, the barrier tent further comprises one or more semi-sealed apertures 520,522 extending through the cavity to allow access to the patient (Fig. 14 and [0078]).
Regarding claim 8, the one or more semi-sealed apertures comprise an aperture with a flap or other sheet material covering the aperture (Fig. 14 and [0078]).
Regarding claim 9, the barrier tent further comprises suction assisted removal of gases within the segregated patient cavity via drain system ([0080], [0059], [0098] and Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 10, suction is assisted through suction elements 160,162 located at the base of the tent (Fig. 14, [0059] and [0080]).
Regarding claim 11, the suction elements are perforated (in order to allow the fluids from surgery to drain through the tubing and into the collection retainer 162; [0080], [0063], [0059] and Fig. 14; also see “mesh” disclosed at [0080], which is added to the drain, wherein a mesh is a perforated material).
Regarding claim 12, the suction elements comprise tubes/drains 160 extending along a portion of the base (Fig. 14 and [0059], [0063], [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, the barrier tent further includes a impermeable base sheet extending across the bottom of the barrier tent (the tent includes a base sheet extending across the bottom of the barrier as shown in Fig. 14; the sheet is considered to be impermeable as it is constructed to maintain a positive pressure and sterile surgical environment ([0077] and [0081]).
Regarding claim 14, the tent further comprises an adhesive to removably connect the tent to a bed ([0062] - “adhesive backed transparent panel” is capable of removably connecting the tent to a bed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonutti (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0060831). Regarding claim 6, while Bonutti discloses that the supply of gas through the input 512 disperses gas downwards within the segregation cavity (Fig. 14, [0076] and [0077]), Bonutti fails to disclose that the dispersion creates a conical spray pattern. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that forcing of a positive pressure from the air handler 510 and through the vent 512 would create a dispersion of a conical spray pattern as air forced through an opening/vent will diverge when emerging, creating a conical spray pattern.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonutti (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0060831) in view of Paschal, Jr. et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2001/0029955). Regarding claim 5, Bonutti teaches a gas input extending through the canopy for supplying a gas that is directed towards the patient (Fig. 14), however Bonutti fails to disclose explicitly that the input comprises a full cone spray nozzle. Paschal, Jr. et al. (hereinafter Paschal) teaches a mobile patient isolation pod, as likewise disclosed by Bonutti, wherein the gas input comprises a cone-shaped nozzle/valve 22 (Fig. 4 and [0045]) which serves to provide controlled dispersion of air within the isolation chamber [0045]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a cone-shaped valve/gas input as taught by Paschal, into a gas input for dispersing positive pressure to a patient enclosure as suggested by Bonutti, as Bonutti recognizes the need to provide directionality of air flow towards the patient as shown and discussed in Fig. 14, and Paschal teaches that a cone-shaped valve/nozzle provides controlled directionality to the air flow/ventilation in the patient isolation chamber ([0045]-[0046]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791