DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, and 8-22 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-5 and 7 have been canceled. Claims 1, 9-11, 14, 17, and 19 are currently amended. No new claims have been added. Applicant's amendments to the drawings have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/07/2025. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/07/2025 with the exception of the 112(b) for claim 1 regarding the term “basic frame”.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner notes that, for the sake of clarity, the 103 rejection for claim 1 in this Office action has been divided into subsections focusing on the main components of the instant invention, as best understood. Since the claim limitations refer to different components at various points, the subsections are not limited to discussion of only the component listed in the heading, but headings are provided in an attempt to clarify and simplify understanding the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, and 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “basic frame” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, any “frame” will be considered “basic”.
Claims 6 and 8-22 depend on claim 1, do not resolve the aforementioned issues, and are thereby also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-12, 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 1944685 A of Liu (as cited in prior Office action and in IDS mailed 10/03/2022 and with reference to provided machine translation), as applied to the claims above, in view of EP 3323898 A1 of Ferlinghetti (as cited in prior Office action and in IDS mailed 11/25/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a stacked-chamber type slag cooler with inner and outer water chambers (Abstract, one of ordinary skill in the art understands a stacked-chamber type slag cooler has a rotating chamber; slag includes white slag and therefore reads on the claimed white slag). Liu teaches the drum slag cooler has been widely used in the metallurgical and electric power industries ([0004], metallurgical processes include steelmaking processes and therefore the slag cooler of Liu reads on the plant for the treatment and recovery of white slag resulting from steelmaking processes).
Liu therefore reads on the limitation a plant for the treatment and recovery of white slag resulting from steelmaking processes of claim 1.
Additionally, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which do not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02, §2112.02 and 2114-2115.
BASIC FRAME
Liu teaches a frame resting on a supporting surface as seen in annotated Figure 1 below ([0004], [0007], a double-layer sleeve type water-cooled slag cooler includes a frame which necessarily rests on a supporting surface such as a factory floor).
Liu therefore reads on the limitation at least one basic frame positionable resting on a supporting surface of claim 1.
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 1 adapted from CN 1944685 A of Liu.
WORK CHAMBER
Liu teaches the stacked cavity type slag cooler comprises a stacked cavity type slag cooler cylinder (2, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed one work chamber associated with said basic frame), a cooling water inlet (1, Fig. 1) and a cooling water outlet (4, Fig. 1) ([0007], the slag cooler of Liu uses water as a cooling medium which reads on the claimed by means of a withering process and the claimed cooling portion).
Liu therefore reads on the limitation at least one work chamber associated with said basic frame of claim 1.
While Liu does not explicitly disclose that the stacked cavity type slag cooler cylinder is movable in rotation, one of ordinary skill in the art understands these types of slag coolers use a rotating cylinder to facilitate cooling of the slag. Liu teaches the slag cooler cylinder has a rotation axis (see Fig. 1 for horizontal line cutting across work chamber 2). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that this axis is a rotation axis since Liu teaches a rotary slag cooler. Additionally, Liu teaches rotation in Fig. 2 which shows a cross-section of the slag cooler and a curved arrow with a label that translates to “turn”. A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. See MPEP § 2164.01.
Liu therefore reads on the limitation at least one work chamber associated with said basic frame movable in rotation around a relevant axis of claim 1.
LOADING PORTION
Liu teaches the stacked cavity type slag cooler cylinder (2, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed work chamber) includes a slag inlet as seen in annotated Figure 1 (slag inlet port reads on the claimed at least one loading portion provided with at least one inlet port through which said white slag is loaded). Since the slag inlet port of Liu is connected to the work chamber, the work chamber of Liu is configured to receive and treat slag and therefore reads on the claimed configured to receive and treat the white slag resulting from steelmaking processes by means of a withering process (one of ordinary skill in the art understands the withering process occurs when slag is exposed to environmental factors such as air or the water used in Liu’s slag cooler).
Liu therefore reads on the limitations one work chamber configured to receive and treat the white slag resulting from steelmaking processes by means of a withering process of claim 1 and at least one loading portion provided with at least one inlet port through which said white slag is loaded of claim 1.
Liu teaches a slag inlet port (reads on the claimed inlet port of the claimed loading portion) on the left end of the slag cooler and a slag outlet port on the right end of the slag cooler as see in Figure 1 below. The arrows in the slag inlet and outlet ports shown in Figure 1 indicate the direction in which slag is moved through the cylinder of the slag cooler.
Liu therefore reads on the claimed wherein said white slag is moved forward along at least one direction of treatment of claim 1.
Liu teaches the cooling water inlet (1, Fig. 1, reads on claimed inlet manifold since one of ordinary skill in the art would understand an inlet to include a manifold or equivalent structure) and the outlet (4, Fig. 1) are respectively arranged at the slag discharge end and the slag inlet end of the slag cooler, wherein the main pipeline of the cooling water inlet directly leads to the inner water cavity (A2, Fig. 2, inner water cavity) of the slag cooler, and before the main pipeline of the cooling water inlet leads to the cylinder of the slag cooler, a pipeline branch is separated, and the cooling water leads to the outer water cavity (A1, Fig. 2, outer water cavity) of the slag cooler through the pipeline branch ([0022]).
Liu therefore reads on the claimed at least one inlet manifold arranged at the point where said loading portion is located and adapted to transfer the coolant from said delivery channel to said return channel of claim 1.
Regarding the transfer chamber of claim 1, Liu teaches a transfer chamber of the coolant communicating with the water cavities (reads on the claimed delivery and return channels) and slag cavities (reads on the claimed treatment channels) as seen in the vertical chamber connected to the slag outlet port in Fig. 1.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the claimed wherein said inlet manifold includes at least one transfer chamber of the coolant communicating with said delivery channel and with said return channel and said treatment channels pass through said transfer chamber of claim 1.
Regarding the loading portion position of claim 1, Liu teaches the inner and outer water cavities (reads on claimed cooling means and further reads on claimed at least one delivery channel and at least one return channel) flows in a direction countercurrent to the slag direction (reads on claimed direction of treatment) and towards the slag inlet port (reads on claimed loading portion). Liu teaches the inner and outer water cavities (reads on claimed delivery and return channels) are within the slag cavities (reads on the claimed treatment channels) as discussed before and seen in Fig. 2. Since the slag inlet port and corresponding inlet manifold is on the left end attached to the work chamber including the coolant channels, as shown in Fig. 1 above, the arrangement of Liu reads on the claimed wherein said loading portion is arranged opposite said cooling portion with respect to said inlet manifold of claim 1 and wherein at least one stretch of said return channel is positioned between said treatment channels of claim 1.
Furthermore, regarding the position of the loading portion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the positions of the plant portions to optimize the slag treatment given the space constraints of the plant and the desired slag treatment since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
In this case, Liu teaches a loading portion opposite from the cooling portion as shown in Fig. 1 above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein said loading portion defines at least one interspace, communicating with said transfer chamber and wherein said interspace includes at least one inlet gap of the coolant communicating with said transfer chamber and at least one outlet gap of the coolant communicating with said return channel of claim 1.
Regarding the interspace and inlet and outlet gaps of the coolant, Ferlinghetti teaches a system for cooling and recycling white slag resulting from a production process of steel (Abstract). Ferlinghetti and Liu are considered analogous art since they are similarly concerned with the treatment of slag from steelmaking, and both comprise a basic frame, rotatable work chamber, loading portion, cooling portion, coolant, and treatment channel.
Ferlinghetti teaches the system (1, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed plant) comprises a rotatable drum (3, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed work chamber) suitable to receive inside it the
white slag from the loading apparatus (2, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed loading portion) ([0015]).
Ferlinghetti teaches the rotatable drum comprises a cooling segment (31, Fig. 2, reads on the
claimed cooling portion) suitable to cool the white slag to induce a withering process of the
white slag, and a screening segment (32, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed sorting and separation
portion) placed downstream of the cooling segment ([0015]).
Ferlinghetti teaches the loading apparatus (2, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed loading portion) comprises a hopper (21, Fig. 3, further reads on the claimed loading portion and inlet manifold) preferably provided peripherally with an interspace (210, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed interspace and the claimed transfer chamber) affected by a cooling fluid F, so as to allow a first cooling of the white slag before its input into the cooling segment of the rotatable drum ([0017], cooling fluid reads on the claimed coolant).
Ferlinghetti teaches the interspace is made in a double peripheral wall of the hopper and comprises internal passages in a "serpentine" shape with a series of pipes inserted in the interspace or made in the double wall ([0018], a serpentine shape implies flow of the coolant throughout the loading portion and implies an inlet and outlet gap of the coolant).
Ferlinghetti further teaches the rotatable drum comprises a drum frame (33, Fig. 1) and modular panels including 16 modular panels (reference numerals 35 to 50, Fig. 1) removably fixed to the drum frame and forming the side walls of said rotatable drum, when fixed to the frame ([0034]). Ferlinghetti teaches each modular panel is formed by a plurality of pipes which extend along a preferential direction X and are arranged side by side and parallel to each other and connected at their ends (363’, Fig. 5) to form a serpentine having a single inlet mouth (364, Fig. 5, reads on the claimed inlet gap) and a single outlet mouth ([0037], reads on the claimed outlet gap). Ferlinghetti teaches the panel walls (360, Fig. 5a) are formed at least partially by the side walls of the plurality of pipes joined to each other, just as the chamber (361, Fig. 5a, reads on the claimed transfer chamber) suitable to be permeated by a cooling fluid F is constituted at least partially by the plurality of internal cavities of the pipes (363, Fig. 5) placed in fluidic communication with each other ([0037]).
Ferlinghetti teaches the modular panels allow for a controlled cooling to occur, which leads to a withering process of the white slag with consequent detachment of fragments and powder ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plant of Liu by adding the interspace and coolant configuration of Ferlinghetti to the inlet manifold and transfer chamber configuration of Liu to allow a first cooling of the white slag before its input into the cooling segment of the rotatable drum and to enable controlled cooling to occur which leads to a withering process of the white slag with consequent detachment of fragments and powder, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the limitations wherein said loading portion defines at least one interspace, communicating with said transfer chamber of claim 1 and wherein said interspace includes at least one inlet gap of the coolant communicating with said transfer chamber and at least one outlet gap of the coolant communicating with said return channel of claim 1.
COOLING PORTION
Liu teaches the stacked-cavity slag cooling cylinder (2, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed work chamber) comprises an outer cylinder (6, Fig. 1) and an inner cylinder (7, Fig. 1), wherein the inner cylinder contains a plurality of small rollers (8, Fig. 1) ([0023]). Liu teaches the outer cylinder is formed by double inner and outer cylinder walls, the cavity formed between the inner cylinder wall of the outer cylinder and the cylinder wall of the inner cylinder serves as the outer slag cavity (B1, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed at least one treatment channel since it receives slag) and the cavity formed inside the small rollers serves as the inner slag cavity (B2, Fig. 1, reads on another treatment channel since it also receives slag) ([0023]).
Liu therefore reads on the limitations at least one treatment channel of said white slag of claim 1.
Liu teaches the cooling water inlet (1, Fig. 1, reads on claimed inlet manifold since one of ordinary skill in the art would understand an inlet to include a manifold or equivalent structure) and the outlet (4, Fig. 1) are respectively arranged at the slag discharge end and the slag inlet end of the slag cooler, wherein the main pipeline of the cooling water inlet directly leads to the inner water cavity (A2, Fig. 2, inner water cavity) of the slag cooler, and before the main pipeline of the cooling water inlet leads to the cylinder of the slag cooler, a pipeline branch is separated, and the cooling water leads to the outer water cavity (A1, Fig. 2, outer water cavity) of the slag cooler through the pipeline branch ([0022], the configuration described here and the arrows in the cooling water inlet and outlet and the slag inlet and outlet in Figure 1 below both show that the slag and cooling water directions are countercurrent to each other which reads on the claimed said cooling means are arranged to send the coolant towards said loading portion counter-currently with respect to said direction of treatment).
Liu teaches the cooling water outlet is correspondingly arranged, and the water discharged from the outlet can be recycled and reused after being recovered and cooled ([0022]). Liu teaches since the cooling water passages in the inner and outer water chambers of the slag cooler (A1 and A2 in Fig. 2 are the outer water cavity and inner water chamber respectively) are completely independent, this arrangement makes the water circulation loop layout very simple ([0022]-[0023], water inlet and outlet configuration of Liu is in contact with the outer and inner slag cavities B1 and B2 of the slag cooler as seen in Fig. 2 and therefore reads on the claimed cooling means including at least one coolant adapted to operate in conjunction with said treatment channel to cool said white slag contained therein so as to obtain at least one recovery powder). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that the product resulting from using a slag cooler is solidified slag which includes the claimed recovery powder.
The inner and outer water cavities and slag cavities of Liu (which read on the cooling means and treatment channels respectively) are located downstream from the slag inlet port (which reads on the claimed loading portion) and along the direction of the slag, as seen in Figure 1 below.
Since the slag cooler of Liu rotates and cools the slag, the slag cooler is necessarily adapted to receive slag as a result of the rotation of the work chamber, to cool and to convey said slag towards the claimed sorting and separation portion.
Liu therefore reads on the limitations cooling means including at least one coolant adapted to operate in conjunction with said treatment channel to cool said white slag contained therein so as to obtain at least one recovery powder of claim 1, at least one cooling portion arranged downstream of said loading portion with respect to said direction of treatment of claim 1 and said cooling portion includes a plurality of treatment channels which are separate from each other and communicating with said loading portion, each of which is adapted to receive a part of said white slag as a result of the rotation of said work chamber, to cool and to convey said white slag towards said sorting and separation portion of claim 1.
Since Liu teaches the inner and outer water cavities (reads on claimed cooling means) enclose the inner and outer slag cavities (reads on claimed treatment channels), as seen in Fig. 2, Liu therefore reads on the limitation said cooling means are arranged to enfold at least partly each of said treatment channels of claim 1.
RETURN CHANNEL
Since Liu teaches the inner and outer water cavities (reads on claimed cooling means and further reads on claimed at least one delivery channel and at least one return channel) flows in a direction countercurrent to the slag direction (reads on claimed direction of treatment) and towards the slag inlet port (reads on claimed loading portion), Liu therefore reads on the limitation said cooling means include at least one delivery channel which extends at least through said cooling portion to send the coolant towards said loading portion counter-currently with respect to said direction of treatment of claim 1.
Liu teaches as a further improvement of the present invention, although not shown in the figures, it is also possible to design the cylinder wall (7, Fig. 2) of the inner cylinder to have a structure similar to that of the outer cylinder, formed by double-layer inner and outer cylinder walls, thereby forming a new water cavity, further increasing the ability of the outer slag cavity (B1, Fig. 2, reads on claimed treatment channel) to exchange heat with the high-temperature residue, and improving the cooling capacity of the outer slag cavity ([0024], new water cavity further reads on the claimed at least one return channel). Liu teaches the water discharged from the outlet can be recycled and reused after being recovered and cooled ([0022], recycling and reusing the water further reads on the claimed at least one return channel).
Liu therefore reads on the limitations at least one return channel which extends through at least said cooling portion and is arranged to surround said delivery channel to send the coolant towards the sorting and separation portion parallel to said direction of treatment, equi-currently to said direction of treatment of claim 1.
Regarding the direction of the coolant flow, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” In this case, the return channel of Liu read on the instant claims since the channels are capable of delivering water as a coolant in either direction.
SORTING AND SEPARATION PORTION
Liu teaches the slag cooler preferably adopts a form in which the center of the axis has a small roller, and a plurality of small rollers are evenly distributed around the circumference of the axis small roller, and the number of small rollers around the axis small roller is preferably 4-8 with the distribution form and quantity of the small rollers being adjusted according to actual needs ([0025]). Liu teaches the present invention is not limited to the specific implementation shown in the drawings, and related alternative solutions in combination with the specific implementation that do not deviate from the design concept of the present invention can also be obtained ([0027]).
Since the slag cooler of Liu has a slag outlet which receives slag and the slag can be sorted or separated by changing the small rollers within the work chamber, as discussed above, the slag cooler of Liu includes a sorting and separation portion in the slag outlet which receives the slag downstream from the cooling portion of Liu.
Liu therefore reads on the limitation at least one sorting and separation portion of said recovery powder arranged downstream of said cooling portion with respect to said direction of treatment of claim 1.
Liu teaches the double-layer inner and outer cylinder walls used in the outer cylinder are formed by fitting two cylinders of different diameters together forming an outer water cavity A1 between the double-layer inner and outer cylinder walls and the inner water chamber is formed by connecting the inner cylinder and small roller ([0023]). The water cavities and slag cavities are connected to each other ([0023]-[0025], water cavities A1, A2 and slag cavities B1, B2 in Fig. 2 are connected to each other and will therefore rotate integrally around the axis).
Liu therefore reads on the limitation where said cooling means and said treatment channels rotate integrally with each other around said axis of claim 1.
SUPPLY MEANS OF COOLANT
Regarding the supply means of claim 1, Liu does not explicitly disclose further comprising: supply means of the coolant communicating with said delivery channel and discharge means of the coolant communicating with said return channel, where said supply means and said discharge means are arranged downstream of said sorting and separation portion.
Regarding the supply means and discharge means of the coolant, Ferlinghetti teaches the drum frame comprises supply means of the cooling fluid F from a feed system (70, Figs. 1-3, supply means reads on the claimed supply means and as seen in Fig. 2 is located downstream of the screening segment 32) of the cooling fluid F towards the modular panels and comprise delivery pipes (333, Fig. 6, further reads on claimed supply means) which constitute at least partially or entirely the drum frame itself ([0043]). Ferlinghetti teaches the delivery pipes form a supply circuit of the cooling fluid F in a direction that proceeds in the opposite direction Y’ to the advancement direction of the white slag Y inside the rotatable drum (see Fig. 6), and the delivery pipes are configured so as to form a cage arranged around the rotatable drum and act as a support frame of the modular panels ([0044]-[0045]).
Ferlinghetti teaches the feeding means of the cooling fluid F may comprise fixed delivery pipes (71, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed supply means) and drainage pipes (72, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed discharge means) connected to a rotating hydraulic joint (80, Fig. 3) ([0067], as seen in Fig. 3 both 71 and 72 are located downstream from screening segment 32 which reads on the claimed sorting and separation portion). Ferlinghetti teaches through the rotating hydraulic joint, the fixed delivery pipes are fluidly connected to the delivery pipes of the frame, while the fixed drainage pipes are fluidly connected to the chamber of the modular panels and receive the cooling fluid once it has passed through all the modular panels ([0067], the connections read on the claimed supply means of the coolant communicating with said delivery channel and discharge means of the coolant communicating with said return channel).
Ferlinghetti teaches the modular panels with coolant flow allow for a controlled cooling to occur, which leads to a withering process of the white slag with consequent detachment of fragments and powder ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plant of Liu by adding the supply means and discharge of Ferlinghetti to allow for a controlled cooling to occur, which leads to a withering process of the white slag with consequent detachment of fragments and powder, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the limitation further comprising: supply means of the coolant communicating with said delivery channel and discharge means of the coolant communicating with said return channel, where said supply means and said discharge means are arranged downstream of said sorting and separation portion of claim 7.
REMAINING CLAIMS
Regarding claim 6, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein said cooling means include at least one internally hollow cooling liner and said delivery channel and said return channel are arranged inside said cooling liner, where said return channel is positioned between said cooling liner and said delivery channel, said treatment channels being inserted inside said return channel.
Regarding the cooling means, Ferlinghetti teaches the panel walls (360, Fig. 5a) are formed at least partially by the side walls of the plurality of pipes joined to each other, just as the chamber (361, Fig. 5a) suitable to be permeated by a cooling fluid F is constituted at least partially by the plurality of internal cavities of the pipes (363, Fig. 5, reads on the claimed internally hollow cooling liner) placed in fluidic communication with each other ([0037], since there is fluidic communication of the flow, the coolant is flowing through all of the pipes which read on the claimed delivery channel and return channel). Since the slag is inserted in the rotatable drum which is within the pipes with coolant flow, the configuration of Ferlinghetti reads on the claimed said treatment channels being inserted inside said return channel.
Ferlinghetti teaches the modular panels and pipes within enable obtaining an indirect cooling of the white slag when received in the drum by means of thermal exchange between the slag and the modular panels ([0035]).
Ferlinghetti further teaches the present system makes it possible to obtain optimized heat exchange thanks to a spiral circulation of the cooling fluid inside the drum frame in the direction opposite to the direction of advancement of the white slag in the drum; a simultaneous circulation of the cooling fluid F in the pipes of the modular panels both in the direction opposite to the direction of advancement of the white slag and in the same direction, in an alternating manner; an increased heat exchange surface with the white slag, thanks to the presence of the piping of the panels ([0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plant of Liu by adding the cooling means of Ferlinghetti to enable obtaining an indirect cooling of the white slag when received in the drum by means of thermal exchange between the slag and the modular panels and optimize heat exchange between the slag and the drum, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Additionally, while Ferlinghetti does not disclose the return channel is positioned between said cooling liner and said delivery channel it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to increase the cooling of the treated slag, as taught by Ferlinghetti, by adding and rearranging as needed a cooling liner, a delivery channel, and a return channel to ensure coolant flow throughout the slag cooling apparatus, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the claimed wherein said cooling means include at least one internally hollow cooling liner and said delivery channel and said return channel are arranged inside said cooling liner, where said return channel is positioned between said cooling liner and said delivery channel, said treatment channels being inserted inside said return channel of claim 6.
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose further comprising: movement means associated with said work chamber and operable to move the work chamber in rotation around said axis of claim 8 and further comprising: adjustment means for adjusting an inclination of said axis of claim 9.
Ferlinghetti teaches the rotating hydraulic joint (80, Fig. 2) is suitable to rotate around an axis of rotation W, preferably coinciding with the axis of rotation of the rotatable drum (3, Fig. 2, reads on the claimed work chamber) and the actuation of the rotation of the rotatable drum is realized by means of rotation actuating means (200, Fig. 2, reads on claimed movement means) suitable to rotate the drum by means of a pinion (201, Fig. 2, further reads on claimed movement means) - crown (202, Fig. 2, further reads on claimed movement means) system which further comprises a motor and drive shaft to rotate the drum ([0070]-[0074], the rotating rotation actuating means reads on the claimed movement means associated with said work chamber and operable to move the work chamber in rotation around said axis).
Ferlinghetti teaches the tilting frame (401, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed adjustment means) is hinged in the vicinity of the screening segment (32, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed sorting and separation portion) in such a way as to allow the progressive lifting of the drum (3, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed work chamber) on the side of the inlet mouth of the white slag with consequent inclination of the axis of rotation of said rotatable drum ([0077]). Ferlinghetti teaches the system comprises electromechanical jacks (900, Figs. 2-3, reads on the claimed adjustment means), connected between the tilting frame and a base frame (402, Fig. 7, reads on the claimed basic frame) on which such tilting frame is hinged ([0077], the tilting frame and electromechanical jacks reads on the claimed adjustment means for adjusting the inclination of said axis).
Ferlinghetti teaches the variation of the inclination and the rotation speed of the rotatable drum determine how long the white slag stays inside said drum ([0078], rotatable drum reads on the claimed work chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plant of Liu to include the movement means and adjustment means of Ferlinghetti to control the rotation and inclination of the work chamber to adjust the variation of the inclination and the rotation speed of the rotatable drum to control how long the white slag stays inside the work chamber, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Modified Liu therefore reads on all the limitations of claims 8-9.
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose further comprising: at least one control and command unit operatively connected to at least one of either said movement means or said adjustment means and further comprising sensor means adapted to detect the temperature of the recovery powder and operatively connected to said control and command unit , the latter being configured to adjust at least one of either said movement means or said adjustment means according to the temperature detected by said sensor means of claim 10 and wherein said control and command unit is configured to increase a rotational speed of said work chamber by means of said movement means and/or to increase the inclination of said work chamber by means of said adjustment means when the temperature detected by said sensor means exceeds a preset reference value of claim 11.
Ferlinghetti teaches the system further comprises a programmable control device (e.g. PLC based) suitable to send control signals to the electromechanical jacks so as to adjust the inclination of the rotatable drum as a function of the white slag temperature detected in the unloading means and/or as a function of the weight of material contained in the rotatable drum detected by the load cell (403, 404, Fig. 3) ([0081], programmable control device reads on the claimed at least one control and command unit; since the control device of Ferlinghetti adjusts the inclination based on the slag temperature, it reads on the claimed at least one control and command unit operatively connected to at least one of either said movement means or said adjustment means). Ferlinghetti teaches thanks to the presence of a temperature detection sensor of the white slag and automated inclination means of the rotatable drum, the proposed
system is also able to optimally manage the heat exchange during the cooling phase of the white slag, allowing energy savings and, therefore, a greater production efficiency of the white slag ([0094], temperature detection sensor reads on the claimed sensor means adapted to detect the temperature of the recovery powder). Ferlinghetti teaches in the case of detection of an excessively high temperature of the white slag unloaded, the programmable control device generates a suitable signal to reduce the inclination of the rotatable drum so as to slow down the advancement of the white slag in the drum and thus increase the length of the heat exchange, with a consequent reduction of the temperature of the slag unloaded ([0081], in the case of detection of an excessively high temperature of the white slag reads on the claimed when the temperature detected by said sensor means exceeds a preset reference value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plant of Liu to add the control device and temperature detection sensor of Ferlinghetti to control and automate the inclination of the work chamber to optimally manage the heat exchange during the cooling phase of the white slag, allowing energy savings and, therefore, a greater production efficiency of the white slag, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Since the control device of Ferlinghetti controls the inclination of the rotatable drum based on a temperature detection means comprising sensors, the control device is operatively connected to the adjustment means and the sensor means, and is therefore configured to increase the inclination of said work chamber by means of the adjustment means based on a temperature detected exceeding a preset reference value.
Modified Liu therefore reads on all the limitations of claims 10-11.
Regarding claim 12, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
Liu teaches the slag cavities B1 and B2 (reads on the claimed treatment channels) are arranged in a radial pattern (see Fig. 2, the radial pattern is arranged with respect to the horizontal axis designated by the point in the center of the figure). Since Liu teaches the slag moves from the inlet port to the outlet port and through the slag cavities, each of the slag cavities necessarily has a supply port communicating with the slag inlet port. A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. See MPEP § 2164.01.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the limitation wherein said treatment channels are arranged in a radial pattern with respect to said axis, each of said treatment channels includes a supply port communicating with said loading portion of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein said work chamber is inclined with respect to the horizon, said loading portion being positioned at a higher level than said sorting and separation portion.
Since Ferlinghetti teaches adjusting the inclination of the rotatable drum to control slag speed, the work chamber of Ferlinghetti is inclined with respect to the horizon with the loading portion (2, Fig. 3) being positioned at a higher level than the screening segment (32, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed sorting and separation portion) as seen in Fig. 3.
Modified Liu therefore reads on all the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
Liu teaches the slag inlet (reads on claimed inlet port) leads to a loading portion which has a segment with a substantially truncated-cone shape, diverging away from the slag inlet port as seen in annotated Figure 1.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the limitation wherein said loading portion has a substantially truncated-cone shape, diverging away from said inlet port of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein said loading portion includes a plurality of conveying elements adapted to direct said white slag towards said treatment channel.
Regarding the plurality of conveying elements, Ferlinghetti teaches feeding means (4, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed plurality of conveying elements) of the white slag configured to convey the white slag from the loading apparatus (2, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed loading portion) to the cooling segment of the rotatable drum (3, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed work chamber and includes the claimed treatment channel) by conveying it through an inlet mouth (380, Fig. 3) of the drum where said feeding means preferably comprise a vibrating channel (400, Fig. 1, reads on the claimed plurality of conveying elements) ([0016], the configuration of Ferlinghetti reads on the claimed adapted to direct said white slag towards said treatment channel since the slag moves from the loading portion to the work chamber as seen in Figs. 1-3).
Ferlinghetti teaches the system further comprises a conveyor belt (1001, Fig. 11, further reads on the claimed conveying means) suitable to receive the white slag coming from the first unloading means preferably by means of a rotary auger (1002, Fig. 11) ([0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of Liu to include the feeding means and vibrating channel of Ferlinghetti to convey the slag from the loading portion to the cooling portion, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the claimed wherein said loading portion includes a plurality of conveying elements adapted to direct said white slag towards said treatment channel of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein said sorting and separation portion includes a plurality of holes, each provided with at least one predefined size, adapted to allow the outflow of said recovery powder.
Ferlinghetti teaches the system comprises a screening segment (32, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed sorting and separation portion) placed downstream of the cooling segment ([0015]). Ferlinghetti teaches the selection and separation of fragments and powder of the white slag having a piece size smaller than a predetermined piece size is performed in the screening segment ([0015]). Ferlinghetti teaches the screening segment preferably comprises a rotating screen (321, Fig. 3) integral in rotation with the drum and consisting of a steel mesh suitable to allow the transit of fragments and powder of the white slag having a piece size smaller than a predetermined piece size, suitable to be unloaded by the first unloading means such as an unloading hopper ([0033], one of ordinary skill in the art understands the steel mesh includes various holes of a predefined size and therefore reads on the claimed plurality of holes, each provided with at least one predefined size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plant of Liu to include the screening segment of Ferlinghetti to separate fragments and powders of a desired size, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the limitation wherein said sorting and separation portion includes a plurality of holes, each provided with at least one predefined size, adapted to allow an outflow of said recovery powder of claim 17.
Regarding claims 18-19, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose further comprising: collection means of said recovery powder arranged below said sorting and separation portion, said recovery powder falling by gravity from said sorting and separation portion to said collection means of claim 18 and further comprising: at least one unloading portion arranged downstream of said sorting and separation portion with respect to said direction of treatment and adapted to allow the unloading of the waste product resulting from said withering process of claim 19.
Ferlinghetti teaches the screening segment (32, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed sorting and separation portion) is unloaded by the first unloading means (5, Fig. 2, reads on the claimed collection means) such as an unloading hopper (51, Figs. 2-3, reads on the claimed collection means and includes the claimed recovery powder since that is the product obtained from the system of Ferlinghetti) and that the remaining amount of material having a piece size greater than said predetermined piece size continues its path and is expelled by the second unloading means (6, Fig. 2, reads on the claimed collection means) for example a chute (61, Fig. 3, reads on the claimed collection means) ([0033], the remaining amount of material reads on the claimed waste product resulting from said withering process since it includes metal crusts and therefore the second unloading means and chute read on the claimed adapted to allow the unloading of the waste product resulting from said withering process). The first and second unloading means read on the claimed unloading portion and are arranged downstream of the sorting and separation portion as seen in Figs. 2-3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plant of Liu to include the first and second unloading means of Ferlinghetti to unload and gather the treated material of a desired size in one container and the remaining material in another, as taught by Ferlinghetti.
Since the unloading means of Ferlinghetti are underneath the screening segment, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the recovery powder would fall by gravity into the unloading means. A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. See MPEP § 2164.01.
Modified Liu therefore reads on the limitation further comprising: collection means of said recovery powder arranged below said sorting and separation portion, said recovery powder falling by gravity from said sorting and separation portion to said collection means of claim 18 and further comprising: at least one unloading portion arranged downstream of said sorting and separation portion with respect to said direction of treatment and adapted to allow the unloading of a waste product resulting from said withering process of claim 19.
Regarding claims 20-22, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
Liu teaches the slag cooler comprises and outer and inner cylinder, as described above, and further teaches the cylinder wall of the inner cylinder and the small rollers, as well as the plurality of small rollers, are connected into one by connecting blocks or connecting plates welded on the cylinder wall ([0004], [0007], outer and inner cylinder and small rollers read on the claimed modular elements). Liu teaches the inner and outer walls of the outer cylinder are connected into one piece by a connecting block or a connecting plate welded on the cylinder wall ([0010], connecting block or plate reads on the claimed connecting means; welded reads on the claimed sealing means).
Since the inner and outer cylinders and small rollers form a cooling section and there are connecting blocks welding them together, the plant of Liu reads on the limitations further comprising: a plurality of modular elements that can be assembled together to define at least said cooling portion of claim 20, further comprising: connecting means of said modular elements adapted to connect and keep the modular elements themselves joined together of claim 21, and further comprising: sealing means positioned between said modular elements and adapted to operate in conjunction with said connecting means to hermetically connect said modular elements of claim 22.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 1944685 A of Liu (as cited in prior Office action and in IDS mailed 10/03/2022 and with reference to provided machine translation), as applied to the claim 1 above, in view of EP 3323898 A1 of Ferlinghetti (as cited in prior Office action and in IDS mailed 11/25/2022), and further in view of US 1769412 A of Bernhard (as cited in prior Office action).
Regarding claim 13, modified Liu teaches the plant of claim 1 as described above.
However, neither Liu nor Ferlinghetti explicitly disclose wherein each of said treatment channels includes a plurality of mixing elements which extend along said direction of treatment which are adapted to mix said white slag and to convey the white slag towards said sorting and separation portion.
Regarding the mixing elements, Bernhard teaches a rotary tube cooler (Title). Bernard, Liu, and Ferlinghetti are considered analogous art since they are similarly concerned with a cooling apparatus for minerals (which are analogous to slag) and similarly comprise a basic frame, rotatable work chamber, loading portion, cooling portion, coolant, and treatment channel.
Bernhard teaches the material (reads on the claimed slag) may be supplied from any suitable source, such as hopper (9, Fig. 1, reads on claimed loading portion) and is fed from the hopper to the feed chute by the bladed feed wheel (10, Fig. 1) which delivers the material to the feed chute uniformly and continually as required (page 1, lines 74-79). Bernhard teaches the feed wheel