DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument and Amendment
The response filed on 10/27/25 has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/27/25 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Claims 1-3, 8-12 are pending in this office action. Claims 15-16, 30-31, 37, 47, 54-55 and 57 are currently withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 56 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is incomplete. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10 -12 is/are stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Fantuzzi (US 2008/0226710)
With regards to instant claim 1, Fantuzzi teaches a composition comprises L-carnitine combined with CoQ-0 (see 0038) and a fatty acid (see 0034) wherein the fatty acid is a short chain as further limited by claim 8 and 10 is a butyric acid (see 0034) and the carnitine is a propionylcarnitine (as required by instant claims 2 and 10, see 0043) in a suitable excipient (as required by instant claim 12, see 0070) and therefore anticipated to be non-additive, since the reference teaches the elements in the composition. As such, the claimed limitations appears to be met by the prior art. Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed method. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the function of the product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Applicant argues that the amendment for “treating an addiction disorder” would overcome the rejection.
In response, this is found unpersuasive because, it should be noted that “a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone”. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951)
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fantuzzi (US 2008/0226710) in view of Sinatra (2010 HeartMD Institute) and He et al. (Pharmacological Research 144 (2019)116-131) in view of Bykov et al. (Alcohol and alcoholism, 38(5) 2003 400-406)
. Fantuzzi is applied here as above. However fails to teach that the carnitine comprises about 400 mg/day to 4000 mg and the fatty acid comprises 500-4000 mg/day as required by instant claims 3 and 9. Nonetheless, the dosageamount of a pharmaceutical composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal dosage amount of the active ingredient in order to best achieve the desired results. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of dosage amount would have been obvious at the time of applicant's invention.
Sinatra teaches administering L-carnitine to prevent deficiency from 400-800 mg/day.
He teaches administering from 200 mg/kg/day for lipid regulation wherein the dosage amount administered decreases liver steatosis.
Bykov et al. teach L-carnitine alleviates alcohol induced liver damage. Thus alcohol induced liver damage is due to alcohol addiction. Therefore it is reasonable to treat alcohol addiction with a L-carnitine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to expand the teachings of Fantuzzi to include both He and Sinatra and formulate a composition comprising carnitine and a short chain fatty acid with the provided dosage taught by he and Sinatra to result in the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success in preventing deficiency such as lipid regulation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the dosage in the composition because these dosages have been used before as taught by He and Sinatra.
Applicant argues that Fantuzzi does not disclose a composition and method for treating an addiction disorder. Fantuzzi's deficiency is not cured by neither Sinatra nor He. Sinatra is cited for the disclosure of the amount of 400-800 mg/day of L-carnitine to prevent deficiency; and He is cited for the disclosure of 200 mg/kg/day for lipid regulation and none of these references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest the claimed composition for treating an addiction disorder.
In response, Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive for the following reasons: With regards to He, the dosage amount administered decreases liver steatosis. Liver steatosis is a fatty disease often due to alcohol consumption, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would administer butyric acid to treat alcoholism an addition.
The rejection has been modified as necessitated by amendment.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 11/12/25