DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action acknowledges the applicant’s amendment filed on 10/3/2022. Claims 1-6,9-10 and 13-17 are pending in the application. Claims 7-8 and 11-12 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chevalier US 4,823,954 in view of Lyons US 5,683,029 and further in view of Darin et al. US 2004/0099722 A1, all previously presented.
With regards to claim 1, Chevalier discloses a wrap around container comprising: a substantially rectangular panel (Fig. 1) including a device receiving portion (at 1b) at one end of the panel, a fixing portion (at 1a) at the opposite end of the panel, and an intermediate portion 1 in between the device receiving portion and the fixing portion, wherein the fixing portion has a main fixing portion body and a pair of ears 12/13 which each extends from opposite sides of the main fixing portion body when the ears are in an unfolded state, each side being on a longitudinal edge of the rectangular panel, and each ear comprising an ear frame, wherein the intermediate portion is arranged to be wrapped over the device receiving portion so that the main fixing portion body lies over an outer surface of one of the device receiving portion and the intermediate portion, and each ear is arranged to be folded onto the outer surface of the intermediate portion (shown in Figs. 3 and 4).
The wrap around container of Chevalier is capable of holding an electronic device depending on the type of device to be held, since this limitation is considered an intended use.
Chevalier discloses an ear having an ear frame but it does not specifically disclose an ear tab configured to fit within the ear frame wherein the ear tab has a base which is integral with the ear frame and the ear tab fixed to the outer surface of the intermediate portion to close the container; an edge of the ear tab away from the ear tab base being frangibly connected with the ear frame, wherein the intermediate portion has a main body and two tabs which are configured to fit within the main body of the intermediate portion wherein each tab has a base which is integral with the main body, an edge of the tab of the intermediate portion away from the tab base being frangibly connected with the main body of the intermediate portion; and each ear tab being configured to be fixed to a respective said tab of the intermediate portion when the ear tabs are fixed to the outer surface of the intermediate portion.
However, Lyons teaches that it was known in the art to have an ear tab 176 configured to fit within an ear frame 168 wherein the ear tab has a base which is integral and would inherently allow the ear frame and the ear tab to be fixed to the outer surface of the intermediate portion to close the container; an edge of the ear tab away from the ear tab base being frangibly connected (at 180) with the ear frame, wherein the intermediate portion has a main body and two tabs 172 which are configured to fit within the main body of the intermediate portion wherein each tab has a base which is integral with the main body, an edge of the tab of the intermediate portion away from the tab base being frangibly connected (at 180) with the main body of the intermediate portion; and each ear tab being configured to be fixed to a respective said tab of the intermediate portion when the ear tabs are fixed to the outer surface of the intermediate portion.
The inventions of Chevalier and Lyons are both drawn to the field of containers that are capable of holding items to be shipped or mailed. Each container includes ears to allow sealing and opening of the container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ears in Chevalier by providing ear tabs frangibly connected to ear frames and tabs on the intermediate portion as taught by Lyons for the purposes of allowing the user to easily grasp the ear to tear and open the container.
Lyons further teaches at least one end of the base of the ear tab 176 has a cut that appears to extend diagonally outwardly from the base and away from the distal end of the ear tab when the ear tab is within the ear frame.
However, if it is found to not be so, Darin teaches that it was known in the art to have an ear tab have a cut 86 extend diagonally outwardly from the base and away from the distal end of the ear tab. (Para. 0039)
With regards to claim 2, Chevalier discloses the main fixing portion body (at 1a) is arranged to be fixed to the outer surface of one of the device receiving portion and the intermediate portion after wrapping of the intermediate portion to close the container.
With regards to claim 3, Chevalier discloses the main fixing portion body (at 1a) is fixed to the outer surface of one of the device receiving portion and the intermediate portion by adhesive.
With regards to claim 4, Chevalier discloses the wrapping of the container can be adjusted depending on the article to be held therefore, the intermediate portion 1 can be arranged to be additionally wrapped under the device receiving portion.
With regards to claim 5, Chevalier discloses the fixing portion (at 1a) is arranged to be fixed to an outer surface of the intermediate portion.
With regards to claim 6, Lyons further teaches a distal end of the ear tab 176, when in the ear frame 168, is towards the distal end of the ear.
With regards to claim 9, Lyons further teaches a distal end of each ear tab 176 is substantially aligned with a distal end of a respective said tab 172 of the intermediate portion when the ear tab is fixed to the respective said tab of the intermediate portion.
With regards to claim 10, Lyons further teaches at least one end of the base of the tab 172 of the intermediate portion has a cut extending outwardly from the base and away from the distal end of the tab when the tab is within the main body of the intermediate portion.
See claim 1, for diagonal cut teaching.
With regards to claim 13, Lyons further teaches the ear tab 176 is fixed to the outer surface of the intermediate portion by adhesive.
With regards to claim 14, Chevalier discloses a base portion of each ear but it does not specifically disclose the ear tapers outwardly towards the main fixing portion body on a side of the ear closest to the intermediate portion when the wrap around container is in an unfolded state.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the ear taper outwardly towards the main fixing portion body since it was known in the art that doing so would form an alternative shaping of the ear (as shown with structures 6 and 7 of Chevalier).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chevalier US 4,823,954 in view of Lyons US 5,683,029, both previously presented, in view of Darin et al. US 2004/0099722 A1 and further in view of Chesworth US 2016/0001953 A1.
With regards to claim 15, Chevalier discloses a pair of flaps 4/5 extending from opposite sides of the device receiving portion (at 1b) of the panel, each side being on a respective said longitudinal edge of the rectangular panel, and each flap being arranged to be folded into a closed position where the flap is over at least a part of the device receiving portion and an upper surface of a device when placed on the device receiving portion, the intermediate portion (at 1) being arranged to wrap at least over the flaps in the closed position and the fixing portion (at 1a) being arranged to be fixed to an outside of the container after wrapping of the intermediate portion to close the container but it does not specifically disclose cushioning means extending over at least part of the device receiving portion and onto the surface of each flap facing the device receiving
portion when in the closed position so as to form a cushioning barrier between a device placed on the device receiving portion and the device receiving portion and the closed flaps.
However, Chesworth teaches that it was known in the art to have a wrap around container have cushioning means 50 extending over at least part of a device receiving portion 43 and onto the surface of each flap 32/33 facing the device receiving portion when in the closed position so as to form a cushioning barrier between a device placed on the device receiving portion and the device receiving portion and the closed flaps.
The inventions of Chevalier and Chesworth are both drawn to the field of containers that are capable of holding items to be shipped or mailed. Each container includes a receiving portion and flaps to hold the articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified device receiving portion and flaps in Chevalier by providing cushioning means as taught by Chesworth for the purposes of providing more protection and prevent damage to the articles to be held.
With regards to claim 16, Chesworth further teaches the cushioning means 50 is configured to be peelable from the container when the container is open. (Para. 0042 and claim 1)
With regards to claim 17, Chesworth appears to disclose the cushioning means 50 comprises macerated paper.
Alternatively, the product cushioning means being formed by macerated paper encompassed in the claim would have been obvious in view of the apparatus of Chesworth, for the purpose providing an alternate way of forming the cushioning means.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references (Chevalier with the teachings of Lyons), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the inventions of Chevalier and Lyons are both drawn to the field of containers (envelope type) that are capable of holding items, with tabs used to seal the container closed. When tabs are used to seal a container, it is known in the art that there is a need to have a way to remove the tab to easily open the container, therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to look to Lyons, for the teaching of ear tabs with cuts to allow for easier removal of the tabs to open the container.
The Applicant also argues “Lyons does not appear to disclose or suggest a diagonal cut. On this point, Applicant notes that the Office has not provided any explanation regarding where Lyons allegedly discloses a diagonal cut. Instead, the Office's reasoning is conclusory and appears to be based on impermissible hindsight”. However, as stated in the previous office action and as Applicant appears to provide remarks above, the Applicant present written specification does not recite the word “diagonal cut” or “diagonally” anywhere and relies on the drawings for the teachings for the limitation. Therefore, it appears to the Examiner that the cuts of Lyon extends diagonally similarly as to what is seen in the drawings of the present application. A further annotated drawing of Lyons is shown below. The Darin reference was simply cited to show further support for the diagonal cut limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENINE PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736