DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed 04/28/2023, has been entered.
Claims 1, 2, 9, 14-22, 24-25, 27-28, 30, 33, 39, 77 are pending.
Claim 1. (Original) A method for treating acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), the method comprising: administering to a subject in need thereof an inhibitor of the contact activation pathway.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
Applicant is required to elect a specific disease (e.g., ARDS OR pneumonia).
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim.
During a telephone conversation with Elizabeth Boehm on 10/06/2025 a provisional election was made to prosecute the species of ARDS. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Claim 77 has been withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1, 2, 9, 14-22, 24-25, 27-28, 30, 33, 39 are currently under examination as they read on a method of treating ARDS comprising administering an inhibitor of the contact activation pathway.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the antibody". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the base claim 1 which the present claim is depending from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 9, 14, 16-17, 19-22, 24-25, 27-28, 30, 33, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Inhibitor of the contact activation pathway
There is insufficient written description of the genus encompassed by the recitation of “an inhibitor of the contact activation pathway”. The instant application discloses said “inhibitor” is a C1-inhibitor, a pKal inhibitor or a bradykinin receptor antagonist. Furthermore, the pKal inhibitor is an anti-pKal antibody. However, given the absence of a precise definition for said inhibitor, the possible inhibitors are not limited to the above disclosed examples.
The specification also disclosed a anti-pKal antibody, DX-2930 (aka lanadelumab or SHP463). However, beyond the disclosed examples of said inhibitor, the specification does not describe an actual reduction to practice or a partial structures, or physical properties, or chemical properties of any other compounds that would inhibit the contact activation pathway. For example, there is no information regarding what structural features would likely be associated with such binding / inhibition activity of the inhibitor. Thus, the specification does not disclose a correlation between selective inhibitory activity and the critical structure of a putative inhibit beyond the above mentioned examples.
The level of the skill and knowledge in the art is that, beyond the disclosed antibody, there are no known correlation between any structural component and the ability to selectively bind or inhibit the contact activation pathway for the genus of inhibitors encompassed by the claim. Thus, the disclosure does not allow one of skill in the art to visualize or recognize the structure of any compound required to practice the claimed invention. Accordingly, one of skill in the art would conclude that Applicant would not have been in possession of the claimed genus of “inhibitor” because the genus of inhibitor possessing the desired function and activity are not adequately described in the instant disclosure as-filed.
Anti-pKal antibodies
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members. The Federal Circuit has cautioned that, for claims reciting a genus of antibodies with particular functional properties (e.g., high affinity, neutralization activity, competing with a reference antibody for binding), “[c]laiming antibodies with specific properties, e.g., an antibody that binds to human TNF-α with A2 specificity, can result in a claim that does not meet written description even if the human TNF-α protein is disclosed because antibodies with those properties have not been adequately described." Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875, 1877-78 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
“[A] sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus.” Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1350 (quoting Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69). A “representative number of species” means that those species that are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“The ’128 and ’485 patents, however, only describe species of structurally similar antibodies that were derived from Joe-9. Although the number of the described species appears high quantitatively, the described species are all of the similar type and do not qualitatively represent other types of antibodies encompassed by the genus.”). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species.
The “structural features common to the members of the genus” needed for one of skill in the art to ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus takes into account the state of the art at the time of the invention. For antibodies, the Federal Circuit has found that possession of a mouse antibody heavy and light chain variable regions provides a structural "stepping stone" to the corresponding chimeric antibody, but not to human antibodies. Centocor, 97 USPQ2d at 1875 (“[T]he application only provides amino acid sequence information (a molecular description of the antibody) for a single mouse variable region, i.e., the variable region that the mouse A2 antibody and the chimeric antibody have in common. However, the mouse variable region sequence does not serve as a stepping stone to identifying a human variable region within the scope of the claims.”). A chimeric antibody shares the full heavy and light chain variable regions with the corresponding mouse antibody; that is, the structure shared between a mouse and chimeric antibody would generally be expected to conserve the antigen binding activity.
Lastly, even if a selection procedure is disclosed that was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify antibodies with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad, 94 USPQ2d at 1167; Centocor at 1876 (“The fact that a fully-human antibody could be made does not suffice to show that the inventors of the '775 patent possessed such an antibody.”)
In the instant case, the claims broadly encompass any antibody that binds and inhibits plasmid kallikrein and require commensurate in scope with the instant disclosure. The present claims attempt to claim every antibody binding to pKal that would have function of inhibiting contact activation pathway and effectively treating ARDS, wherein the instant specification does not describe representative examples to support the full scope of the claims because the instant specification has not disclosed any exemplary antibodies. Furthermore, claim 17 reciting “and/or” language encompasses variant antibodies with either on VH or VL defined.
It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site in an antibody usually requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs (or hypervariable regions), which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites. Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 1982 Vol 79 page 1979). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function. MacCallum et al. (J. Mol. Biol. 1996 262, 732-745), analyzed many different antibodies for interactions with antigen and state that although CDR3 of the heavy and light chain dominate, a number of residues outside the standard CDR definitions make antigen contacts (see page 733, right col) and non-contacting residues within the CDRs coincide with residues as important in defining canonical backbone conformations (see page 735, left col.). Pascalis et al. (The Journal of Immunology (2002) 169, 3076-3084) demonstrate that grafting of the CDRs into a human framework was performed by grafting CDR residues and maintaining framework residues that were deemed essential for preserving the structural integrity of the antigen binding site (see page 3079, right col.). Although abbreviated CDR residues were used in the constructs, some residues in all 6 CDRs were used for the constructs (see page 3080, left col.). The fact that not just one CDR is essential for antigen binding or maintaining the conformation of the antigen binding site, is underscored by Casset et al. (BBRC 2003, 307:198-205), which constructed a peptide mimetic of an anti-CD4 monoclonal antibody binding site by rational design and the peptide was designed with 27 residues formed by residues from 5 CDRs (see entire document). Casset et al. also states that although CDR H3 is at the center of most if not all antigen interactions, clearly other CDRs play an important role in the recognition process (page 199, left col.) and this is demonstrated in this work by using all CDRs except L2 and additionally using a framework residue located just before the H3 (see page 202, left col.). Vajdos et al. (J. Mol. Biol. (2002) 320, 415-428), additionally state that antigen binding is primarily mediated by the CDRs more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations and in some cases framework residues also contact antigen (page 416, left col.). Chen et al. (J. Mol. Bio. (1999) 293, 865-881) describe high affinity variant antibodies binding to VEGF wherein the results show that the antigen binding site is almost entirely composed of residues from heavy chain CDRs, CDR-H1, H2, H3 (page 866). Wu et al. (J. Mol. Biol. (1999) 294, 151-162) state that it is difficult to predict which framework residues serve a critical role in maintaining affinity and specificity due in part to the large conformational change in antibodies that accompany antigen binding (page 152 left col.) but certain residues have been identified as important for maintaining conformation. Padlan et al. (PNAS 1989, 86:5938-5942) described the crystal structure of an antibody-lysozyme complex where all 6 CDRs contribute at least one residue to binding and one residue in the framework is also in contact with antigen. In addition, Lamminmaki et al. (JBC 2001, 276:36687-36694) describe the crystal structure of an anti-estradiol antibody in complex with estradiol where, although CDR3 of VH plays a prominent roll, all CDRs in the light chain make direct contact with antigen (even CDR2 of VL, which is rarely directly involved in hapten binding). Recently, studies have shown that changing in CDRs even alter Fc binding to the Fc receptor and pharmacokinetics (Piche-Nicholas et al. MABS 2018, 10:81-94).
Given the well-known high level of polymorphism of immunoglobulins / antibodies, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of antibodies and the unlimited number of antibodies encompassed by the claimed invention; one of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the structural attributes of a representative number of species possessed by the members of the genera of any antibody binding pKal and possessing the identified functions as indicated above, and broadly encompassed by the claimed invention. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genera.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the written description inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.) Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14-19, 28, 30, 33, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sexton et al. (US 2015/0362493 A1; see entire document).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Sexton et al. taught the same anti-pKal antibody DX-2930 for treating pKal-mediated disorder including acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) (see, e.g., paragraphs 0012, 0022). Given that the antibody is the same as disclosed in the present application (i.e., DX-2930), it would have the same sequences of CDRs, VH, VL, HC and LC as recited in the present claims. Furthermore, Sexton et al. also disclosed full length antibody (paragraph 0073) and pharmaceutical composition with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier comprising the antibody (paragraph 0017). Furthermore, Sexton et al. taught further administering an additional therapeutic agent wherein the agent is an additional pKal inhibitor or bradykinin receptor antagonist (paragraph 0177). Given that the prior art taught administering the same anti-pKal antibody for treating ARDS, it would reduce and/or prevent thrombosis associated with ECMO because it is an inherent property of DX-2930.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, 20, 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sexton et al. (US 2015/0362493 A1) in view of Luyt et al. (Presse Med. 2011;40(12 Pt 2):e561-e568) and Adelman et al. (US 2018/0362664 A1).
The teachings of Sexton et al. have been discussed above (see 102).
Sexton did not teach the ARDS is associated with a respiratory viral infection (claims 2 and 9). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to associate or suspect the ARDS patient has respiratory viral infection because ARDS is well known to associate with respiratory viral infections before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Luyt et al. taught that ARDS can be induced by viral diseases, with two virus types being responsible: respiratory viruses that cause community-acquired viral pneumonia and Herpesviridae that cause nosocomial viral pneumonia (see Abstract). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation that the patient with ARDS would have a respiratory viral infection.
Sexton also did not teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising sodium phosphate, citric acid, histidine, sodium chloride and polysorbate 80. However, such composition was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Adelman et al. (see entire document). In particular, Adelman taught DX-2930 antibody in a pharmaceutical composition comprising sodium phosphate, citric acid, histidine, sodium
chloride, and polysorbate 80; wherein the sodium phosphate is at a concentration of about 30 mM, the citric acid is at a concentration of about 19 mM, the histidine is at a concentration of about 50 mM, the sodium chloride is at a concentration of about 90 mM, and/or the
polysorbate 80 is at about 0.01% (see paragraphs 0011-0012). Given that Adelman taught the same antibody, DX-2930, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the art-taught formulation for the antibody for use in the treatment for ARDS.
With regards to the limitations on administration dosage and frequency, it is noted that such manipulations routinely practiced by the ordinary artisan at the time the invention were made were known as result effective variables to increase efficacy of the treatment. It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious). As administering DX-2930 antibody was known and readily practiced by the ordinary artisan before the effective filing of of claimed invention, it would have been obvious to optimize the frequency of administration as well as evaluating the subject for effectiveness of the treatment. Moreover, Adelman taught that those of ordinary skill in the art will readily envision a variety of other means and/or structures for performing the function and/or obtaining the results and/or one or more of the advantages described herein, and each of such variations and/or modifications is deemed to be within the scope of the inventive embodiments described herein (see paragraphs [0285]). Therefore, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Therefore, the invention, as a whole, was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 9, 14-22, 24-25, 27-28, 30, 33, 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following in view of Sexton et al. (US 2015/0362493 A1), Luyt et al. (Presse Med. 2011;40(12 Pt 2):e561-e568) and Adelman et al. (US 2018/0362664 A1).
US Patent
Claims
10648990
1-10
11084884
1-17
11156612
9-11
11340237
1-7
11372002
1-15
11892450
1-20
8816055
1-7
8822653
1-32
9266964
1-6
10336832
1-7
10428158
1-9
11046785
1-7
11286307
1-19
11299553
1-16
11505620
1-20
12084515
1-10
12110343
1-10
The claims of the above-mentioned patents disclosed the same antibody DX-2930 and/or a method of treating a disease comprising administering the antibody. Although the claims did not teach treating ARDS, it would have been obvious to use DX-2930 to treat ARDS given the teachings of Sexton et al. as discussed above in 102. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to treat patients of ARDS having association with a viral infection as taught by Luyt et al. as discussed above in 103. Lastly, it would have been obvious to arrive at the pharmaceutical composition comprising the recited components in view of the teaching by Adelman and the recited dosage and frequency as they are result effective variables as discussed above in 103. Therefore, the patent claims would render obvious of the present claims in view of Sexton, Luyt and Adelman.
/SHARON X WEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641