DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 07/16/2026:
claims 14-15, 17-22 and 24-32 are currently pending;
claims 22 and 24-28 are withdrawn;
the 112b rejection to claim 18 is withdrawn in light of the amendment to the same;
the 112b and 112d rejections to claim 17 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s persuasive argument that independent claim 14 recites “supply of oxygen”, while dependent claim 17 recites “supply of fuel” (see Applicant’s arguments at page 6 paragraphs 2-3); and
all prior art grounds of rejection are maintained for at least the reasons as set forth herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brinkmann et al. (DE 10 2017 119 155 B3, with reference to US 2021/0372700 A1 as the translation) (“Brinkmann” hereinafter) in view of Tseng et al. (CA 2 299 443) (“Tseng” hereinafter), Berg et al. (WO 2019/209156 A1) (“Berg” hereinafter) and Willms et al. (WO 2018/153678 A1, with reference to the machine translation) (“Willms” hereinafter); as evidenced by Brunning (Reversible Reactions, Equilibrium, and Le Chatelier’s Principle, Physical Chemistry, 2017) (“Brunning” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, Brinkmann teaches a process for producing cement clinker (see Brinkmann at [0001] teaching a method for producing cement clinker), the process comprising:
preheating raw meal in a preheater (see Brinkmann at [0007] teaching (a) a preheater for preheating raw cement material to form preheated raw cement meal);
calcining in a calciner the raw meal that has been preheated (see Brinkmann at [0008] teaching (b) a calciner for calcining the preheated raw cement meal to form calcined raw cement meal);
burning in a furnace the raw meal that has been preheated and calcined to give cement clinker (see Brinkmann at [0009] teaching (c) a kiln for final burning of the calcined raw cement meal to form cement clinker), wherein kiln is taken to meet the claimed furnace; and
cooling the cement clinker in a cooler (see Brinkmann at [0010] teaching (d) a cooler for cooling the cement clinker).
Brinkmann further teaches the oxygen content of the bypass gas is correspondingly increased by mixing with air, with the result that the recirculated bypass gas can be used in the calciner as combustion air (see Brinkmann at [0019])… the kiln… is preferably designed as a rotary kiln (see Brinkmann at [0028]).
However, Brinkmann does not explicitly teach i) adjusting a supply of oxygen to the calciner such that there is superstoichiometric combustion in the calciner; ii) supplying the furnace with a combustion gas having an oxygen content and adjusting a supply of oxygen to the furnace such that there is superstoichiometric combustion in the furnace; iii) ascertaining a temperature within the furnace, wherein the supply of oxygen to the furnace is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace; and iv) wherein the supply of oxygen to the furnace is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace, wherein the closed-loop control includes increasing the supply of oxygen to the furnace when the temperature ascertained is above a target value that is based on a particle size distribution and/or a lime standard, and reducing the supply of oxygen to the furnace when the temperature ascertained is below the target value.
With respect to i), like Brinkmann, Tseng teaches a method of producing cement clinker (see Tseng at page 1, lines 8-15 teaching the Portland cement manufacturing process has, in its most general form, long been established… as shown in Figure 1… more particularly, the raw feed material 12 is fed into the cyclone preheater 14… the preheater 14 heats the raw feed 12 to a temperature ready for calcination and then passes the preheated feed 12 to the precalciner 16… the precalcined feed 12 then enters the rotary kiln 18 wherein it is transformed into the clinker 13 that is deposited in clinker cooler 20, see Tseng at page 3 lines 23-24 teaching the disclosure in its various embodiments includes a… method…for improving combustion in a cement kiln system). Tseng further teaches Figure 2, the operation of kiln system 50 is the same as for conventional kilns such as that illustrated in Figure 1 with the exception for oxygen enrichment (see Tseng at page 7 lines 10-12)… Figure 2 illustrates a cement manufacturing kiln system 50 constructed in accordance with one embodiment of the disclosure… the kiln system 50 generally comprises a cyclone preheater 52, a precalciner 54 equipped with a tertiary air duct 55 and coupled to the preheater 52, a rotary kiln 56 coupled to the precalciner 54, and a clinker cooler 58 coupled to the rotary kiln 56… the precalciner 54 partially calcines the preheated feed material 12… as used herein, the term "precalcination" shall refer to that portion of the calcination process occurring prior to the feed material entering the rotary kiln 56 and the term "precalcined feed material" shall refer io to the feed material partially calcined before it enters the rotary kiln 56… as is known in the art, the main burner 62 provides heat in the rotary kiln 56 to produce the clinker 64 (see Tseng at page 5 lines 1-10).
Tseng also teaches oxygen enrichment of combustion in the precalciner can be accomplished in at least three locations… oxygen can be introduced from oxygen source 60 (see Tseng at page 5 lines 14-16)… the fuel to the precalciner 54 is adjusted to maintain a desired excess oxygen level in the precalciner 54… in one particular embodiment… using oxygen rates as high as 25% of stoichiometric requirement to combust the fuel in the precalciner 54 (see Tseng at page 7 lines 14-15 and 18-21). Further, Tseng teaches oxygen enrichment… increases heat input for a given combustion gas flow… thus, it can be seen that the present disclosure possesses numerous desirable characteristics… first, precalciner combustion is low temperature and flameless so that risk of damage to refractories is reduced and increases in thermal NOx are avoided and do not artificially limit the addition rate of the oxygen… second, injection is simple… third, the oxygen enrichment can be used selectively on an as-needed basis to increase production capacity… lastly, oxygen enrichment as disclosed above is typically a cost effective alternative to conventional high capital cost equipment modifications and can be implemented faster than equipment modifications (see Tseng at page 7 line 22 to page 8 line 7). Oxygen enrichment as high as 25% of stoichiometric requirement to combust the fuel in the precalciner (or calciner) is taken to meet the claimed “i) adjusting a supply of oxygen to the calciner such that there is superstoichiometric combustion in the calciner”.
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Tseng teaches that oxygen enrichment as high as 25% of stoichiometric requirement to combust the fuel in the precalciner (or calciner) so as to possess numerous desirable characteristics – first, precalciner combustion is low temperature and flameless so that risk of damage to refractories is reduced and increases in thermal NOx are avoided and do not artificially limit the addition rate of the oxygen; second, injection is simple; third, the oxygen enrichment can be used selectively on an as-needed basis to increase production capacity; and lastly, oxygen enrichment as disclosed above is typically a cost effective alternative to conventional high capital cost equipment modifications and can be implemented faster than equipment modifications, and seek those advantages by enriching the oxygen as high as 25% of stoichiometric requirement to combust the fuel in the precalciner (or calciner) in the method of producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to enrich the oxygen as high as 25% of stoichiometric requirement to combust the fuel in the precalciner (or calciner) as taught by Tseng in the method of producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann so as to possess numerous desirable characteristics – first, precalciner combustion is low temperature and flameless so that risk of damage to refractories is reduced and increases in thermal NOx are avoided and do not artificially limit the addition rate of the oxygen; second, injection is simple; third, the oxygen enrichment can be used selectively on an as-needed basis to increase production capacity; and lastly, oxygen enrichment as disclosed above is typically a cost effective alternative to conventional high capital cost equipment modifications and can be implemented faster than equipment modifications.
With respect to ii), Tseng teaches that in the late 1950’s and 1960’s… the industry began experimenting with oxygen enrichment of kiln combustion as potential refinement (see Tseng at page 2 lines 4-5)... however, a major deterrent to oxygen enrichment in cement kiln systems has always been the cost of oxygen… some reports have also indicated technical concerns arising from oxygen enrichment in the kiln, such as refractory life, burning zone shift and coating stability… thus, despite the optimistic tenor of some experiment reports and even though it is commonly used in lime kilns, oxygen enrichment in cement kiln systems never became a common practice because a variety of technological and economic considerations (see Tseng at page 3 lines 3-8). In summary, Tseng teaches that oxygen enrichment in kiln combustion as potential refinement for the production of cement clinker but the major deterrent is the cost of oxygen.
Additionally, like Brinkmann, Berg teaches a rotary kiln to form cement (see Berg at page 1 lines 4-5 teaching a method for controlling temperature gradient and average temperature along a rotation axis in a rotary kiln, see Berg at page 1 lines 23-24 teaching materials produced using rotary kilns include… cement).
Berg also teaches hot gases… may be generated by a flame inside the kiln… such flame is projected from a burner-pipe… the fuel for this may be… gas (see Berg at page 1 lines 19-21). Berg further teaches in order to achieve a constant temperature profile throughout the kiln, the gas flow through the rotary kiln and the fuel input to the burner has to be controlled by actuators… by increasing the gas flow more heat is moved from the burning end zone to the feed end zone… further, by reducing the gas flow less heat is moved from the burning end zone to the feed end zone… however, the gas flow must be kept above a minimum level so that the kiln receives enough combustion air into the burning end zone… this may be checked by the O2 content of the gases… further, the fuel input to the burner influences the temperature profile throughout the kiln (see Berg at page 2 lines 6-12), which is taken to meet the claimed ii) “supplying the furnace with a combustion gas having an oxygen content and adjusting a supply of oxygen to the furnace such that there is superstoichiometric combustion in the furnace”, as evidenced by Brunning (see Brunning at page 2 paragraph 6 and page 3 paragraph 3 evidencing that Le Chatelier’s Principle states that when we make changes to a reaction at equilibrium, the equilibrium will respond to the change we make to try and undo the change… say we increase the concentration of one of the reactants; the equilibrium can reduce its concentration by favouring the forward reaction and producing more of the products… the net result of increasing the concentration of the reactants would be the production of more of the products at equilibrium). In this instance, the “gas flow” as taught by Berg is a reactant and “must be kept above a minimum level”, which is an increase of the concentration of the reactants, and would favor the production of more of the products. Thus, the “above a minimum level” is taken to meet the claimed “superstoichiometric” because in order to favor the formation of the products, there should be an increase in the concentration of the reactants or “the gas flow must be kept above a minimum level”.
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Berg teaches that the combustion gas (or oxygen) flow must be kept above a minimum level in the kiln, and Tseng teaches that oxygen enrichment in kiln combustion as potential refinement for the production of cement clinker, and seek those advantages by supplying the combustion gas (or oxygen) flow above a minimum level in the kiln in the method of producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkman.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to supply the combustion gas (or oxygen) flow above a minimum level in the kiln as taught by Berg in the method of producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkman because oxygen enrichment in kiln combustion as potential refinement for the production of cement clinker as taught by Tseng.
With respect to iii), Berg teaches that there is a need to provide temperature control which is more flexible and easier to implement and maintain (see Berg at page 3 lines 16-17). Berg also teaches that the disclosure relates to a method for controlling temperature gradient and average temperature along a rotation axis in a rotary kiln from a burning end zone comprising a burner to a feed end zone comprising material input means, by control of gas flow through the rotary kiln and by control of fuel input to the burner, by means of a control system… the method comprises the steps of:
- receiving an actual burning end zone temperature measured at the burning end zone;
- receiving an actual feed end zone temperature measured at the feed end zone;
- determining an actual average temperature by generating an average of the burning end zone temperature and the feed end zone temperature;
- determining an actual differential temperature by generating a difference between the burning end zone temperature and the feed end zone temperature;
- controlling the average temperature towards an average set point temperature by outputting an average temperature control signal to control the fuel input to the burner;
- controlling the differential temperature towards a differential set point temperature by outputting a differential temperature control signal to control the gas flow through the rotary kiln (see Berg at page 3 line 20 to page 4 line 3). In summary, Berg teaches gathering temperature data in the kiln, and comparing the temperature with a target value.
Moreover, Berg teaches in a further example, the method further comprises the steps of… receiving a fuel input signal measured at the burner; and controlling fuel input to the burner based on the average temperature control signal and the fuel input signal… according to another example, the method further comprises the steps of… receiving an oxygen level signal measured at the feed end zone; and controlling the gas flow by controlling the oxygen level based on the differential temperature control signal and the oxygen level signal…thus, a specific example of control of oxygen by the differential temperature is disclosed (see Berg at page 6 line 31 to page 7 line 8). In summary, Berg teaches the claimed iii) “ascertaining a temperature within the furnace, wherein the supply of oxygen to the furnace is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace”.
Berg further teaches the method provides for improved control of the temperature gradient… in the rotary kiln which increases product quality and process runnability (see Berg at page 4 lines 9-11).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Berg teaches a method for controlling temperature gradient and average temperature in a rotary kiln by control of gas flow and fuel input to the burner so as to provide an improved control of the temperature gradient in the rotary kiln which increases product quality and process runnability, and seek those advantages by incorporating the method in the step of final burning of the calcined raw cement meal to form calcined raw cement material in the method for producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann in view of Tseng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the method for controlling temperature gradient and average temperature in a rotary kiln by control of gas flow and fuel input to the burner as taught by Berg in the step of final burning of the calcined raw cement meal to form calcined raw cement material in the method for producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann in view of Tseng so as to provide an improved control of the temperature gradient in the rotary kiln which increases product quality and process runnability.
With respect to iv), like Berg, Willms teaches the method of producing cement clinker (see Willms at [0001] teaching plant for the production of cement clinker and method for operating such a plant). Willms further teaches plants for the production of cement clinker usually have a preheater, a kiln and a cooler downstream of the kiln… the aim is to produce clinker of high quality and with as consistent chemical components as possible… this requires control of the system depending on the process parameters of the furnace… for example, the parameters for operating the kiln, such as the amount of fuel, the speed of the kiln or the amount of raw meal to the kiln, are controlled manually or automatically (see Willms at [0003]).
Furthermore, Willms teaches a method for operating a plant for producing cement clinker comprises determining the particle size distribution of the clinker and controlling/regulating at least one operating parameter of… the kiln… as a function of the determined particle size distribution… the particle size distribution… and/or temperature of the clinker are determined and at least one operating parameter of the… kiln… is controlled/regulated as a function of the determined particle size distribution… in addition to the particle size distribution, the temperature of the clinker is also determined (see Willms at [0006]-[0007]).
Willms also teaches that determining the particle size… of the clinker enables the detection of disturbances in the operation of the kiln in a simple and safe manner (see Willms at [0009])… if the particle size distribution falls below a predetermined threshold value… the amount of fuel to the… kiln… is increased by the control/regulation device (see Willms at [0039])… if the particle size distribution exceeds a predetermined threshold value… the amount of fuel to the furnace… is reduced by the control/regulation device (see Willms at [0041]), which is taken to meet the claimed iv) wherein the supply of oxygen to the furnace is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace, wherein the closed-loop control includes increasing the supply of oxygen to the furnace when the temperature ascertained is above a target value that is based on… a particle size distribution, and reducing the supply of oxygen to the furnace when the temperature ascertained is below the target value.
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Willms teaches that determining the particle size of the clinker enables the detection of disturbances in the operation of the kiln in a simple and safe manner so as to produce high quality clinker with consistent chemical components, and seek those advantages by incorporating the method in the method for producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann in view of Tseng and Berg.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the determination of the particle size of the clinker as taught by Willms in the method for producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann in view of Tseng and Berg so as to enable the detection of disturbances in the operation of the kiln in a simple and safe manner and produce high quality clinker with consistent chemical components.
Regarding claim 15, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms teach the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and Berg further teaches wherein the temperature within the furnace is ascertained… using a temperature measurement device (see Berg at page 3 lines 24-25 teaching the step of receiving an actual burning end zone temperature measured at the burning end zone). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that there is necessarily a temperature measurement device in order to receive an actual burning end zone temperature.
Regarding claim 17, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms teach the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and Berg further teaches supplying the furnace with a fuel, wherein the supply of fuel to the furnace is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace (see Berg at page 6 line 31 teaching in a further example, the method further comprises the steps of…receiving a fuel input signal measured at the burner; and controlling fuel input to the burner based on the average temperature control signal and the fuel signal input signal), which is taken to meet the claimed limitations because there is a feedback control (or closed-loop control) between the fuel and temperature control signals, and wherein the gas comprising oxygen is taken to meet the claimed fuel.
Regarding claim 19, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms teach the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and Berg further teaches introducing the combustion gas into the furnace through combustion gas inlets in the furnace, wherein the supply of the combustion gas to the respective combustion gas inlets is controlled in each case depending on the temperature ascertained within the furnace (see Berg at page 1 lines 19-21 teaching hot gases… may be generated by a flame inside the kiln… such flame is projected from a burner-pipe… the fuel for this may be… gas, see Berg at page 2 lines 6-12 teaching in order to achieve a constant temperature profile throughout the kiln, the gas flow through the rotary kiln and the fuel input to the burner has to be controlled by actuators… by increasing the gas flow more heat is moved from the burning end zone to the feed end zone… further, by reducing the gas flow less heat is moved from the burning end zone to the feed end zone… however, the gas flow must be kept above a minimum level so that the kiln receives enough combustion air into the burning end zone… this may be checked by the O2 content of the gases… further, the fuel input to the burner influences the temperature profile throughout the kiln, see Berg at page 6 line 31 to page 7 line 8 teaching in a further example, the method further comprises the steps of… receiving a fuel input signal measured at the burner; and controlling fuel input to the burner based on the average temperature control signal and the fuel input signal… according to another example, the method further comprises the steps of… receiving an oxygen level signal measured at the feed end zone; and controlling the gas flow by controlling the oxygen level based on the differential temperature control signal and the oxygen level signal…thus, a specific example of control of oxygen by the differential temperature is disclosed), wherein the gas comprising oxygen is taken to meet the claimed combustion gas. Additionally, there is a reasonable expectation by one of ordinary skill in the art that there is necessarily combustion gas inlets in the kiln (or furnace), and the supply of the combustion gas is controlled based on the differential temperature control signal and the oxygen level signal, thus meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 20, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms teach the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and Berg further teaches comprising ascertaining values of an amount of fuel applied to the furnace and the calciner… wherein the oxygen supply to at least one of the… furnace… is under closed-loop control as a function of at least one of the values ascertained (see Berg at page 6 line 31 teaching in a further example, the method further comprises the steps of…receiving a fuel input signal measured at the burner; and controlling fuel input to the burner based on the average temperature control signal and the fuel signal input signal), which is taken to meet the claimed limitations because there is a feedback control (or closed-loop control) between the fuel and temperature control signals, and wherein the gas comprising oxygen is taken to meet the claimed fuel.
Regarding claim 21, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms teach the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and Berg further teaches wherein ascertaining… the temperature within the furnace… comprises ascertaining a temperature contactlessly of at least one of… an inner wall surface… within a sintering zone (see Berg at page 9 lines 4-10 teaching the control system 1 comprises an average temperature unit 10… the average temperature unit 10 is configured to receive an actual burning end zone temperature TBE-A measured at the burning end zone BE… further, the average temperature unit 10 is configured to receive an actual feed end zone temperature TFE-A measured at the feed end zone FE… yet further, the average temperature unit 10 is configured to determine an actual average temperature TA-A by generating an average of the burning end zone temperature TBE-A and the feed end zone temperature TFE-A, and see Fig. 3 shown below). The end zones are taken to meet the claimed inner wall surface as illustrated in Fig. 3 below.
Regarding claim 29, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms teach the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and Tseng further teaches wherein supplying the furnace with combustion gas includes supplying the furnace with a combustion gas having an oxygen content of more than 30% (see Tseng at page 6 lines 4-5 teaching sources providing a gas at 90% oxygen content or greater are preferred) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Willis (US 4,624,636) (“Willis” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms teach the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and as mentioned, Brinkmann in view of Berg teaches wherein the supply of the combustion gas is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace (see claim 14 rejection for details).
Additionally, Brinkmann teaches a cooler for cooling the cement clinker, but Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms do not explicitly teach wherein the cooler has a cooling gas space through which a cooling gas stream for cooling bulk material flows in crossflow, wherein the cooling gas space comprises a first cooling gas space section with a first cooling gas stream and a second cooling gas space section that adjoins the latter in a conveying direction of the cement clinker and has a second cooling gas stream, wherein the combustion gas supplied to the furnace is formed by the first cooling gas stream.
Like Brinkmann, Willis teaches a cooler for cooling the cement clinker (see Willis at page 1 lines 5-15 teaching the disclosure relates to in general to gas solids heat exchangers and especially to coolers for hot particulate materials such as hot cement clinker which is discharged from a furnace such as a rotary kiln… more particularly, the disclosure relates to a two stage material cooler wherein the first stage serves to initially cool the material as it is discharged from the furnace and serves as a primary source of preheated gas to be supplied back to the kiln as secondary air for combustion and the second cooler consists of a shaft type cooler for finally cooling the material).
Willis further teaches apparatus for cooling particulate material such as cement clinker discharged from a furnace such as a rotary kiln comprising a first cooler including a housing having an inlet for material to be cooled flow connected to the outlet of the furnace for receiving hot particulate material… and means for supplying cooling gas to the lower plenum chamber of the first cooler… the bed of material whereby material is at least partially cooled and the gas is heated and at least some of the thus heated gas is supplied to the furnace (see Willis at C2 L54 to C3 L1). First stage comprising a first cooler including a housing and cooling gas that serves as a source of preheated gas to be supplied back to the furnace/kiln is taken to meet the claimed “cooling gas space comprises a first cooling gas space section with a first cooling gas stream, wherein the combustion gas supplied to the furnace is formed by the first cooling gas stream”.
Willis also teaches a second cooler having substantially solid end walls and first and second gas permeable side walls… said first gas permeable side wall defining a cooling gas inlet of the second cooler and the second gas permeable side wall defining a gas outlet of the second cooler and a second gas permeable side wall defining a gas outlet of the second cooler; means for suppling cooling gas to the gas inlet of the second cooler… the first conduit means flow connecting the gas outlet of the second cooler to the means for supplying cooling gas to the lower plenum chamber of the first cooler (see Willis at C3 L2-18). Second stage comprising second cooler and the second cooling gas is taken to meet the claimed “a second cooling gas space section that adjoins the latter in a conveying direction of the cement clinker and has a second cooling gas stream”.
Furthermore, Willis teaches the apparatus of the present disclosure beneficially modifies a conventional attached tube or grate cooler by combining the grate or attached tube cooler with a panel bed cooler that utilizes both counterflow and crossflow heat transfer (see Willis at C3 L19-23), which is taken to meet the claimed “wherein the supply of the combustion gas is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace”.
Moreover, Willis teaches that it is a principal object of this disclosure to provide a cooling apparatus for hot particulate material which retains the advantage of rapid initial cooling of the product being discharged from the furnace and return of preheated secondary combustion air to the furnace while adding the advantage of low power consumption… another object of this disclosure is to provide a clinker cooling apparatus that provides high secondary combustion air temperatures while consuming low energy through the use of a panel bed clinker cooler that combines both counterflow and crossflow heat transfer concepts (see Willis at C2 L41-52).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Willis teaches a two stage material cooler wherein the first stage serves to initially cool the material as it is discharged from the furnace and serves as a primary source of preheated gas to be supplied back to the kiln as secondary air for combustion and the second cooler consists of a shaft type cooler for finally cooling the material that retains the advantage of rapid initial cooling of the product being discharged from the furnace and return of preheated secondary combustion air to the furnace while adding the advantage of low power consumption and provides high secondary combustion air temperatures while consuming low energy, and seek those advantages by incorporating the cooling method in cooling step of the cement clinker in the method for producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a two stage material cooler wherein the first stage serves to initially cool the material as it is discharged from the furnace and serves as a primary source of preheated gas to be supplied back to the kiln as secondary air for combustion and a second cooler consisting of a shaft type cooler for finally cooling the material as taught by Willis in the cooling step of the cement clinker in the method for producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg and Willms so as to retain the advantage of rapid initial cooling of the product being discharged from the furnace and return of preheated secondary combustion air to the furnace while adding the advantage of low power consumption and provide high secondary combustion air temperatures while consuming low energy.
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg, Willms and Willis as applied to claims 14 and 18 above, and further in view of Lemke et al. (DE 102018206673 A1, with reference to US 2021/0198142 A1 as the translation) (“Lemke” hereinafter).
Regarding claims 30-32, Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg, Willms and Willis teach the limitations as applied to claims 14 and 18 above, and Brinkmann teaches a cooler for cooling the cement clinker (see Brinkmann at [0010]). Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg, Willms and Willis do not explicitly teach wherein the first cooling gas stream has a proportion of less than 35% by volume of nitrogen (claim 30), wherein the first cooling gas stream has a proportion of less than 21% by volume of nitrogen (claim 31), wherein the first cooling gas stream has a proportion of less than 15% by volume of nitrogen (claim 32).
Like Brinkmann, Lemke teaches process of producing cement clinker (see Lemke at [0069] teaching process for producing cement clinker, comprising the steps… d) cooling of the cement clinker, characterized by the step e) feeding of an oxygen-containing gas having a proportion of 15% by volume or less nitrogen… is conveyed from a first section of the cooler directly adjoining the top of the furnace into i) the rotary furnace and ii) optionally additionally conveyed to the calciner). 15% by volume or less nitrogen is taken to meet the claimed “wherein the first cooling gas stream has a proportion of less than 35% by volume of nitrogen” (claim 30), “wherein the first cooling gas stream has a proportion of less than 21% by volume of nitrogen” (claim 31), “wherein the first cooling gas stream has a proportion of less than 15% by volume of nitrogen” (claim 32) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Additionally, MPEP states that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", and “the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” (see MPEP § 2144.05.II.A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected 15% by volume or less nitrogen as taught by Lemke in the method of producing cement clinker as taught by Brinkmann in view of Tseng, Berg, Willms and Willis because there is a reasonable expectation of success that the disclosed nitrogen volume would be suitable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant discusses that “superstoichiometric combustion” refers to combustion where the amount of oxygen supplied exceeds the needed for complete combustion of fuel (that is, from a stoichiometric perspective, there is excess oxygen relative to fuel)… the comparable percentage for “superstoichiometric combustion” would be over 100%, with 100% being exactly stoichiometric… Tseng’s description of “as high 25%” does not come close to teaching the claimed features (see Applicant’s arguments at page 7 paragraph 4 to page 8 paragraph 3).
Examiner acknowledges the arguments and respectfully notes that Tseng teaches oxygen enrichment of combustion (see Tseng at page 5 lines 14-15). Tseng doesn't teach "25% of stoichiometric requirement" to mean "25% of needed oxygen" as Applicant suggest, it means "25% over 100% of the oxygen needed". This taught by Tseng and is known in the art, as evidenced by Bahrami (see Bahrami at page 2, also shown with Examiner annotation below).
Examiner respectfully notes that “if a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case… rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification… or by way of an affidavit or declaration… however, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence” (see MPEP § 2145.I). In this instance, the applicant should provide proof or evidence that the combination of references as outlined above would not result in the claimed process of producing a cement clinker. As such, the rejection to independent claim 14 is maintained.
Applicant discusses that keeping a gas flow above a minimum level as taught by Berg simply fails to teach or suggest superstoichiometric combination… in particular, the “minimum level’ described in Berg indicates merely the existence of some arbitrary minimum level (see Applicant’s arguments at pages 7-8, bridging paragraph).
Examiner acknowledges the arguments and respectfully notes Applicant keeps asserting that Berg teaches “minimum level”; however, Berg teaches “above a minimum level” (see Berg at page 2 lines 10-11 teaching the gas flow must be kept above a minimum level so that the kiln receives enough combustion air into the burning end zone… this may be checked by the O2 content of the gases).
Examiner respectfully notes that “if a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case… rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification… or by way of an affidavit or declaration… however, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence” (see MPEP § 2145.I). In this instance, the applicant should provide proof or evidence that the combination of references as outlined above would not result in the claimed process of producing a cement clinker. As such, the rejection to independent claim 14 is maintained.
Applicant discusses that Examiner fails to explain how Willms relate to the claimed features: “increasing a supply of oxygen when a temperature is above a target, and reducing the supply of oxygen when the temperature is below the target”… Tseng is consistent with substoichiometric combustion rather than superstoichiometric combustion and teaches away from claim 14 features (see Applicant’s arguments at page 9, section 2).
Examiner acknowledges the arguments and respectfully notes that the recited limitation in independent claim 17 is “wherein the supply of oxygen to the furnace is under closed-loop control as a function of the temperature ascertained within the furnace, wherein the closed-loop control includes increasing the supply of oxygen to the furnace when the temperature ascertained is above a target value that is based on… a particle size distribution, and reducing the supply of oxygen to the furnace when the temperature ascertained is below the target value”, which was met my Willms as outlined in the previous office action and above. With respect to Tseng, see bullet 17.
Examiner respectfully notes that “if a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case… rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification… or by way of an affidavit or declaration… however, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence” (see MPEP § 2145.I). In this instance, the applicant should provide proof or evidence that the combination of references as outlined above would not result in the claimed process of producing a cement clinker. As such, the rejection to independent claim 14 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARITES A GUINO-O UZZLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1731