DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/26/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausi (European Pub. No. EP 3299101 A1) in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1), and further in view of Tsujino (U.S. Patent No. 5,257,199 A).
Please be advised that Clausi was cited on the IDS filed on 8/27/2024.
Please be advised that Ellison et al. was cited on the PTO-892 filed on 3/26/2026.
Please be advised that Deeny was cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 3/18/2025.
Please be advised that Tsujino was cited on the PTO-892 filed on 3/26/2026.
Claim 1: Figure 5 of Clausi shows a drilling machine (35) for a core drill, the drilling machine (35) comprising a motor (36) arranged to power a spindle (37). The spindle (37) comprises a drill bit interface disposed at a distal end thereof that is arranged to hold a core drill bit (1) (shown in Figures 1 and 5 of Clausi) and to rotate the drill bit (1) about an axis of rotation (10). Be advised that the drill bit (1) comprises a mounting platform (34) and a tubular shaft (12) [text of claim 1], and the mounting platform (34) is releasably mounted to the spindle (37) [paragraph 0030].
Regarding the drilling machine, it further comprises a interrogating unit/tag reader (25) and an RFID (23, 24) [paragraph 0026]. The RFID (23, 24), via the transponder (24) thereof, is connected to a tag antenna (26) [paragraph 0027] which is formed in the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1). The RFID (23, 24) and tag antenna (26) of Clausi though, is not a “tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit and extending around an exterior circumference of the shaft of the drill bit.”
Figure 1C of Ellison et al. though, shows an RFIDT (28a) disposed at an upper end of a shaft (10) just below a mounting interface (14). Please be advised that the RFIDT (28a) is disclosed as being able to be any (emphasis added) RFIDT or SAW tag [column 8, lines 28-29]. Per Ellison, the RFIDT tag device may be any suitable known device, including, but not limited to the RFID devices commercially available, as in Figure 2 [column 7, lines 52-56]. Thus, for this claim rejection, Examiner has considered the RFIDT (28a) to be embodied like the RFIDT shown in Figure 2, which RFIDT is shown as comprising an integrated circuit and an antenna/tag coil. Next, according to Ellison et al., antennas of RFIDT’s according to the present invention have a diameter between ¼” to 10” [column 3, lines 53-57]. Please be advised that Ellison et al. discloses “exteriorly affixed” RFIDT’s [column 4, lines 15-17] which the RFIDT (28a) of Figure 1C is. More specifically, the RFIDT (28a) is exteriorly affixed to the upper end of shaft (10) (around the exterior circumference thereof) just below the mounting interface (14) (see Figure 1C). Also, per Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) may be exteriorly affixed with a multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28, for example [column 8, lines 26-29]. In other words, the RFIDT (28a) which comprises the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil like that shown in Figure 2 of Ellison et al. may be exteriorly affixed with the multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28. Be advised that Ellison et al. provides disclosure on energizing the RFIDT apparatus by directing energizing energy to the antenna apparatus, where the RFIDT apparatus being energized produces a signal [column 30, lines 59-61]. Lastly, according to Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) can be energized and/or read and/or written to [column 21, lines 1-3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al., (the RFIDT (28a) including the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2, and further including the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28) for the RFID (23, 24) and the tag antenna (26) of Clausi, as this is substitution of one known identification means for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the drill bit (1) being able to be identified via the RFIDT (28a) and to have data concerning usage of the drill bit (1) written to said RFIDT (28a).
In making this substitution, the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al. is affixed by the multilayer wrap of Figures 26 and 28 of Ellison et al. to the exterior of the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1) of Clausi at an upper end of said tubular shaft (12) just below the mounting interface (34) of the drill bit (1) in accordance with the disclosure of Ellison et al. Thus, Clausi in view of Ellison et al. discloses an RFIDT (28a) including a tag coil disposed at the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1) and extending around an exterior circumference of said shaft (12) of the drill bit (1). As a result of the RFIDT (28a) being affixed to the exterior of the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1) just below the mounting interface (34) of the drill bit (1), when the drill bit (1) is held by the spindle (37) of Clausi (noting again that the mounting interface (34) is releasably connected to the spindle (37) [Clausi, paragraph 0030]), the result is the tag coil/antenna being disposed proximate the drill bit interface of said spindle (37) at the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1).
Clausi/Ellison et al. though, does not disclose the tag reader (25) “including a reader coil, wherein the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to [the] tag coil”.
However, Deeny teaches a tag reader comprising a reader coil (30) (see Figure 2), wherein the reader coil (30) is arranged adjacent to a bit interface (Figure 4) and surrounding a spindle (88) to inductively couple [Deeny, paragraph 0019] to a tag coil (59) disposed at a shaft (35) of a bit and extending around a circumference of the shaft (35) of the bit. Via inductive coupling, inductive signal transfer is possible to/from an RFID in the bit (12) [Deeny, paragraph 0019].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the tag reader (25) of Clausi with the reader coil (30) of Deeny, so as to provide the advantage of being able to inductively couple to the tag coil/antenna of the RFIDT (28a) of the modified drilling machine (35) of Clausi such that the tag coil/antenna of the RFIDT (28a) can be energized and the integrated circuit of the RFIDT (28a) can be read and/or written to.
In making this modification, the reader coil (30) of Deeny is provided to the tag reader (25) of Clausi such that the tag reader (25) includes the reader coil (30). Noting this, the tag reader (25) is shown in Figure 5 of Clausi as being arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface of Clausi. Thus, the reader coil (30) that the tag reader (25) includes is also arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface of Clausi. Lastly, the reader coil (30) (which is adjacent to the drill bit interface) is arranged to surround the spindle (37) in accordance with the disclosure of Deeny to inductively couple to the tag coil/antenna of the RFIDT (28a).
Clausi though, does not provide disclosure on the drilling machine (35) further comprising, “a drilling machine control unit connected to the tag reader, wherein the drilling machine control unit is arranged to read data associated with the drill bit via the inductively coupled reader coil and tag coil, thereby obtaining information about the drill bit.”
Figures 1 and 5 of Tsujino though, show a drilling machine control unit (8), which is connected to a tag reader (30) through an interface (41). Please be advised that the drilling machine control unit (8) is configured to read data associated with a tool/drill bit (6) via an inductively coupled reader coil (32) and tag coil (22) (that are shown in Figure 5 of Tsujino), thereby obtaining information about the tool/drill bit (6) [Tsujino, column 6, lines 45-59]. Please be advised that the drilling machine control unit (8) comprises memory into which received tool data is saved [column 6, lines 28-32].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the drilling machine (35) of Clausi with the drilling machine control unit (8) and interface (41) of Tsujino, so as to provide the drilling machine (35) of Clausi with the advantage of being able to obtain and store received tool/ drill bit data to the memory of the drilling machine control unit (8) of Tsujino.
In making this modification to the drilling machine (35) of Clausi, the drilling machine control unit (8) of Tsujino is connected to the tag reader (25) of Clausi via the interface (41) of Tsujino. Noting this, due to this connection between the drilling machine control unit (8) and the tag reader (25), said drilling machine control unit (8) of Clausi is arranged to read data associated with the drill bit (1) via the inductively coupled reader coil and tag coil, thereby obtaining information about the drill bit (1).
Claim 2: Clausi discloses the drilling machine as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drill bit (1) is a core drill bit comprising cutting segments (3) for cutting stone and concrete paragraph [0017].
Claim 12: The drilling machine control unit (8) of Tsujino is connected to the tag reader (25) of Clausi via the interface (41) of Tsujino. Noting this, due to this connection between the drilling machine control unit (8) and the tag reader (25), said drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to read data associated with the drill bit (1) by way of the inductively coupled reader and tag coils. Noting this, Clausi provides disclosure on stored data of the drill bit (1) including diameter of the cutting section of the drill bit [Clausi, paragraph 0024]. Based on the foregoing, the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to obtain information related to the diameter of the drill bit (1) based on the data associated with the drill bit (1) read by way of the inductively coupled reader and tag coils.
Claim 18: The drilling machine control unit (8) of the modified drilling machine (35) of Clausi is arranged to determine and to store drill bit usage information related to at least drill time (duration of use) and (optimal) drill bit applied pressure [Clausi, paragraph 0024].
Claim 20: The drilling machine control unit (8) of Tsujino is connected to the tag reader (25) of Clausi via the interface (41) of Tsujino. Noting this, due to this connection between the drilling machine control unit (8) and the tag reader (25), the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to read data associated with the drill bit (1) and to write data to the RFIDT (28a) of the drill bit (1) via the inductively coupled reader and tag coils. Noting that per Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) can be energized and/or read and/or written to [Ellison et al., column 21, lines 1-3], and further noting that the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to determine and to store drill bit usage information related to at least drill time (duration of use) [Clausi, paragraph 0024], the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to send the drill bit usage information (drill time) to a memory comprised in a tag/integrated circuit of the RFIDT (28a), via the inductive coupling between the reader and tag coils.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausi (European Pub. No. EP 3299101 A1) in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1), in view of Tsujino (U.S. Patent No. 5,257,199 A), and further in view of Wachholz (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2020/0361008 A1).
Please be advised that Wachholz was cited on the PTO-892 filed on 3/26/2026.
Please be advised that the effective filing date of the claimed invention is 4/6/2020, while the effectively filed date of Wachholz is 5/16/2019. Thus, the effectively filed date of 5/16/2019 of Wachholz is prior to the effective filing date of 4/6/2020 of the claimed invention. Wachholz therefore constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Claim 5: The reader coil (30) of Deeny in the modified drilling machine (35) Clausi is not disclosed as being “arranged for radio frequency identification, RFID, communication in a 13.56 MHz RFID frequency band.”
Wachholz though, teaches RFID communication with both UHF (868 MHz) and HF (13.56 MHz) variants [paragraph 0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the reader coil (30) of the drilling machine (35) of Clausi to have RFID communication in each of the UHF (868 MHz) and the HF (13.56 MHz) frequency bands in accordance with the disclosure of Wachholz, so as to provide the reader coil (30) with the advantage of optionality in being able to communicate with the RFIDT (28a) of the drilling machine (35) in both ultra-high frequency and high frequency bands.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausi (European Pub. No. EP 3299101 A1) in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1), in view of Tsujino (U.S. Patent No. 5,257,199 A), and further in view of Blodt (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2015/0278560 A1).
Please be advised that Blodt was cited on the PTO-892 filed on 3/26/2026.
Claims 6 and 7: With regards to the reader coil (30) in the modified drilling machine (35) Clausi, disclosure is not provided on, “the reader coil is arranged to generate an H-field having an asymmetric field strength about the axis of rotation” (claim 6), and wherein “the reader coil is wound along an asymmetric path about the axis of rotation, thereby generating the H-field having asymmetric field strength about the axis of rotation” (claim 7).
However, Blodt teaches a coil arrangement (12) which includes at least one coil and at least one coil core, wherein the coil is arranged/wound in such a way asymmetrically on the coil core that the produced magnetic field is asymmetric. If the coil has a smaller separation from a first end region of the coil core than from a second end region of the coil core, then the flux density of the magnetic field is greater at the first end region than at the second end region. However, the spreading of the magnetic field at the second end region is then greater than at the first end region of the coil core [Blodt, paragraph 0013].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drilling machine of Clausi such that the reader coil (30) thereof is arranged to generate an H-field having an asymmetric field strength about the axis of rotation and wound along an asymmetric path about said axis of rotation, thereby generating the H-field having asymmetric field strength, as taught in Blodt, so as to be able to produce an H-field that that is greater in one region another than in another region depending upon a rotation angle of the spindle (37).
Claims 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausi (European Pub. No. EP 3299101 A1) in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1), in view of Tsujino (U.S. Patent No. 5,257,199 A), and Drexl (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0297235 A1).
Please be advised that Drexel was cited on the PTO-892 filed on 3/26/2026.
Claim 11: Disclosure is not provided on the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) of Clausi being arranged to “determine a rotation speed of the spindle based on a voltage or current associated with the motor and/or based on a rotation speed sensor arranged in connection to the spindle.”
Drexl though, shows in Figure 1 drilling machine (1) comprising a drilling machine control unit (18) and sensors (20), wherein the drilling machine control unit (18) is designed in such a way that it detects all parameters of a core drill (10) and, in particular, all parameters of a drive (14), which are measured by the sensors (20) of the core drill (10). These parameters include, for example, the engaged gear of gearbox (16), rotational speed of the drive (14), the torque generated by the drive (14), the rotational speed of drilling tool (50), the applied and/or output power of the drive (14), the applied amperage of the drive (14) [Drexl, paragraph 0036]. In other words, rotational speed, torque, applied amperage, and applied and/or output power of the drive (14), are all measured through use of sensors (20). Noting this, rotational speed of a spindle (22) of the drilling machine (1) corresponds to rotational speed of the drive (14). Thus, the drilling machine control unit (18) of the drilling machine (1) is arranged to determine the rotation speed of the spindle (22) based on a rotation speed sensor (20) arranged in connection to the spindle (22) via intervening structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the drilling machine (35) of Clausi with the sensors (20) of Drexl and to have modified the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) of Clausi to detect all parameters of the corresponding drive/motor (36) in accordance with the disclosure of Drexl, so as to provide the drilling machine (35) of Clausi with the advantage of being able to detect parameters including rotational speed of the drive (36), the torque generated by the drive (36), the rotational speed of drilling bit (1), the applied and/or output power of the drive (36), and the applied amperage of drive (36).
Noting the above, the rotational speed of a spindle (37) of the drilling machine (35) corresponds to rotational speed of the drive (36). Thus, the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) is arranged to determine the rotation speed of the spindle (37) based on a rotation speed sensor (20) of Drexl arranged in connection to the spindle (37) by way of intervening structure.
Claim 13: First, as was advised above in the rejection of claim 12, the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to obtain information related to the diameter of the drill bit (1) based on the data associated with the drill bit (1) read via the inductively coupled reader coil and tag coil. Although disclosure is provided on obtaining information related to diameter of the drill bit (1), disclosure is not provided on, “an obtained rotation speed of the spindle.”
Drexl though, shows in Figure 1 drilling machine (1) comprising a drilling machine control unit (18) and sensors (20), wherein the drilling machine control unit (18) is designed in such a way that it detects all parameters of a core drill (10) and, in particular, all parameters of a drive (14), which are measured by the sensors (20) of the core drill (10). These parameters include, for example, the engaged gear of gearbox (16), rotational speed of the drive (14), the torque generated by the drive (14), the rotational speed of drilling tool (50), the applied and/or output power of the drive (14), the applied amperage of the drive (14) [Drexl, paragraph 0036]. In other words, rotational speed, torque, applied amperage, and applied and/or output power of the drive (14), are all measured through use of sensors (20). Noting this, rotational speed of a spindle (22) of the drilling machine (1) corresponds to rotational speed of the drive (14). Thus, the drilling machine control unit (18) of the drilling machine (1) is arranged to determine/obtain the rotation speed of the spindle (22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the drilling machine (35) of Clausi with the sensors (20) of Drexl and to have modified the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) of Clausi to detect all parameters of the corresponding drive/motor (36) in accordance with the disclosure of Drexl, so as to provide the drilling machine (35) of Clausi with the advantage of being able to detect parameters including rotational speed of the drive (36), the torque generated by the drive (36), the rotational speed of drilling bit (1), the applied and/or output power of the drive (36), and the applied amperage of drive (36).
Noting the above, the rotational speed of a spindle (37) of the drilling machine (35) corresponds to rotational speed of the drive (36). Thus, the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) is arranged to determine/obtain the rotation speed of the spindle (37). With having obtained the rotation speed of the spindle (37) as a result of the modification in light of the disclosure of Drexl, and because the information related to diameter of the drill bit (1) was already obtained prior to the modification in light of the disclosure of Drexel, the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to determine a tangential velocity associated with the drill bit (1) based on the obtained rotation speed of the spindle (37) and on the diameter of the drill bit (1).
Claim 14: The drilling machine control unit (8) of the modified drilling machine (35) of Clausi is arranged to determine/obtain information related to (optimal) drill bit applied pressure [Clausi, paragraph 0024].
Next, it is reiterated from the rejection of claim 13 that with having obtained the rotation speed of the spindle (37) as a result of the modification in light of the disclosure of Drexl, and because the information related to diameter of the drill bit (1) was already obtained prior to the modification in light of the disclosure of Drexel, the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to determine a tangential velocity associated with the drill bit (1) based on the obtained rotation speed of the spindle (37) and on the diameter of the drill bit (1).
As a result of the drilling machine control unit (8) being arranged to determine the tangential velocity and further being arranged to determine/obtain information related to (optimal) drill bit applied pressure, the drilling machine control unit (8) is arranged to control drilling by the drilling machine (35) based on the tangential velocity that is associated with the drill bit (1) and on the (optimal) drill bit applied pressure.
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausi (European Pub. No. EP 3299101 A1) in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1), in view of Tsujino (U.S. Patent No. 5,257,199 A), and further in view of Butler (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2016/0048712 A1).
Please be advised that Butler was previously cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 3/18/2025.
Claim 17: Disclosure is not provided on the tag reader (25) of the drilling machine (35) Clausi being “connected to the reader coil via a variable impedance matching network, wherein the tag reader is arranged to control the variable impedance network to optimize the inductive coupling between the reader coil and the tag coil.”
However, Butler teaches a variable impedance matching network for matching impedance to energize the RFID tags (102; figure 20), where an impedance mismatch that is created may reduce the ability to energize the RFID tags [paragraphs [0096] and [0413].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drilling machine (35) Clausi to utilize the variable impedance matching network of Butler for matching impedance between the tag rag reader (25) and the reader coil (30), so as to lower risk of not being able to energize the RFIDT (28a) of the drilling machine (35). As such, the drilling machine control unit (8) and/or the tag reader (25) is arranged to control said network to optimize the inductive coupling between the reader and tag coils.
Claim 21: Disclosure is not provided on the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) of Clausi being “arranged to execute an authentication procedure based on the data associated with the drill bit read via the inductively coupled reader and tag coils, thereby preventing unauthorized use of the drilling machine.”
However, Butler teaches [paragraph 0382] to execute an authentication procedure that is based on the data associated with the drill bit read via the inductively coupled reader (140) and tag coil (102), thereby preventing unauthorized use of the drilling machine. Cryptography implemented between the reader and the RFID tag may prevent RFID tag cloning, a form of security breach associated with unauthorized reading and reuse of the RFID tag commands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drilling machine (35) Clausi to include an authentication procedure, as taught in Butler, so as to provide the advantage of being able to protect privacy against unauthorized use of said drilling machine (35).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausi (European Pub. No. EP 3299101 A1) in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1), in view of Tsujino (U.S. Patent No. 5,257,199 A), and further in view of Harshbarger (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0363454 A1).
Please be advised that Harshbarger was previously cited on the IDS filed on 3/18/2025.
Claim 19: Disclosure is not provided on the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) of Clausi being “arranged to update a data base entry associated with the drill bit stored in a remote server and/or stored in a wireless device.”
However, Harshbarger teaches a control unit (150) being arranged to update a data base entry associated with drilling equipment (200A; Figure 2A) stored in a remote server (210) [paragraphs [0016-0018].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the drilling machine (35) of Clausi with the remote server (210) of Harshbarger, and to have arranged the drilling machine control unit (8) of the drilling machine (35) of Clausi to update a data base entry associated with the drill bit (1) in said remote server (210), so as to provide the advantage of being able to record and save data base entries related to operation of the drilling machine (35) and drill bit (1).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowell (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2020/002368 A1) in view of Kozlowski et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2004/0253064 A1), in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), and further in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1).
Please be advised that Crowell was cited on the IDS filed on 1/4/2023.
Please be advised that Ellison et al. was cited on the PTO-892 filed on 3/26/2026.
Please be advised that Deeny was cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 3/18/2025.
Claim 40: Figure 1 of Crowell shows a drilling machine (10), the drilling machine (10) comprising a motor [paragraph 0028] arranged to power a spindle/output shaft [paragraph 0029].
As to the spindle/output shaft, it comprises a drill bit interface (34) disposed at a distal end thereof that is arranged to hold a given tool.
Figures 1 and 2 of Crowell though, show the drill bit interface (34) as being arranged to hold a disc tool (44) (rather than a drill bit, for example) and to rotate the disc tool (44) about an axis of rotation. As such, Crowell does not disclose the drill bit interface (34) being “arranged to hold a drill bit and to rotate the drill bit about an axis of rotation.” Please be advised that the drill bit interface (34) is configured to retain any one of a plurality of different accessory tools, or tool bits, to the spindle/output shaft of the drilling machine (10). According to Crowell, as is known in the art, there are a wide variety of tool accessories that can be used with the drilling machine (10) [paragraph 0030].
Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al. though, shows a drilling machine (1) for a core drill, the drilling machine (1) comprising a motor (2) arranged to power a spindle (11). The spindle (11) comprises a drill bit interface disposed at a distal end thereof that is arranged to hold a core drill bit (3) and to rotate the core drill bit (3) about an axis of rotation for performing core drilling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the core drill bit (3) of Kozlowski et al., so as to provide the drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the ability to perform core drilling. Please be advised that by connecting the core drill bit (3) of Kozlowski et al. with the drill bit interface (34) of Crowell, the drilling machine (10) of Crowell constitutes a “drilling machine for a core drill” as is set forth in the preamble of claim 40.
Next, as can be seen between Figures 1 and 2 of Crowell, the drilling machine further comprises a tag reader (68).
Noting the above, as can be seen in Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al., the core drill bit (3) comprises a mounting interface, a drill bit shaft, ultra hard cutting edges (5), and an identification means (15). The mounting interface is disposed at the proximal end of the core drill bit (3) and is the small diameter portion of the core drill bit (3) that is received by the drill bit interface (34) of the drilling machine (10) of Crowell. Regarding the drill bit shaft, it is the long cylindrical body of the core drill bit (3) that extends down/out from the mounting interface. Also, as can be seen within Figure 2, while the identification means (15) is disposed on an upper surface of said drill bit shaft, the ultra hard cutting edges (5) are disposed on a lower surface of said drill bit shaft.
Crowell/Kozlowski et al. though, does not disclose the identification means (15) being embodied as “a tag coil.” Moreover, by virtue of the identification means (15) being disposed on the upper surface of said drill bit shaft rather than being disposed about an exterior circumference of said drill bit shaft, Crowell/ Kozlowski et al. does not disclose the identification means (15) (or a tag coil for that matter) being “arranged around an exterior circumference of [the] drill bit shaft.”
Figure 1C of Ellison et al. though, shows an RFIDT (28a) disposed at an upper end of a shaft (10) just below a mounting interface (14). Please be advised that the RFIDT (28a) is disclosed as being able to be any (emphasis added) RFIDT or SAW tag [column 8, lines 28-29]. Per Ellison, the RFIDT tag device may be any suitable known device, including, but not limited to the RFID devices commercially available, as in Figure 2 [column 7, lines 52-56]. Thus, for this claim rejection, Examiner has considered the RFIDT (28a) to be embodied like the RFIDT shown in Figure 2, which RFIDT is shown as comprising an integrated circuit and an antenna/tag coil. Next, according to Ellison et al., antennas of RFIDT’s according to the present invention have a diameter between ¼” to 10” [column 3, lines 53-57]. Please be advised that Ellison et al. discloses “exteriorly affixed” RFIDT’s [column 4, lines 15-17] which the RFIDT (28a) of Figure 1C is. More specifically, the RFIDT (28a) is exteriorly affixed to the upper end of shaft (10) (around the exterior circumference thereof) just below the mounting interface (14) (see Figure 1C). Also, per Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) may be exteriorly affixed with a multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28, for example [column 8, lines 26-29]. In other words, the RFIDT (28a) which comprises the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil like that shown in Figure 2 of Ellison et al. may be exteriorly affixed with the multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28. Be advised that Ellison et al. provides disclosure on energizing the RFIDT apparatus by directing energizing energy to the antenna apparatus, where the RFIDT apparatus being energized produces a signal [column 30, lines 59-61]. Lastly, according to Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) can be energized and/or read and/or written to [column 21, lines 1-3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al., (the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al. including the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2, and further including the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28) for the identification means (15) of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al., as this is a substitution of one known identification means for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the core drill bit (3) being able to be identified via the RFIDT (28a) and to have data concerning usage of the core drill bit (3) written to said RFIDT (28a).
In making this substitution, the RFIDT (28a) is affixed by the multilayer wrap of Figures 26 and 28 of Ellison et al. to the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al. at an upper end of said drill bit shaft just below the mounting interface of the core drill bit (3) in accordance with the disclosure of Ellison et al. Based on the foregoing, Crowell/Kozlowski et al./Ellison et al. discloses the RFIDT (28a) including the antenna/tag coil being arranged around the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3).
Next, with regards to the tag reader (68), Crowell does not disclose the tag reader (68) of the drilling machine (10) “including a reader coil, wherein the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to [the] tag coil”.
However, Deeny teaches a tag reader comprising a reader coil (30) (see Figure 2), wherein the reader coil (30) is arranged adjacent to a bit interface (Figure 4) and surrounding a spindle (88) to inductively couple [Deeny, paragraph 0019] to a tag coil (59) disposed at a shaft (35) of a bit and extending around a circumference of the shaft (35) of the bit. Via inductive coupling, inductive signal transfer is possible to/from an RFID in the bit (12) [Deeny, paragraph 0019].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the tag reader (68) of Crowell with the reader coil (30) of Deeny, so as to provide the advantage of being able to inductively couple to the tag coil/antenna of the RFIDT (28a) of the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell such that the tag coil/antenna of the RFIDT (28a) thereof can be energized and the integrated circuit of the RFIDT (28a) can be read and/or written to.
In making this modification, the reader coil (30) of Deeny is provided to the tag reader (68) of Crowell such that the tag reader (68) of Crowell includes the reader coil (30) of Deeny. Noting this, the tag reader (68) is shown in Figure 2 of Crowell as being arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface (34) in a nose cap (66) and surrounding the output shaft/spindle. The reader coil (30) that the modified tag reader (68) of Crowell includes is therefore also arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the output shaft/spindle. Based on the foregoing, the reader coil (30) is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface (34) and surrounding the output shaft/spindle to inductively couple to the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) that is arranged around the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft.
Next, as can be seen in Figure 6 of Crowell, the drilling machine (10) further comprises a drilling machine control unit (70) that is connected to the tag reader (68), the drilling machine control unit (70) being arranged to read data associated with the core drill bit (3) via the inductively coupled reader coil (30) and antenna/tag coil, thereby obtaining information about the core drill bit (3).
Moreover, the reader coil (30) is disposed at a first axial position along the axis of rotation and the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) of the modified drilling machine (10) is disposed at a second axial position along the axis of rotation. This will now be explained.
Regarding the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) in the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell, said tag coil is arranged on the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al. at an upper end of said drill bit shaft just below the mounting interface of the core drill bit (3) in accordance with the disclosure of Ellison et al. Noting this, as was explained above, the core drill bit (3), via its mounting interface, connects to the drill bit interface (34) of Crowell. In connecting with the drill bit interface (34), the drill bit shaft which extends down/out from said mounting interface, is disposed in a location (axially offset) below each of the nose cap (66) and drill bit interface (34) (see Figure 2 of Crowell for the nose cap (66)). Regarding the output shaft/spindle, it is disposed within the confines of said nose cap (66). This is known as Crowell discloses the output shaft/spindle is not shown and the drill bit interface (34) is attached to an end portion of said output shaft/spindle [Crowell, paragraph 0029]. Thus, with respect to the axis of rotation, the output shaft/spindle is located above the drill bit shaft on the exterior circumference of which drill bit shaft the tag coil is arranged.
Since in the modified drilling machine (10) the reader coil (30) of Deeny is provided to the tag reader (68), and because the tag reader (68) is incorporated into the nose cap (66) [Crowell, paragraph 0034] so as to surround the output shaft/spindle, the reader coil (30) by virtue of being provided to the tag reader (68) so as to surround the output shaft/spindle is also located above the location in the drill bit interface (34) that the mounting interface of the core drill bit (3) is received.
Thus, the reader coil (30) is disposed at a first axial position along the axis of rotation and the tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) is disposed at a second axial position along the axis of rotation, where the first axial position and the second axial position are separated from each other by a first distance, the first distance extending from the reader coil (30) to the tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) with respect to the axis of rotation.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowell (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2020/002368 A1) in view of Kozlowski et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2004/0253064 A1), in view of Ellison et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,159,654 B2), in view of Deeny (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2018/0256174 A1), and further in view of Dotan (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2015/0075833 A1).
Please be advised that Crowell was cited on the IDS filed on 1/4/2023.
Please be advised that Ellison et al. was cited on the PTO-892 filed on 3/26/2026.
Please be advised that Deeny was cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 3/18/2025.
Please be advised that Dotan was cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 3/26/2026.
Claim 41: Figure 1 of Crowell shows a drilling machine (10), the drilling machine (10) comprising a motor [paragraph 0028] arranged to power a spindle/output shaft [paragraph 0029].
As to the spindle/output shaft, it comprises a drill bit interface (34) disposed at a distal end thereof that is arranged to hold a given tool.
Figures 1 and 2 of Crowell though, show the drill bit interface (34) as being arranged to hold a disc tool (44) (rather than a drill bit, for example) and to rotate the disc tool (44) about an axis of rotation. As such, Crowell does not disclose the drill bit interface (34) being “arranged to hold a drill bit and to rotate the drill bit about an axis of rotation.” Please be advised that the drill bit interface (34) is configured to retain any one of a plurality of different accessory tools, or tool bits, to the spindle/output shaft of the drilling machine (10). According to Crowell, as is known in the art, there are a wide variety of tool accessories that can be used with the drilling machine (10) [paragraph 0030].
Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al. though, shows a drilling machine (1) for a core drill, the drilling machine (1) comprising a motor (2) arranged to power a spindle (11). The spindle (11) comprises a drill bit interface disposed at a distal end thereof that is arranged to hold a core drill bit (3) and to rotate the core drill bit (3) about an axis of rotation for performing core drilling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the core drill bit (3) of Kozlowski et al., so as to provide the drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the ability to perform core drilling. Please be advised that by connecting the core drill bit (3) of Kozlowski et al. with the drill bit interface (34) of Crowell, the drilling machine (10) of Crowell constitutes a “drilling machine for a core drill” as is set forth in the preamble of claim 41.
Next, as can be seen between Figures 1 and 2 of Crowell, the drilling machine further comprises a tag reader (68).
Noting the above, as can be seen in Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al., the core drill bit (3) comprises a mounting interface, a drill bit shaft, ultra hard cutting edges (5), and an identification means (15). The mounting interface is disposed at the proximal end of the core drill bit (3) and is the small diameter portion of the core drill bit (3) that is received by the drill bit interface (34) of the drilling machine (10) of Crowell. Regarding the drill bit shaft, it is the long cylindrical body of the core drill bit (3) that extends down/out from the mounting interface. Also, as can be seen within Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al., while the identification means (15) is disposed on an upper surface of said drill bit shaft, the ultra hard cutting edges (5) are mounted to a lower surface of the drill bit shaft (which lower surface of said drill bit shaft constitutes a first flat surface).
Crowell/Kozlowski et al. though, does not disclose the identification means (15) being embodied as “a tag coil.” Moreover, by virtue of the identification means (15) being disposed on the upper surface of said drill bit shaft rather than being disposed about an exterior circumference of said drill bit shaft, Crowell/ Kozlowski et al. does not disclose the identification means (15) (or a tag coil for that matter) being “disposed around an exterior circumference of [the] drill bit shaft.”
Figure 1C of Ellison et al. though, shows an RFIDT (28a) disposed at an upper end of a shaft (10) just below a mounting interface (14). Please be advised that the RFIDT (28a) is disclosed as being able to be any (emphasis added) RFIDT or SAW tag [column 8, lines 28-29]. Per Ellison, the RFIDT tag device may be any suitable known device, including, but not limited to the RFID devices commercially available, as in Figure 2 [column 7, lines 52-56]. Thus, for this claim rejection, Examiner has considered the RFIDT (28a) to be embodied like the RFIDT shown in Figure 2, which RFIDT is shown as comprising an integrated circuit and an antenna/tag coil. Next, according to Ellison et al., antennas of RFIDT’s according to the present invention have a diameter between ¼” to 10” [column 3, lines 53-57]. Please be advised that Ellison et al. discloses “exteriorly affixed” RFIDT’s [column 4, lines 15-17] which the RFIDT (28a) of Figure 1C is. More specifically, the RFIDT (28a) is exteriorly affixed to the upper end of shaft (10) (around the exterior circumference thereof) just below the mounting interface (14) (see Figure 1C). Also, per Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) may be exteriorly affixed with a multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28, for example [column 8, lines 26-29]. In other words, the RFIDT (28a) which comprises the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil like that shown in Figure 2 of Ellison et al. may be exteriorly affixed with the multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28. Be advised that Ellison et al. provides disclosure on energizing the RFIDT apparatus by directing energizing energy to the antenna apparatus, where the RFIDT apparatus being energized produces a signal [column 30, lines 59-61]. Lastly, according to Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) can be energized and/or read and/or written to [column 21, lines 1-3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al., (the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al. including the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2, and further including the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28) for the identification means (15) of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al., as this is a substitution of one known identification means for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the core drill bit (3) being able to be identified via the RFIDT (28a) and to have data concerning usage of the core drill bit (3) written to said RFIDT (28a).
In making this substitution, the RFIDT (28a) is affixed by the multilayer wrap of Figures 26 and 28 of Ellison et al. to the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al. at an upper end of said drill bit shaft just below the mounting interface of the core drill bit (3) in accordance with the disclosure of Ellison et al. Based on the foregoing, Crowell/Kozlowski et al./ Ellison et al. discloses the RFIDT (28a) including the antenna/tag coil being arranged around the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3).
Next, with regards to the tag reader (68), Crowell does not disclose the tag reader (68) of the drilling machine (10) “including a reader coil, wherein the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to [the] tag coil.”
However, Deeny teaches a tag reader comprising a reader coil (30) (see Figure 2), wherein the reader coil (30) is arranged adjacent to a bit interface (Figure 4) and surrounding a spindle (88) to inductively couple [Deeny, paragraph 0019] to a tag coil (59) disposed at a shaft (35) of a bit and extending around a circumference of the shaft (35) of the bit. Via inductive coupling, inductive signal transfer is possible to/from an RFID in the bit (12) [Deeny, paragraph 0019].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the tag reader (68) of Crowell with the reader coil (30) of Deeny, so as to provide the advantage of being able to inductively couple to the tag coil/antenna of the RFIDT (28a) of the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell such that the tag coil/antenna of the RFIDT (28a) thereof can be energized and the integrated circuit of the RFIDT (28a) can be read and/or written to.
In making this modification, the reader coil (30) of Deeny is provided to the tag reader (68) of Crowell such that the tag reader (68) of Crowell includes the reader coil (30) of Deeny. Noting this, the tag reader (68) is shown in Figure 2 of Crowell as being arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface (34) in a nose cap (66) and surrounding the output shaft/spindle. The reader coil (30) that the modified tag reader (68) of Crowell includes is therefore also arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the output shaft/spindle. Based on the foregoing, the reader coil (30) is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface (34) and surrounding the output shaft/spindle to inductively couple to the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) that is disposed around the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft.
Next, as can be seen in Figure 6 of Crowell, the drilling machine (10) further comprises a drilling machine control unit (70) that is connected to the tag reader (68), the drilling machine control unit (70) being arranged to read data associated with the core drill bit (3) via the inductively coupled reader coil (30) and antenna/tag coil, thereby obtaining information about the core drill bit (3).
Regarding the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) in the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell, Examiner reiterates the tag coil is disposed on the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al. at an upper end of said drill bit shaft just below the mounting interface of said core drill bit (3) in accordance with Ellison et al.’s disclosure.
As such, the tag coil is arranged at a proximal end of the drill bit shaft. It is also reiterated that the drill bit shaft is the long cylindrical body of the core drill bit (3) that extends down/out from the mounting interface. Noting this, while said tag coil is arranged on the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft at the proximal/upper end of said drill bit shaft, the ultra hard cutting edges (5) of the core drill bit (3) are mounted to the lower surface of the drill bit shaft (at the opposing distal end of the drill bit shaft), this lower surface being the first flat surface of the core drill bit (3). Based on the foregoing, the tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) is disposed, with respect to an axial direction, above the first flat surface disposed at the core drill bit (3).
Crowell; however, does not provide disclosure on a “second flat surface disposed at the output shaft/spindle.”
Dotan though, shows in Figure 2 a spindle (110, 120) on which a (second) flat surface (232) is disposed, the (second) flat surface providing a mounting location for a sensor module (130). As to the sensor module (130), it senses at least one internal characteristic of the spindle (110, 120) [paragraph 0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the output shaft/spindle of the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the second flat surface (232) and the corresponding sensor module (130) of Dotan, so as to provide the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the advantage of being able to sense at least one internal characteristic of the output shaft/spindle of Crowell. In making this modification, the second flat surface (232) is formed on an outer periphery of the output shaft/spindle of Crowell in accordance with the disclosure of Dotan.
Next, Examiner reiterates that antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) is disposed, with respect to the axial direction, above the first flat surface disposed at the core drill bit (3). In this location disposed on the exterior circumference of said drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3) and above the first flat surface, the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) is further disposed, with respect to the axial direction, below the second flat surface (232) that is formed on the outer periphery of the output shaft/spindle of Crowell. In other words, the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) is disposed axially between the first flat surface disposed at the core drill bit (3) and the second flat surface (232) disposed at the output shaft/spindle. This will now be explained.
As to the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) in the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell, it is disposed on the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al. at an upper end of said drill bit shaft just below the mounting interface of said core drill bit (3) in accordance with the disclosure of Ellison et al. Noting this, as was stated above, the core drill bit (3), by way of its mounting interface, connects to the drill bit interface (34) of Crowell. In the core drill bit (3) connecting in the drill bit interface (34), the drill bit shaft and the antenna/tag coil affixed to the exterior circumference thereof are disposed in a location (axially offset) below the nose cap (66) of the drilling machine (10) and the above the first flat surface disposed at the core drill bit (3). Regarding the output shaft/spindle, it is disposed within the confines of said nose cap (66). This is known as Crowell discloses the output shaft/spindle is not shown and the drill bit interface (34) is attached to an end portion of said output shaft/spindle [Crowell, paragraph 0029]. Thus, with respect to the axial direction, the output shaft/spindle is located above the location within the drill bit interface (34) that the mounting surface of the core drill bit (3) is received. As such, the second flat surface (232) of the output shaft/spindle is located axially above the drill bit shaft and the antenna/tag coil affixed to the exterior circumference of said drill bit shaft. Thus, the antenna/tag coil of the RFIDT (28a) in the modified drilling machine (10) of Crowell is disposed axially between the first flat surface disposed at the core drill bit (3) and the second flat surface (232) disposed at the output shaft/spindle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1 and Clausi/Ellison et al./Deeny/Tsujino, Applicant argues the following:
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, inter alia, that the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit and extending around an exterior circumference of the shaft of the drill bit. In this regard, as can be seen in FIG. 2 and described in paragraph [0058] of the present application specification, "The tag 115 comprises a tag coil 210 wound around the or axle of rotation 101 of the drill bit 110. This tag 210 coil is located close to a reader coil 220 connected to the reader 125. The reader coil is wound around the spindle axle, i.e., about the same axle of rotation 101 as the tag coil" (Specification, [0058]). In other words, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand an example embodiment in which the tag coil is disposed on and wound around the drill bit shaft, proximate the drill bit interface, where the shaft of the drill bit and the spindle are operably coupled together, and extending circumferentially around the drill bit shaft to inductively couple with a reader coil on the spindle.
Applicants submit that none of the cited prior art references i.e. Clausi, Ellison, Deeny, or Tsujino disclose that the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit and extending around an exterior circumference of the shaft of the drill bit. In this regard, the annular cutting section 2 of the core drill bit disclosed by Clausi, as seen in FIG. 5, can be seen to have transponder 24 "connected" to it (Clausi, [0026]). FIG. 5 clearly shows the transponder connected to an end of the shaft that is opposite the portion of the shaft that couples to the spindle 37/machine tool 35. In this regard, the transponder is connected to the cutting section of the drill bit, not proximate to the drill bit interface where the bit couples to the spindle/machine tool. The antenna 26 is also not disposed proximate to the drill bit interface but is embodied as a slit in the shaft proximate to the cutting section. This is not akin to the present invention. The Examiner cites Ellison as allegedly curing the above deficiency of Clausi.
However, as an initial matter, in Ellison, the structure identified by the Examiner as the shaft of the drill bit is a portion of a drill pipe, specifically a pin end configured for threaded connection to another pipe (i.e. the box end of another pipe segment). Therefore, this structure forms part of a tubular drill string and is not a shaft of a drill bit and Ellison does not disclose a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). First, please be advised that it is the combination of Clausi, Ellison et al., and Deeny that is being relied upon to teach the entirety of, “the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit and extending around an exterior circumference of the shaft of the drill bit.” Regarding Tsujino, this reference is relied upon by Examiner to teach the limitation of clam 1 corresponding to, “a drilling machine control unit connected to the tag reader, wherein the drilling machine control unit is arranged to read data associated with the drill bit via the inductively coupled reader coil and tag coil, thereby obtaining information about the drill bit.”
Noting the above, Applicant’s specific argument is directed toward claim 1’s limitation of, “a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit.” First, it is noted that Examiner agrees that Clausi does not teach this limitation. In fact, the RFID (23, 24) and tag antenna (26) of Clausi is not “a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit and extending around an exterior circumference of the shaft of the drill bit.” Noting this, like what Applicant indicated in the above argument, there is where Examiner relies upon Ellison et al.
Figure 1C of Ellison et al. though, shows an RFIDT (28a) disposed at an upper end of a shaft (10) just below a mounting interface (14). Please be advised that the RFIDT (28a) is disclosed as being able to be any (emphasis added) RFIDT or SAW tag [column 8, lines 28-29]. Per Ellison, the RFIDT tag device may be any suitable known device, including, but not limited to the RFID devices commercially available, as in Figure 2 [column 7, lines 52-56]. Thus, for this claim rejection, Examiner has considered the RFIDT (28a) to be embodied like the RFIDT shown in Figure 2, which RFIDT is shown as comprising an integrated circuit and an antenna/tag coil. Next, according to Ellison et al., antennas of RFIDT’s according to the present invention have a diameter between ¼” to 10” [column 3, lines 53-57]. Please be advised that Ellison et al. discloses “exteriorly affixed” RFIDT’s [column 4, lines 15-17] which the RFIDT (28a) of Figure 1C is. More specifically, the RFIDT (28a) is exteriorly affixed to the upper end of shaft (10) (around the exterior circumference thereof) just below the mounting interface (14) (see Figure 1C). Also, per Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) may be exteriorly affixed with a multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28, for example [column 8, lines 26-29]. In other words, the RFIDT (28a) which comprises the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil like that shown in Figure 2 of Ellison et al. may be exteriorly affixed with the multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28. Be advised that Ellison et al. provides disclosure on energizing the RFIDT apparatus by directing energizing energy to the antenna apparatus, where the RFIDT apparatus being energized produces a signal [column 30, lines 59-61]. Lastly, according to Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) can be energized and/or read and/or written to [column 21, lines 1-3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al., (the RFIDT (28a) including the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2, and further including the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28) for the RFID (23, 24) and the tag antenna (26) of Clausi, as this is substitution of one known identification means for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the drill bit (1) being able to be identified via the RFIDT (28a) and to have data concerning usage of the drill bit (1) written to said RFIDT (28a).
In making this substitution, the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al. is affixed by the multilayer wrap of Figures 26 and 28 of Ellison et al. to the exterior of the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1) of Clausi at an upper end of said tubular shaft (12) just below the mounting interface (34) of the drill bit (1) in accordance with the disclosure of Ellison et al. Thus, Clausi in view of Ellison et al. discloses an RFIDT (28a) including a tag coil disposed at the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1) and extending around an exterior circumference of said shaft (12) of the drill bit (1). As a result of the RFIDT (28a) being affixed to the exterior of the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1) just below the mounting interface (34) of the drill bit (1), when the drill bit (1) is held by the spindle (37) of Clausi (noting again that the mounting interface (34) is releasably connected to the spindle (37) [Clausi, paragraph 0030]), the result is the tag coil/antenna being disposed proximate the drill bit interface of said spindle (37) at the tubular shaft (12) of the drill bit (1).
Based on the foregoing, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant as Clausi in view of Ellison et al. does indeed teach, “a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit and extending around an exterior circumference of the shaft of the drill bit.”
With respect to claim 1 and Ellison et al., Applicant argues the following:
Additionally, the Office Action relies on the exteriorly affixed RFID embodiment (specifically RFID 28a) in an attempt to supply the missing features, notably the location and geometry of the tag coil. However, Ellison fails to disclose or suggest the claimed structure of amended claim 1. FIGS. 29-30 provide illustrations of the implementation of the "exteriorly affixed" RFID embodiment of RFIDT 28A. These figures show multiple discrete RFID tags 720 each tag including its own antenna. The tags are shown to be spaced circumferentially (e.g., approximately 120° apart as shown in Fig. 29A). Finally, the tags are illustrated encapsulated by multilayer wrapping 723. However, the antennas of the tags are contained within each instance of an RFIDT, not connected to each other, or extending continuously around an exterior of the pin end. Thus, the abovementioned "exteriorly affixed" RFID embodiment of Ellison describes a plurality of discrete RFID devices, each with its own antenna, rather than a single continuous tag coil. The Office Action also cites Ellison's disclosure of antenna diameters (4"-10"). This merely describes antenna size which is not an indication that an antenna coil is wrapped around a shaft. Thus, this disclosure is irrelevant to the claimed structural limitation of claim 1. Thus, in summary, Ellison fails to teach or suggest a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit.
Applicant’s argument has been considered, but is not persuasive. Applicant’s argument has not accurately captured what the modification to Clausi in view of Ellison et al. entails. To be clear, Examiner has not suggested that Clausi is being modified to implement the “multiple discrete RFID tags 720” shown in Figures 29-30 of Ellison et. Rather, in the prior art rejection of claim 1, Examiner stated the following:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al., (the RFIDT (28a) including the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2, and further including the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28) for the RFID (23, 24) and the tag antenna (26) of Clausi, as this is substitution of one known identification means for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the drill bit (1) being able to be identified via the RFIDT (28a) and to have data concerning usage of the drill bit (1) written to said RFIDT (28a).
As can be seen above, the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al. (that is being substituted for the for RFID (23, 24) and the tag antenna (26) of Clausi) includes the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2 of Ellison et al., and further includes the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28).
Examiner will now explain Ellison et al.’s disclosure of this combination.
Figure 1C of Ellison et al. shows an RFIDT (28a) disposed at an upper end of a shaft (10) just below a mounting interface (14). Please be advised that the RFIDT (28a) is disclosed as being able to be any (emphasis added) RFIDT or SAW tag [column 8, lines 28-29]. Per Ellison, the RFIDT tag device may be any suitable known device, including, but not limited to the RFID devices commercially available, as in Figure 2 [column 7, lines 52-56]. Thus, for this claim rejection, Examiner has considered the RFIDT (28a) to be embodied like the RFIDT shown in Figure 2, which RFIDT is shown as comprising an integrated circuit and an antenna/tag coil. Next, according to Ellison et al., antennas of RFIDT’s according to the present invention have a diameter between ¼” to 10” [column 3, lines 53-57]. Please be advised that Ellison et al. discloses “exteriorly affixed” RFIDT’s [column 4, lines 15-17] which the RFIDT (28a) of Figure 1C is. More specifically, the RFIDT (28a) is exteriorly affixed to the upper end of shaft (10) (around the exterior circumference thereof) just below the mounting interface (14) (see Figure 1C). Also, per Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) may be exteriorly affixed with a multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28, for example [column 8, lines 26-29]. In other words, the RFIDT (28a) which comprises the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil like that shown in Figure 2 of Ellison et al. may be exteriorly affixed with the multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28.
Based on the foregoing, in the modified drilling machine (35) of Clausi, the RFIDT (28a) thereof includes the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2 of Ellison et al., and further includes the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28). As can be seen in Figure 2 of Ellison et al., this tag coil is indeed “a single continuous tag coil” and not “a plurality of discrete RFID devices” like Applicant argues. As such, Applicant’s argument is not deemed to be persuasive.
Lastly, in the above argument, Applicant has circled back to the following: “Thus, in summary, Ellison fails to teach or suggest a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit.” Be advised that Applicant did not expound upon this in the argument provided immediately above, but argued this limitation specifically on page 12, lines 3-19 of the arguments filed on 6/26/2026. Examiner addressed this specific argument in the preceding section of the Response to Arguments of this office action.
With respect to claim 1 and Deeny and Tsujino, Applicant argues the following:
Finally, with reference to Deeny, Applicants submit that Deeny fails to suggest a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit. Although Deeny is not cited for this purpose at present, Applicants submit that Deeny does not disclose the limitation of amended claim 1. In this regard, the asserted tag coil 59 of Deeny is not disposed proximate to the drill bit interface. Applicants submit that the tag coil 59 of Deeny is disposed within hub bore 41 of hub 34 which is part of tubular base body 35. The drill bit interface of the claimed invention is part of the spindle and is arranged to hold a drill bit and rotate the drill bit about an axis of rotation. In this regard, the spindle of the present invention has been equated to element 88 of Deeny which is the tubular drive shaft of accessory 12. Tubular drive shaft 88 is therefore part of the "tool side" of the tool arrangement, not the "machine side" i.e. the handpiece side. Handpiece 11 comprises motor 15 which is arranged to drive tubular drive shaft 88 via motor engaging drive element 81 of tubular drive shaft 88. Thus, the drill bit interface of Deeny must be located where the accessory 12 connects to the motor output shaft 16. The RFID tag 59 is not disposed at the drill bit interface in this manner, and the tubular drive shaft 88 of the accessory 12 has been improperly identified with a spindle of the handpiece 11. Tsujino does not cure the deficiencies of Clausi, Ellison, and Deeny indicated above and Tsujino is not cited for this purpose. In summary, Applicants respectfully submit that none of the prior art references used to reject claim 1, Clausi, Ellison, Deeny, or Tsujino, suggest that the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit and extending around an exterior circumference of the shaft of the drill bit and further respectfully submit that the rejection of claim 1, in this regard, has been overcome.
Applicant’s arguments has been considered, but is moot. This is because neither Deeny nor Tsujino is being relied upon to teach, “a tag coil disposed proximate to the drill bit interface at a shaft of the drill bit.” Thus, Applicant’s assessment that, “Deeny is not cited for this purpose at present” is accurate. Having said that, please be advised that Tsujino is relied upon by Examiner to teach the limitation of clam 1 corresponding to, “a drilling machine control unit connected to the tag reader, wherein the drilling machine control unit is arranged to read data associated with the drill bit via the inductively coupled reader coil and tag coil, thereby obtaining information about the drill bit.” In contrast, Deeny is relied upon by Examiner to teach the limitation of clam 1 corresponding to, “a tag reader including a reader coil, wherein the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to a tag coil”.
With respect to claims 40 and 41 and Crowell and Wachholz, Applicant argues the following:
Independent claims 40 and 41 have been amended in a similar manner to recite, inter alia, that the drilling machine comprises a tag reader including a reader coil, wherein the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to a tag coil arranged around an exterior circumference of a drill bit shaft. In this regard, as can be seen in FIG. 2 of the claimed invention, the tag coil 210 is disposed at the drill bit 110 itself, or in other words the tag coil 210 is operably coupled to the drill bit 110. The tag coil 210 also extends around the outer circumference of the shaft of the drill bit 110, and is therefore operably coupled to the drill bit 110 shaft at an exterior surface of the drill bit shaft. Applicants respectfully submit that a combination of Crowell and Wachholz fails to teach or suggest a tag coil arranged around an exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft. In this regard, as seen in FIG. 2 of Wachholz, information carrier 12 is inserted into annular groove 18 within shank 16. Specifically, as the Examiner describes, the information carrier 12 is arranged around an inner wall of annular groove 18 of the shank 16. Applicants submit that the information carrier 12 is thus not arranged around an exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft. Crowell, Deeny, and/or Dotan do not cure the above noted deficiency of Wachholz and Crowell, Deeny, and/or Dotan are not cited for this purpose. Thus, Applicants respectfully submit that none of the cited prior art references suggest that the drilling machine comprises a tag reader including a reader coil, wherein the reader coil is arranged adjacent to the drill bit interface and surrounding the spindle to inductively couple to a tag coil arranged around an exterior circumference of a drill bit shaft the rejection of claims 40 and 41 are overcome, in this regard.
Applicant’s argument has been considered and is persuasive. Examiner agrees with Applicant that, “a combination of Crowell and Wachholz fails to teach or suggest a tag coil arranged around an exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft. In this regard, as seen in FIG. 2 of Wachholz, information carrier 12 is inserted into annular groove 18 within shank 16.”
In light of the combination of Crowell and Wachholz failing to teach, “a tag coil arranged around an exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft,” Examiner has applied a new art combination in rejecting claim 40. While Crowell is still being applied as the base reference, please be advised that Wachholz is no longer being relied upon in rejecting claim 40.
Likewise, in light of the combination of Crowell and Wachholz failing to teach, “a tag coil disposed around an exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft,” Examiner has applied a new art combination in rejecting claim 41. While Crowell is still being applied as the base reference, please be advised that Wachholz is no longer being relied upon in rejecting claim 41.
Examiner will now explain how the combination of Crowell, Kozlowski et al., and Ellison et al. reads on the limitation of claim 40 corresponding to, “a tag coil arranged around an exterior circumference of a drill bit shaft,” and the similar limitation of claim 41 corresponding to, “a tag coil disposed around an exterior circumference of a drill bit shaft.”
Figures 1 and 2 of Crowell show the drill bit interface (34) of the drilling machine (10)
being arranged to hold a disc tool (44) (rather than a drill bit, for example) and to rotate the disc tool (44) about an axis of rotation. As such, Crowell does not disclose the drill bit interface (34) being “arranged to hold a drill bit and to rotate the drill bit about an axis of rotation.” Please be advised that the drill bit interface (34) is configured to retain any one of a plurality of different accessory tools, or tool bits, to the spindle/output shaft of the drilling machine (10). According to Crowell, as is known in the art, there are a wide variety of tool accessories that can be used with the drilling machine (10) [paragraph 0030].
Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al. though, shows a drilling machine (1) for a core drill, the drilling machine (1) comprising a motor (2) arranged to power a spindle (11). The spindle (11) comprises a drill bit interface disposed at a distal end thereof that is arranged to hold a core drill bit (3) and to rotate the core drill bit (3) about an axis of rotation for performing core drilling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the core drill bit (3) of Kozlowski et al., so as to provide the drilling machine (10) of Crowell with the ability to perform core drilling. Please be advised that by connecting the core drill bit (3) of Kozlowski et al. with the drill bit interface (34) of Crowell, the drilling machine (10) of Crowell constitutes a “drilling machine for a core drill” as is set forth in the preamble of claims 40 and 41.
Next, as can be seen between Figures 1 and 2 of Crowell, the drilling machine further comprises a tag reader (68).
Noting the above, as can be seen in Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al., the core drill bit (3) comprises a mounting interface, a drill bit shaft, ultra hard cutting edges (5), and an identification means (15). The mounting interface is disposed at the proximal end of the core drill bit (3) and is the small diameter portion of the core drill bit (3) that is received by the drill bit interface (34) of the drilling machine (10) of Crowell. Regarding the drill bit shaft, it is the long cylindrical body of the core drill bit (3) that extends down/out from the mounting interface. Also, as can be seen within Figure 2 of Kozlowski et al., while the identification means (15) is disposed on an upper surface of said drill bit shaft, the ultra hard cutting edges (5) are mounted to a lower surface of the drill bit shaft (which lower surface of said drill bit shaft constitutes a first flat surface). Crowell/
Kozlowski et al. though, does not disclose the identification means (15) being embodied as “a tag coil.” Moreover, by virtue of the identification means (15) being disposed on the upper surface of said drill bit shaft rather than being disposed about an exterior circumference of said drill bit shaft, Crowell/Kozlowski et al. does not disclose the identification means (15) (or a tag coil for that matter) being “arranged/disposed around an exterior circumference of [the] drill bit shaft.”
Figure 1C of Ellison et al. though, shows an RFIDT (28a) disposed at an upper end of a shaft (10) just below a mounting interface (14). Please be advised that the RFIDT (28a) is disclosed as being able to be any (emphasis added) RFIDT or SAW tag [column 8, lines 28-29]. Per Ellison, the RFIDT tag device may be any suitable known device, including, but not limited to the RFID devices commercially available, as in Figure 2 [column 7, lines 52-56]. Thus, for this claim rejection, Examiner has considered the RFIDT (28a) to be embodied like the RFIDT shown in Figure 2, which RFIDT is shown as comprising an integrated circuit and an antenna/tag coil. Next, according to Ellison et al., antennas of RFIDT’s according to the present invention have a diameter between ¼” to 10” [column 3, lines 53-57]. Please be advised that Ellison et al. discloses “exteriorly affixed” RFIDT’s [column 4, lines 15-17] which the RFIDT (28a) of Figure 1C is. More specifically, the RFIDT (28a) is exteriorly affixed to the upper end of shaft (10) (around the exterior circumference thereof) just below the mounting interface (14) (see Figure 1C). Also, per Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) may be exteriorly affixed with a multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28, for example [column 8, lines 26-29]. In other words, the RFIDT (28a) which comprises the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil like that shown in Figure 2 of Ellison et al. may be exteriorly affixed with the multilayer wrap that is shown in Figures 26 and 28. Be advised that Ellison et al. provides disclosure on energizing the RFIDT apparatus by directing energizing energy to the antenna apparatus, where the RFIDT apparatus being energized produces a signal [column 30, lines 59-61]. Lastly, according to Ellison et al., the RFIDT (28a) can be energized and/or read and/or written to [column 21, lines 1-3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al., (the RFIDT (28a) of Ellison et al. including the integrated circuit and antenna/tag coil of Figure 2, and further including the multilayer wrap of Figures 26, 28) for the identification means (15) of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al., as this is a substitution of one known identification means for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the core drill bit (3) being able to be identified via the RFIDT (28a) and to have data concerning usage of the core drill bit (3) written to said RFIDT (28a).
In making this substitution, the RFIDT (28a) is affixed by the multilayer wrap of Figures 26 and 28 of Ellison et al. to the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3) of Crowell/Kozlowski et al. at an upper end of said drill bit shaft just below the mounting interface of the core drill bit (3) in accordance with the disclosure of Ellison et al. Based on the foregoing, Crowell/Kozlowski et al./Ellison et al. discloses the RFIDT (28a) including the antenna/tag coil being arranged around the exterior circumference of the drill bit shaft of the core drill bit (3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 15, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Drexel et al. (U.S. PG Publication No. 2018/0133929 A1) shows in Figures 1-5 a drilling machine (10) for a core drill, the drilling machine (10) comprising a motor (14), a spindle (22) comprising a drill bit interface (22b) arranged to hold a drill bit (50) and to rotate the drill bit (50) about an axis of rotation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL VITALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722