DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 and 12-19 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground rejection set forth herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recite the limitations “said low voltage state” and “said high voltage state”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvatinsky (US 2015/0256178 A1) in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (US 2023/0170909 A1, hereinafter AAPA) .
Regarding claim 1, Kvatinsky teaches a method of using memristor aided logic (MAGIC) ([0086] MAGIC, a technique to design pure memristive logic gates), the method comprising:
connecting a first memristor (Fig. 10, 300,
i
n
1
which corresponds to
M
i
,
j
+
1
) between a bit line (
X
j
+
1
) and a word line (Fig. 10,
i
t
h
line connected to the Row decoder);
connecting a second memristor (Fig. 10, 300,
i
n
2
,
M
i
,
j
) between a further bit line and said word line (Fig. 10,
i
t
h
line connected to the Row decoder);
connecting a third memristor (Fig. 10, 300, out,
M
i
,
j
-
1
) between ground (Fig. 10, see 300, the “out” memristor is connected to ground via an amplifier/driver) and said word line (Fig. 10,
i
t
h
line connected to the Row decoder) such that a node of said third memristor is held at ground voltage (Fig. 10, [0164] column j-1 is connected to ground), each memristor having a high resistance state and a low resistance state ([0014]
R
o
n
,
R
o
f
f
);
using respective bit lines and said word line applying logic inputs to said first and second memristors (Fig. 10, 300, applying V0 to
i
n
1
and
i
n
2
);
setting said third memristor to said high resistance state (Fig. 11B,
R
o
u
t
is high resistance state at time 1.5);
with said third memristor in said high resistance state, applying a gate voltage, said gate voltage allowing states of said first and second memristors affect said third memristor ([0127] Calculate the result by applying
V
N
O
R
to drivers B and C);
and
using said word line, obtaining an output from said third memristor, the output depending on whether said logic inputs have set said third memristor from said high resistance state to said low resistance state ([0134] NOR constitutes a complete set of operations. Therefore, it is implicit that the output memristor-the third memristor- will switch from high resistance state (logic 0) to low resistance state (logic 1) depending on the inputs).
Kvatinsky does not explicitly teach the method, wherein said memristors are valence change memory –VCM – devices.
AAPA teaches valence change memory (VCM) device as one of categories of resistive switching devices ([0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of claimed invention to apply VCM devices as taught by AAPA to the teachings of Kvatinsky in order to take advantages of fast switching speed, relatively high endurance and long retention properties (AAPA [0091]).
Regarding Claim 2, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky further teaches the method, comprising grounding the output memristor (Fig. 10, 300, out memristor is grounded).
Regarding Claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky further teaches the method, the memristors having a set voltage for switching respective memristors from said low voltage state to said high voltage state, wherein the output conforms to a truth table of an OR gate, and wherein at least one of said logic inputs comprises said set voltage, thereby to set said third memristor to said high resistance state ([0134] it is possible to implement any logic function on a crossbar large enough).
Regarding Claim 8, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky further teaches the method, wherein a plurality of memristors are arranged in a crossbar structure, the method comprising selecting three of said plurality of memristors for a required logic operation (Fig. 10, 300).
Regarding Claim 10, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky further teaches the method, comprising providing said logic inputs in pulses, said pulses being of less than 5 microseconds in duration (Fig. 11B, 1.5ns).
Regarding claim 12, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
AAPA teaches a method, wherein said memristors are constructed using
T
a
2
O
5
([0091]).
Regarding claim 13, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 12. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 15, all the limitations of claim 13 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky further teaches the memory block, wherein said memristor based logic gate is one member of the group consisting of an OR gate, a NIMP gate and an XOR gate (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 16, all the limitations of claim 13 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky further teaches the memory block, wherein said memristor aided logic is arranged in a crossbar configuration having a plurality of said memristor based logic gate between a bit line and a word line (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 17, all the limitations of claim 13 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky further teaches the memory block, wherein one memristor based logic gate of said plurality of memristor-based logic gates in said crossbar configuration is one member of the group consisting of an OR gate, a NOR gate, a NIMP gate and an XOR gate (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, all the limitations of claim 13 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
AAPA further teaches the memory block, being a Pt/
T
a
2
O
5
/
W
/
P
t
device ([0091]).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvatinsky (US 2015/0256178 A1) in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (US 2023/0170909 A1, hereinafter AAPA) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (K. Kim and R. Williams, “A Family of Stateful Memristor Gates for Complete Cascading Logic,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems-I, Vol. 66, No. 11, November 2019).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky in view of AAPA does not explicitly teach the method, wherein the memristors having a set voltage for switching respective memristors from said low voltage state to said high voltage state, and a reset voltage for switching respective memristors from said low voltage state to said high voltage state, and wherein a ratio between said set voltage and said reset voltage is less than two.
Kim teaches a method, wherein the memristors having a set voltage for switching respective memristors from said low voltage state to said high voltage state, and a reset voltage for switching respective memristors from said low voltage state to said high voltage state, and wherein a ratio between said set voltage and said reset voltage is less than two (Fig. 1(b), SET=1.5V, RESET=-2V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Kvatinsky in view of AAPA in order to significantly improve stateful logic computing efficiency (Kim, Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky in view of AAPA does not explicitly teach the method, wherein the output conforms to the truth table of a NIMP gate, the method comprising applying a first, set, voltage to a first of said input memristors and a predetermined fraction of said first, set, voltage to a second of said input memristors.
Kim teaches a method, wherein the output conforms to the truth table of a NIMP gate (Fig. 1(d)), the method comprising applying a first, set, voltage to a first of said input memristors and a predetermined fraction of said first, set, voltage to a second of said input memristors (Fig. 1(c), IV. NIMP, 0.7V, -2.1V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Kvatinsky in view of AAPA in order to significantly improve stateful logic computing efficiency (Kim, Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA and Kim.
Kim further teaches the method, wherein said fraction if a third (Fig. 1(c), IV. NIMP, 0.7V, -2.1V).
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA and Kim.
Kim further teaches the method, comprising: applying a first, set, voltage to a first of said input memristors and said predetermined fraction of said first, set, voltage to a second of said input memristors; applying a first, set, voltage to said second of said input memristors and said predetermined fraction of said first, set, voltage to said first of said input memristors, thereby to provide an output corresponding to a truth table of an XOR gate (page 4351, right column, first para. Fig. 3).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvatinsky (US 2015/0256178 A1) in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (US 2023/0170909 A1, hereinafter AAPA) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramadan (US 2018/0166137 A1).
Regarding claim 9, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky in view of AAPA does not explicitly teach the method, comprising providing said logic inputs in pulses, said pulses being between 5 and 100 microseconds in duration.
Ramadan teaches a method, comprising providing said logic inputs in pulses, said pulses being between 5 and 100 microseconds in duration (Fig. 3, [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the various programming method as taught by Ramadan to the teachings of Kvatinsky in view of AAPA in order to investigate how the programming pulses affect resistance of memristor cells and thus to avoid potential memristor state tuning methods that may increase area overhead dramatically, and increase energy usage as well (Ramadan, [0007]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvatinsky (US 2015/0256178 A1) in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (US 2023/0170909 A1, hereinafter AAPA) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim (K. Kim and R. Williams, “A Family of Stateful Memristor Gates for Complete Cascading Logic,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems-I, Vol. 66, No. 11, November 2019).
Regarding claim 19, all the limitations of claim 13 are taught by Kvatinsky in view of AAPA.
Kvatinsky in view of AAPA does not explicitly teach a memory block wherein a plurality of said memristor-based logic gate are connected together to provide a half-adder.
Kim teaches a memory block wherein a plurality of said memristor-based logic gate are connected together to provide a half-adder (page 4354, left column, section VI. half and full adder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Kvatinsky in view of AAPA in order to in order to significantly improve stateful logic computing efficiency (Kim, Abstract).
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845