DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
The respectfully apologizes for the typographical error at paragraph 3 of the Restriction Requirement action mailed 9/24/2025. Species (B) should have annotated that the species was directed to the rubber-based emulsion PSA of claims 1, 3-4 and 6.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species (A), claims 1-2 and 4-5, in the reply filed on 11/5/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed invention provides a special technical feature over the cited prior art as detailed in the disclosure and the attendant examples contained therein, which discloses enhanced permeability and targeted administration to plants. This is not found persuasive because the prior art need not disclose an intended use, or a claimed invention’s advantages, in order to teach or render obvious the limitations of claimed invention, and thus its claimed special technical feature. In the instant case, as noted in the Restriction Requirement, the cited Hayase invention teaches all the limitations of at least current claim 1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/5/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/4/2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The Examiner is unable to locate an English language translation of the disclosure or abstract of the cited JP 49-99725 U reference, nor has the Applicant provided a statement as to the reference’s relevance to the instantly claimed/disclosed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear from the claim limitations what is, and is not, being claimed given that the claim recites a monomer mixture (c) containing a copolymerizable monomer, but then later in the claim recites that the (c) copolymerizable monomer is present at 0 % by weight.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear from the claim limitations what is, and is not, being claimed given that it is unclear if the (c) monomer mixture comprises the copolymerizable monomer; or if the copolymer monomer (c) comprises the monomer mixture, and what constitutes, and what does not constitute, the recited monomer mixture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kataoka et al. (JP 2013248182 A). The Examiner notes that citations from the ‘182 reference were taken from a machine translation, which is included in the current action.
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka teaches tapes comprising a backing (substrate) and an adhesive layer formed on at least one surface of said backing (para 0010-0011), which said adhesive layer is an acrylic pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) layer comprising an acrylic resin (para 0034-0035) formed via emulsion polymerization (emulsion PSA) (para 0039). Kataoka also teaches that the acrylic PSA comprises antibacterial agents (para 0040), which are identical to that presently disclosed/claimed (see current claim 4, for example) for providing the presently claimed systemic agrochemical (agrochemical-containing PSA tape).
Regarding claims 2, as noted above, Kataoka teaches the acrylic emulsion PSA (para 0039; see also para 0041, 0044, 0056).
Regarding claims 4, as noted above, Kataoka teaches that the acrylic PSA comprises antibacterial agents (bactericidal agents, bactericide) (para 0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (JP 2013248182 A).
Regarding claim 5, Kataoka teaches that the acrylic resin comprises (meth)acrylic acid alkyl ester comprising 8 to 12 carons atoms such as, inter alia, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate in an amount of 70 to 99 % by mass and a copolymerizable monomer such as, inter alia, acrylic acid in an amount of 1 to 30 % by mass (para 0036-0039), the latter of which overlaps that presently claimed.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
The Examiner notes that copolymerizable monomer (c) is not required by the claimed invention (i.e., present at 0 % by weight). The Examiner also notes that Kataoka also contemplates the use of crosslinking agents comprising the acrylic PSAs (para 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the acrylic resin with the acrylic acid copolymerizable monomer in the presently claimed proportions (i.e., 0.5 to 10 % by weight) based on the degree of crosslinking with the crosslinking agent as required of the prior art’s intended application as in the present invention.
Conclusion
/FRANK D DUCHENEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 11/18/2025