DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are currently pending. In response to the Office Action mailed 9/03/2025 Applicant amended claim 1 and canceled claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190033620 A1 to Yahagi et al. in view of US 20200255325 A1 Dejneka et al. further in view of US 20150248023 A1 to Kimura et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Yahagi discloses an optical film obtained by laminating a light reflective layer (Fig. 1 light reflection layer 1) and a polarizing element layer (Fig. 1 polarization element layer 4), wherein: a product (TO%) of the minimum transmittance of the light reflective layer and the transmittance of the polarizing element layer in the central reflection wavelength of the light reflective layer is 5% or more (See Fig. 7 at least example 5 having a local minimum, in the central reflection wavelength between 600-680 nm, of at least 5%); a difference (T2-T1) between an average value (T1%) of the product of the transmittance of the light reflective layer and the transmittance of the polarizing element layer in the central reflection wavelength region of the light reflective layer and an average value (T2%) of the product of the transmittance of the light reflective layer and the transmittance of the polarizing element layer in the wavelength region excluding the central reflection wavelength region in a visible light region of 400 to 750 nm satisfies -10 or more and 20 or less (See Fig. 7 example 5 having differences of -10 or more and 20 or less excluding regions 400-750 nm), the optical film satisfies one or more of the following (a) to (d): (a) a central reflection wavelength of the light reflective layer is 600 nm or more and less than 660 nm, and a transmission hue of the optical film is within a region of −10≤a*≤5 and −5≤b*≤5, (b) a central reflection wavelength of the light reflective layer is 500 nm or more and less than 600 nm, and a transmission hue of the optical film is within a region of −5≤a*≤5 and −5≤b*≤5, (c) a central reflection wavelength of the light reflective layer is 660 nm or more and less than 750 nm, and a transmission hue of the optical film is within a region of −5≤a*≤5 and −5≤b*≤5, and (d) a central reflection wavelength of the light reflective layer is 400 nm or more and less than 500 nm, a minimum transmittance of the light reflective layer at 400 nm or more and less than 500 nm is 15% or more, and a transmission hue of the optical film is within a region of −10≤a*≤10 and −5≤b*≤35 (See at least Table 2, example 1); wherein the polarizing element layer is formed of a stretched polymer film containing a dichroic pigment (See para 44).
Yahagi further discloses using colored pigments (See para 4 “polarization elements in various colors can be obtained depending on the color of used pigment”), but Yahagi does not specifically disclose the optical film satisfies standards for traffic signal visibility specified in ISO 12312-1:2013, ANSI Z80.3:2010, and/or AS/NZS 1067:2003; and the dichroic pigment comprises two or more pigments selected from red pigment, yellow pigment and blue pigment; and wherein the pigments each have mutually different contents.
However, Dejneka discloses an optical film satisfies standards for traffic signal visibility specified in ISO 12312-1:2013, ANSI Z80.3:2010, and/or AS/NZS 1067:2003 (para 118), as a well known industry standard, wherein the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
In addition, Kimura discloses the dichroic pigment comprises two or more pigments selected from red pigment, yellow pigment and blue pigment; and wherein the pigments each have mutually different contents (para 42 “combining at least three types of dichroic organic dyes so as to have a dichroic ratio in the optical absorption wavelength of blue (450 nm), green (550 nm), and red (650 nm)”), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include the optical film satisfies standards for traffic signal visibility specified in ISO 12312-1:2013, ANSI Z80.3:2010, and/or AS/NZS 1067:2003.
Regarding Claim 2. Yahagi further discloses the light reflective layer comprises one or more cholesteric liquid crystal layers (See at least para 57).
Regarding Claim 3. Yahagi further discloses the light reflective layer has a cholesteric liquid crystal layer R having a right-handed helical orientation and a cholesteric liquid crystal layer L having a left-handed helical orientation (See para 32-34).
Regarding Claim 6. Yahagi further discloses the optical film according to claim 1 is disposed between a first support and a second support (See Fig. 2 first support body 5 and a second support body 6).
Regarding Claim 7. Yahagi further discloses the first and second supports are polycarbonate (para 51).
Regarding Claim 8. Yahagi further discloses an eyewear comprising the optical film according to claim 1 (para 53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 filed on 12/03/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871