DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 3/23/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 12/31/2025. Claims 1-4, 7, 11-13, 18-19, 21-22, 24-25 and 27 have been amended. Claims 29-30 have been added. Claims 1-4, 7, 11-13, 18-19, 21-22, 24-25, 27 and 29-30 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-10), filed on 3/23/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 11 have
been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 7, for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Yoo is entirely silent on RB level frequency hopping across different symbols, in the manner recited by claim 1. For example, paragraph [0077] of Yoo states that "the UE may be allocated consecutive symbols to transmit the SRS over the channels of the entire band in a frequency hopping pattern". In other words, the frequency hopping pattern transmits the SRS over the entire band for each of multiple consecutive symbols, which is entirely different from performing frequency hopping at the level of individual resource blocks.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. YOO et al. (US 2020/0077398 Al) discloses “FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a resource grid for explaining SRS transmission with frequency hopping, Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols per every transmit cycle. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other. the parameters added to the legacy configuration information include Number-of-combs indicating the number of combs (subcarrier pattern type for SRS transmission). the UE may be allocated consecutive symbols to transmit the SRS over the channels of the entire band in a frequency hopping pattern per every transmit cycle, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080]”.
Regarding remarks in page 8, for independent claim 11, applicant asserts that Yoo in view of Huang and Cha are entirely silent on determining a slot offset for SRS transmission from DCI that is usable to adjust a slot offset configured by RRC signaling.
YOO et al. discloses “the SRS periodicity and offset value corresponding to the SRS configuration index (ISRS) may be determined according to the table of FIG. 10. Yoo: Fig. 10, [0090]-[0095]”, and “The frequency hopping pattern may be notified to the UE dedicatedly via an RRC message or DCI. The parameters necessary for transmitting the SRS may be transmitted to the UE in an RRC message or DCI format. 'srs-Configindex-Ap-rlO' denotes an SRS transm1ss10n subframe index for acquiring the trigger type 1 period and offset information; srs-ConfigApDCI-Format4-r10, srs-ConfigApDCI-FormatO-rlO, and srs-ConfigApDCIFormatlalb2c-310 are SRS configuration information to be used for the respective DCI formats triggering the transmission. if the extended RRC message is received, the UE transmits SRS in the extended area and there is a need to use srs-ConfigindexAp-rl0 in a different way. In this case, it is necessary to adjust the SRS periodicity and subframe offset to match with the subframe index to transmit the trigger type 1 SRS transmission, Yoo: [0073]-[0080], [0135], [0169], [0180]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-13, 18-19, 21-22, 24-25, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US 2018/0097595 Al, hereinafter “Huang”) in view of YOO et al. (US 2020/0077398 Al, hereinafter “Yoo”) and in further view of CHA et al. (US 2022/0263621 Al, hereinafter “Cha”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses:
A method, comprising:
(a) transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols, wherein for each of the at least two symbols the SRS occupies at least two subcarriers (Each subframe may include consecutive time slots, such as two. A resource grid may be used to represent two time slots, each time slot including a resource block (RB). resource block may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain, Huang: Fig. 5A~5C, [0072]-[0080]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols, wherein transmitting the SRS comprises:
wherein the SRS occupies every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8; and
(b) transmitting the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective RBs in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols, wherein transmitting the SRS comprises (FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a resource grid for explaining SRS transmission with frequency hopping. Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other, Yoo: Fig.6~7, [0022], [0073]-[0080]):
wherein the SRS occupies every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8 (Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other. the parameters added to the legacy configuration information include Number-of-combs indicating the number of combs (subcarrier pattern type for SRS transmission). transmissionComb-rl3 indicating comb type (subcarrier pattern for SRS transmission), and cyclicShiftr13 for supporting the cyclic shift up to 12. For example, Number-of-combs may indicate 2 combs supported in the legacy system or 4 combs supported newly, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080], [0143]); and
(b) transmitting the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective RBs in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols (FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a resource grid for explaining SRS transmission with frequency hopping, Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other. the parameters added to the legacy configuration information include Number-of-combs indicating the number of combs (subcarrier pattern type for SRS transmission). the UE may be allocated consecutive symbols to transmit the SRS over the channels of the entire band in a frequency hopping pattern, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Yoo in order to further modify transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols and the SRS occupying every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8, and transmitting the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective RBs in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Yet, Huang in view of Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein transmitting the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches:
wherein transmitting the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols (In an SRS resource, different SRS symbols having a Comb-N form may have different comb-offsets, that is, frequency RE offsets. Referring to FIG. 18, in each symbol, REs may be mapped at intervals of comb size N (N=4) from the RE separated by the comb-offset value (3, 0, 1, 2) for each symbol from the RE that is positioned first in the frequency domain. BS/location server may set/indicate, to the UE, the comb size N, comb-offset, and relative combo-offset for each SRS resource, Cha: Fig. 18, Fig. 21, [0280]-[0282], [0299], [0314]-[0316]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Yoo in view of Cha in order to further modify transmitting the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols from the teachings of Cha.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because various examples may be considered to reduction signaling overhead for backward compatibility and SRS resource configuration (Cha: [0282]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the SRS further comprise (UE has multiple transmit port and configure to sound multiple SRS (UE has multiple transmit port and configure to sound multiple SRS (e.g., over different symbols), Huang: [0042] - [0046]).
wherein when transmitting the SRS comprises (b), a different precoder is applied to each different symbol of the specified number of symbols (UE may further listen for additional signaling from the eNB identifying other precoding that the UE should use for transmitting data in the PUSCH. UE has multiple transmit port and configure to sound multiple SRS (e.g., over different symbols), each SRS with a different precoder. eNB may measure the differently precoded SRS over different symbols, Huang: [0028]-[0029], [0042]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Huang further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein whether a different precoder is to be applied to each different symbol is either predetermined or is configured by higher layer signaling (eNB may measure the differently precoded SRS over different symbols and select the best precoder (i.e., the precoded SRS with the best measured characteristic from among the precoded SRSs measured). With the precoder selected, the eNB may signal the UE to use that selected precoder for UL PUSCH transmission. the eNB 104 may apply singular vector decomponsition (SYD) or another approach, based on the determined properties of the raw channel, to determine the best precoder for DL PDSCH transmission, Huang: [0042]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein physical resource blocks for a physical uplink data channel in a non-codebook based transmission corresponding to an SRS symbol are considered as a physical resource block group (The precoded SRS may be used for DL PDSCH scheduling. This relates to whether the eNB 104 has knowledge of the UE 102's measured covariance matrix of interference plus noise. A resource grid may be used to represent two time slots, each time slot including a resource block (RB). multiple RBs (e.g., representing multiple groupings of subcarriers) may be grouped together as the resource block groups, Huang: [0045]-[0046], [0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein a slot offset for transmitting the SRS is changeable by downlink control information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
wherein a slot offset for transmitting the SRS is changeable by downlink control information (The frequency hopping pattern may be notified to the UE dedicatedly via an RRC message or DCI. The parameters necessary for transmitting the SRS may be transmitted to the UE in an RRC message or DCI format. 'srs-Configindex-Ap-rlO' denotes an SRS transm1ss10n subframe index for acquiring the trigger type 1 period and offset information; srs-ConfigApDCI-Format4-r10, srs-ConfigApDCI-FormatO-rlO, and srs-ConfigApDCIFormatlalb2c-310 are SRS configuration information to be used for the respective DCI formats triggering the transmission, Yoo: [0073]-[0080], [0135], [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify that a slot offset for transmitting the SRS is changeable by downlink control information from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses:
A method, comprising:
by a device (The wireless communication device 200 may be a UE, Huang: [0049]):
(a) transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols (Each subframe may include consecutive time slots, such as two. A resource grid may be used to represent two time slots, each time slot including a resource block (RB). resource block may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain, Huang: Fig.5A~5C, [0072]-[0080]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols, wherein transmitting the SRS comprises:
wherein for each of the at least two symbols the SRS occupies at least two subcarriers, wherein the SRS occupies every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8; and
(b) determining a slot offset for the SRS transmission based on a field in downlink control information (DCI) usable to adjust the slot offset for the SRS configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols, wherein transmitting the SRS comprises (FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a resource grid for explaining SRS transmission with frequency hopping. Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other, Yoo: Fig.6~7, [0022], [0073]-[0080]):
wherein for each of the at least two symbols the SRS occupies at least two subcarriers, wherein the SRS occupies every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8 (Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other. the parameters added to the legacy configuration information include Number-of-combs indicating the number of combs (subcarrier pattern type for SRS transmission). transmissionComb-rl3 indicating comb type (subcarrier pattern for SRS transmission), and cyclicShiftr13 for supporting the cyclic shift up to 12. For example, Number-of-combs may indicate 2 combs supported in the legacy system or 4 combs supported newly, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080], [0143]); and
(b) determining a slot offset for the SRS transmission based on a field in downlink control information (DCI) usable to adjust the slot offset for the SRS configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (the SRS periodicity and offset value corresponding to the SRS configuration index (ISRS) may be determined according to the table of FIG. 10. The frequency hopping pattern may be notified to the UE dedicatedly via an RRC message or DCI. The parameters necessary for transmitting the SRS may be transmitted to the UE in an RRC message or DCI format. 'srs-Configindex-Ap-rlO' denotes an SRS transm1ss10n subframe index for acquiring the trigger type 1 period and offset information; srs-ConfigApDCI-Format4-r10, srs-ConfigApDCI-FormatO-rlO, and srs-ConfigApDCIFormatlalb2c-310 are SRS configuration information to be used for the respective DCI formats triggering the transmission. if the extended RRC message is received, the UE transmits SRS in the extended area and there is a need to use srs-ConfigindexAp-rl0 in a different way. In this case, it is necessary to adjust the SRS periodicity and subframe offset to match with the subframe index to transmit the trigger type 1 SRS transmission, Yoo: Fig. 10, [0073]-[0080], [0090]-[0095], [0135], [0169], [0180]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Yoo in order to further modify transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols and the SRS occupying every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8, and determining a slot offset for the SRS transmission based on a field in downlink control information (DCI) usable to adjust the slot offset for the SRS configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Yet, Huang in view of Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein transmitting the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches:
wherein transmitting the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols (In an SRS resource, different SRS symbols having a Comb-N form may have different comb-offsets, that is, frequency RE offsets. Referring to FIG. 18, in each symbol, REs may be mapped at intervals of comb size N (N=4) from the RE separated by the comb-offset value (3, 0, 1, 2) for each symbol from the RE that is positioned first in the frequency domain. BS/location server may set/indicate, to the UE, the comb size N, comb-offset, and relative combo-ffset for each SRS resource, Cha: Fig. 18, Fig. 21, [0280]-[0282], [0299], [0314]-[0316]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Yoo in view of Cha in order to further modify transmitting the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein transmitting the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols from the teachings of Cha.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because various examples may be considered to reduction signaling overhead for backward compatibility and SRS resource configuration (Cha: [0282]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Huang further discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the SRS further comprises (UE has multiple transmit port and configure to sound multiple SRS (e.g., over different symbols), Huang: [0042] - [0046]):
wherein when transmitting the SRS comprises (b), a different precoder is applied to each different symbol of the specified number of symbols (UE may further listen for additional signaling from the eNB identifying other precoding that the UE should use for transmitting data in the PUSCH. UE has multiple transmit port and configure to sound multiple SRS (e.g., over different symbols), each SRS with a different precoder. eNB may measure the differently precoded SRS over different symbols, Huang: [0028]-[0029], [0042]-[0046]).
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
(c) transmitting the SRS over one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
(c) transmitting the SRS over one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols (Referring to FIG. 7, both the UEl and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other. the parameters added to the legacy configuration information include Number-of-combs indicating the number of combs (subcarrier pattern type for SRS transmission). transmissionComb-rl3 indicating comb type (subcarrier pattern for SRS transmission), and cyclicShiftr13 for supporting the cyclic shift up to 12. For example, Number-of-combs may indicate 2 combs supported in the legacy system or 4 combs supported newly, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080], [0143]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify transmitting the SRS over one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Huang further discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the SRS further comprises (UE has multiple transmit port and configure to sound multiple SRS (e.g., over different symbols), Huang: [0042] - [0046]):
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
(c) transmitting the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
(c) transmitting the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols (Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other. the parameters added to the legacy configuration information include Number-of-combs indicating the number of combs (subcarrier pattern type for SRS transmission). the UE may be allocated consecutive symbols to transmit the SRS over the channels of the entireband in a frequency hopping pattern, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify transmitting the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses:
A non-transitory memory element storing instructions executable by a processor to cause a base station to perform operations comprising (memory may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium. the memory may store instructions to perform operations in connection with embodiments, Huang: [0051], [0057]):
(a) receiving the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols (after receiving both precoded SRS and unprecoded SRS from the UE, the eNB may determine that the UE will use the same precoding as was used for the precoded SRS. Each subframe may include consecutive time slots, such as two. A resource grid may be used to represent two time slots, each time slot including a resource block (RB). resource block may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain, Huang: Fig. 5A~5C, [0072] - [0080]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols, wherein receiving the SRS comprises:
wherein for each of the at least two symbols the SRS occupies at least two subcarriers, wherein the SRS occupies every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8; and
(b) receiving the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective RBs in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols, wherein receiving the SRS comprises (receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) using at least one symbol, wherein the at least one symbol is identified based on the first information. FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a resource grid for explaining SRS transmission with frequency hopping. Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other, Yoo: Fig.6~7, [0022], [0073]-[0080]):
wherein for each of the at least two symbols the SRS occupies at least two subcarriers, wherein the SRS occupies every Nth subcarrier in one or more resource blocks (RBs) of each symbol of the at least two symbols, wherein N is selected from a set comprising 2, 4, and 8 (Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other. the parameters added to the legacy configuration information include Number-of-combs indicating the number of combs (subcarrier pattern type for SRS transmission). transmissionComb-rl3 indicating comb type (subcarrier pattern for SRS transmission), and cyclicShiftr13 for supporting the cyclic shift up to 12. For example, Number-of-combs may indicate 2 combs supported in the legacy system or 4 combs supported newly, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080], [0143]); and
(b) receiving the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective RBs in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols (The frequency hopping pattern may be notified to the UE dedicatedly via an RRC message or DCI. The parameters necessary for transmitting the SRS may be transmitted to the UE in an RRC message or DCI format. 'srs-Configindex-Ap-rlO' denotes an SRS transm1ss10n subframe index for acquiring the trigger type 1 period and offset information; srs-ConfigApDCI-Format4-r10, srs-ConfigApDCI-FormatO-rlO, and srs-ConfigApDCIFormatlalb2c-310 are SRS configuration information to be used for the respective DCI formats triggering the transmission, Yoo: [0073]-[0080], [0135], [0169]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Yoo in order to further modify receiving a sounding reference signal (SRS) using a resource that comprises a specified number of symbols and each of the at least two symbols the SRS occupying at least two subcarriers and receiving the SRS using RB level frequency hopping across different symbols using one or more different respective RBs in the at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Yet, Huang in view of Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein receiving the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein receiving the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches:
wherein receiving the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein receiving the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols (In an SRS resource, different SRS symbols having a Comb-N form may have different comb-offsets, that is, frequency RE offsets. Referring to FIG. 18, in each symbol, REs may be mapped at intervals of comb size N (N=4) from the RE separated by the comb-offset value (3, 0, 1, 2) for each symbol from the RE that is positioned first in the frequency domain. BS/location server may set/indicate, to the UE, the comb size N, comb-offset, and relative combo-ffset for each SRS resource, Cha: Fig. 18, Fig. 21, [0280]-[0282], [0299], [0314]-[0316]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Yoo in view of Cha in order to further modify receiving the SRS further comprises hopping of comb offsets, where N is a comb size, and wherein receiving the SRS over different respective subcarriers in at least two symbols across the specified number of symbols comprises using different comb offsets for different symbols of the at least two symbols from the teachings of Cha.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because various examples may be considered to reduction signaling overhead for backward compatibility and SRS resource configuration (Cha: [0282]).
Regarding claim 19, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 18 above.
Huang further discloses:
The non-transitory memory element of claim 18, wherein receiving the SRS further comprises (after receiving both precoded SRS and unprecoded SRS from the UE, Huang: Fig. 5A~5C, [0072] - [0080]):
when receiving the SRS comprises (b), a different precoder is applied to each different symbol of the specified number of symbols (UE may further listen for additional signaling from the eNB identifying other precoding that the UE should use for transmitting data in the PUSCH. UE has multiple transmit port and configure to sound multiple SRS (e.g., over different symbols), each SRS with a different precoder. eNB may measure the differently precoded SRS over different symbols, Huang: [0028]-[0029], [0042]-[0046]).
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
(c) receiving the SRS over one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
(c) receiving the SRS over one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols (FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a resource grid for explaining SRS transmission with frequency hopping. Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. Here, the two UEs use different time-orthogonal codes so as to perform estimation without interference with each other, Yoo: Fig.6~7, [0022], [0073]-[0080]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify receiving the SRS over one or more different respective resource blocks (RBs) in at least two symbols across the plurality of symbols from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 21, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Huang in view of Yoo does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein for (b), the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches:
the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols (In an SRS resource, different SRS symbols having a Comb-N form may have different comb-offsets, that is, frequency RE offsets. Referring to FIG. 18, in each symbol, REs may be mapped at intervals of comb size N (N=4) from the RE separated by the comb-offset value (3, 0, 1, 2) for each symbol from the RE that is positioned first in the frequency domain., Cha: [0280]-[0282], [0299]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Yoo in view of Cha in order to further modify offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols from the teachings of Cha.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because various examples may be considered to reduction signaling overhead for backward compatibility and SRS resource configuration (Cha: [0282]).
Regarding claim 22, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 7, wherein the slot offset for transmitting the SRS is based on higher layer signaling and the downlink control information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
wherein the slot offset for transmitting the SRS is based on higher layer signaling and the downlink control information (The frequency hopping pattern may be notified to the UE dedicatedly via an RRC message or DCI. The parameters necessary for transmitting the SRS may be transmitted to the UE in an RRC message or DCI format. 'srs-Configindex-Ap-rlO' denotes an SRS transm1ss10n subframe index for acquiring the trigger type 1 period and offset information; srs-ConfigApDCI-Format4-r10, srs-ConfigApDCI-FormatO-rlO, and srs-ConfigApDCIFormatlalb2c-310 are SRS configuration information to be used for the respective DCI formats triggering the transmission, Yoo: [0073]-[0080], [0135], [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify that the slot offset for transmitting the SRS is based on higher layer signaling and the downlink control information from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 24, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 12, wherein for (c), the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols (Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. the SRS periodicity and offset value corresponding to the SRS configuration index (ISRS) may be determined according to the table of FIG. 10, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080], [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify that the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 25, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 14, wherein the slot offset for the SRS transmission is based on higher layer signaling and the field in the DCI.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
wherein the slot offset for the SRS transmission is based on higher layer signaling and the field in the DCI (The frequency hopping pattern may be notified to the UE dedicatedly via an RRC message or DCI. The parameters necessary for transmitting the SRS may be transmitted to the UE in an RRC message or DCI format. 'srs-Configindex-Ap-rlO' denotes an SRS transm1ss10n subframe index for acquiring the trigger type 1 period and offset information; srs-ConfigApDCI-Format4-r10, srs-ConfigApDCI-FormatO-rlO, and srs-ConfigApDCIFormatlalb2c-310 are SRS configuration information to be used for the respective DCI formats triggering the transmission, Yoo: [0073]-[0080], [0135], [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify the slot offset for the SRS transmission is based on higher layer signaling and the field in the DCI from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 27, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 18 above.
Huang in view of Cha does not explicitly disclose:
wherein for (b), the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoo teaches:
the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols (Referring to FIG. 7, both the UE1 and UE2 transmit the SRS over the entire band across two symbols so as to achieve a gain of 3 dB as in the method of FIG. 6. the SRS periodicity and offset value corresponding to the SRS configuration index (ISRS) may be determined according to the table of FIG. 10, Yoo: Fig.6~7, Fig.14, [0022], [0073]-[0080], [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Cha in view of Yoo in order to further modify the different respective one or more RBs in a first symbol of the at least two symbols are offset relative to the different respective one or more RBs in a second symbol of the at least two symbols from the teachings of Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to achieve SRS capacity enhancement independent of coexistence with legacy UEs (Yoo: [0061]).
Regarding claim 29, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 27 above.
Huang further discloses:
The non-transitory memory element of claim 27, wherein for (b), physical resource blocks for a physical uplink data channel in a non-codebook based transmission corresponding to an SRS symbol are considered as a physical resource block group (A resource grid may be used to represent two time slots, each time slot including a resource block (RB). multiple RBs (e.g., representing multiple groupings of subcarriers) may be grouped together as the resource block groups. Some of the resource elements may include the UL SRS (precoded and/or unprecoded). Huang: [0072] - [0073], [0075]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 30, Huang-Yoo-Cha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Huang further discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein for (c), physical resource blocks for a physical uplink data channel in a non-codebook based transmission corresponding to an SRS symbol are considered as a physical resource block group (A resource grid may be used to represent two time slots, each time slot including a resource block (RB). multiple RBs (e.g., representing multiple groupings of subcarriers) may be grouped together as the resource block groups. Some of the resource elements may include the UL SRS (precoded and/or unprecoded). Huang: [0072] - [0073], [0075]-[0080]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 April 17, 2026