DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Williams cannot be combined with Henshaw because Williams employs a threaded blade securement assembly while Henshaw employs a loop retainer that encloses the cutting blade, and that combining the references would require substantial redesign, destroy the principle of operation of Williams, and constitute impermissible hindsight. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Williams teaches a lawn mower including a blade securement tool configured to engage the cutting blade to limit blade rotation during servicing while a blade fastener is loosened or tightened (See Williams Figs. 1-3). Henshaw likewise teaches a blade securement tool having blade-engaging members positioned on opposite lateral sides of the cutting blade to prevent rotation during servicing (See Henshaw Fig. 11). Thus, both references are directed to the same known problem in the art, to prevent rotation of a mower blade while a blade fastener is loosened or tightened.
The rejection does not require the complete blade securement assembly of Henshaw to be bodily incorporated into Williams, not does it require replacing every structural feature of Williams with the entirety of Henshaw’s embodiment. Rather, Williams is relied upon for teaching the arrangement of blade-engaging members positioned on opposite lateral sides of the cutting blade for restraining blade rotation during servicing. A reference is properly relied upon for the particular teaching it provides, and obviousness does not require wholesale incorporation of one reference into another.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments concerning Henshaw’s deck engagement portion, threaded engagement, sandwich construction, debris sealing, and other structural details are not commensurate with the rejection. The rejection does not propose does not propose modifying Williams to duplicate the entirety of Henshaw’s structure. Rather, it proposes adopting the known blade engaging configuration taught by Henshaw to perform the same blade restraint function within the blade securement arrangement of Williams.
Applicant further argues that the proposed modification would require removal of Williams’ threaded hardware or eliminate threaded engagement. However, the rejection does not rely upon removing every structural component disclosed by Williams, but rather upon modifying the blade engaging arrangement in view of Henshaw’s teaching. The existence of additional threaded components or other preferred structural features within Williams does not preclude adopting another known blade restraint configuration directed to solving the same problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 19-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 6796111 B2) in view of Henshaw (US 8209837 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Williams discloses a lawn mower (2) comprising:
a mower deck (5);
a cutting blade (47) rotatably mounted relative to the mower deck (5);
a motor (38) for driving the cutting blade (47); and
a blade changing mechanism (75) comprising:
a fastener (84) for securing the cutting blade (47) to the motor (38);
at least one opening (See Williams annotated Fig. 1 and 3 below) at the mower deck (5) for removably receiving the blade securement tool (80; Williams Col. 4, lines 1-3), wherein the at least one opening is spaced apart from an outer edge of the mower deck and radially spaced apart from a cutting edge of the cutting blade (See Williams annotated Fig. 1 and 3 below).
However, Williams fails to disclose a single blade securement tool configured to be simultaneously disposed outside opposite lateral sides of the cutting blade for limiting the cutting blade from rotating.
Henshaw in combination with Williams teaches a single blade securement tool (a single lip retainer 20 taught by Henshaw and lower connecting element 84 with the hole in deck 5 disclosed by Williams) configured to be simultaneously disposed at opposite lateral sides of the cutting blade (6 taught by Henshaw) for limiting the cutting blade from rotating.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade securement tool of Williams with the loop retainer as disclosed by Henshaw so as to incorporate a blade securement tool positioned on opposite sides of the cutting blade, in order to prevent rotation of the cutting blade while the blade fastener is loosened or tightened during servicing.
Regarding claim 2, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 5.
William fails to disclose wherein a first of the two side pins is disposed on a first lateral side of the cutting blade, and wherein a second of the two side pins is simultaneously disposed on a second lateral side of the cutting blade.
Henshaw teaches wherein a first of the two side pins (left side of 20) is disposed on a first lateral side of the cutting blade (left side of 6), and wherein a second of the two side pins (right side of 20) is simultaneously disposed on a second lateral side of the cutting blade (right side of 6). See Henshaw annotated Fig. 11 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade securement tool of Williams with the loop retainer as disclosed by Henshaw so as to incorporate a blade securement tool positioned on opposite sides of the cutting blade, in order to prevent rotation of the cutting blade while the blade fastener is loosened or tightened during servicing.
Regarding claim 3, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 1.
Williams fails to disclose wherein the blade changing mechanism comprises two spaced apart openings.
Henshaw teaches the blade changing mechanism (1a) comprises two spaced-apart openings for receiving a U-shaped piece. (Note: bolted on means there are holes)
Henshaw states, "FIG. 11 shows an alternate embodiment which is self-retaining. Loop retainer 1 (20) is inserted at an angle with loop retainer 1 (20) enclosing the blade end (6) and the retainer located between the blade (6) and the underside of the mower deck (12). Similarly loop retainer 2 (21) is inserted at an angle." Henshaw Col. 6, lines 15-21 and annotated Fig. 11 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade changing mechanism of Williams with two spaced apart openings as disclosed by Henshaw in order to improve blade retention stability by allowing a U-shaped piece to be installed and to allow the blade changing mechanism to be used with, and removed, a variety of blades.
Regarding claim 5, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 3.
Williams fails to disclose wherein the blade securement tool comprises a U-shaped piece with two side pins, the U-shaped piece crosses the cutting blade when the two side pins are received in the two openings.
Henshaw teaches wherein the blade securement tool comprises a U-shaped piece with two side pins, the U-shaped piece crosses the cutting blade when the two side pins are received in the two openings.
Henshaw states, "Alternately, it can be retained on the blade with any of a number of pinning devices ranging from a toggle pin to a bolt to a bolt and nut to a pin with retaining clip. It can also be retained by a secondary "C" shaped retainer (18) which is slid over the device's open side (FIG. 9)." Henshaw Col. 7, lines 8-11 and annotated Fig. 11 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade securement tool of Williams with the U-shaped piece with two side pins and two spaced apart openings as disclosed by Henshaw in order to improve blade retention stability by allowing a U-shaped piece to be installed and to allow the blade changing mechanism to be used with, and removed, a variety of blades.
Regarding claim 6, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 5.
Williams fails to disclose the U-shaped piece comprises a horizontal member connected between the two side pins, wherein the horizontal member has a length larger than a width of the cutting blade.
Henshaw teaches the U-shaped piece comprises a horizontal member connected between the two side pins, wherein the horizontal member has a length larger than a width of the cutting blade. See Henshaw annotated Fig. 11 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade securement tool of Williams with the U-shaped piece comprises a horizontal member connected between the two side pins as disclosed by Henshaw in order to increase cross-member rigidity and improves the stability of the blade during servicing.
Regarding claim 19, Williams discloses a lawn mower (2) comprising:
a mower deck (5) defining a cutting area (See Henshaw annotated Fig. 3 below);
a cutting blade (47) rotatably mounted (Mounted via 40) within the cutting area;
a motor (38) configured to drive the cutting blade (47) to rotate; and
a blade changing mechanism (75) comprising:
a fastener (84) for securing the cutting blade (47) to the motor (38);
an opening extending from the cutting area into the mower deck (5), wherein the opening receives the blade securement tool (80) to interface with the cutting blade (47) and limit the cutting blade from rotating in at least one direction, wherein the opening is radially spaced apart from a cutting edge of the cutting blade. (See Williams annotated Fig. 1 and 3 below)
However, Williams fails to disclose a blade securement tool configured to be simultaneously disposed outside opposite lateral sides of the cutting blade.
Henshaw teaches a blade securement tool (1(20); See Fig. 11) configured to be simultaneously disposed outside opposite lateral sides of the cutting blade (6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade securement tool of Williams with the loop retainer as disclosed by Henshaw so as to incorporate a blade securement tool positioned on opposite sides of the cutting blade, in order to prevent rotation of the cutting blade while the blade fastener is loosened or tightened during servicing.
Regarding claim 20, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 19.
Williams fails to disclose wherein the opening comprises a first opening and a second opening, wherein the blade securement tool comprises a first pin and a second pin, wherein the first pin is received at the first opening, and wherein the second pin is received at the second opening.
Henshaw teaches wherein the opening comprises a first opening and a second opening, wherein the blade securement tool comprises a first pin and a second pin, wherein the first pin is received at the first opening, and wherein the second pin is received at the second opening. See Henshaw annotated Fig. 11 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade changing mechanism of Williams with the U-shaped piece comprises a horizontal member connected between the two side pins as disclosed by Henshaw in order to improve alignment and distribute holding forces between two locations instead of one, and facilitate safer and more efficient servicing.
Regarding claim 22, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 19, wherein the opening is spaced apart from an outer edge of the mower deck. See Williams annotated Fig. 1 and 3 below.
Regarding claim 23, Williams teaches the lawn mower of claim 19.
Williams fails to disclose wherein the blade securement tool comprises a U- shaped piece.
Henshaw teaches wherein the blade securement tool comprises a U- shaped piece.
Henshaw states, "Alternately, it can be retained on the blade with any of a number of pinning devices ranging from a toggle pin to a bolt to a bolt and nut to a pin with retaining clip. It can also be retained by a secondary "C" shaped retainer (18) which is slid over the device's open side (FIG. 9)." Henshaw Col. 7, lines 8-11 and annotated Fig. 11 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the blade securement tool of Williams with the U-shaped piece as disclosed by Henshaw in order to improve blade retention stability by allowing a U-shaped piece to be installed and to allow the blade changing mechanism to be used with, and removed, a variety of blades.
Regarding claim 24, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 19, wherein cutting blade (47) includes a central portion and two end portions extending from the central portion in opposite directions, and wherein the blade securement tool (80) interacts with the central portion of the cutting blade. See Williams annotated Fig. 3 below.
(Note: In Fig. 3, element 80 interacts with the central portion by immobilizing the entire blade (47), including by restraining rotation at the central mounting portion.)
Regarding claim 25, Williams discloses the lawn mower of claim 24, wherein the blade securement tool (80) limits the cutting blade (47) from rotating in both directions, and wherein the blade securement tool contacts the cutting blade a lateral side of the cutting blade to limit the cutting blade from rotating. See Williams annotated Fig. 3 below.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 6796111 B2) in view of Henshaw (US 8209837 B1) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-6, 19-20, and 22-25 above, and further in view of Zhou (CN 204259408 U).
Regarding claim 26, Williams, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Williams in view of Henshaw, discloses the lawn mower of claim 19 and the lawn mower (2).
Williams in view of Henshaw fails to disclose wherein the lawn mower (2) further comprises one or more edge guides defining a channel extending from an area radially exterior to the cutting area.
Zhou teaches wherein the lawn mower (push mower) further comprises one or more edge guides (4) defining a channel (42) extending from an area radially exterior to the cutting area.
Zhou states, "In this embodiment, grass is several guide rib is configured to guide Hay 4 bottom surface 42, guide surface 41 is grass guiding rib 42 of the side wall. grass guiding rib 42 is divided into several groups, each group comprises two oppositely set guide rib 42, each straw guide ribs in each group 42 toward the side surface of the other one straw guide ribs 42 are the straw guide ribs 42 of the guide surface 41, each group of two straw guide ribs 42 are formed bipyridinium guide groove 43. bipyridinium guide groove 43 groove width is gradually reduced on the blade assembly from the outer side of the chassis I extending direction." See ¶ [0018] and annotated Fig. 1 below.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the lawn mower of Williams in view of Henshaw with one or more edge guides defining a channel as disclosed by Zhou in order to provide a guided path for cutting grass, improve directional flow control within the mower deck, and reduce clogging or turbulence during operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-32 allowed.
Claims 4 and 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
JOSE A. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674