DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, species of Coronavirus, particularly COVID-19 that leads a cytokine storm, wherein the anti-CD6 antibody comprising amino acids with at least 98% identity to SEQ ID NOS 1 and 2 in combination with a Reverse transcriptase inhibitors in the reply filed on 01/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-17 and 22-24 are pending.
Claims 5, 7-8, 10-17 and 22 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 23-24 read on the elected species are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 102 ((a) (2)) by US 11,326,186B2 (186B2) or 102((a) (1)) as anticipated by WO 2017/189959 A1.(5959A1) to Paul et al. Because the file (959A1) has same disclosure, the citation is based on Paul (186B2) due to the large file of (959A1) being unable to incorporated herein.
Claims 1-4 and 6 are directed to a method for the treatment of an infectious disease that leads to a cytokine storm or a cytokine release syndrome in a subject comprising administering to the subject a non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody that specifically binds to domain 1 of CD6, wherein the non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody comprises at least amino acids in SEQ ID Nos: 1 and 2, wherein the pathogen cthat causes infectious disease is selected from the group comprising of: cytomegalovirus, coronavirus, Epstein-Barr virus, group A streptococci, avian influenza virus, influenza virus, smallpox virus, dengue virus, and pneumococci., preferably the coronavirus is sars-Cov-2, more preferably is the COVID-19 and wherein the anti-CD6 antibody.
Paul et al. (186B2) teach an inventions related to a composition and method for preparing and using the same for treating an infectious infections that include MERS coronavirus and SARS-Cov. One of the compositions used as a therapeutic application comprises using an viral vectors, such as adeno-associated virus (AAV) particles to express a heterologous sequence that encodes one or more antibodies or antibody fragments or antibody like polypeptides, for the prevention and/or treatment of diseases. wherein antibodies can be a monoclonal antibody( Abstract). Some of the antibodies are monoclonal antibodies that target CD6, e.g. target -99, target -100. The antibodies are designed to overcome inflammatory problems caused by the virus and its related problem, such as a large amount of cytokine induction (See section of Other Therapeutic targets & 3rd paragraph of section of SUMMARY OF INVENTIO). The cited reference also disclose nucleic acid sequence that encodes the amino acid sequences of the monoclonal antibodies (Tables 3-12), which include the monoclonal antibody to CD6 with VL of SEQ ID NO: 7298 with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, VH of SEQ ID NO: 9492 with 98% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 and another VH of SEQ ID NO: 9491 with 98% identity to SEQ ID NO: 3. Therefore, the cited reference anticipates the claims 1-4 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious 8,524,233B2 to Melarkode et al. and further in view of US 11,326, 182B2 to Paul et al.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9 are directed to a method for the treatment of an infectious disease that leads to a cytokine storm or a cytokine release syndrome in a subject comprising administering to the subject a non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody that specifically binds to domain 1 of CD6, wherein the non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody comprises amino acids in SEQ ID Nos: 1 and 2 or a non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody that specifically binds to domain 1 of CD6 having 98% identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 and 2, wherein the infectious disease is caused by a pathogen selected from the group comprising of: cytomegalovirus, coronavirus, Epstein-Barr virus, group A streptococci, avian influenza virus, influenza virus, smallpox virus, dengue virus, and pneumococci., preferably the coronavirus is sars-Cov-2, more preferably is the COVID-19 and wherein the anti-CD6 antibody is in an effective amount of between 0.5 mg/kg of body weight and 10 mg/kg of body weight.
Melarkode et al. present an invention related to a humanized IgG1 isotype anti-CD-6 antibody or an antigen-binding fragment thereof, comprising a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 and a heavy chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, which also comprises the SEQ ID NO: 3, wherein the antibody comprises a human constant region, particularly the antibody comprises a human IgG1 constant region. Melarkode et al. also teach that the antibody is prepared as a composition comprising the antibody, or antigen-binding fragment thereof and a physiologically acceptable carrier. Melarkode et al. also teach that said humanized IgG1 isotype anti-CD6 antibody (T1h) that binds to the Scavenger receptor cysteine-rich (SRCR) domain 1(D1) of CD6 present on the surface of thymic epithelial cells, monocytes, activated T cells and a variety of other cells types. The invention further relates to methods of inhibiting proliferation of T cells without blocking the interaction of CD6 and the natural CD6 ligands like Activated Leukocyte Cell Adhesion Molecule (ALCAM). It also relates to method of treatment of various disease indications using the anti-CD6 antibody that binds to the SRCR domain 1(D1) of CD6.Melarkode et al. also teach that Optimal dosages and dosage regimens to be administered may be readily determined by those skilled in the art, and will vary with the pharmacodynamic characteristics of the particular agent, its time and mode of administration, the strength of the preparation and the advancement of the disease condition (including the nature and extent of the symptoms of the disease). In addition, factors associated with the particular patient being treated, including patient's sex, age, weight, diet, physical activity and concomitant diseases, will result in the need to adjust dosages and/or regimens. The pharmaceutically effective dose is 0.1-25 mg/kg/week. (See DETIAL DESCRIPTIONS OF INVENTION, claims 1-5,Figs. 1-2 ). This anti-CD6 antibody is a humanized antibody which has VH chain and VL chain with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 2 or comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 3. Which is also named as Itolizumab as evidenced by Dogra et al. (EXPERT OPINION ON BIOLOGICAL THERAPY 2017, VOL. 3, PP. 395-402).
However, Mekarkode et al. do not teach using the anti-CD6 for treating a coronavirus, preferably SARS-Cov, more preferably COVID-19 .
Paul et al. teach an inventions related to a composition and method for preparing and using the same to treat variant of infectious infections that include MERS coronavirus and SARS-Cov. One of the compositions used as a therapeutic application comprises using an viral vectors, such as adeno-associated virus (AAV) particles to express a heterologous sequence that encodes one or more antibodies or antibody fragments or antibody like polypeptides, for the prevention and/or treatment of diseases. wherein antibodies can be a monoclonal antibody( Abstract). Some of the antibodies are monoclonal antibodies that target CD6, e.g. target -99, target -100. The antibodies are designed to overcome inflammatory problems caused by a virus or certain pathogen infection, such as a large amount of cytokine induction rapidly (See section of Other Therapeutic targets & 3rd paragraph of section of SUMMARY OF INVENTIO). The cited reference disclose nucleic acid sequence that encodes the amino acid sequences of the monoclonal antibodies (Tables 3-12), which include the monoclonal antibody to the target of CD6 that comprises SEQ ID NO: 7298 with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 9492 with 98% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 and SEQ ID NO: 9491 with 98% identity to SEQ ID NO: 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with an ordinarily skilled in the art to be motivated for combining the teaching from Melarkode et al. and Paul et al. for making the claimed method drawn to using anti-CD6 humanized antibody to treat a patients with coronavirus or Sars-Cov, or preferably COVD-19 with a reasonable expectation of success because both references have already approved that using anti-CD6 can be so effective for reducing the side effect of a cytokine storm caused by a coronavirus infection.
As there are no unexpected results have been provided, hence the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious absence unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claims above are drawn to a genus of monoclonal antibodies, including a generic monoclonal antibodies capable of binding to CD6 without defined molecular variable heave chain and variable light chain in detail, hence the 3 pairs of CDRs located in VF and VL chains are undefined. However, the specification of the current Application has not provided sufficient numbers of species of such antibodies with any detail molecular structures characteristics of the important CDRs that is required to bind to the domain I of CD6 but only SEQ ID NO:S 1 and 2 in pairs that must comprises SEQ ID NO:S 1 and 3. Therefore, when one goes to the instant specification to identify a representative number of species to define the claimed genera with respect to antibodies with six CDRs that bind the recited epitopes, they find only two antibodies with defined SEQ ID NOS: 1-2 or SEQ ID NO:1-3 that bind to domain I of CD6
On 22 February 2018, the USPTO provided a Memorandum clarifying the Written Description Guidelines for claims drawn to antibodies. That Memorandum indicates that, in compliance with recent legal decisions, the disclosure of a fully characterized antigen no longer is sufficient written description of an antibody to that antigen. Accordingly, the instant claims have been evaluated in view of that guidance.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
An applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e. a complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613.
Furthermore, to satisfy the written description requirement for the genus antibody with specific epitope, Applicant must adequately describe representative antibodies to reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568 (“[N]aming a type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consists of, is not a description of that material.”); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (“Claiming all DNA[s] that achieve a result without defining what means will do so is not in compliance with the description requirement; it is an attempt to preempt the future before it has arrived.”).
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. . A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here in which the antibodies claimed can have any CDR set, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615. “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” One of skill in this art cannot envision the structure of any other antibodies that bind 14237-14290 of SEQ ID No. 1899, residues 13935-13947 of SEQ ID NO. 1899, or residues 14165-14178 of SEQ ID NO. 1899 other than the single species provided by Applicant. Therefore, since only a single species is provided to represent these genera, the claims encompassing the same clearly fail the written description requirement.
Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. See ABBVIE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH & 2 CO. v. JANSSEN BIOTECH, INC., Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Nos. 09-CV-11340-FDS, 10-CV-40003-FDS, and 10-CV-40004-FDS, Judge F. Dennis Saylor, IV. See also Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 (“[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology.”); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 636 F.3d 1341, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (noting the technical challenges in developing fully human antibodies of a known human protein).
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity also does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members. The Federal Circuit has cautioned that, for claims reciting a genus of antibodies with particular functional properties (e.g., high affinity, neutralization activity, competing with a reference antibody for binding), “[c]laiming antibodies with specific properties, e.g., an antibody that binds to human TNF-α with A2 specificity, can result in a claim that does not meet written description even if the human TNF-α protein is disclosed because antibodies with those properties have not been adequately described." Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875, 1877-78 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
“Functional” terminology may be used “when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” but “merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing one has invented a genus and not just a species.” Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F3d 1336, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1171 (Fed Cir. 2010). Since the CDR set of each antibody is responsible for antigen binding function of an antibody, and said set varies structurally from antibody to antibody, there is no correlation between structure and function between the members of an antibody genus. One cannot “represent” the entire genus defined only by function with any structural consensus. Thus, functional language should not be used to define an antibody genus. Rather, structure should be used.
Even when several species are disclosed, these are not necessarily representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“The ’128 and ’485 patents, however, only describe species of structurally similar antibodies that were derived from Joe-9. Although the number of the described species appears high quantitatively, the described species are all of the similar type and do not qualitatively represent other types of antibodies encompassed by the genus.”). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species. Since each genus recited in the instant claims is large, it would be very challenging to describe sufficient species to cover the structures of the entire genus. Four species is certainly not adequate.
Overall, at the time the invention was made, the level of skill for preparing antibodies and then selecting those antibodies with desired functional properties was high. However, even if a selection procedure was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify antibodies with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1876 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“The fact that a fully-human antibody could be made does not suffice to show that the inventors of the '775 patent possessed such an antibody.”) Absent the conserved structure provided by all six CDRs of a parental antibody in the context of appropriate VH and VL framework sequences, the skilled artisan generally would not be able to visualize or otherwise predict, a priori, what an antibody with a particular set of functional properties would look like structurally.
Since only a single species or only two species of antibodies are taught within the claimed genera above, those that bind the recited epitopes and at specific affinities, the instant claims above clearly fail the written description requirement. A representative number of species has not been taught to describe these genera. Given the well-known high level of polymorphism of immunoglobulins / antibodies, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of antibodies and the unlimited number of antibodies encompassed by the claimed invention; one of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the structural attributes of a representative number of species possessed by the members of the genera of every monoclonal antibody that binds MUC16 in the required span of amino acids and at the KD of claim 20, broadly encompassed by the claimed invention. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genera.
Owed to the variation among antibodies with respect to their CDRs, the structure of antibodies that correlates with their function, it is very difficult to provide adequate representation of a functionally defined antibody genus. There is unlikely to be any CDR structure shared by the entire genus, for example. Also, the disclosure of one set of antibody CDRs does not guide one of skill to the next set of CDRs. This is because it is well-known in this art that mutation of CDR residues leads to loss of antigen binding. Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, Vol., 79, Pg. 1979-1983, 1982). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function (Abstract). Thus, while applicant has described one or a few species within each of the genera recited, and the art may provide more, each genus is very large and would encompass antibody structures (CDR sets) that cannot be visualized from the prior art or instant disclosure. One of skill in this art cannot determine the antibody structures encompassed by the claimed genera only defined by function. Any future antibody structure may or may not be encompassed, and if it is, it would not have been represented in Applicant’s disclosed species. Thus, the described species cannot be considered representative of the recited genera of antibodies. E.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, the claims are rejected here.
As discussed above, an applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613. Therefore, it is recommended that the instant claims be amended to recite all parental CDRs of the species disclosed since it is these structures together that are required to bind the recited antigen.
Clams 1-4, 6, 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for making two unique monoclonal antibodies with its variable heavy chain(VH) m comprising or consisting od SEQ ID NO: 1 and variable light chain (VL) comprising or consisting of SEQ ID NO: 2 and 3 that are able to bind to the domain I of CD6 , does not reasonably provide enablement for having a generic antibody that VF and VL being 98% homology to SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 2 respectively . The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The test of an enablement or scope of enablement is whether one skilled in the art could make and use the claimed invention from the disclosure in the application coupled with information known in the art would render undue experimentation (See United States v. Theketronic Inc., 8USPQ2d 1217 (fed Cir. 1988). Whether undue experimentation is required is not based upon a single factor but rather a conclusion reached by weighting many factors. These factors were outlined in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) and again in re Wands, 8USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988), which are set forth below:
1). Nature of invention; 2). Scope of claims; 3). State of art; 4). Unpredictability; 5). Level of skill; 6). Number of working examples and 7). Amount of guidance presented in the specification.
The nature of the invention is directed to a method for the treatment of an infectious disease that leads to a cytokine storm or a cytokine release syndrome in a subject comprising administering to the subject a non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody that specifically binds to domain 1 of CD6, wherein the non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody comprises amino acids in SEQ ID Nos: 1 and 2.
However, the scope of the claimed method read on using a non-depleting anti-CD6 antibody that specifically binds to domain 1 of CD6 having 98% identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 and 2.
The state of the prior art is such that it is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site of antibodies generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs or hypervariable regions, which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope (Paul, Fundamental Immunology, 3rd Edition, 1993, pp. 292-295, under the heading “Fv Structure and Diversity in Three Dimensions”). The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity, which is characteristic of the immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites (Paul, page 293, first column, lines 3-8 and line 31 to column 2, line 9 and lines 27-30).
Additionally, Bendig M. M. (Methods: A Companion to Methods in Enzymology, 1995; 8:83-93) reviews that the general strategy for “humanizing” antibodies involves the substitution of all six CDRs from a rodent antibody that binds an antigen of interest, and that all six CDRs are involved in antigen binding (see entire document, but especially Figures 1-3). It is noted that Bendig used Kabat CDRs in their humanization process (Pg. 86, Column 2, Paragraph, second). Similarly, the skilled artisan recognized a “chimeric” antibody to be an antibody in which both the heavy chain variable region (which comprises the three heavy chain CDRs) and the light chain variable region (which comprises the three light chain CDRs) of a rodent antibody are recombined with constant region sequences from a human antibody of a desired isotype (see entire document, but especially Figures 1-3).
Thus, the state of the art recognized that it would be highly unpredictable that a specific antibody comprising less than all six parental CDRs would have antigen binding function. The minimal structure which the skilled artisan would consider predictive of the function of binding the antigen of a murine or humanized antibody includes six CDRs (three from the heavy chain variable region and three from the light chain variable region) in the context of framework sequences which maintain their correct spatial orientation and have the requisite binding function. One of skill in the art would neither expect nor predict the appropriate functioning of the antibody fragments and mutated antibodies of the instant claims as broadly as claimed.
In the case of antibodies, it is especially important to disclose which residues are permissive to mutation. Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, Vol., 79, Pg. 1979-1983, 1982). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function.
Not knowing or absent of further experimentation, which modifications function and which do not, when, as set forth above, even a single change of an encoded amino acid can unpredictably affect antibody structure and function, leads to one having no predictability or expectation of success for the function of any given antibody modification. Such random experimentation to identify at a later time what structure or fragment or modification is or is not functional and is embraced by Applicant’s claims is undue experimentation.
The state of the prior art is such that it is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site of antibodies generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs or hypervariable regions, which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope (Paul, Fundamental Immunology, 3rd Edition, 1993, pp. 292-295, under the heading “Fv Structure and Diversity in Three Dimensions”). The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity, which is characteristic of the immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites (Paul, page 293, first column, lines 3-8 and line 31 to column 2, line 9 and lines 27-30).
Additionally, Bendig M. M. (Methods: A Companion to Methods in Enzymology, 1995; 8:83-93) reviews that the general strategy for “humanizing” antibodies involves the substitution of all six CDRs from a rodent antibody that binds an antigen of interest, and that all six CDRs are involved in antigen binding (see entire document, but especially Figures 1-3). It is noted that Bendig used Kabat CDRs in their humanization process (Pg. 86, Column 2, Paragraph, second). Similarly, the skilled artisan recognized a “chimeric” antibody to be an antibody in which both the heavy chain variable region (which comprises the three heavy chain CDRs) and the light chain variable region (which comprises the three light chain CDRs) of a rodent antibody are recombined with constant region sequences from a human antibody of a desired isotype (see entire document, but especially Figures 1-3).
Thus, the state of the art recognized that it would be highly unpredictable that a specific antibody comprising less than all six parental CDRs would have antigen binding function. The minimal structure which the skilled artisan would consider predictive of the function of binding the antigen of a murine or humanized antibody includes six CDRs (three from the heavy chain variable region and three from the light chain variable region) in the context of framework sequences which maintain their correct spatial orientation and have the requisite binding function. One of skill in the art would neither expect nor predict the appropriate functioning of the antibody fragments and mutated antibodies of the instant claims as broadly as claimed.
In the case of antibodies, it is especially important to disclose which residues are permissive to mutation. Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, Vol., 79, Pg. 1979-1983, 1982). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function.
Not knowing, absent further experimentation, which modifications function and which do not, when, as set forth above, even a single change of an encoded amino acid can unpredictably affect antibody structure and function, leads to one having no predictability or expectation of success for the function of any given antibody modification. Such random experimentation to identify at a later time what structure or fragment or modification is or is not functional and is embraced by Applicant’s claims is undue experimentation.
Moreover, claims not containing elements critical or essential to the practice of the invention, such as antibodies or antibody fragments not having all of the relevant functional complementarity determining regions (CDRs) in the proper site on an appropriate antibody heavy or light chain framework, are not enabled by the disclosure. See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976).
Note that an enabling disclosure for the preparation and use of only a few analogs of a product does not enable all possible analogs where the characteristics of the analogs are unpredictable. See Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd. (18 USPQ 2d 1027 (CAFC 1991)).
In view of the lack of the predictability of the art to which the invention pertains as evidenced by the art above, the lack of guidance and direction provided by Applicant, and the absence of working examples, undue experimentation would be required to make and use functional antibodies comprising fewer than all six parental CDRs or comprising mutated versions thereof, with a reasonable expectation of success, absent a specific and detailed description in Applicant’s specification of how to effectively practice this and absent working examples providing evidence which is reasonably predictive that the claimed antibodies are functional, commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
BAO Q. LI
Examiner
Art Unit 1671
/BAO Q LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671