DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 have been presented for examination based on the application filed on 5/20/2026.
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPUB No. US 20170211830 A1 by KOSAKA; Tadayoshi et al.
This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
(Argument 1) Applicant has argued in Remarks Pg.7-8:
(Response 1) The claim updates the simulation but does not lead to modifying the configuration of the air conditioning system as alleged above and therefore is not considered as improving a technical field/technology. Simply applying the constraint condition does not lead to modifying the configuration of the air conditioning system.
(Argument 2) Applicant has argued in Remarks Pg.8-9:
(Response 2) As per MPEP 2106.05(a), where improvement in functioning of computer is an additional element that has practical application and adds significantly more, the claim does not provide improvement in the functioning of any computer or computer related component. The reference in Ex parte Desjardins is to applications of artificial intelligence (implemented in software) to improve a technology or to improve artificial intelligence itself. No such limitations are presented in the claim. In regarding Enfish, No data structure is claimed such that improvement improves the functioning of a computer. The simulation here is itself is an abstract idea (represented by mathematical boundary constraints) and improvement in evaluations of constraints remains an improvement in the domain of abstract idea. Therefore the parallels presented as arguments are not persuasive.
(Argument 3) Applicant has argued in Remarks Pg.10-11:
(Response 3) Kosaka anticipates optimizing the boundary condition by optimizing the parameters a0-a8 and b0-b8 as discussed in Kosaka: The parameters ax and bx are updated as described in [0159] "... [0159] After Step S204, the air-conditioning planner 45 performs multiple regression based on the actual data of the outside temperature, the sunlight level, the OA equipment power usage, the ventilation power usage, the air-conditioning control plan, the room temperature RT, and the air-conditioning power usage AP, and the frame temperature based on the temporal change K(t) predicted [emphasis on predicted K(t)] in Step S204. This way, the air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) for the room temperature calculation function and the air-conditioning power usage calculation function (S206)...."; the predetermined optimization operation is multiple regression as in [0148] "... The air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the values of the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) through multiple regression...."; Fig.15 & [0164] this can be done more frequently if higher accuracy is desired. Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental process without any additional elements that provide a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 1, 7 & 8 (Updated 8/11/26):
Step 1: the claims are drawn to a method, system and a non-transitory recording medium, respectively, falling under one of the four statutory categories of invention. The claim 1 is mapped exemplarily, however similar analysis is applied to claims 7 & 8 under this statute.
Step 2A, Prong 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim. The limitations are bolded for abstract idea/judicial exception identification.
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 1
1. (Currently Amended) An estimation method for estimating a boundary condition used in a simulation of a temperature inside a target space, the estimation method in which a processor executes processing, the processing comprising the steps executed by a computer of:
setting the boundary condition as an initial constraint condition based on an actual measured value of observation data in the target space and a parameter of the boundary condition, wherein a boundary condition describes a constraint condition for predicting a temperature of a predetermined boundary surface inside the target space, and the parameter comprises the actual measured value of the observation data as an initial value and
calculating, based on the boundary condition being set as the initial constraint condition, a predicted value of the observation data by executing a simulation of air flow inside the target space according to a predetermined simulation model;
calculating an error between the predicted value and the actual measured value of the observation data; and
iteratively updating the parameter of the boundary condition by performing a predetermined optimization operation so as to reduce the calculated error to optimize the parameter; and
updating, based on the iteratively updated parameter, the boundary condition to optimize the boundary condition,
wherein the updated boundary condition further represents a part of input to optimize performance of the simulation to predict at least a temperature of the boundary surface inside the target space and to further modify, based on the predicted temperature, configuration of an air conditioning system for the target space to maintain the predicted at least the temperature of the boundary surface.
See Step 2A Prong 2 & 2B for use of computer/processor:
Abstract Idea/Mathematical Concept/Mental Process: The setting recites mental process (as in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)) because based on the observation (actual measured value of the observation data), a opinion/judgement is formed on the weights and boundary condition to be set. The setting limitation may also recites mathematical calculations (as in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C)) because they involve mathematical equation to set the boundary condition(s) (See specification [0127]).
Abstract Idea/Mathematical Concept/Mental Process: The calculating a predicted value of the observation data limitation recites mathematical calculations (as in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C)) because they involve mathematical equation(s) to compute the predicted value to observation data based pm the set the boundary condition(s) (See specification [0127]). This may be abstract idea based because it can be performed with pencil and paper to calculate (opinion/judgement) the predicted value of the observation data based on boundary conditions related to observation data (observation & decision from previous step).
Abstract Idea/Mathematical Concept/Mental Process: The calculating an error limitation recites mathematical calculations (as in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C)) because they involve mathematical equation(s) to compute the error. See Specification [0145] using conventional mathematical error computation techniques (MSE, RSME, MAE etc.).
Abstract Idea/Mathematical Concept/Mental Process: This is considered as mental step of evaluation (updating the parameter) based observation (of mathematical concept outcome to compute error from previous step).
Abstract Idea/Mathematical Concept/Mental Process: This is mental step showing the stated goal achieved.
Abstract Idea/Mathematical Concept/Mental Process: predicting the future temperature based on the constraint and updating the constraint in a mathematical equation (such as in [0127]) is mathematical concept.
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, these covers a mental process including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. like claimed processor in preamble). See MPEP 2106.05(a)(2)(III)(C). Also the mathematical concepts disclosed may also be performed in the mind or with the aid of pencil and paper or computer as a tool.
Step 2A, Prong 2: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d). As per (1) the additional elements are identified as bolded parts of the limitations in column 1 of the table below, and as per (2) the evaluation is shown in the mapping section of the table.
In accordance with this step, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 2
1. (Currently Amended) An estimation method for estimating a boundary condition used in a simulation of a temperature inside a target space,
the estimation method in which a processor executes processing, the processing comprising the steps executed by a computer of:
setting the boundary condition as an initial constraint condition based on an actual measured value of observation data in the target space and a parameter of the boundary condition, wherein a boundary condition describes a constraint condition for predicting a temperature of a predetermined boundary surface inside the target space, and the parameter comprises the actual measured value of the observation data as an initial value and
calculating, based on the boundary condition being set as the initial constraint condition, a predicted value of the observation data by executing a simulation of air flow inside the target space according to a predetermined simulation model;
calculating an error between the predicted value and the actual measured value of the observation data; and
iteratively updating the parameter of the boundary condition by performing a predetermined optimization operation so as to reduce the calculated error to optimize the parameter; and
updating, based on the iteratively updated parameter, the boundary condition to optimize the boundary condition,
wherein the updated boundary condition further represents a part of input to optimize performance of the simulation to predict at least a temperature of the boundary surface inside the target space and to further modify, based on the predicted temperature, configuration of an air conditioning system for the target space to maintain the predicted at least the temperature of the boundary surface.
Under MPEP 2106.05(h), the use of estimating a boundary condition (an abstract concept as seen in specification [0127]), in a simulation of a temperature inside a target space is merely a field of use in a simulation. The claim is not even directed to actual application (e.g. control or improvement in the temperature of actual target space) or improvement in the simulation specifically (as will be evident from the last limitation/step).
Under MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
Under MPEP 2106.05(g) determining whether a claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more in Step 2B is whether the additional elements add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. In this case the this is mere data gathering of the observation data. It is not clear whether the weights are gathered somehow or assigned.
See Step 2A Prong 1 above.
See Step 2A Prong 1 above.
Under MPEP 2106.05(h) this is field of use and the claim limitations are not positively recited to be used to actually improve the functioning of a HVAC.
In particular, the claim(s) recites the additional elements of a processor at a high-level of generality (i.e. a generic processor performing generic functions of computing and executing information such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The observation and (possibly initial parameter/weights) amounts to extra-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. As described in MPEP 2106.05(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer/processor to perform the claimed steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer/processing component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) related to data gathering as above. Further, the preamble reciting estimating a boundary condition used in a simulation of a temperature inside a target space amount to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment of field of use which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea(See MPEP 2106.05(h)). The claims 1 and similarly Claims 7 & 8 are therefore considered to be patent ineligible.
Claims 2 recite "... wherein the observation data includes:the temperature inside the target space; an outside air temperature in an area within a predetermined range outside the target space; operating information indicating an operating state of air conditioning inside the target space; and people flow data indicating the number of people present inside the target space. ..." and is considered further defining extra solution activity of what data is gathered and generally an attempt to link the field of use. This type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (performing simulation of based on observation for inside temperature) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. MPEP 2106.05(g) & (h). The claim does not disclose any additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into practical application (Step 2A Prong 2) or contribute significantly more (Step 2B).
Claims 3 recite "... wherein the setting of the boundary condition, the calculation of the error, and the update of the parameter are repeated in estimating the boundary condition.. ..." and is considered as further contributing to the abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1 (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C) and 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). The claim does not disclose any additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into practical application (Step 2A Prong 2) or contribute significantly more (Step 2B).
Claims 4 recite "... wherein the setting of the boundary condition, the calculation of the error, and the update of the parameter are repeated in estimating the boundary condition acquiring initial data related to a target space and being for executing a simulation of a temperature inside the target space; setting a boundary condition used in the simulation of the temperature inside the target space based on the initial data acquired and the parameter obtained by the estimation method according to claims 1; and predicting the temperature in the target space by executing the simulation inside the target space based on the boundary condition set... ..." and is considered as further contributing to the abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1 (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C) and 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). These are all mathematical concepts/mental steps which can be performed with computer as a tool.
Predicting the temperature, does not improve on any specific technology. E.g. the prediction does not lead to better control of the HVAC system algorithm or some other practical application. This is akin to providing an updated alarm limit in In re Flook. The claim does not disclose any additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into practical application (Step 2A Prong 2) or contribute significantly more (Step 2B).
Updated claim 4 additionally recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected likewise.
Claims 5 recite "... wherein the initial data includes: the temperature inside the target space; an outside air temperature in an area within a predetermined range outside the target space; operating information indicating an operating state of air conditioning inside the target space; and people flow data indicating the number of people present inside the target space.. ..." and is considered further defining extra solution activity of what data is gathered/used and generally an attempt to link the field of use. This type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (performing simulation of based on observation for inside temperature) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. MPEP 2106.05(g) & (h). The claim does not disclose any additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into practical application (Step 2A Prong 2) or contribute significantly more (Step 2B).
New claim 9 recites further limitation on what conditions are used to limit the boundary condition (equation) and only add to abstract idea/mathematical concept. The claim does not disclose any additional limitations that integrate the judicial exception into practical application (Step 2A Prong 2) or contribute significantly more (Step 2B).
----- This page is left blank after this line -----
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPUB No. US 20170211830 A1 by KOSAKA; Tadayoshi et al.
Regarding Claim 1, 7 & 8 (Updated 8/11/26)
Kosaka teaches (Claim 1) An estimation method for estimating a boundary condition used in a simulation of a temperature inside a target space (Kosaka: [0145] the boundary condition specified in Formula 1 and Formula 2; Fig.9-10, Fig.14) , the estimation method in which a processor executes processing (Kosaka: Fig.2 & [0054]) , the processing comprising the steps executed by a computer of:
(Claim 7) An estimation device configured to estimate a boundary condition used in a simulation of a temperature inside a target space (Kosaka: [0145] the boundary condition specified in Formula 1 and Formula 2), the estimation device comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Kosaka: Fig.2 & [0054]), the at least one processor being configured to:
(Claim 8) A non-transitory recording medium (Kosaka : [0055]) storing an estimation program for estimating a boundary condition used in a simulation of a temperature inside a target space (Kosaka: [0145] the boundary condition specified in Formula 1 and Formula 2; Fig.9-10, Fig.14), the estimation program being for causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
setting the boundary condition as an initial constraint condition (Kosaka : Fig.4 element S107 showing obtaining initial constraints RT[0] and AP[0], where the constraints are defined in [0145] Formula 1 and Formula 2 respectively) based on an actual measured value of observation data in the target space (Kosaka : [0136]-[0138] – actual observation data; Fig.14 & [0141]-[0197] – put into boundary condition) and a parameter of the boundary condition (Kosaka : [0138]-[0145] showing the parameter related to temperature and power in the boundary condition Formula 1 and Formula 2) wherein a boundary condition describes a constraint condition for predicting a temperature of a predetermined boundary surface inside the target space (Kosaka: [0145] Formula 1 having frame temperature KT) , and the parameter comprises the actual measured value of the observation data as an initial value (Kosaka : [0136] ) and a weight to the actual measured value of the observation data (Kosaka: [0104]-[0109], Fig.9-10, w.r.t to Embodiment 1 & Fig.14 - [0145] with showing weight a0-a8 and b0-b8 applied to actual values measured "[0142]... outside temperature OT[0], the sunlight level SR[0], the OA equipment power usage OA[0], the ventilation power usage AE[0], the frame temperature KT[0], the air-conditioning control plan AS[0,0], the room temperature RT[0], and the air-conditioning power usage AP[0] into the room temperature calculation procedure 55....") ;
calculating, based on the boundary condition being set as initial constraint condition (Kosaka: boundary condition in [0145] being set as constraint condition with initial values in [0142]) , a predicted value of the observation data by executing a simulation of air flow inside the target space according to a predetermining simulation model (Kosaka: Fig.9-10 shows the Frame temperature approximation as graph for the process described in Fig.14 which predicts the observation data like room temperature and air conditioner power usage – [0098]-[0119]; [0147] "... [0147] As described above, the air-conditioning planner 45 is configured to obtain the room temperature RT[i] and the air-conditioning power usage AP[i] using the function including a plurality of elements as the explanatory variables, and therefore, it is possible to select and apply an appropriate air-conditioning control plan to accommodate more complex changes in environment...." – here the air condition control plan includes air conditioning control settings when air condition will be ON/OFF (see [0124]-[0125]), i.e. when the air flow happens inside; Also see another version of constrain in [01215]);
calculating an error between the predicted value and the actual measured value of the observation data (Kosaka: Fig.3 and Fig.10 w.r.t. ¶[0066] "... [0066] If the actual weather is different from the weather forecast, the actual result does not necessarily match the plan, and therefore, the air-conditioning planning device 1 generates a new plan every two hours after that (re-planning 52)...." [0159] "... [0159] After Step S204, the air-conditioning planner 45 performs multiple regression based on the actual data of the outside temperature, the sunlight level, the OA equipment power usage, the ventilation power usage, the air-conditioning control plan, the room temperature RT, and the air-conditioning power usage AP, and the frame temperature based on the temporal change K(t) predicted in Step S204. This way, the air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) for the room temperature calculation function and the air-conditioning power usage calculation function (S206)...." the difference in actual data and predicted data K(t) is used to obtain weights ax (i.e. a0-a8) and bx (i.e. b0-b8) through regression) ; and
iteratively updating the parameter of the boundary condition by performing a predetermined optimization operation (Kosaka: The parameters ax and bx are updated as described in [0159] "... [0159] After Step S204, the air-conditioning planner 45 performs multiple regression based on the actual data of the outside temperature, the sunlight level, the OA equipment power usage, the ventilation power usage, the air-conditioning control plan, the room temperature RT, and the air-conditioning power usage AP, and the frame temperature based on the temporal change K(t) predicted [emphasis on predicted K(t)] in Step S204. This way, the air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) for the room temperature calculation function and the air-conditioning power usage calculation function (S206)...."; the predetermined optimization operation is multiple regression as in [0148] "... The air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the values of the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) through multiple regression...."; Fig.15 & [0164] this can be done more frequently if higher accuracy is desired) so as to reduce the calculated error to optimize the parameter (Kosaka: [0159]-[0165] – estimating weights ax (i.e. a0-a8) and bx (i.e. b0-b8) through regression); and
updating, based on the iterative updated parameter, the boundary condition to optimize the boundary condition (Kosaka: Fig.15 & [0164] this can be done more frequently if higher accuracy is desired; [0145]-[0154] showing calculation for boundary condition, which use the parameters a0-a8 Boundary condition in Formula 1 & b0-b8 Boundary condition in Formula 2; Alternately also see Fig.22 & [0254]),
wherein the updated boundary condition further represents a part of input to optimize performance of the simulation to predict at least a temperature of the boundary surface inside the target space (Kosaka : temperature of the boundary surface inside is shown as frame temperature measured by devices such as thermometer mounted on wall, floor ceiling inside the building [0041] "... [0041] The thermometer 22 is installed in at least one of walls, water storage tanks, floors, and ceilings of the building 30, and measures frame temperature....") and to further modify, based on the predicted temperature, configuration of an air conditioning system for the target space to maintain the predicted at least the temperature of the boundary surface (Kosaka: replanning the using air-conditioning planner 45, Fig.3 and Fig.10 w.r.t. ¶[0066] "... [0066] If the actual weather is different from the weather forecast, the actual result does not necessarily match the plan, and therefore, the air-conditioning planning device 1 generates a new plan every two hours after that (re-planning 52)...." [0157] "... [0157] After Step S203, the air-conditioning planner 45 obtains a difference (time lag) between the time at which the peak value of the outside temperature was measured and the time at which the peak value of the frame temperature was measured. Then, using the calculated highest temperature, the calculated lowest temperature, and the obtained time difference, the air-conditioning planner 45 predicts a temporal change K(t) of the frame temperature in the form of a sine curve (S204). ..."; [0159] "... [0159] After Step S204, the air-conditioning planner 45 performs multiple regression based on the actual data of the outside temperature, the sunlight level, the OA equipment power usage, the ventilation power usage, the air-conditioning control plan, the room temperature RT, and the air-conditioning power usage AP, and the frame temperature based on the temporal change K(t) predicted in Step S204. This way, the air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) for the room temperature calculation function and the air-conditioning power usage calculation function (S206)...." the difference in actual data and predicted data K(t) is used to obtain weights ax (i.e. a0-a8) and bx (i.e. b0-b8) through regression)) .
Regarding Claim 2
Kosaka teaches the estimation method according to claim 1, wherein the observation data includes: the temperature inside the target space (Kosaka: "[0142]... outside temperature OT[0], the sunlight level SR[0], the OA equipment power usage OA[0], the ventilation power usage AE[0], the frame temperature KT[0], the air-conditioning control plan AS[0,0], the room temperature RT[0], and the air-conditioning power usage AP[0] into the room temperature calculation procedure 55....") ; an outside air temperature in an area within a predetermined range outside the target space (Kosaka: [0142] "... outside temperature OT[0],...") ; operating information indicating an operating state of air conditioning inside the target space (Kosaka: [0142] "... the OA equipment power usage OA[0], the ventilation power usage AE[0],...") ; and people flow data indicating the number of people present inside the target space (Kosaka: [0092] "... [0092] The power usage of the OA equipment varies depending on, for example, the number of people in the building 30, the day of the week, and events scheduled on that day....") .
Regarding Claim 3
Kosaka teaches the estimation method according to claim 1 , wherein the setting of the boundary condition, the calculation of the error, and the update of the parameter are repeated in estimating the boundary condition (Kosaka: [0167] "... [0167] By repeating Steps S108 and S109, the air-conditioning planner 45 can calculate the room temperature RT [boundary condition as in ¶[0145]]and the air-conditioning power usage AP [boundary condition as in ¶[0145]] in a time series including a plurality of times T[i] when one of the air-conditioning control plan options is executed...." – showing repeated calculation for boundary conditions ; error in [0159]-[0167], and update to parameters a0-a8/b0-b8 as ax/bx is also regression based).
Regarding Claim 4 (Updated 8/11/26)
Kosaka teaches A simulation method in which a processor executes processing (Kosaka: Fig.2 & [0054], simulation as prediction of temperature based on past actual data [0136]-[0197]), the processing comprising the steps of: acquiring initial data related to a target space and being for executing a simulation of a temperature inside the target space (Kosaka : [0136]-[0138] – actual observation data); setting a boundary condition used in the simulation of the temperature inside the target space based on the initial data acquired and a parameter of the boundary condition wherein the parameter is based on executing operations comprising (Kosaka: [0139]-[0154]) ;
setting the boundary condition as an initial constraint condition (Kosaka : Fig.4 element S107 showing obtaining initial constraints RT[0] and AP[0], where the constraints are defined in [0145] Formula 1 and Formula 2 respectively) based on an actual measured value of observation data in the target space (Kosaka : [0136]-[0138] – actual observation data; Fig.14 & [0141]-[0197] – put into boundary condition) and a parameter of the boundary condition (Kosaka : [0138]-[0145] showing the parameter related to temperature and power in the boundary condition Formula 1 and Formula 2) wherein a boundary condition describes a constraint condition for predicting a temperature of a predetermined boundary surface inside the target space (Kosaka: [0145] Formula 1 having frame temperature KT) , and the parameter comprises the actual measured value of the observation data as an initial value (Kosaka : [0136] ) and a weight to the actual measured value of the observation data (Kosaka: [0104]-[0109], Fig.9-10, w.r.t to Embodiment 1 & Fig.14 - [0145] with showing weight a0-a8 and b0-b8 applied to actual values measured "[0142]... outside temperature OT[0], the sunlight level SR[0], the OA equipment power usage OA[0], the ventilation power usage AE[0], the frame temperature KT[0], the air-conditioning control plan AS[0,0], the room temperature RT[0], and the air-conditioning power usage AP[0] into the room temperature calculation procedure 55....") ;
calculating, based on the boundary condition being set as initial constraint condition (Kosaka: boundary condition in [0145] being set as constraint condition with initial values in [0142]) , a predicted value of the observation data by executing a simulation of air flow inside the target space according to a predetermining simulation model (Kosaka: Fig.9-10 shows the Frame temperature approximation as graph for the process described in Fig.14 which predicts the observation data like room temperature and air conditioner power usage – [0098]-[0119]; [0147] "... [0147] As described above, the air-conditioning planner 45 is configured to obtain the room temperature RT[i] and the air-conditioning power usage AP[i] using the function including a plurality of elements as the explanatory variables, and therefore, it is possible to select and apply an appropriate air-conditioning control plan to accommodate more complex changes in environment...." – here the air condition control plan includes air conditioning control settings when air condition will be ON/OFF (see [0124]-[0125]), i.e. when the air flow happens inside; Also see another version of constrain in [01215]);
calculating an error between the predicted value and the actual measured value of the observation data (Kosaka: Fig.3 and Fig.10 w.r.t. ¶[0066] "... [0066] If the actual weather is different from the weather forecast, the actual result does not necessarily match the plan, and therefore, the air-conditioning planning device 1 generates a new plan every two hours after that (re-planning 52)...." [0159] "... [0159] After Step S204, the air-conditioning planner 45 performs multiple regression based on the actual data of the outside temperature, the sunlight level, the OA equipment power usage, the ventilation power usage, the air-conditioning control plan, the room temperature RT, and the air-conditioning power usage AP, and the frame temperature based on the temporal change K(t) predicted in Step S204. This way, the air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) for the room temperature calculation function and the air-conditioning power usage calculation function (S206)...." the difference in actual data and predicted data K(t) is used to obtain weights ax (i.e. a0-a8) and bx (i.e. b0-b8) through regression) ; and
iteratively updating the parameter of the boundary condition by performing a predetermined optimization operation (Kosaka: The parameters ax and bx are updated as described in [0159] "... [0159] After Step S204, the air-conditioning planner 45 performs multiple regression based on the actual data of the outside temperature, the sunlight level, the OA equipment power usage, the ventilation power usage, the air-conditioning control plan, the room temperature RT, and the air-conditioning power usage AP, and the frame temperature based on the temporal change K(t) predicted [emphasis on predicted K(t)] in Step S204. This way, the air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) for the room temperature calculation function and the air-conditioning power usage calculation function (S206)...."; the predetermined optimization operation is multiple regression as in [0148] "... The air-conditioning planner 45 obtains the values of the calculation parameters ax and bx (x=0 to 8) through multiple regression...."; Fig.15 & [0164] this can be done more frequently if higher accuracy is desired) so as to reduce the calculated error to optimize the parameter (Kosaka: [0159]-[0165] – estimating weights ax (i.e. a0-a8) and bx (i.e. b0-b8) through regression);
and predicting the temperature in the target space by executing the simulation inside the target space based on the boundary condition set (Kosaka: [0145] shows computing Room Temperature calculation RT[i] at time I based on the boundary condition (in Formula 1) using input variables) .
Regarding Claim 5
Kosaka teaches the simulation method according to claim 4, wherein the initial data includes: the temperature inside the target space (Kosaka: "[0142]... outside temperature OT[0], the sunlight level SR[0], the OA equipment power usage OA[0], the ventilation power usage AE[0], the frame temperature KT[0], the air-conditioning control plan AS[0,0], the room temperature RT[0], and the air-conditioning power usage AP[0] into the room temperature calculation procedure 55...."); an outside air temperature in an area within a predetermined range outside the target space (Kosaka: [0142] "... outside temperature OT[0],..."); operating information indicating an operating state of air conditioning inside the target space (Kosaka: [0142] "... the OA equipment power usage OA[0], the ventilation power usage AE[0],..."); and people flow data indicating the number of people present inside the target space (Kosaka: [0092] "... [0092] The power usage of the OA equipment varies depending on, for example, the number of people in the building 30, the day of the week, and events scheduled on that day....").
Regarding Claim 9 (New, rejected 8/11/26))
Kosaka teaches wherein: conditions used in the simulation of temperature are selectable by a user, the conditions comprising: an element as selected from an outside air inlet, an air-conditioning blowoff port, an air outlet, and a heating element within the target space to be estimated as the boundary condition(Kosaka: [0214] "... [0214] The calculation parameter (a8 in Formula 1) used in Step S128 (Step S108 in FIG. 4) and indicating the effect of the air-conditioning power usage AP on the room temperature RT greatly differs between when cooling is conducted for the air-conditioning control and when heating is conducted for the air-conditioning control. Thus, in the intermediate period when it is necessary to switch between heating and cooling in a short period of time, the calculation parameter for cooling and the calculation parameter for heating need to be selected accurately...."), a time period of the boundary condition to be estimated (Kosaka: [0076] "... [0076] FIGS. 5 and 6 indicate the time data 46 including the time T[i] in Embodiment 1. The time T represents a plurality of times during the operation period of the HVAC unit....") , and a spatial range for which the error is to be calculated; and the parameter is estimated so as to reduce the error at each time in accordance with the conditions selected by the user, and the boundary condition is estimated based on the estimated parameter (Kosaka: [0145] boundary condition based on estimated a0-a8 and b0-b) .
Relevant Prior Art of Record
US PGPUB No. US US 20190316802 A1 by Alanqar; Anas W. I. et al. discloses boundary condition based temperature prediction ([0052]-[0060], [0165]) based on the system parameters (weights – [0060]). Error prediction [0073]-[0080] at least.
US PGPUB No. US 20200240668 A1 by BASSA; Nir et al. discloses multi goal (boundary condition goals – See Fig.4) which takes input of actual data (Fig.1 elements 107/150/110) including occupancy ([0054][0112]) and temperature ([0007][0112]).
Above prior art and additional ones cited on PTO892 may be used in future rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
---- This page is left blank after this line ----
Communication
AKASH SAXENA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/AKASH SAXENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188 Tuesday, August 11, 2026