The amendment filed 12/18/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-10, 14 and 16 are pending.
Claims 11-13, 15 and 17-20 are canceled.
Claims 1-10, 14 and 16 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200146107 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210153162 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Xiong and Chen.
In regard to Claim 1, Xiong teaches A communication apparatus for use in wireless communication (FIG. 1 illustrates a schematic high-level example of a wireless network that includes multiple user equipments (UEs), Para. 5, FIG. 1), comprising: a transceiver (RF circuitry 1606, Para. 150, FIG. 16), which, in operation, receives system information (The TRS occasions are known to the UE either by configuration, e.g., RRC connection setup and SCell addition, Para. 114) indicating a tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches circuitry (baseband circuitry 1604, Para. 150, FIG. 16), which, in operation, determines the TRS configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114) based on the received system information (The TRS occasions are known to the UE either by configuration, e.g., RRC connection setup and SCell addition, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches determines, based on the TRS configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114), a time distance (NOFFSET,TRS are the slot offset of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14) at which a TRS availability time window starts (a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114. FIG. 7 illustrates an example diagram 700 of uplink and downlink frames demonstrating operations between a UE and a gNB for a transmission of a TRS, Para. 86, FIG. 7. A TRS can be transmitted in a periodic manner after it has been triggered to start the transmission. More specifically, the slots for the transmission of TRS may be defined as the downlink slots or special slots in TDD system, Para. 119).
Xiong teaches a paging occasion (the PDSCH carrying the paging message in the resources 1307. Note, however, that the paging occasion may simply occur after the TRS occasion, not necessarily in the next slot, Para. 113, FIG. 13. A TRS occasion precedes a paging occasion to allow the UE fine FFT window placement with the higher sampling rate, Para. 114), the time distance defined in units of frames (In slot one of radio frame n+1 the gNB extends the bandwidth during the TRS occasion from the first bandwidth 1301 to a second bandwidth 1303, Para. 113, FIG. 13. Where nf and ns are radio frame number and slot number; NOFFSET,TRS and TRSPERIODICITY are the slot offset and periodicity of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14), and a time length of the TRS availability time window defined in units of paging cycles (The second TRS 146 for the paging message may be received periodically in a fixed specified narrowband bandwidth, Para. 56, FIGS. 1, 13. The device 1600 goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network, Para. 169, FIGS. 13, 16. The second TRS for the paging message is received periodically in a fixed specified narrowband bandwidth, Para. 209, FIG. 13).
Xiong teaches wherein the TRS availability time window differs from a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set (in addition to a TRS, there may be multiple reference signals for various functions, e.g., synchronization signal (SS). The SS may be for synchronization function, the TRS for tracking or QCL functions, Para. 59, FIG. 2), and indicates that TRS is available within the TRS availability time window (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity. A bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches monitors for the TRS in the TRS availability time window (downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114. FIG. 7 illustrates an example diagram 700 of uplink and downlink frames demonstrating operations between a UE and a gNB for a transmission of a TRS, Para. 86, FIG. 7. The slots for the transmission of TRS may be defined as the downlink slots or special slots in TDD system, Para. 119) offset by the time distance (NOFFSET,TRS are the slot offset of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14).
Xiong teaches the paging occasion (The paging occasion may simply occur after the TRS occasion, Para. 113, FIG. 13. A TRS occasion precedes a paging occasion, Para. 114).
Although Xiong teaches a time distance at which a TRS availability time window starts and teaches a paging occasion, Xiong fails to teach a time distance at which a RS availability time window starts before a paging occasion, and although Xiong teaches the TRS availability time window offset by the time distance and teaches the paging occasion, Xiong fails to teach the RS availability time window offset by the time distance from the paging occasion.
Chen teaches determines, based on the RS configuration (At S2610, paging related configurations are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110. For example, timing/frequency tracking RSs related configurations can be transmitted, Para. 147, FIG. 26. FIG. 9 shows an example paging configuration 900, Para. 61, FIG. 9), a time distance (an interval 980 after the timing/frequency tracking and before the paging detection operation, Para. 73, FIG. 9) at which a RS availability time window starts (The SS block burst set 912 includes SS blocks 913-918, Para. 61, FIG. 9. The PO 923 is QCLed with the SS block 913, Para. 62, FIG. 9. The UE 110 may receive the SS blocks 913-918 of the SS block burst set 912, and measure a quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) for each SS block 913-918, Para. 65, FIG. 9. At S2612, timing/frequency tracking reference signals are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2614, the UE 110 determines an RS source for timing/frequency tracking, Para. 150, FIG. 26) before a paging occasion (a sequence of POs 923-928 forming a PO burst set 922, Para. 62, FIG. 9. At S2612, POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS, Para. 154, FIG. 26).
Chen teaches monitors for the RS (reference signal received power (RSRP), Para. 65, FIG. 9) in the RS availability time window (The UE 110 may receive the SS blocks 913-918 of the SS block burst set 912, and measure a quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) for each SS block 913-918, Para. 65, FIG. 9) offset by the time distance (an interval 980 after the timing/frequency tracking and before the paging detection operation, Para. 73, FIG. 9) from the paging occasion (a sequence of POs 923-928 forming a PO burst set 922, Para. 62, FIG. 9. At S2612, POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS, Para. 154, FIG. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xiong since Chen provides a technique for utilizing an interval between timing/frequency tracking and paging detection operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong to permit configurations to manage transmission timings by indicating time intervals between paging occasions and TRS occasions.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong teaches the TRS.
Xiong fails to teach the transceiver, in operation, receives data in a physical resource multiplexed with the TRS, and the circuitry, in operation, performs rate matching of the received data in accordance with the determined TRS configuration.
Chen teaches the transceiver, in operation, receives data (a paging detection at a first paging occasion (PO), Para. 14) in a physical resource (REs on a time-frequency resource grid, Para. 49, FIG. 2) multiplexed with the TRS (FIG. 21 shows multiple example multiplexing patterns for multiplexing POs and associated TRSs. Multiplexing patterns of PO and associated TRS are configurable, Para. 126, FIG. 21).
Chen teaches the circuitry, in operation, performs rate matching of the received data (rate matching of the PO can be performed with consideration of the existence of TRSs, Para. 87) in accordance with the determined TRS configuration (multiplexing patterns of PO and associated TRS are configurable, for example, by broadcast or dedicated signaling, Para. 126, FIG. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xiong since Chen provides a technique for utilizing an interval between timing/frequency tracking and paging detection operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong to permit configurations to manage transmission timings by indicating time intervals between paging occasions and TRS occasions.
In regard to Claim 3, Xiong teaches the circuitry, in operation, performs at least one of time tracking, frequency tracking (frequency offset tracking, Para. 110), and beam tracking based on the received TRS (If the TRS transmission occurs prior to the paging message transmission, the UE can use the TRS for frequency offset tracking, Para. 110).
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong teaches the received TRS.
Xiong fails to teach the transceiver, in operation, receives the SSB, and the circuitry, in operation, performs at least one of time tracking, frequency tracking, and beam tracking based on the received SSB and on the received TRS.
Chen teaches the transceiver, in operation, receives the SSB (determining an RS source for performing the timing and frequency tracking, the RS source being SS blocks, tracking RSs (TRSs), or a combination of SS blocks and TRSs, Para. 11).
Chen teaches the circuitry, in operation, performs at least one of time tracking, frequency tracking, and beam tracking based on the received SSB and on the received TRS (a combination of SS blocks and TRSs may be used for timing/frequency tracking and paging detection, Para. 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xiong since Chen provides a technique for utilizing an interval between timing/frequency tracking and paging detection operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong to permit configurations to manage transmission timings by indicating time intervals between paging occasions and TRS occasions.
In regard to Claim 8, Xiong teaches the TRS configuration includes at least one of an TRS sequence generation, a resource for mapping TRS, and a transmission timing for TRS (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114).
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Xiong teaches a transmission timing for TRS.
Xiong fails to teach the transmission timing includes the time distance at which the TRS availability time window starts before the paging occasion.
Chen teaches the transmission timing (a timing of the PO window 970 can be configured depending on a set of parameters such as the DRX cycle 950, an ID of the UE 110, and/or paging occasion capacity requirement of the cell 128. Those set of parameters can be configured to the UE 110, Para. 67, FIG. 9. The UE 110 may accordingly derive the timing of the PO window 970 in advance of the timing/frequency tracking and paging detection process. A starting time of the PO window 970 can thus be determined by the UE 110, Para. 68, FIG. 9) includes the time distance (UE 110 may turn into a sleeping state during an interval 980 after the timing/frequency tracking and before the paging detection operation, Para. 73, FIG. 9) at which the TRS availability time window starts (The SS block burst set 912 includes SS blocks 913-918, Para. 61, FIG. 9. The PO 923 is QCLed with the SS block 913, Para. 62, FIG. 9. The UE 110 may receive the SS blocks 913-918 of the SS block burst set 912, and measure a quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) for each SS block 913-918, Para. 65, FIG. 9. At S2612, timing/frequency tracking reference signals are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2614, the UE 110 determines an RS source for timing/frequency tracking, Para. 150, FIG. 26) before the paging occasion (a sequence of POs 923-928 forming a PO burst set 922, Para. 62, FIG. 9. At S2612, POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS, Para. 154, FIG. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xiong since Chen provides a technique for utilizing an interval between timing/frequency tracking and paging detection operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong to permit configurations to manage transmission timings by indicating time intervals between paging occasions and TRS occasions.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Xiong teaches a transmission timing for TRS.
Xiong fails to teach the transmission timing for TRS is determined based on at least one of: a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the communication apparatus; a number of paging frames in the DRX cycle; a number of paging occasions for a paging frame; an offset used for the determination of a paging frame; and a temporary network subscriber identity of the communication apparatus.
Chen teaches the transmission timing for TRS is determined based on at least one of: a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the communication apparatus (a timing of the PO window 970 can be configured depending on a set of parameters such as the DRX cycle 950, Para. 67, FIG. 9. During an example timing/frequency tracking and paging detection process, the UE 110 first performs timing/frequency tracking. For example, a DRX cycle 950 is confiured by the network side of the system 100, Para. 64, FIG. 9); a number of paging frames in the DRX cycle; a number of paging occasions for a paging frame; an offset used for the determination of a paging frame; and a temporary network subscriber identity of the communication apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xiong since Chen provides a technique for utilizing an interval between timing/frequency tracking and paging detection operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong to permit configurations to manage transmission timings by indicating time intervals between paging occasions and TRS occasions.
In regard to Claim 14, Xiong teaches A method for wireless communication including the following steps to be performed by a communication apparatus (FIG. 1 illustrates a schematic high-level example of a wireless network that includes multiple user equipments (UEs), Para. 5, FIG. 1): receiving system information (The TRS occasions are known to the UE either by configuration, e.g., RRC connection setup and SCell addition, Para. 114) indicating a tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches determining the TRS configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114) based on the received system information (The TRS occasions are known to the UE either by configuration, e.g., RRC connection setup and SCell addition, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches determining, based on the TRS configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114), a time distance (NOFFSET,TRS are the slot offset of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14) at which a TRS availability time window starts (a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114. FIG. 7 illustrates an example diagram 700 of uplink and downlink frames demonstrating operations between a UE and a gNB for a transmission of a TRS, Para. 86, FIG. 7. A TRS can be transmitted in a periodic manner after it has been triggered to start the transmission. More specifically, the slots for the transmission of TRS may be defined as the downlink slots or special slots in TDD system, Para. 119).
Xiong teaches a paging occasion (the PDSCH carrying the paging message in the resources 1307. Note, however, that the paging occasion may simply occur after the TRS occasion, not necessarily in the next slot, Para. 113, FIG. 13. A TRS occasion precedes a paging occasion to allow the UE fine FFT window placement with the higher sampling rate, Para. 114), the time distance defined in units of frames (In slot one of radio frame n+1 the gNB extends the bandwidth during the TRS occasion from the first bandwidth 1301 to a second bandwidth 1303, Para. 113, FIG. 13. Where nf and ns are radio frame number and slot number; NOFFSET,TRS and TRSPERIODICITY are the slot offset and periodicity of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14), and a time length of the TRS availability time window defined in units of paging cycles (The second TRS 146 for the paging message may be received periodically in a fixed specified narrowband bandwidth, Para. 56, FIGS. 1, 13. The device 1600 goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network, Para. 169, FIGS. 13, 16. The second TRS for the paging message is received periodically in a fixed specified narrowband bandwidth, Para. 209, FIG. 13).
Xiong teaches wherein the TRS availability time window differs from a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set (in addition to a TRS, there may be multiple reference signals for various functions, e.g., synchronization signal (SS). The SS may be for synchronization function, the TRS for tracking or QCL functions, Para. 59, FIG. 2), and indicates that TRS is available within the TRS availability time window (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity. A bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches monitoring for the TRS in the TRS availability time window (downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114. FIG. 7 illustrates an example diagram 700 of uplink and downlink frames demonstrating operations between a UE and a gNB for a transmission of a TRS, Para. 86, FIG. 7. The slots for the transmission of TRS may be defined as the downlink slots or special slots in TDD system, Para. 119) offset by the time distance (NOFFSET,TRS are the slot offset of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14).
Xiong teaches the paging occasion (The paging occasion may simply occur after the TRS occasion, Para. 113, FIG. 13. A TRS occasion precedes a paging occasion, Para. 114).
Although Xiong teaches a time distance at which a TRS availability time window starts and teaches a paging occasion, Xiong fails to teach a time distance at which a RS availability time window starts before a paging occasion, and although Xiong teaches monitoring for the TRS in the TRS availability time window offset by the time distance and teaches the paging occasion, Xiong fails to teach the RS availability time window offset by the time distance from the paging occasion.
Chen teaches determining, based on the RS configuration (At S2610, paging related configurations are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110. For example, timing/frequency tracking RSs related configurations can be transmitted, Para. 147, FIG. 26. FIG. 9 shows an example paging configuration 900, Para. 61, FIG. 9), a time distance (an interval 980 after the timing/frequency tracking and before the paging detection operation, Para. 73, FIG. 9) at which a RS availability time window starts (The SS block burst set 912 includes SS blocks 913-918, Para. 61, FIG. 9. The PO 923 is QCLed with the SS block 913, Para. 62, FIG. 9. The UE 110 may receive the SS blocks 913-918 of the SS block burst set 912, and measure a quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) for each SS block 913-918, Para. 65, FIG. 9. At S2612, timing/frequency tracking reference signals are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2614, the UE 110 determines an RS source for timing/frequency tracking, Para. 150, FIG. 26) before a paging occasion (a sequence of POs 923-928 forming a PO burst set 922, Para. 62, FIG. 9. At S2612, POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS, Para. 154, FIG. 26).
Chen teaches monitoring for the RS (reference signal received power (RSRP), Para. 65, FIG. 9) in the RS availability time window (The UE 110 may receive the SS blocks 913-918 of the SS block burst set 912, and measure a quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) for each SS block 913-918, Para. 65, FIG. 9) offset by the time distance (an interval 980 after the timing/frequency tracking and before the paging detection operation, Para. 73, FIG. 9) from the paging occasion (a sequence of POs 923-928 forming a PO burst set 922, Para. 62, FIG. 9. At S2612, POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS, Para. 154, FIG. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xiong since Chen provides a technique for utilizing an interval between timing/frequency tracking and paging detection operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong to permit configurations to manage transmission timings by indicating time intervals between paging occasions and TRS occasions.
In regard to Claim 16, Xiong teaches An integrated circuit (baseband circuitry 1604, Para. 150, FIG. 16) which, in operation, controls a process of a communication apparatus (FIG. 1 illustrates a schematic high-level example of a wireless network that includes multiple user equipments (UEs), Para. 5, FIG. 1), the process comprising: receiving system information (The TRS occasions are known to the UE either by configuration, e.g., RRC connection setup and SCell addition, Para. 114) indicating a tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches determining the TRS configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114) based on the received system information (The TRS occasions are known to the UE either by configuration, e.g., RRC connection setup and SCell addition, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches determining, based on the TRS configuration (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity and a measurement bandwidth. It can be signaled by a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114, a time distance (NOFFSET,TRS are the slot offset of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14) at which a TRS availability time window starts (a bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114. FIG. 7 illustrates an example diagram 700 of uplink and downlink frames demonstrating operations between a UE and a gNB for a transmission of a TRS, Para. 86, FIG. 7. A TRS can be transmitted in a periodic manner after it has been triggered to start the transmission. More specifically, the slots for the transmission of TRS may be defined as the downlink slots or special slots in TDD system, Para. 119).
Xiong teaches a paging occasion (the PDSCH carrying the paging message in the resources 1307. Note, however, that the paging occasion may simply occur after the TRS occasion, not necessarily in the next slot, Para. 113, FIG. 13. A TRS occasion precedes a paging occasion to allow the UE fine FFT window placement with the higher sampling rate, Para. 114), the time distance defined in units of frames (In slot one of radio frame n+1 the gNB extends the bandwidth during the TRS occasion from the first bandwidth 1301 to a second bandwidth 1303, Para. 113, FIG. 13. Where nf and ns are radio frame number and slot number; NOFFSET,TRS and TRSPERIODICITY are the slot offset and periodicity of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14) and a time length of the TRS availability time window defined in units of paging cycles (The second TRS 146 for the paging message may be received periodically in a fixed specified narrowband bandwidth, Para. 56, FIGS. 1, 13. The device 1600 goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network, Para. 169, FIGS. 13, 16. The second TRS for the paging message is received periodically in a fixed specified narrowband bandwidth, Para. 209, FIG. 13).
Xiong teaches wherein the TRS availability time window differs from a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set (in addition to a TRS, there may be multiple reference signals for various functions, e.g., synchronization signal (SS). The SS may be for synchronization function, the TRS for tracking or QCL functions, Para. 59, FIG. 2), and indicates that TRS is available within the TRS availability time window (A TRS measurement timing configuration (TMTC) contains at least a periodicity. A bitmap which indicates the downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114).
Xiong teaches monitoring for the TRS in the TRS availability time window (downlink slots with a configured TRS occasion, Para. 114. FIG. 7 illustrates an example diagram 700 of uplink and downlink frames demonstrating operations between a UE and a gNB for a transmission of a TRS, Para. 86, FIG. 7. The slots for the transmission of TRS may be defined as the downlink slots or special slots in TDD system, Para. 119) offset by the time distance (NOFFSET,TRS are the slot offset of the TRS transmission, Para. 119, FIGS. 13, 14).
Xiong teaches the paging occasion (The paging occasion may simply occur after the TRS occasion, Para. 113, FIG. 13. A TRS occasion precedes a paging occasion, Para. 114).
Although Xiong teaches a time distance at which a TRS availability time window starts and teaches a paging occasion, Xiong fails to teach a time distance at which a RS availability time window starts before a paging occasion, and although Xiong teaches monitoring for the TRS in the TRS availability time window offset by the time distance and teaches the paging occasion, Xiong fails to teach the RS availability time window offset by the time distance from the paging occasion.
Chen teaches determining, based on the RS configuration (At S2610, paging related configurations are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110. For example, timing/frequency tracking RSs related configurations can be transmitted, Para. 147, FIG. 26. FIG. 9 shows an example paging configuration 900, Para. 61, FIG. 9), a time distance (an interval 980 after the timing/frequency tracking and before the paging detection operation, Para. 73, FIG. 9) at which a RS availability time window starts (The SS block burst set 912 includes SS blocks 913-918, Para. 61, FIG. 9. The PO 923 is QCLed with the SS block 913, Para. 62, FIG. 9. The UE 110 may receive the SS blocks 913-918 of the SS block burst set 912, and measure a quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) for each SS block 913-918, Para. 65, FIG. 9. At S2612, timing/frequency tracking reference signals are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2614, the UE 110 determines an RS source for timing/frequency tracking, Para. 150, FIG. 26) before a paging occasion (a sequence of POs 923-928 forming a PO burst set 922, Para. 62, FIG. 9. At S2612, POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS, Para. 154, FIG. 26).
Chen teaches monitoring for the RS (reference signal received power (RSRP), Para. 65, FIG. 9) in the RS availability time window (The UE 110 may receive the SS blocks 913-918 of the SS block burst set 912, and measure a quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) for each SS block 913-918, Para. 65, FIG. 9) offset by the time distance (an interval 980 after the timing/frequency tracking and before the paging detection operation, Para. 73, FIG. 9) from the paging occasion (a sequence of POs 923-928 forming a PO burst set 922, Para. 62, FIG. 9. At S2612, POs are transmitted from the BS 120 to the UE 110, Para. 149, FIG. 26. At S2620, the UE 110 performs a paging detection based on a PO associated with the selected timing/frequency tracking RS, Para. 154, FIG. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xiong since Chen provides a technique for utilizing an interval between timing/frequency tracking and paging detection operations, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong to permit configurations to manage transmission timings by indicating time intervals between paging occasions and TRS occasions.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong in view of Chen, and further in view of Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190058517 A1), hereafter referred to as Kang.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong in view of Chen teaches the TRS configuration.
Xiong in view of Chen fails to teach the circuitry, in operation, determines, based on the TRS configuration, a TRS density at which TRS is transmitted in a cell, and determines, based on the TRS density and a capability of the communication apparatus, whether or not to perform at least one of camping to the cell, monitoring paging, or accessing the cell.
Kang teaches the circuitry, in operation, determines, based on the TRS configuration, a TRS density at which TRS is transmitted in a cell, and determines, based on the TRS density and a capability of the communication apparatus, whether or not to perform at least one of camping to the cell, monitoring paging, or accessing the cell (In the latter case (UE capability), if BW, time/frequency density, periodicity, etc. of a (default) TRS preset by the base station are not enough for the UE or if there is no preset TRS, the UE may transmit a UL signal to the base station so as to request TRS configuration (transmission) and/or request density, periodicity, BW adjustment, Para. 664).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Xiong in view of Chen since Kang provides a technique for a UE to determine interactions with a base station based on reference signal configuration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong in view of Chen to permit a UE to determine whether to request RSs related configurations based on network conditions.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong in view of Chen teaches the transceiver.
Xiong in view of Chen fails to teach the transceiver, in operation, transmits a report on at least one of a capability of the communication apparatus and a required or suggested TRS density.
Kang teaches the transceiver, in operation, transmits a report on at least one of a capability of the communication apparatus and a required or suggested TRS density (helpful information may be information which is reported (or transmitted), just like UE capability signaling, by UE upon accessing a network, or may be on-demand information which is requested after RRC connection establishment, Para. 663. AS an example of the helpful information, time/frequency TRS density (or pattern) information may be considered, Para. 655).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Xiong in view of Chen since Kang provides a technique for a UE to report information that includes TRS density information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong in view of Chen to permit a UE to report sufficient information concerning reference signals to a base station for appropriately configuring communications.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Xiong in view of Chen teaches the communication apparatus.
Xiong in view of Chen fails to teach the required or suggested RS density is determined based on at least one of a type of the communication apparatus, a capability of the communication apparatus, a mobility status of the communication apparatus, and a traffic situation.
Kang teaches the required or suggested RS density is determined based on at least one of a type of the communication apparatus, a capability of the communication apparatus, a mobility status of the communication apparatus, and a traffic situation (In the latter case (UE capability), if BW, time/frequency density, periodicity, etc. of a (default) TRS preset by the base station are not enough for the UE or if there is no preset TRS, the UE may transmit a UL signal to the base station so as to request TRS configuration (transmission) and/or request density, periodicity, BW adjustment, Para. 664).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Xiong in view of Chen since Kang provides a technique for a UE to determine interactions with a base station based on reference signal configuration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Xiong in view of Chen to permit a UE to determine whether to request RSs related configurations based on network conditions.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Pages 7-8 of the Remarks present the argument that The "ten subframes before and four subframes after NPDCCH candidates" as described in Charbit does not teach or suggest "a time distance at which a TRS availability time window starts before a paging occasion, the time distance defined in units of frames" as claimed, nor does it correspond to "a time length of the TRS availability time window defined in units of paging cycles, wherein the TRS availability time window differs from a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set, and indicates that TRS is available within the TRS availability time window" as claimed. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendment of Claims 1, 14 and 16, which are not taught by Chen, are taught by Xiong et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200146107 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHANG et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200205116 A1) teaches a time length of the TRS availability time window defined in units of paging cycles (a UE may suggest whether TRS should be transmitted during paging cycle or DRX, Para. 69. The UL transmission may carry an indicator of suggested reconfigured TRS periodicity, an indicator of TRS transmission during paging cycle, and/or an indicator of TRS transmission during DRX, Para. 100).
Baik (Pub. No.: US 20060234748 A1) teaches a time length of the TRS availability time window defined in units of paging cycles (FIG. 8 illustrates the paging period for a plurality of TRS channels, Para. 37, FIG. 8).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
3-7-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477