DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US-20180287116-A1; cited in Office Action mailed 12/20/2024) in view of Lee et al. (KR-102149439-B1; see English translation provided 12/20/2024 for citations) and in view of Omura et al. (US-20170194676-A1; cited in IDS filed 10/05/2022) and in further view of Yun et al. (WO-2019177275-A1; see English equivalent US-20200411924-A1 for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Seo discloses a battery module (Fig. 3) comprising:
a battery cell stack (cell assembly 100, Fig. 3) including two or more battery cells [0011, 0023-0024];
a housing (end plate member 110, Fig. 3; [0025]) accommodating the battery cell stack (see Fig. 3).
Seo discloses that the battery module is designed to allow appropriate swelling of the battery cells due to cell overcharge and the like, while maintaining cell lifetime [0006, 0011]. Seo does not disclose an extinguishing sheet.
Lee teaches a battery pack including a fire extinguishing film which can actively extinguish abnormal heat generation or fire in the early stages [0001]. Lee teaches that the fire extinguishing film can be formed within the battery case [0016] between the case and the plurality of secondary batteries [0034]. In one embodiment (Fig. 3), Lee teaches that the fire extinguishing film can be provided as a sheet across multiple batteries [0097]. Advantageously, Lee teaches that during abnormal heating, the fire extinguishing film can immediately respond to lower heat within the battery, thereby resulting in a stable battery pack [0038, 0040, 0067].
Both Seo and Lee are directed towards battery modules which are designed to maintain stable battery characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a fire extinguishing sheet (reads on extinguishing sheet) as taught by Lee between the upper plate and battery cells of Seo with a reasonable expectation that the addition of a fire extinguishing sheet would result in a successful battery module capable of responding immediately to lower heat within the battery module, thereby resulting in a stable battery pack.
Seo further discloses that at least one surface of the housing (upper plate 112, Fig. 3) comprises a pattern structure, wherein the pattern structure comprises a plurality of holes (through-holes 113, Fig. 3; [0031]) in a repetitive shape (see annotation of Seo Fig. 3, below).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3.
As discussed above, modified Seo renders obvious a fire extinguishing film provided as a sheet across multiple batteries [Lee: 0097] within a battery case [Lee: 0016], and between the upper plate and the plurality of batteries [Lee: 0034]. Therefore, modified Seo renders obvious “wherein the extinguishing sheet is between the pattern structure of the housing and the battery cell stack”.
Examiner notes that Seo strongly indicates that the battery cells are oriented such that the electrode terminals are disposed at the lengthwise ends (see annotation of Seo Fig. 3, below; [0024]).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3.
Assuming, arguendo, that Seo does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the electrode terminals are disposed at the lengthwise ends of the battery module, such a configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since such a configuration would result in electrode terminals positioned so as to form a positive end and a negative end of the battery module, and since such a configuration is consistent with Seo Fig. 3, which does not indicate the presence of battery cell terminals in the portions of the battery cell stack which are exposed via the through holes (113, Fig. 3).
Therefore, as detailed above, Seo discloses or renders obvious a different orientation of the battery cells within the battery module than the orientation taught by the prior art Lee. Accordingly, although modified Seo does not explicitly teach that the extinguishing sheet “covers the plurality of holes comprised in the pattern structure”, such a configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the teachings of Lee. Specifically, although Lee teaches that the fire extinguishing sheet comprises small openings, the small openings are used to accommodate the positive electrode terminals of the battery cells (see Lee Fig. 3) such that they can be connected to a conductive member [Lee: 0045, 0093, 0096, 0115]. In other words, such a configuration is only necessary when the fire extinguishing sheet is provided between the positive electrode terminals and a respective conductive member.
Therefore, when applying the teachings of Lee to Seo, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have provided the fire extinguishing sheet as a continuous sheet without any openings, since Seo does not teach that electrode terminals are disposed below the upper plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that providing the fire extinguishing sheet as a continuous sheet between the pattern structure of the battery housing and the battery cells such that the extinguishing sheet covers the plurality of holes would result in a successful battery module.
Modified Seo discloses that the pattern structure comprises a plurality of holes in a repetitive shape, as laid out above. Seo discloses that the battery module is designed to allow for an appropriate amount of cell swelling due to cell overcharge while ensuring rigidity [0016]. Seo further discloses that the upper plate (which is a portion of the end plate member 110; [0025]) serves to provide mechanical rigidity to protect the cell assembly [0025]. Modified Seo does not teach that the repetitive shape of the plurality of holes consists of a first repetitive shape and a second repetitive shape, wherein the first repetitive shape and the second repetitive shape are alternately disposed, and wherein plurality of holes are triangular holes.
Omura teaches a battery module including a plurality of battery cells [0033]. The battery module is designed such that swelling of the battery cells does not deform, break, or damage a constraining member [0010, 0043]. Omura teaches that the constraining members can be formed such that a plurality of triangular holes are formed (Fig. 6; [0051-0052]). Advantageously, Omura teaches that, by forming the openings as triangular holes, the deformation force is shared among the reinforcing portions (34, Fig. 6) such that adequate strength against the distortion deformation of the main body portion is achieved (Figs. 10-11; [0056]).
Both Omura and Seo are directed towards battery modules which limit deformation of the housing when the batteries swell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the plurality of holes (through-openings 113) disclosed by Seo to have the shape taught by Omura with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery module with adequate strength capable of limiting deformation of the housing when the battery cells swell.
Modified Seo therefore further renders obvious (see annotation of Omura Fig. 6, below) that
at least one surface of the housing comprises a pattern structure (a portion of the openings are interpreted as reading on the “pattern structure”; see annotation of Omura Fig. 6, below),
the pattern structure comprises a plurality of holes in a repetitive shape,
wherein the repetitive shape of the plurality of holes consists of a first repetitive shape and a second repetitive shape, and the first repetitive shape and the second repetitive shape are alternately disposed,
wherein the plurality of holes are triangular holes,
wherein the pattern structure is a truss structure having a shape of a framework including straight portions defining the triangular holes.
Annotation of Omura Fig. 6.
Seo discloses that the battery cells of the battery cell stack (cell assembly 100) are preferably pouch-shaped secondary batteries [0024]. Additionally, as laid out above, Seo discloses or renders obvious that the battery cells are oriented such that the electrode terminals are disposed at the lengthwise ends of the cell assembly (see above; [Seo: 0024]). Seo discloses that the battery cell stack (cell assembly 100) is accommodated within a housing (end plate member 110) which serves to provide mechanical rigidity and protect the battery cell stack from external impact or the like [0023-0025]. Seo also discloses that an object of the invention is to prevent a reduction in cell lifetime [0006, 0016, 0033]. Seo does not disclose how the battery cells are electrically connected, and therefore does not teach a bus bar frame.
Yun teaches a similar battery module configuration including a housing (module case 300, Fig. 1) which helps to protect a battery cell assembly (100, Fig. 1) from external vibration [0044, 0052-0054, 0060]. The battery cells are preferably pouch-type secondary batteries each having the positive electrode lead and the negative electrode lead protruding in two directions [0050].
Yun teaches that the battery module includes a sensing assembly (200, Fig. 1) which is electrically connected to the battery cells, senses the voltage or temperature of the battery cells, and transmits the information to another device, such as a Battery Management System (BMS), which is configured to control the operation of the battery module [0046-0047]. The sensing assembly includes a first busbar frame assembly (210), a second busbar frame assembly (220) and a sensing wire (230) which connects the opposing busbar frame assemblies [0048-0050, 0058, 0067-0071, 0079]. Yun teaches that a voltage sensing line is known in the conventional art [0008]. Additionally, Yun teaches that the battery cell assembly may be supported by portions of the sensing assembly (i.e. busbar frame assemblies 210, 220) [0051], and that portions of the sensing assembly (i.e. frames 214, 224) contribute to impact resistance [0068-0069].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included a sensing assembly (corresponds to busbar frame) in the battery module of modified Seo with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery module capable of supporting the battery cells and further protecting the battery cells against impact. Additionally, by transmitting sensitivity information (e.g. temperature, voltage), the safety of the battery module can be increased through early detection of abnormal operating conditions.
The busbar frame rendered obvious by modified Seo includes:
an upper frame (corresponds to sensing wire 230) on an upper portion of the battery cell stack (see Yun: Fig. 1; [Yun: 0048, 0071]),
a front frame (corresponds to first busbar frame assembly 210) on a front surface of the battery cell stack (see Yun: Fig. 1; [Yun: 0068]), and
a rear frame (corresponds to second busbar frame assembly 220) on a rear surface of the battery cell stack (see Yun: Fig. 1; [Yun: 0069]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Seo further discloses that the housing comprises a metal [0025].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Seo further discloses:
a pair of end plates disposed at each respective end in a longitudinal direction of the battery cell stack (see annotation of Seo Fig. 3, below; MPEP 2125, I),
wherein the housing (interpreted as the walls surrounding the cell stack excluding the end plates) is formed on surfaces of the battery cell stack that are not covered by the end plates (MPEP 2125, I).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3.
Seo does not teach that the pattern structure is formed on a bottom surface (MPEP 2125, I) of the battery cell stack. Therefore, the limitation, “wherein the pattern structure of the housing is not present in a portion of the housing corresponding to a bottom surface of the battery cell stack” is met.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the pattern structure is on a surface of the housing corresponding to an upper surface of the battery cell stack (upper plate 112, see rejection of Claim 1, above).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the pattern structure is disposed on a portion of the surface of the housing corresponding to the upper surface of the battery cell stack (see annotation of Omura Fig. 6 below for depiction of the pattern structure on a portion of the battery housing).
Annotation of Omura Fig. 6.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Seo also teaches that the extinguishing sheet can include, from a list of materials, copper sulfate or aluminum sulfate [Lee: 0016, 0075]. Therefore, although not disclosed in a specification embodiment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the extinguishing sheet to include copper and/or aluminum sulfate (i.e. inorganic sulfates) with a reasonable expectation that such a selection would result in a successful extinguishing sheet.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Seo further renders obvious that the first repetitive shape and the second repetitive shape are different from each other (see annotation of Omura Fig. 6, below).
Annotation of Omura Fig. 6.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US-20180287116-A1; cited in Office Action mailed 12/20/2024) in view of Lee et al. (KR-102149439-B1; see English translation provided 12/20/2024 for citations) and in view of Omura et al. (US-20170194676-A1; cited in IDS filed 10/05/2022) and in further view of Yun et al. (WO-2019177275-A1; see English equivalent US-20200411924-A1 for citations) as applied to Claim 5, above, and in view of Takata et al. (WO-2021024775-A1; see US equivalent US-20220278411-A1 for citations).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the pattern structure is disposed on a surface of the housing corresponding to an upper surface of the battery stack (see rejection of Claim 5, above). Seo discloses that the battery module is designed to allow for a certain degree of lateral displacement due to battery cell expansion due to cell overcharge while ensuring rigidity [0006, 0016]. Seo further discloses that the upper plate (which is a portion of the end plate member 110; [0025]) serves to provide mechanical rigidity to protect the cell assembly [0025].
As laid out in the rejection of Claim 1 (see above), modified Seo teaches openings extend across the housing. A portion of the openings read on the “pattern structure”. Modified Seo does not teach that the pattern structure is on an entirety of the surface of the housing corresponding to the upper surface of the battery module.
Takata teaches a power supply device comprising a battery stack and a pair of endplates [0007]. Takata teaches that the power supply device further comprises binding bars which can include a truss member [0069]. The truss member increases the bending strength of the binding bars, which improves the strength of the battery cells against bending motion [0069].
Takata teaches that a Warren truss structure (see Takata Fig. 11, below) is the functional equivalent of a Pratt truss structure (see Takata Fig. 12, below) [0070, 0077]. Specifically, Takata teaches that both truss structures can be used to suitably suppress displacement of a battery cells and improve strength of the battery cells against bending motion [0069-0070].
Left: Takata Fig. 11 depicting Warren truss structure Right: Takata Fig. 12 depicting Pratt truss structure
Omura Fig. 6 depicts a Pratt truss structure
Modified Seo renders obvious a Pratt truss structure (see Omura Fig. 6, above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted to Pratt truss structure of modified Seo for a Warren truss structure as taught by Takata with a reasonable expectation that such a substitution of shapes would result in a successful battery housing capable of ensuring a certain degree of lateral displacement of a battery cell while ensuring rigidity (MPEP 2144.06, II). Furthermore, absent showings of criticality, changes in shape normally require only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B).
By substituting the Pratt truss structure taught by modified Seo for a Warren truss structure as taught by Tanaka, modified Seo thereby renders obvious that the pattern structure is on an entirety of the surface of the housing corresponding to the upper surface of the battery cell stack (see annotation of Tanaka Fig. 11, below). As seen in the annotation of Tanaka Fig. 11 (below), the pattern structure comprises a plurality of holes in a repetitive shape, wherein the repetitive shape consists of a first repetitive shape and a second repetitive shape which are alternately disposed, and wherein the plurality of hole are triangular holes, and wherein the pattern structure is a truss structure having a shape of a framework including straight portions defining the triangular holes.
Annotation of Tanaka Fig. 11.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US-20180287116-A1; cited in Office Action mailed 12/20/2024) in view of Lee et al. (KR-102149439-B1; see English translation provided 12/20/2024 for citations) and in view of Omura et al. (US-20170194676-A1; cited in IDS filed 10/05/2022) and in further view of Yun et al. (WO-2019177275-A1; see English equivalent US-20200411924-A1 for citations) as applied to Claim 1, above, and in further view of Wu et al. (US-20150064514-A1; cited in Office Action mailed 06/06/2023).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Seo discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells [0003]. Seo discloses that the battery module may have a long lifetime [0033]. Seo also discloses that related prior art teaches a battery pack [0007]. Seo does not explicitly teach that the battery module is used in a battery pack.
Wu teaches an electric energy storage device comprising a plurality of battery cells which can be used to power a portable device such as an electric vehicle [Abstract, 0075]. The electric energy storage device of Wu corresponds to the battery module of modified Seo. Wu teaches that the battery module (electric energy storage device) can be combined with other battery modules (i.e. 200, 226; Fig. 8). The combination of multiple battery modules corresponds to a battery pack. Wu further teaches that when multiple battery modules are combined together, they can be surrounded by a shell (282, Fig. 8). The shell corresponds to a case.
Therefore, in seeking to power a portable device such as an electric vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine multiple battery modules of Seo together to form a battery pack as taught by Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that combining multiple battery modules of Claim 1 together to form a battery pack, and surrounding the battery pack with a case, would result in the successful battery pack with a long lifetime and capable of powering of a portable electronic device, such as an electric vehicle.
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 9-11 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US-20170194676-A1; cited in IDS filed 10/05/2022) in view of Lee et al. (KR-102149439-B1; see English translation provided 12/20/2024 for citations) and in further view of Page et al. (US-20200152942-A1; cited 12/15/2023).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Omura discloses a battery module (100) comprising:
a battery cell stack (battery stacked body 10, Fig. 2) including two or more battery cells (11, Fig. 2) [0033, 0035];
a housing (corresponds to constraining members 30) accommodating the battery cell stack [0033, 0038-0039, 0061].
Omura discloses that the battery module is designed to suppress the swell of battery cells which can occur due to charge or degradation [0041]. Omura does not disclose an extinguishing sheet.
Lee teaches a battery pack including a fire extinguishing film which can actively extinguish abnormal heat generation or fire in the early stages [0001]. Lee teaches that the fire extinguishing film can be formed within the battery case [0016] between the case and the plurality of secondary batteries [0034]. In one embodiment (Fig. 3), Lee teaches that the fire extinguishing film can be provided as a sheet across multiple batteries [0097]. Advantageously, Lee teaches that during abnormal heating, the fire extinguishing film can immediately respond to lower heat within the battery, thereby resulting in a stable battery pack [0038, 0040, 0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a fire extinguishing sheet (reads on extinguishing sheet) as taught by Lee in the battery module of Omura with a reasonable expectation that such the addition of a fire extinguishing sheet would result in a successful battery module capable of responding immediately to lower heat within the battery module, thereby decreasing cell degradation.
Omura further discloses that “at least one surface of the housing comprises a pattern structure, wherein the pattern structure comprises a plurality of holes in a repetitive shape” (see annotation of Omura Fig. 1, below) [0043].
Omura discloses that the battery module can be applied to an electric or hybrid vehicle [0002, 0032]. Although modified Omura does not specifically teach that the extinguishing sheet is between the pattern structure of the housing and the battery cell stack and covers the plurality of holes comprised in the pattern structure, Page teaches that directing vented gases through openings in a battery housing can help to prevent or reduce the chances of fire during a thermal runaway [0145]. Specifically, Page teaches a battery module including a housing (1200) wherein a flame retardant material is accommodated between the battery cells and through-holes (1222) formed in the housing [0122-0124, 0129]. By directing vented gases through the flame retardant material and out the through-holes, the chances of fire during thermal runaway can be prevented or reduced [0138-0141, 0145, 0147, 0153]. Page teaches that lithium ion batteries are particularly vulnerable to thermal runaway, and are widely used in hybrid/electric automobiles, [0003-0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have positioned the extinguishing sheet rendered obvious by modified Omura between the pattern structure of the housing and the battery cell stack such that the plurality of holes comprised in the pattern structure are covered, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery module capable of preventing or reducing the chance of fire during thermal runaway.
Omura discloses (see annotation of Omura Fig. 6, below) that [0043, 0045, 0051-0053]:
the repetitive shape of the plurality of holes consists of a first repetitive shape and a second repetitive shape, and the first repetitive shape and the second repetitive shape are alternately disposed,
wherein the plurality of holes are triangular holes,
wherein the pattern structure is a truss structure having a shape of a framework including straight portions defining the triangular holes.
Annotation of Omura Fig. 6.
The first repetitive shape and the second repetitive shape are different from each other, as required by Claim 11.
Omura further discloses a busbar frame including an upper frame (bus-bars 12) on an upper portion of the battery cell stack (see Fig. 2), a front frame (end plate 20) on a front surface of the battery cell stack (see Fig. 2), and a rear frame (end plate 20) on a rear surface of the battery cell stack (see Fig. 2) [0033, 0035, 0038].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Omura renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Omura discloses that the battery module can include a cooling device including a cooling jacket disposed between the battery stacked body and a frame [0063]. The cooling jacket can be considered a portion of the housing, since it helps to support and house the bottom of the battery cells (see Figs. 15-16) [0063-0064]. Omura discloses that the cooling jacket is made of metal [0063]. Thus, the battery housing comprises a metal.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Omura renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Although modified Omura does not specifically teach that the extinguishing sheet includes one or more of the claimed extinguishing agents, Lee teaches that the extinguishing sheet can include, from a list of materials, copper sulfate or aluminum sulfate [0016, 0075]. Therefore, although not disclosed in a specification embodiment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the extinguishing sheet to include copper and/or aluminum sulfate (i.e. inorganic sulfates) with a reasonable expectation that such a selection would result in a successful extinguishing sheet.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Omura renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Omura discloses a power source device (corresponds to a battery pack) which includes “at least one” battery module [0032]. The battery pack (power source device) is fixed to a vehicle using a frame, “such as an outer case” [0032]. The frame corresponds to the recited limitation of a “case configured to accommodate the at least one battery module”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been carefully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejections of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Applicant has noted that the prior art of record does not teach the newly added limitation regarding the busbar frame (Remarks, Pg. 6). In response, the Examiner notes that the previous art of record is not relied upon to teach a busbar frame. Instead, newly cited Yun is relied upon for this limitation.
To expedite compact prosecution, Claims 1, 3 and 9-11 are further rejected over Omura (see 103 rejections, above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 2/25/2026