DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, and 6-7 are pending. Claims 2 and 4-5 are cancelled and claims 6-7 are new.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to German Patent Application No. 10220109528.7, filed on 4/6/2020.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/16/25, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (pages 5-6) are persuasive and this rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the alleged deficiencies in the prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over the combination of Rose, Subbiah and Liu and the combination of Rose and Cheng (pages 6-10) are moot in view of the newly cited reference, Mazzer. Neither Subbiah nor Cheng is currently cited. It is also noted that the advantages cited by Applicant (pages 9-10) are not actually claimed. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
‘each sensor device transmit the current setting value’ should read ‘each sensor device transmitting the current setting value’ (claim 3).
‘each sensor device transmit the current setting value’ should read ‘each sensor device transmitting the current setting value’ (claim 6).
There are two periods after claim 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation ' a coffee machine having a plurality of grinders configured for grinding coffee beans, each grinder comprising:… a control unit configured to adjust the grind size adjustment device’. Figure 8 of the instant specification shows coffee machine K2 with grinders 2-1, 2-2 and 2-3 but coffee machines K2 and K3 only have a single control unit 8 for the plurality of grinders, not a control unit for each grinder. This constitutes limitation therefore constitutes new matter because it is not described in the application as originally filed.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, this claim recites the limitation ‘locally separate’ and it is unclear what the metes and bounds are of ‘locally’ separate; see MPEP 2173.05.
With regard to claim 3, this claim recites ‘the units’ for which there is no antecedent basis.
With regard to claim 6, this claim recites ‘a coffee machine… comprising: a grind size adjustment device… a sensor device…, and a control unit…, and a remote control unit’ and is unclear because the claim may potentially be interpreted to include the remote control unit in the coffee machine.
The respective dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend and none of the dependent claims provide a cure for the indefiniteness of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180055288 (hereinafter Rose) in view of Mazzer European Patent Application No. 3542682, published 9/25/2019 (hereinafter Mazzer) and previously provided by Applicant and further in view of the English translation of Liu Taiwanese Patent Publication No. 201633976, published 10/1/2016 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Rose teaches a method for adjusting the grind size of a grinder for grinding coffee beans [0006 — the sensing apparatus can include one or more sensors configured to detect one or more compounds released by the beans to evaluate, for example, flavor characteristics, aromatic characteristics, bean freshness, roast characteristics, and/or other coffee bean/ground information. For example, a sensor can detect (VOCs) released by the coffee beans, grounds, foodstuff, or other items. A processor can analyze signals from the sensor to monitor changes in the beans to determine grind settings for producing grounds; 0012 — a computer implemented method… a computing device can automatically provide information to a user by transmitting the information via a network. The computing device can be part of a coffee grinder capable of sending information to the user's computer, smart phone, tablet, wearable device (e.g., smart watch) or another computing device. In some embodiments, the computing device can include a computer, controller, or another device capable of receiving and analyzing signals from sensors; 0042-0043 — The cones can have features that cooperate to smash, crush, and/or grind coffee beans… fineness adjustment wheel 102 can be rotated to select a course grind, a medium grind, or a fine grind… In automated embodiments, the grinder 100 may include a device that moves the adjustment wheel 102. The device can include, without limitation, a motor, a servo, an actuator, or another device suitable for controllably moving the adjustment wheel 102],
wherein a grind size adjustment of the grinder is carried out by means of a remote control unit arranged locally separate from the at least one grinder via a transmission link, the grind size adjustment of the grinder is performed by means of a telemetric remote access by the remote control unit [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting; 0154 — Remote viewing devices (e.g., device 521 in FIG. 8) can communicate directly with the grinder 80 via Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, ZigBee, Bluetooth, peer-to-peer protocols, or other methods or technology. A network connection such as provided by an Ethernet local area network (LAN) interface, or, a wireless network interface via a WiFi LAN access point provided, for example],
wherein the grinder has a grind size adjustment device, control unit and a sensor device [0037-0038 — The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings; 0043-0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ and microprocessors (controllers) are shown in the figure; 0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders... This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting] and wherein the method comprises:
determining with the sensor device of the grinder a current setting value of the grind size adjustment device [0044, Fig. 8 — grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like… detector 206 can then communicate the setting to a controller,],
transmitting the current setting value from the sensor device to the control unit of the grinder [0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ connected to microprocessors (controllers) is shown in the figure],
transmitting the current setting value from the control unit of the grinder to the remote control unit [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting], and
sending data for setting the grind size adjustment device via the transmission link from the remote control unit to the control unit of the grinder [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting] and
adjusting the grind size of the grinder with the control unit based on the data sent by the remote control unit, to achieve a grind size in the grinder [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders... This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting].
Rose fails to clearly specify that the determining/transmitting the grind setting and sending data for setting the grind size adjustment steps are performed in the claimed order. However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform the steps in the claimed order because ‘any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results’ and no unexpected result would occur by changing the order of determining a setting and setting a setting; see MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Rose further fails to clearly specify a plurality of grinders and performing a method for adjusting a grind size to achieve a uniform grind size in each grinder.
However, Mazzer teaches a plurality of grinders and performing a method for adjusting a grind size in each grinder [0040-0041, Figs. 1-2 — According to a possible embodiment (figure 2), the delivery system 4 comprises a plurality of dispensing units 12, each monitoring its own infusion parameter. In addition, each dispensing unit 12 will be operatively connected to at least one grinding device 20 so as to adjust the corresponding grinding unit 24 in order to obtain a certain degree of fineness of the ground powder for the same weight of ground powder. Therefore, the present invention also applies to systems comprising a plurality of supply units 12 and a plurality of grinding devices 20, which may dialogue with each other through one or more control units 36, so as to manage, even simultaneously, the adjustment of the degree of fineness of the ground powder by any grinding unit 24, as requested at the moment by any dispensing unit 12 — a plurality of grinding devices 20 is shown, one of which comprises a plurality of grinding units 24].
Rose and Mazzer are analogous art. They relate to coffee grinding devices.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known plurality of connected grinders, as taught by Mazzer, for the known single grinder, as taught by Rose, for the predictable result of a method for adjusting a grind size of each of a plurality of grinders.
The combination of Rose and Mazzer fails to clearly specify adjusting a grind size to achieve a uniform grind size in each grinder.
However, Liu teaches adjusting a setting to achieve a uniform setting in each grinder location [page 4, 5th paragraph — the central processor 25 sets the beverage according to the setting. Operating the program information, the brewing device 34 is controlled to perform a beverage brewing procedure. It is not only easy to input, but also has the same setting of beverage brewing procedures in each chain store, franchise store or branch store, which can avoid the wrong setting that may occur in each operation, and the beverages of each store can obtain consistent quality.; page 4, 7th paragraph — the order is for coffee; page 5, 5th paragraph — the customer selects the coffee beverage… the coffee bean is ground into a powder,.. The operator activates the grinder 60 to complete the grinding process via an operating device 63 according to the beverage order information displayed by the display device 62 of the grinder 60].
Rose, Mazzer and Liu are analogous art. They relate to coffee grinding devices.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust a grind size to achieve a uniform grind size in each grinder in order to avoid an incorrect grinder setting and provide consistent quality, as suggested by Liu [page 4, 5th paragraph].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Rose, Mazzer and Liu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Mazzer teaches the grinders are disposed in one or more coffee machines, and wherein at least one of the one or more coffee machines has multiple grinders [0040-0041, Figs. 1-2 — According to a possible embodiment (figure 2), the delivery system 4 comprises a plurality of dispensing units 12, each monitoring its own infusion parameter. In addition, each dispensing unit 12 will be operatively connected to at least one grinding device 20 so as to adjust the corresponding grinding unit 24 in order to obtain a certain degree of fineness of the ground powder for the same weight of ground powder. Therefore, the present invention also applies to systems comprising a plurality of supply units 12 and a plurality of grinding devices 20, which may dialogue with each other through one or more control units 36, so as to manage, even simultaneously, the adjustment of the degree of fineness of the ground powder by any grinding unit 24, as requested at the moment by any dispensing unit 12 — a plurality of grinding devices 20 is shown, one of which comprises multiple grinding units 24].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known coffee machine with multiple grinders, as taught by Mazzer, for the known single grinder, as taught by Rose, for the predictable result of a method for adjusting a grind size of each of a coffee machine with multiple grinders.
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose in view of Mazzer.
Regarding claim 3, Rose teaches a grind size adjustment assembly comprising:
a coffee machine, the coffee machine having a grinder configured for grinding coffee beans [0042-0047, Figs. 1-3 — FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional view of the grinder 100… The cones can have features that cooperate to smash, crush, and/or grind coffee beans… fineness adjustment wheel 102 can be rotated to select a course grind, a medium grind, or a fine grind… grinding element 201], the grinder comprising:
a grind size adjustment device configured to adjust a grind size of the grinder [0037-0038 — The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings; 0043 — fineness adjustment wheel 102 can be rotated to select a course grind, a medium grind, or a fine grind… In automated embodiments, the grinder 100 may include a device that moves the adjustment wheel 102. The device can include, without limitation, a motor, a servo, an actuator, or another device suitable for controllably moving the adjustment wheel 102],
a sensor device configured to determine a current setting value of the grind size adjustment device [0037-0038 — The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings; 0043-0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ and microprocessors (controllers) are shown in the figure; 0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders... This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting], and
a control unit configured to adjust the grind size adjustment device [0037-0038 — The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings; 0043-0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ and microprocessors (controllers) are shown in the figure; 0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders... This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting], and
a remote control unit which is in communication connection via a transmission link with a control unit of the grinder [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting; 0154 — Remote viewing devices (e.g., device 521 in FIG. 8) can communicate directly with the grinder 80 via Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, ZigBee, Bluetooth, peer-to-peer protocols, or other methods or technology. A network connection such as provided by an Ethernet local area network (LAN) interface, or, a wireless network interface via a WiFi LAN access point provided, for example]
wherein the sensor device is configured to transmit the current setting value to the control unit of the grinder, which in turn is designed to transmit the current setting value also to the remote control unit [0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ and microprocessors (controllers) are shown in the figure; 0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting], and
wherein the remote control unit is designed to transmit data for setting the grind size adjustment device of the coffee machine via the transmission link to the control unit of the grinder [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting].
But Rose fails to clearly specify a plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder and operating similarly to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders.
However, Mazzer teaches a plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder and operating similarly to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders [0040-0041, Figs. 1-2 — According to a possible embodiment (figure 2), the delivery system 4 comprises a plurality of dispensing units 12, each monitoring its own infusion parameter. In addition, each dispensing unit 12 will be operatively connected to at least one grinding device 20 so as to adjust the corresponding grinding unit 24 in order to obtain a certain degree of fineness of the ground powder for the same weight of ground powder. Therefore, the present invention also applies to systems comprising a plurality of supply units 12 and a plurality of grinding devices 20, which may dialogue with each other through one or more control units 36, so as to manage, even simultaneously, the adjustment of the degree of fineness of the ground powder by any grinding unit 24, as requested at the moment by any dispensing unit 12 — a plurality of grinding devices 20 is shown, one of which comprises a plurality of grinding units 24].
Rose and Mazzer are analogous art. They relate to coffee grinding devices.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder and configured to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders, as taught by Mazzer, for the known single grinder, as taught by Rose, for the predictable result of grind size adjustment assembly comprising; a plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder that is configured to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders.
Regarding claim 6, Rose teaches a grind size adjustment assembly comprising:
a coffee machine having a grinder configured for grinding coffee beans, the grinder comprising:
a grind size adjustment device configured to adjust a grind size of the grinder [0037-0038 — The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings; 0043 — fineness adjustment wheel 102 can be rotated to select a course grind, a medium grind, or a fine grind… In automated embodiments, the grinder 100 may include a device that moves the adjustment wheel 102. The device can include, without limitation, a motor, a servo, an actuator, or another device suitable for controllably moving the adjustment wheel 102],
a sensor device configured to determine a current setting value of the grind size adjustment device [0037-0038 — The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings; 0043-0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ and microprocessors (controllers) are shown in the figure; 0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders... This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting], and
a control unit configured to adjust the grind size adjustment device [0037-0038 — The grind adjustment element 102 can be used to adjust grinding settings; 0043-0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ and microprocessors (controllers) are shown in the figure; 0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders... This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting], and
a remote control unit which is in communication connection via a transmission link with the control unit of the grinder [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting; 0154 — Remote viewing devices (e.g., device 521 in FIG. 8) can communicate directly with the grinder 80 via Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, ZigBee, Bluetooth, peer-to-peer protocols, or other methods or technology. A network connection such as provided by an Ethernet local area network (LAN) interface, or, a wireless network interface via a WiFi LAN access point provided, for example], the sensor device transmit the current setting value to the control unit of the associated grinder, which in turn is designed to transmit the current setting value to the remote control unit [0044 — A grind fineness setting detector 206 (“detector 206”) can monitor the grind setting and can be a digital encoder, an optical encoder, a variable potentiometer, an electromechanical detector, or the like.; 0152-0154, Fig. 8 — the sensing base 101 can include a controller 406 configured to command the grinder 100. The controller 406 can include a processor 513 and memory 515 and can be in communication with sensors 402, 401, 404. Additional sensors can be utilized — a ‘Grind Size Sensor’ and microprocessors (controllers) are shown in the figure; 0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting], and
wherein the remote control unit is designed to transmit data for setting the grind size adjustment device of the grinder via the transmission link to the control unit of the grinder [0066-0090, Fig. 8 — an environment in which a grinding system may operate. Data can be collected from sensors of grinders and/or sensing bases to provide information about coffee beans, guidance on usage to maximize the quality of the coffee experience, or the like. This can be accomplished through the use of a remotely running computer program, remote server, and database, referred to as the cloud service 501. The user can interact with the cloud service 501 through a client application 502 via a remote device 521 (illustrated as a smartphone). The remote device 521 can also be a computer, tablet, smart watch, virtual assistant device, or the like… client application 502 allows the user to perform functions in communication with the cloud service that, in turn, communicates with the sensing base 101. These functions may include: Getting the current values from each of the sensors in the sensing base and grinder… Reading the value of the grind fineness setting, and in some embodiments, setting the value of the grind fineness setting].
But Rose fails to clearly specify a plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder and operating similarly to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders.
However, Mazzer teaches a plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder and operating similarly to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders [0040-0041, Figs. 1-2 — According to a possible embodiment (figure 2), the delivery system 4 comprises a plurality of dispensing units 12, each monitoring its own infusion parameter. In addition, each dispensing unit 12 will be operatively connected to at least one grinding device 20 so as to adjust the corresponding grinding unit 24 in order to obtain a certain degree of fineness of the ground powder for the same weight of ground powder. Therefore, the present invention also applies to systems comprising a plurality of supply units 12 and a plurality of grinding devices 20, which may dialogue with each other through one or more control units 36, so as to manage, even simultaneously, the adjustment of the degree of fineness of the ground powder by any grinding unit 24, as requested at the moment by any dispensing unit 12 — a plurality of grinding devices 20 is shown, one of which comprises a plurality of grinding units 24].
Rose and Mazzer are analogous art. They relate to coffee grinding devices.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder and configured to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders, as taught by Mazzer, for the known single grinder, as taught by Rose, for the predictable result of grind size adjustment assembly comprising; a plurality of coffee machines, each coffee machine having a grinder that is configured to set the grind size adjustment device of each one of the coffee machines/grinders.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buchholz et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180035839 that discloses a method for operating an automatic beverage dispenser.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119