DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Drawings
Figures 1A and 1B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art--, because the figures are described as “known” [applicant 14-15], and only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manca (US 20170280775 A1 cited on an IDS) in view of Illidge (WO 2021053214 A1) and Century (US 20110223116 A1).
Claims 1 and 15: Manca teaches an aerosol generating device (fig. 1 and [65], #10) comprising:
a housing (12) comprising mouthpiece (30) at an end (leftmost end of 12) thereof, the mouthpiece (30) being configured to come into contact with a mouth of a user [66];
a canister (18) disposed inside the housing (12) and storing a medium including nicotine [36] and a propellant [33], the canister (18) including an outlet ([35], opening between canister #18 and tubing section #20) through which the medium flows out [35];
a transfer tube (20) having a first end portion (rightmost end of 20) connected to the outlet (opening between canister #18 and transfer tube #20) and a second end portion (leftmost end of 20) connected to the mouthpiece (30), and configured to receive the medium from the canister (18) at the first end portion [67];
a first valve ([33], pump #22 can instead be a controllable one-way valve) arranged at the second end portion (leftmost end of 20) and configured to control discharge of the medium remaining in the transfer tube to the outside [33];
and a nozzle (24) configured to atomize the medium and eject an aerosol [66] when the first valve is open (aerosol can only be ejected when the first valve is open).
Manca does not explicitly teach that the outlet is on a second side of the canister opposite to a first side of the canister that faces the mouthpiece,
or that a direction in which the medium flows through the outlet is opposite to a direction in which the medium flows through the mouthpiece.
Illidge teaches using an aerosol-generating device in an upright position (p. 23, lines 9-11), such that excess precursor medium can contained from leaking through a chamber outlet (p. 23, lines 11-13).
Manca’s device can be used in any orientation [Manca 19] to yield expectation to succeed. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to use Manca’s device in an upright position.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use Manca’s device in an upright position, because doing so would help to contain excess precursor medium from leaking through the mouthpiece.
Century teaches an aerosol generating device (title) comprising an outlet on a bottom side of a reservoir opposite to a top side of the reservoir [59], such that the fluid moves without trapping bubbles that would interfere with aerosolization [59].
Specifying that Manca’s outlet is on a bottom side of a reservoir would position Manca’s outlet on a second side of the canister that faces away from the mouthpiece.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to move Manca’s outlet from facing towards the mouthpiece to facing away from the mouthpiece as motivated by Century, such that a direction in which the medium flows through the outlet is opposite to a direction in which the medium flows through the mouthpiece, because doing so would enable fluid to move through the outlet without trapping bubbles that would interfere with aerosolization.
Claim 2: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1, wherein the first valve ([33], controllable one-way valve) operates based on puff of the user ([56-57], a puff sensor can activate liquid delivery, which would require the first valve to open in order to deliver liquid).
Claim 3: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 2, further comprising a puff detection sensor ([56-57], puff sensor) configured to detect the puff of the user, wherein the first valve ([33], controllable one-way valve) operates based on a result detected by the puff detection sensor ([56-57], the puff sensor can activate liquid delivery, which would require the first valve to open in order to deliver liquid).
Claim 4: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1, further comprising a second valve ([35], tube #20 can further comprise, i.e. the valves of [33 and 35] are different, a one-way valve to control liquid through the tube) configured to control transfer of the medium stored in the canister to the transfer tube (20) by adjusting opening and closing (the one-way valve controls fluid flow) of the outlet (outlet positioned at one-way valve which interfaces #18 and #20).
Claim 8: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1, wherein the transfer tube (fig. 1, #20) has a predetermined diameter and a predetermined length corresponding to an amount of aerosol generated per puff ([30], #20 conveys a liquid aerosol-forming substrate and therefore is dimensioned corresponding to an amount of aerosol generated per puff).
Claim 11: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1, wherein the nozzle (fig. 2 and [67], #24) includes an air-atomizing nozzle including an outdoor air passage (36) through which external air is introduced (air flows through 28 and 36).
Claim 12: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1, wherein the nozzle (fig. 2, #24) includes a passage (38) through which the medium passes, and the passage (38) has a curved portion (38 comprises curves).
Claim 13: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1, wherein the mouthpiece (fig. 2, #30) has a discharge hole (leftmost opening of 30) for discharging the aerosol to the outside, and the discharge hole (leftmost opening of 30) is arranged in a direction (dashed line) parallel to another direction (dashed line) in which the nozzle (24) ejects the medium.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manca (US 20170280775 A1 cited on an IDS) in view of Illidge (WO 2021053214 A1) and Century (US 20110223116 A1) as applied to claim 4 in further view of Dunne (US 20120090603 A1).
Claims 5-6: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 4.
Modified Manca does not explicitly teach that the second valve is operated by the user, that the medium stored in the canister is transferred to the transfer tube in response to an operation of the user for the second valve to open the outlet,
or that the second valve is movable between a first position in which the outlet is closed and a second position in which the outlet is opened.
Dunne teaches an aerosol generating device (fig. 3 and [84], #110) comprising a first valve (170) and a second valve (106), wherein the second valve (106) is operated by the user ([75], the valve #106 is toggled by [87], a suction stroke), and a medium stored in a canister (105) is transferred to a transfer tube (168) in response to an operation of the user for the second valve to open an outlet (positioned at 106),
wherein the second valve (106) is movable between a first position in which the outlet is closed and a second position in which the outlet (positioned at 106) is opened ([75], #106 opens and closes), such that the second valve can be normally closed in order to minimize liquid leakage [11].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as Manca’s generic second valve, Dunne’s specific second valve operated by the user and movable between a first position in which the outlet is closed and a second position in which the outlet is opened, wherein the medium stored in the canister transferred to the transfer tube in response to an operation of the user for the second valve to open the outlet, because doing so would enable the second valve to be normally closed in order to minimize liquid leakage.
Claim 7: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 5, further comprising a button ([56-57], on-off button) configured to control liquid delivery [57], wherein an amount of the medium transferred to the transfer tube is determined based on at least one of an operation time and an operation strength of the button ([57], a duration of activation during which liquid is delivered corresponds to an action like pressing the on-off button; the only two variables in pressing a button are a time of the press and a strength of the press), wherein the liquid delivery is controlled by operation of the second valve ([35], the one-way valve controls liquid flow towards the mouthpiece).
Claims 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manca (US 20170280775 A1 cited on an IDS) in view of Illidge (WO 2021053214 A1) and Century (US 20110223116 A1) as applied to claim 1 in further view of Baran (US 20040084050 A1).
Claims 9-10 and 14: modified Manca teaches the aerosol generating device of claim 1.
Modified Manca does not explicitly teach that the transfer tube is spirally wound on an outer peripheral surface of the canister,
that at least a part of the transfer tube is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the canister,
or that the outer peripheral surface is between the first side of the canister and the second side of the canister.
Baran teaches an aerosol generating device (title) comprising a transfer tube (fig. 50 and [185], #824) spirally wound on an outer peripheral surface of a cylinder (808),
wherein at least a part of the transfer tube (824) is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the cylinder (808),
wherein the outer peripheral surface is between a first side of the cylinder (leftmost end of 808) and a second side of the cylinder (rightmost end of 808), such that the transfer tube can store a suitable dose of medication due to its length [185].
Manca’s canister (Manca fig. 1, #18) conveys pressurized [33] fluid and Baran’s canister (Baran fig. 50, #808) conveys pressurized fluid [185] to yield expectation to succeed.
Moreover, changing the shape of the transfer tube from cylindrical to spiral would be an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B): In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). The courts have held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was an obvious matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reshape Manca’s transfer tube into being spirally wound on and in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the canister, wherein the outer peripheral surface is between the first side of the canister and the second side of the canister, because doing so would enable the transfer tube to store a suitable dose of liquid due to its length and would otherwise be a patentably indistinct change in shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of 2025 September 29 have been carefully considered. Upon further search and consideration necessitated by applicant’s amendments, a new ground of rejection is made for claim 1 over Manca in view of Illidge and Century.
Applicant argues (p. 8, [2-3]) that Manca’s pump #22 does not read on new limitations of the first side. However, Manca in view of Illidge and Century renders obvious an outlet on a second side of the canister, opposite to a first side of the canister, for the benefit of containing excess precursor from leakage and minimizing bubbles in the precursor.
Conclusion
/TOBEY C LE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747