DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-13 are pending
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are amended
Claim 5 has been canceled
Status of Amendments
The amendment filed 8 April 2026 has been fully considered, but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since Office Action of 23 January 2026
The 103 rejections in view of Dai are maintained, in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (US 20170263928 A1), hereinafter Dai.
Regarding claim 1, Dai teaches a positive active material, in this case a cathode active material [0003], for a nonaqueous electrolyte, in this case a conducting polymer electrolyte [0123], energy storage device, in this case a lithium-ion battery [0003], containing a lithium transition metal composite oxide having an α-NaFeO2 structure, in this case an R3m structure such as α-NaFeO2 [0133], the positive active material for a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device further comprising aluminum (Formula (III)) [0006],
wherein the lithium transition metal composite oxide contains at least one selected from the group consisting of nickel and cobalt, and manganese (Formula (III)) [0006],
wherein a ratio of the number of moles of aluminum to the number of moles of transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide is 0.1 or more and 2 or less and a content of manganese in a transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide is 0.35 or more and 0.6 or less in terms of molar ratio. In this case, Dai teaches a cathode active material compound according to Formula (III), LiαCo1-xMxAlγOδ, wherein M is B, Na, Mn, Ni, Mg, Ti, Ca, V, Cr, Fe, Cu, Zn, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zr, Mo, Ru or a combination thereof, 0.95≤α≤1.10, 0<x<0.50, 0≤γ≤0.05, and 1.95≤δ≤2.60 [0006]. Examiner acknowledges that M being Mn would produce a compound with a content of manganese in a transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide that is within the claimed range and a ratio of the number of moles of aluminum to the number of moles of transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide that is outside of the claimed range. However, M may also be Al in combination with Mn, despite already being present elsewhere in Formula (III). Therefore, Dai may be considered to teach a compound, according to Formula (III), comprising LiαCo1-xMnx1Alx2AlγOδ, wherein 0.95≤α≤1.10, γ=0.05, and 1.95≤δ≤2.60, as well as, further, wherein x=x1+x2, 0.27≤x1≤0.45, and 0.05≤x2≤0.23. The resulting compound would have a ratio of the number of moles of aluminum to the number of moles of transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide of 0.1 or more and 2 or less, in this case 0.105 or more and 0.364 or less, and a content of manganese in a transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide of 0.35 or more and 0.6 or less in terms of molar ratio, in this case 0.35 or more and 0.474 or less. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound with an aluminum ratio and a manganese content within the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Examiner notes that Formula (IIb) could also potentially read on the claimed limitations, for example in an instance where M1 is Mn, 0.35≤x≤0.6, y=1, and M2 is Co and Al [0015-0019]. Examiner notes that Formula (IIb) could also potentially read on the claimed limitations, for example in an instance where M1 is Mn, 0.35≤x≤0.6, y=1, and M2 is Co and Al [0015-0019].
Dai further teaches the positive active material having a charged state potential of 4.35 V vs. Li/Li+ in which there is no charge history in which the potential reaches 4.5 V vs. Li/Li+, in this case being incorporated into batteries to have voltages greater than 4.2 V [0142] and having increased stability for at least 4.4 V vs. Li/Li+ [0228]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Examiner acknowledges that there are examples in which the cell is charged to 4.5 V or above through first charge, as in example 17, or during rate testing, as in example 14, but notes that these do not take away from the teaching of a lower voltage battery and are not taught as being mandatory to gain the expected benefits.
Dai is silent as to the value of an oxygen positional parameter of the positive active material. However, Dai teaches the positive active material as being produced by a substantially identical process. Dai teaches a positive active material that is a solid-solution between Li2MnO3 and (1-x)LiCo1-yMyO2 [Dai 0196] where M may be Al [0006], corresponding to a part of aluminum being solid-solved in the lithium transition metal composite oxide in the instant specification [instant 0136]. The active material may be heated at a temperature of 800 to 1200° C [Dai 0185], compared to the 900° C of the instant specification [instant 0136]. The active material may be placed in an Al2O3 boat, in this case a crucible, and heated to 120° C for 2 hours and 500° C for 4 hours [Dai 0239], compared to the active material of the instant specification being in the alumina boat for the initial heat up to 900° C followed by a daylong cooldown period [instant 0136]. The active material may then be passed through a mesh sieve and lightly ground with a mortar and pestle [Dai 0239] to a diameter of 5 μm to 30 μm [Dai 0217-0218] compared to the active material of the instant specification being ground using an automatic mortar [instant 0136] to a particle diameter of 0.1 μm to 20 μm [instant 0059].
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Further, "products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the positive active material of Dai to have an oxygen positional parameter of the positive active material determined from crystal structure analysis by a Rietveld method when a space group R3-m is used for a crystal structure model based on an X-ray diffraction pattern that is 0.265 or more and 0.269 or less or an absolute value of a difference between an oxygen positional parameter of the positive active material determined from crystal structure analysis by a Rietveld method when a space group R3-m is used for a crystal structure model based on an X-ray diffraction pattern and an oxygen positional parameter of a positive active material, which contains no aluminum and has the same composition as the positive active material in terms of a molar ratio of a transition metal element contained, determined from the crystal structure analysis that is 0.002 or less.
Regarding claim 3, Dai teaches the positive active material for a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device according to claim 1, wherein the content of manganese in the transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide is 0.35 or more and 0.7 or less in terms of molar ratio, in this case 0.35 or more and 0.474 or less, as discussed above regarding claim 1 [0006]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, Dai teaches the positive active material for a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of the number of moles of lithium, in this case 0.95 or more and 1.10 or less [0006], to the number of moles of transition metal in the lithium transition metal composite oxide, in this case 0.77 or more and 0.95 or less between Co and Mn, as discussed above regarding claim 1 [0006], is 1.0 or more and 1.4 or less, in this case 1.0 or more and 1.429 or less. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art to select a positive active material with a ratio of moles of lithium to moles of transition metal within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, Dai teaches the positive active material for a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device according to claim 1, wherein the positive active material is a particle containing the lithium transition metal composite oxide [0214], and a ratio of the number of moles of aluminum to a sum of the number of moles of transition metal and the number of moles of aluminum is larger in the vicinity of a surface of the particle than that in the vicinity of a center of the particle. In this case, Dai teaches that in such variations of Formula (III) where aluminum is present, a distribution of aluminum within the particle may be uniform or may be biased to be proximate to a surface of the particle [0131]. This is considered to be equivalent to a ratio of the number of moles of aluminum to a sum of the number of moles of transition metal and the number of moles of aluminum being larger in the vicinity of a surface of the particle than that in the vicinity of a center of the particle. Further, Dai teaches coating the core material with aluminum oxide [0137], which would inherently raise the number of moles of aluminum in the vicinity of the surface. In the case where the aluminum that is present initially within the particle is distributed uniformly, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a ratio of the number of moles of aluminum to a sum of the number of moles of transition metal and the number of moles of aluminum to be inherently larger in the vicinity of a surface of the particle than that in the vicinity of a center of the particle.
Regarding claim 7, Dai teaches a positive electrode for a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device comprising the positive active material according to claim 1, in this case a cathode including the cathode active material disposed over a current collector [0055].
Regarding claim 8, Dai teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device comprising the positive electrode for a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device according to claim 7, in this case a battery cell including the cathode [0056].
Regarding claims 9, 11, and 12, Dai teaches the nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device according to claim 8. Dai further teaches charging the energy storage device at a maximum positive electrode potential of greater than 4.2 V [0142], which overlaps with the claimed range of less than 4.5 V vs. Li/Li+. This is considered to meet the positive electrode potential at an end-of-charge of claim 9, the method for using of claim 11, and the method for manufacturing of claim 12.
Regarding claim 10, Dai teaches an energy storage apparatus comprising a plurality of nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage devices; and one or more of the nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage devices according to claim 8, in this case a battery pack formed by electrically coupling the taught battery cell with one or more other battery cells [0120].
Regarding claim 13, Dai teaches the positive active material for a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device according to claim 1, wherein, in the positive active material, a part of aluminum is solid-solved in the lithium transition metal composite oxide, and another part of aluminum is present on a surface of the lithium transition metal composite oxide as a component different from the lithium transition metal composite oxide. In this case Dai teaches a positive active material that is a solid-solution between Li2MnO3 and (1-x)LiCo1-yMyO2 [Dai 0196], where M is Al [0006], along with an aluminum oxide coating on the surface [0137].
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that neither Formula (III) nor Formula (VIII) teach or suggest the composition of claim 1 as amended. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes, as discussed above regarding claim 1, that M in Formula (III) may be both Mn and Al. Therefore, Formula (III) still reads on the claimed limitations when comprising LiαCo1-xMnx1Alx2AlγOδ, wherein 0.95≤α≤1.10, γ=0.05, and 1.95≤δ≤2.60, as well as, further, wherein x=x1+x2, 0.27≤x1≤0.45, and 0.05≤x2≤0.23. Examiner acknowledges that other aspects are taught comprising compounds and formulas that also combine Li, Co, Mn, Al, and O in different ratios. However, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN VAN KIRK/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722