DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1, 4-19, 21, 23, and 25 are pending.
Examiner’s Note
All paragraph numbers (¶) throughout this office action, unless otherwise noted, are from the US PGPub of this application US 2023/0184764 A1, Published 15 June 2023. Applicant’s amended Specifications as presented on 05 October 2022 and 30 May 2023 are acknowledged and entered.
Applicant is encouraged to utilize the new web-based Automated Interview Request (AIR) tool for submitting interview requests; more information can be found at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 October 2022 and 26 June 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Drawings are objected to for containing references to colors (i.e., green, red). Specifically, Figures 1-2 and 4 contain references to color in the figure legends. Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification: “The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.”
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 7, 9, 11, 15, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 5, it is suggested that it say “…an enzyme, a metallic nanoparticle or nanoshell, or is biotinylated” instead of “…an enzyme, a metallic nanoparticle or nanoshell or is biotinylated”. There should be a comma after “nanoshell”.
In Claim 7, it is suggested that it say “…comprising: a peptide or peptides chosen from…” instead of “…comprising: a peptide or peptide chosen from…”. The second instance of “peptide” should be pluralized.
In Claim 9, “serological detection of” has been duplicated. One instance of it should be deleted.
In Claim 11, it is suggested that it say “coronavirus” instead of “corona virus”.
In Claims 15 and 21, the periods are missing from the ends of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims are only allowed to have one period, as stated in MPEP § 608.01(m). The claims which do not adhere to this rule are Claims 9 and 16. Regarding Claims 9 and 16, parts a-b should utilize parentheses instead of periods to separate them from the claim language itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b); Second Paragraph
Claims 1 and 7, and dependent claims 4-6, 8-15, 23, and 25 thereof, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “strongly” in claims 1 and 7 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “strongly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such, it is unclear exactly what the phrase “strongly reactive” means in the context of the claimed invention in the absence of a clear definition or an objective way to determine which peptides are or are not “strongly reactive” with antibodies to SARS-CoV-2. It is suggested that the claims be amended by providing a way to determine what qualifies as “strongly reactive”, as long as it is supported by the originally-filed disclosure, or deleting the phrase, but Applicant is free to amend the claims as they deem necessary.
Since a skilled artisan would not be reasonably apprised as to the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, instant Claims 1 and 7 are rejected on the grounds of being indefinite. Claims 4-6, 8-15, 23, and 25 are also rejected since they depend upon Claim 7, but do not remedy the deficiencies of Claim 7.
Claims 7, 15, and 25, and dependent claims 4-6, 8-15, 23, and 25 thereof, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, 15, and 25, they all recite the limitation “a collection or set of peptides shifted one residue across at least one peptide chosen from the group consisting of” SEQ ID NOs: 1-45, in the case of Claim 7, or SEQ ID NOs: 209-261, in the case of Claims 15 and 25. It is unclear what the phrase “shifted one residues across” means as it is not further explained in the claim set and there is no definition provided in the Specification. This lack of clarity renders the claims indefinite. It is suggested that the claims be amended by providing a clear definition of this phrase, as long as said definition is supported by the originally-filed disclosure, or deleting the claim limitations, but Applicant is free to amend the claims as they deem necessary.
Since a skilled artisan would not be reasonably apprised as to the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, instant Claims 7, 15, and 25 are rejected on the grounds of being indefinite. Claims 4-6, 8-15, 23, and 25 are also rejected since they depend upon Claim 7, but do not remedy the deficiencies of Claim 7.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, it recites the limitation “wherein the peptides range in length from about 6 amino acids to 50 amino acids” and is dependent upon Claim 7, which recites “peptides chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45”. It is unclear how any of the claimed peptides can be as short as 6 amino acids long given that the shortest peptide recited in Claim 7 is 14 amino acids long. This lack of clarity renders the claim indefinite. It is suggested that the claim be amended by changing the sequence length range, but Applicant is free to amend the claim as they deem necessary.
Since a skilled artisan would not be reasonably apprised as to the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, instant Claim 4 is rejected on the grounds of being indefinite.
Claim Interpretation
In light of the issues raised supra, the claims are being interpreted as reading upon the following:
Claim 1 is drawn to an isolated peptide that is strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, wherein the peptide comprises the amino acid sequence chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45.
Claim 7 is drawn to a collection of isolated peptides that are strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, comprising: a peptide or peptides chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; and/or a collection or set of peptides shifted one residue across at least one peptide chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; or combinations thereof.
Claim 16 is drawn to a method for the differential serological detection of exposure to and/or infection by SARS-CoV-2 in a sample, comprising: a) contacting the sample with at least one peptide comprising the amino acid sequence chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45, under conditions sufficient to allow binding of antibody(ies) in the sample to the peptide(s); and b) detecting formation of an antibody-peptide complex comprising said one or more peptides, wherein formation of the complex is indicative of an antibody to an epitope of SARS- CoV-2 being present in the sample.
Further limitations on the collection of isolated peptides according to Claim 7 are:
4. The collection of isolated peptides of claim 7, wherein the peptides range in length from 14 amino acids to 50 amino acids.
5. The collection of isolated peptides of claim 7, wherein one or more of the isolated peptides is conjugated to a ligand, avidin, streptavidin, neutravidin, serum albumin, keyhole limpet hemocyanin (KLH), an enzyme, a metallic nanoparticle or nanoshell, or is biotinylated.
6. The collection of isolated peptides of claim 7, wherein one or more of the isolated peptides is immobilized to a solid support.
8. A peptide microarray comprising the collection of isolated peptides of claim 7.
9. A method for the differential serological detection of exposure to and/or infection by SARS-CoV-2 in a sample, comprising: a) contacting the sample with the collection of peptides of claim 7, under conditions sufficient to allow binding of antibody(ies) to the peptide(s); and b) detecting formation of an antibody-peptide complex comprising said one or more peptides in the collection, wherein formation of the complex is indicative of an antibody to an epitope of a SARS-CoV-2 antigen being present in the sample.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the sample is from a subject.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the subject is a test subject who has been administered a coronavirus vaccine or immunomodulatory agent.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the sample is chosen from the group consisting of nasopharyngeal aspirate, blood, cerebrospinal fluid, saliva, serum, plasma, urine, sputum, bronchial lavage, pericardial fluid, and peritoneal fluid.
13. The method of claim 9, wherein the sample is chosen from the group consisting of cells, cell culture, cell culture medium and compositions used for the development of pharmaceutical and therapeutic agents.
14. The method of claim 9, wherein the collection of peptides is immobilized to a solid support.
15. The method of claim 9, further comprising contacting the sample with a collection of peptides comprising a peptide or peptides chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 209-261; and/or a collection or set of peptides shifted one residue across at least one peptide chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 209-261; or combinations thereof, and further detecting the formation of an antibody-peptide complex comprising said one or more peptides in the collection, wherein formation of the complex is indicative of an antibody to an epitope of another human coronavirus other than SARS-CoV-2 being present in the sample.
Further limitations on the method according to Claim 16 are:
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the sample is from a subject.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the subject is a test subject which has been administered a SARS-CoV-2 vaccine or immunomodulatory agent.
19. The method of claim 16, wherein the sample is chosen from the group consisting of nasopharyngeal aspirate, blood, cerebrospinal fluid, saliva, serum, plasma, urine, sputum, bronchial lavage, pericardial fluid, and peritoneal fluid.
21. The method of claim 16, further comprising contacting the sample with at least one peptide comprising the amino acid sequence chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 209-261 and further detecting the formation of an antibody-peptide complex comprising said peptide(s), wherein formation of the complex is indicative of an antibody to an epitope of another human coronavirus other than SARS-CoV-2 being present in the sample.
Note: for the purposes of examining the claims on their merits, the phrase “strongly reactive” will be interpreted as an inherent property of any amino acid sequence which comprises any of the claimed sequences.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d); Fourth Paragraph
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claims 4-6, they are all dependent upon Claim 7, which is a later numbered claim. A claim in proper dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth. As such, Claims 4-6 fail to comply with this statute. See MPEP 608.01(n)(III).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claim 4, as noted supra, it recites the limitation “wherein the peptides range in length from about 6 amino acids to 50 amino acids” and is dependent upon Claim 7, which recites “peptides chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45”. It is unclear how any of the claimed peptides can be as short as 6 amino acids long given that the shortest peptide recited in Claim 7 is 14 amino acids long and that the peptide sequences are restricted to SEQ ID NOs: 1-45 due to the use of the phrase “consisting of”. As such, Claim 4 fails to include all of the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by De Groot and Martin (US 2023/0190915 A1)
De Groot and Martin disclose an isolated peptide that is strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, wherein the peptide comprises the amino acid sequence chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45, as well as a collection of isolated peptides that are strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, comprising: a peptide or peptides chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; and/or a collection or set of peptides shifted one residue across at least one peptide chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; or combinations thereof, wherein the peptides range in length from about 14 amino acids to 50 amino acids. Specifically, De Groot and Martin disclose SEQ ID NO: 1186, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (Paragraphs 0011-0015, Sequence Listing. Instant claims 1, 4, and 7).
SEQIDNO:1(184) 1 TAYNGYLTSSSKTP 14
||||||||||||||
SEQIDNO:1186(915) 2 TAYNGYLTSSSKTP 15
For at least these reasons, De Groot and Martin teach the limitations of instant Claims 1, 4, and 7 and anticipate the invention encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gaynor et al. (US 2023/0083931)
Gaynor et al. disclose an isolated peptide that is strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, wherein the peptide comprises the amino acid sequence chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45, as well as a collection of isolated peptides that are strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, comprising: a peptide or peptides chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; and/or a collection or set of peptides shifted one residue across at least one peptide chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; or combinations thereof, wherein the peptides range in length from about 14 amino acids to 50 amino acids. Specifically, Gaynor et al. disclose SEQ ID NO: 15941, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (Paragraphs 0860-0861, 0871, 0873-0874, 0997, 1004; Sequence Listing. Instant claims 1, 4, and 7). Below is a sequence alignment illustrating the sequence similarity (Note: in the alignment, the instant sequence is on top, while the prior art sequence is on the bottom):
SEQIDNO:1(184) 1 TAYNGYLTSSSKTP 14
||||||||||||||
SEQIDNO:15941(931) 7 TAYNGYLTSSSKTP 20
For at least these reasons, Gaynor et al. teach the limitations of instant Claims 1, 4, and 7 and anticipate the invention encompassed by said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-19, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunn, III et al. (US 2021/0396755 A1), Wang et al. (WO 2021/168305 A1) (cited by Applicant on IDS submitted on 26 June 2024), Houde and Lacroix (US 2006/0263765 A1), and De Groot and Martin (US 2023/0190915 A1).
Gunn, III et al. disclose an isolated peptide and a collection of peptides that are strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 (Abstract; Paragraphs 0006, 0060-0061, 0225, 0231, 0234-0235, 0238, 0240-0242. Instant claims 1, 7, 9, 15-16, 21, 23, and 25), wherein the one or more isolate peptides is biotinylated (Paragraphs 0238, 0240-0242. Instant claim 5). Gunn, III et al. also disclose a collection of isolated peptides, wherein the one or more peptides is immobilized to a solid support (Paragraphs 0248, 0268, 0353 0414. Instant claims 6 and 14).
Gunn, III et al. also disclose a method for the differential serological detection of exposure to and/or infection by SARS-CoV-2 in a sample, comprising: a) contacting the sample with the collection of peptides of claim 7, under conditions sufficient to allow binding of antibody(ies) to the peptide(s); and b) detecting formation of an antibody-peptide complex comprising said one or more peptides in the collection, wherein formation of the complex is indicative of an antibody to an epitope of a SARS-CoV-2 antigen being present in the sample and a method further detecting the formation of an antibody-peptide complex comprising said one or more peptides in the collection, wherein formation of the complex is indicative of an antibody to an epitope of another human coronavirus other than SARS-CoV-2 being present in the sample (Abstract; Paragraphs 0005, 0009-0063, 0067, 0073, 0238, 0240-0242, 0412, 0414; Table 2. Instant claims 9, 15-16, 21).
Additionally, Gunn, III et al. disclose a method wherein the sample is from a subject, wherein the sample is a blood sample, a cerebrospinal fluid sample, a saliva sample, a serum sample, a plasma sample, a urine sample, a sputum sample, or a peritoneal fluid sample, or wherein the sample is from cells, cell culture, or cell culture medium (Paragraphs 0005, 0222, 0244. Instant claims 10, 12-13, 17, 19).
Furthermore, Gunn, III et al. disclose a kit comprising a collection of isolated peptides (Paragraphs 0358, 0386, 0396. Instant claims 23 and 25).
Wang et al. disclose a method wherein the subject is a test subject who has been administered a coronavirus vaccine (Page 6, Lines 12-17. Instant claims 11 and 18).
Houde and Lacroix disclose a peptide microarray comprising a collection of isolated peptides (Paragraphs 0006-0007, 0031-0032, 0053. Instant claim 8), as well as SEQ ID NO: 7, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 261 (Sequence Listing. Instant claims 15, 21, and 25). Below is a sequence alignment to illustrate the sequence similarity (Note: in the alignment, the instant sequence is on top, while the prior art sequence is on the bottom):
SEQIDNO:261(184) 1 FSLDVSEKSGNFKHLREFVF 20
||||||||||||||||||||
SEQIDNO:7(765) 3 FSLDVSEKSGNFKHLREFVF 22
De Groot and Martin disclose an isolated peptide that is strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, wherein the peptide comprises the amino acid sequence chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45, as well as a collection of isolated peptides that are strongly reactive with, and specific for antibodies to SARS-CoV-2, comprising: a peptide or peptides chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; and/or a collection or set of peptides shifted one residue across at least one peptide chosen from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-45; or combinations thereof, wherein the peptides range in length from about 14 amino acids to 50 amino acids. Specifically, De Groot and Martin disclose SEQ ID NO: 1186, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (Paragraphs 0011-0015, Sequence Listing. Instant claims 1, 4, 7, and 16).
SEQIDNO:1(184) 1 TAYNGYLTSSSKTP 14
||||||||||||||
SEQIDNO:1186(915) 2 TAYNGYLTSSSKTP 15
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the teachings of Gunn, III et al. with those of Wang et al., Houde and Lacroix, and De Groot and Martin in order to develop a sensitive and specific serological assay which can distinguish between SARS-CoV-2 and other human Coronaviruses. The disclosure of Gunn, III et al. taught the use of peptides to detect antibodies against SARS-CoV-2 as well as other human Coronaviruses, which would have allowed for the differentiation between infections caused by the different human coronaviruses and thus proper treatment protocols to be enacted. It also would have allowed for a skilled artisan to determine the level of any pre-existing anti-Coronavirus immunity in the subject from whom the sample was obtained. It would have been obvious to use the sequences taught by De Groot and Martin and Houde and Lacroix to test the ability of specific peptides to bind to antibodies indicative of Coronavirus infection, such as SARS-CoV-2, as disclosed by Gunn, III et al., and SARS-CoV-1, as disclosed by Houde and Lacroix. Modifying the teachings of Gunn, III et al. with those of Wang et al. to perform assays on samples obtained from subjects vaccinated with a SARS-CoV-2 or Coronavirus vaccine would have enabled a skilled artisan to determine the efficacy of said vaccination and even determine the level and type of antibody response elicited by the vaccine. This would enable the development of more effective and protective vaccines.
Such modifications, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, would have had a reasonable expectation of success and arrived at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For at least these reasons, instant Claims 1, 4-19, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record, but not relied upon, and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed below:
Tseng (US 2005/0037338 A1)
Tseng discloses a diagnostic method for detecting the presence of anti-SARS-CoV-1 antibodies in a sample using a recombinant antigen peptide immobilized on a solid support.
/CAREY ALEXANDER STUART/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/JANET L ANDRES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1671