DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 07/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 14-19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 30, and 31 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, 14-19, 21-22, 25-26, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2019/0357262), hereinafter "Cirik", in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0275483), hereinafter “Li”, and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (US 2021/0274555), hereinafter “Alfarhan”.
Regarding claims 1, 17, Cirik teaches:
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Cirik, Fig. 31, par. [0543], lines 1-6: FIG. 31 shows an example method for BWP switching for a random access procedure. A wireless device may determine to switch or to refrain from switching to a downlink BWP, based starting a random access procedure and based on a BWP-ID match between an active downlink BWP and an active uplink BWP), or an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 110) comprising:
a processor (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 314),
memory coupled with the processor (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 315); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 316, par. [0085], lines 1-6: The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) to cause the apparatus to:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information that configures two or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) of a channel bandwidth (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0132], lines 1-3: A Bandwidth Part (BWP) may comprise a subset of a total cell bandwidth of a cell. A base station may configure a wireless device with one or more BWPs, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP; in this case, the wireless device (i.e. UE) receives configuration for a DL bandwidth and UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more bandwidth parts of a channel bandwidth)), the two or more BWPs being configured for full-duplex communications between the UE and the base station (see Cirik, Fig. 6, par. [0111]: FIG. 6 shows an example transmission time and reception time for a carrier. A multicarrier OFDM communication system may include one or more carriers, for example, ranging from 1 to 32 carriers (such as for carrier aggregation) or ranging from 1 to 64 carriers (such as for dual connectivity). Different radio frame structures may be supported (e.g., for FDD and/or for TDD duplex mechanisms), par. [0210]: One UL BWP for each uplink carrier and one DL BWP may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in FDD systems configured with BA. One DL/UL BWP pair may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in TDD systems, and par. [0542]: The random access procedure may be a contention-based random access procedure. The base station and the wireless device may operate in a paired spectrum (e.g., frequency division duplex (FDD)); in this case, a wireless device (i.e. UE) and a base station communicate using frequency division duplex (corresponding to full-duplex) systems. Bandwidth parts may also be configured in these FDD systems. Therefore, Cirik teaches BWPs configured for full-duplex communications between a UE and a base station), wherein the configuration information configures two or more uplink resource bandwidths within a first uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP, and see Cirik, par. [0137], lines 4-10: A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device for a cell with one or more parameters, for example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively. The one or more parameters may indicate one or more of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs; in this case, the configuration includes a set of one or more BWPs for transmissions in an UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more resource bandwidths in a first bandwidth part)), and wherein the configuration information configures a first uplink resource bandwidth of the two or more uplink resource bandwidths within the first uplink BWP as an initial resource bandwidth having one or more random access occasions (see Cirik, par. [0136], lines 5-7: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure; in this case, the configuration includes an indication of one initial UL BWP (corresponding to a first resource bandwidth as an initial resource bandwidth). The initial UL BWP being for a random access procedure corresponds to the initial resource bandwidth having one or more random access occasions);
selecting a first random access occasion from the one or more random access occasions of the initial resource bandwidth (see Cirik, par. [0157], lines 3-5: The wireless device may determine a PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions corresponding to a selected SS block, and see Cirik, par. [0137], lines 4-10: A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device for a cell with one or more parameters, for example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively. The one or more parameters may indicate one or more of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs, and see Cirik, par. [0136], lines 5-7: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure; in this case, the wireless device determines a PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions from a resource block configured for the wireless device. This may be performed using the initial BWP part (i.e. initial resource bandwidth) which is configured for a random access procedure and is part of the UL bandwidth (corresponding to within the activated bandwidth part)) based at least in part on an active resource bandwidth of the two or more uplink resource bandwidths within the first uplink BWP having an absence of random access occasions (see Cirik, Fig. 31, items 3108 and 3116, par. [0544], lines 5-9: At step 3108, the wireless device may determine that the PRACH occasions are not configured for the first uplink BWP. At step 3116, the wireless device may switch to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch to an initial uplink BWP; in this case, the first uplink BWP (corresponding to an active resource bandwidth) does not have PRACH occasions, and the device switches to a different BWP. These steps are performed as part of the random access procedure, including the selecting of random access occasions), wherein the first uplink BWP comprises the activated uplink BWP (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP, and see par. [0136], lines 5-7: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure, and see Cirik, par. [0137], lines 4-10: A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device for a cell with one or more parameters, for example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively. The one or more parameters may indicate one or more of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs; in this case, the UL bandwidth comprising UL BWPs corresponds to the first uplink BWP comprising the activated UL BWP);
switching, based at least in part on the active resource bandwidth having the absence of random access occasions and the initial resource bandwidth having the one or more random access occasions, from the active resource bandwidth to the initial resource bandwidth (see Cirik, Fig. 31, items 3108 and 3116, par. [0540]: The wireless device may switch from the first downlink BWP to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch from the first uplink BWP to an initial uplink BWP, for example, based on one or more PRACH occasions not being configured, by a base station, for the first uplink BWP. The wireless device may perform the random access procedure via the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, and see par. [0544], lines 5-9: At step 3108, the wireless device may determine that the PRACH occasions are not configured for the first uplink BWP. At step 3116, the wireless device may switch to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch to an initial uplink BWP, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP; in this case, the first uplink BWP (corresponding to an active resource bandwidth) does not have PRACH occasions, and the device switches to an initial UL BWP for performing the random access procedure, corresponding to the initial UL BWP having random access occasions. Both UL BWPs may be configured for transmissions in an UL bandwidth (i.e. be within the first bandwidth part)); and
transmitting, to the base station, a random access request in the selected first random access occasion within the initial resource bandwidth of the activated uplink BWP (see Cirik, Fig. 31, item 3114, par. [0544], lines 9-11: At step 3114, the wireless device may perform the random access procedure, and see Cirik, par. [0545], lines 1-3: A base station may receive a random access preamble, from a wireless device, for a random access procedure via an uplink BWP).
However, Cirik does not teach:
wherein the two or more uplink resource bandwidths are configured as sub-BWPs within the first uplink BWP that is configured as a sub-portion of an uplink channel bandwidth,
the initial resource bandwidth within an activated uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs
switching from the active resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP to the initial resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP;
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the two or more uplink resource bandwidths are configured as sub-BWPs within the first uplink BWP that is configured as a sub-portion of an uplink channel bandwidth (see Li, Fig. 17, pars. [0287-0288]: the sub-band indicator can be present in the DCI scheduling type-1 RO(s), such that for the configured active UL BWP containing the DCI-scheduled type-1 RO(s) with bandwidth larger than the sub-band bandwidth, the type-1 RO can only be configured on one or multiple of the sub-bands within the active UL BWP indicated by the sub-band indicator field (SIF). In a sub-example, the sub-band bandwidth can be one of the fixed by specification, configured by the higher layer parameter, or configured by the DCI. For instance, the sub-band can be 20 MHz for FR1 NR-U. In another instance, there can exist a finite set of supported sub-band bandwidths, and DCI or higher layer parameter can indicate the selected sub-band bandwidth, and see pars. [0291-0292]: one of the sub-bands within the active UL BWP can be configured to contain the type-1 ROs, and the bit-width for the sub-band indicator field can be determined as [log2(nsubband,BWP)], wherein nsubband,BWP is the number of non-overlapping sub-bands within the configured active UL BWP containing the DCI-scheduled type-1 RO(s). For instance, for active UL BWP of 80 MHz, and sub-band of 20 MHz, the bit-width for sub-band indicator field is 2. An illustration of this sub-example is provided in FIG. 17 (e.g., 1701). In another sub-example, one or multiple the sub-bands within the active UL BWP can be configured to contain the type-1 ROs through a bitmap, and the bit-width for the sub-band indicator field can be determined as nsubband,BWP, wherein nsubband,BWP is the number of non-overlapping sub-bands within the configured active UL BWP containing the DCI-scheduled type-1 RO(s). For instance, for active UL BWP of 80 MHz, and sub-band of 20 MHz, the bit-width for sub-band indicator field is 4. Another illustration of this sub-example is provided in FIG. 17 (e.g., 1702), Fig. 26, and pars. [0350-0351]: An illustration of this example is provided in FIG. 26 (e.g., 2602), wherein the SIF field is not present and thus each sub-band within the active UL BWP can contain the type-1 ROs, and f_o refers to the configured frequency offset within the sub-band. Another illustration of this example is provided in FIG. 26 (e.g., 2603), wherein the SIF field is present and sub-band 0 and sub-band 1 within the active UL BWP can contain the type-1 ROs, and f_o refers to the configured frequency offset within the sub-band; in this case, sub-bands are within an UL BWP, corresponding to uplink resource bandwidths configured as sub-BWP within a first uplink BWP under its broadest reasonable interpretation. Sub-bands that are part of an UL BWP are interpreted as being equivalent to the claimed sub-BWPs within a first uplink BWP),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the uplink resource bandwidths of Cirik with the uplink resource bandwidths being configured as sub-BWPs of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of decreasing random access delay (see Li, par. [0269]).
However, the combination of Cirik in view of Li does not teach:
the initial resource bandwidth within an activated uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs
switching from the active resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP to the initial resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP;
Alfarhan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
the initial resource bandwidth within an activated uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs (see Alfarhan, par. [0211]: the WTRU 102 may be configured to attempt to transmit or retransmit a preamble (or initiate another RA procedure) on a different sub-band or LBT channel compared to a previous attempt, for example if the preamble attempt counter is above a certain configured number. The WTRU 102 may report a problem to higher layers (e.g., notify the RRC and/or trigger RLF). For example, the WTRU 102 may trigger RLF after attempting a number of preamble transmission attempts (that failed the LBT) on a number of LBT sub-bands (e.g. all subbands in the active BWP or a subband on each BWP); in this case, a subband (i.e. active resource bandwidth) that is within an active BWP of a plurality of BWPs may be used for random access)
switching from the active resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP to the initial resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP (see Alfarhan, par. [0211]: the WTRU 102 may be configured to attempt to transmit or retransmit a preamble (or initiate another RA procedure) on a different sub-band or LBT channel compared to a previous attempt, for example if the preamble attempt counter is above a certain configured number. The WTRU 102 may report a problem to higher layers (e.g., notify the RRC and/or trigger RLF). For example, the WTRU 102 may trigger RLF after attempting a number of preamble transmission attempts (that failed the LBT) on a number of LBT sub-bands (e.g. all subbands in the active BWP or a subband on each BWP); in this case, switching between subbands in an active BWP for random access is supported);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the switching of the combination of Cirik in view of Li with the switching subbands within a BWP of Alfarhan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing robustness against failure to acquire a channel in one or more LBT sub-bands (see Alfarhan, par. [0168]).
Regarding claims 2, 18, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method or apparatus. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the initial resource bandwidth spans a portion of an associated BWP of the two or more BWPs (see Cirik, par. [0136], lines 5-10: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure. If a wireless device is configured with a secondary carrier on a primary cell, the wireless device may be configured with an initial BWP for random access procedure on a secondary carrier) that is compatible with half-duplex communications (see Cirik, par. [0210], lines 1-5: One UL BWP for each uplink carrier and one DL BWP may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in FDD systems configured with BA. One DL/UL BWP pair may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in TDD systems).
Regarding claims 3, 19, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method or apparatus. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the receiving comprises or wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 316, par. [0085], lines 1-6: The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) to:
receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures the two or more BWPs, the two or more uplink resource bandwidths within the first uplink BWP of the uplink channel bandwidth, and the initial resource bandwidth within the first uplink BWP (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0132], lines 1-3: A Bandwidth Part (BWP) may comprise a subset of a total cell bandwidth of a cell. A base station may configure a wireless device with one or more BWPs, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP, and see Cirik, par. [0136], lines 5-7: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure; in this case, RRC signaling configures a DL and UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more bandwidth parts), BWPs for transmissions in an UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more resource bandwidths within the first bandwidth part), and an initial UL BWP (corresponding to the initial resource bandwidth)).
Regarding claims 5, 21, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method or apparatus. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the initial resource bandwidth has a bandwidth identification (see Cirik, par. [0139], line 1: DCI may comprise a BWP indicator field, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0142], lines 10-11: BWP1 (1010) may be an initial active BWP) within a corresponding uplink BWP (see Cirik, par. [0139], lines 4-6: The BWP indicator field value may indicate an active UL BWP, from a configured UL BWP set, for one or more UL transmissions), and wherein a corresponding downlink resource bandwidth has a corresponding downlink resource bandwidth identification within a downlink BWP (see Cirik, par. [0139], lines 1-4: The BWP indicator field value may indicate an active DL BWP, from a configured DL BWP set, for one or more DL receptions).
Regarding claims 6, 22, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method or apparatus. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the initial resource bandwidth spans contiguous or disjoint frequency domain resources of the first uplink BWP (see Cirik, par. [0137], lines 4-10: A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device for a cell with one or more parameters, for example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively. The one or more parameters may indicate one or more of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP).
Regarding claims 9, 25, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method or apparatus. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 316, par. [0085], lines 1-6: The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) to:
determining, by a medium access control (MAC) entity at the UE, to transmit the random access request for communications with the base station (see Cirik, Fig. 12, par. [0233], lines 5-12: The random access procedure may be performed, for example, by a MAC entity. A MAC entity may switch to an initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP, for example, if PRACH resources are not configured for an active UL BWP (e.g., based on initiation of a random access procedure). The MAC entity may perform the random access procedure on the initial DL BWP and the initial UL BWP, for example, based on the BWP switching, and see Cirik, par. [0151], lines 9-11: a MAC entity, and/or a beam failure indication may initiate a random access procedure).
Regarding claims 10, 26, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method or apparatus. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 316, par. [0085], lines 1-6: The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 that may be stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) to:
determining to transmit a second random access request using the active resource bandwidth when the active resource bandwidth has one or more random access occasions (see Cirik, Fig. 31, items 3106, 3108, 3110, and 3114, par. [0543], lines 12-16: At step 3106, the wireless device may initiate a random access procedure via the first uplink BWP. At step 3108, the wireless device may determine that the PRACH occasions are configured for the first uplink BWP, and see Cirik, par. [0544], lines 2-5: At step 3110, the wireless device may determine that the BWP-ID of the first downlink BWP is equal to the BWP-ID of the first uplink BWP. At step 3114, the wireless device may perform the random access procedure).
Regarding claims 14, 30, Cirik teaches:
A method for wireless communication at a base station (see Cirik, par. [0002], lines 2-4: Wireless communications may include random access procedures, for example, between a base station and a wireless device) or an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 120A), comprising:
a processor (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 321A),
memory coupled with the processor (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 322A); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (see Cirik, Fig. 3, item 323A, par. [0072], lines 7-13: The base station 1, 120A, may comprise at least one communication interface 320A (e.g., a wireless modem, an antenna, a wired modem, and/or the like), at least one processor 321A, and at least one set of program code instructions 323A that may be stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A) to cause the apparatus to:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information that configures two or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) of a channel bandwidth (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0132], lines 1-3: A Bandwidth Part (BWP) may comprise a subset of a total cell bandwidth of a cell. A base station may configure a wireless device with one or more BWPs, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP; in this case, the base station transmits a configuration to a wireless device (i.e. UE) for a DL bandwidth and UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more bandwidth parts of a channel bandwidth)), the two or more BWPs being configured for full-duplex communications between the UE and the base station (see Cirik, Fig. 6, par. [0111]: FIG. 6 shows an example transmission time and reception time for a carrier. A multicarrier OFDM communication system may include one or more carriers, for example, ranging from 1 to 32 carriers (such as for carrier aggregation) or ranging from 1 to 64 carriers (such as for dual connectivity). Different radio frame structures may be supported (e.g., for FDD and/or for TDD duplex mechanisms), par. [0210]: One UL BWP for each uplink carrier and one DL BWP may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in FDD systems configured with BA. One DL/UL BWP pair may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in TDD systems, and par. [0542]: The random access procedure may be a contention-based random access procedure. The base station and the wireless device may operate in a paired spectrum (e.g., frequency division duplex (FDD)); in this case, a wireless device (i.e. UE) and a base station communicate using frequency division duplex (corresponding to full-duplex) systems. Bandwidth parts may also be configured in these FDD systems. Therefore, Cirik teaches BWPs configured for full-duplex communications between a UE and a base station), wherein the configuration information configures two or more uplink resource bandwidths within a first uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP, and see Cirik, par. [0137], lines 4-10: A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device for a cell with one or more parameters, for example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively. The one or more parameters may indicate one or more of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs; in this case, the configuration includes a set of one or more BWPs for transmissions in an UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more resource bandwidths in a first bandwidth part)), and wherein the configuration information configures a first uplink resource bandwidth of the two or more uplink resource bandwidths within the first uplink BWP as an initial resource bandwidth having one or more random access occasions(see Cirik, par. [0136], lines 5-7: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure; in this case, the configuration includes an indication of one initial UL BWP (corresponding to a first resource bandwidth as an initial resource bandwidth). The initial UL BWP being for a random access procedure corresponds to the initial resource bandwidth having one or more random access occasions);
configuring the UE with an active resource bandwidth for communications with the base station that has an absence of random access occasions (see Cirik, Fig. 31, items 3108 and 3116, par. [0544], lines 5-9: At step 3108, the wireless device may determine that the PRACH occasions are not configured for the first uplink BWP. At step 3116, the wireless device may switch to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch to an initial uplink BWP, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP, and see Cirik, par. [0137], lines 4-10: A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device for a cell with one or more parameters, for example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively. The one or more parameters may indicate one or more of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs; in this case, a first uplink BWP (corresponding to an active resource bandwidth) may be configured in the UL bandwidth (i.e. within the first bandwidth part) by the base station for the wireless device and may have PRACH occasions not configured (i.e. an absence of random access occasions)), wherein the first uplink BWP comprises the activated uplink BWP (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP, and see par. [0136], lines 5-7: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure, and see Cirik, par. [0137], lines 4-10: A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device for a cell with one or more parameters, for example, for a DL BWP or an UL BWP in a set of one or more DL BWPs or one or more UL BWPs, respectively. The one or more parameters may indicate one or more of following: a subcarrier spacing; a cyclic prefix; a number of contiguous PRBs; in this case, the UL bandwidth comprising UL BWPs corresponds to the first uplink BWP comprising the activated UL BWP); and
monitoring, based at least in part on the active resource bandwidth having the absence of random access occasions and the initial resource bandwidth having the one or more random access occasions, the one or more random access occasions of the initial resource bandwidth of the activated uplink BWP for a random access request from the UE (see Cirik, par. [0540]: The wireless device may switch from the first downlink BWP to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch from the first uplink BWP to an initial uplink BWP, for example, based on one or more PRACH occasions not being configured, by a base station, for the first uplink BWP. The wireless device may perform the random access procedure via the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, and see par. [0545], lines 1-4: A base station may receive a random access preamble, from a wireless device, for a random access procedure via an uplink BWP. The uplink BWP may be indicated (e.g., identified) with an uplink BWP-specific index, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP); in this case, the base station monitors channels for all uplink BWP, including those configured with PRACH occasions, and, based on an index, identifies a BWP with a random access preamble, corresponding to a random access request. The uplink BWP for the random access procedure is determined by switching from a first BWP which does not have PRACH occasions configured (i.e. an active resource bandwidth having the absence of random access occasions) to the initial BWP (i.e. the initial resource bandwidth having the one or more random access occasions)).
However, Cirik does not teach:
wherein the two or more uplink resource bandwidths are configured as sub-BWPs within the first uplink BWP that is configured as a sub-portion of an uplink channel bandwidth,
configuring the UE with an active resource bandwidth within an activated uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the two or more uplink resource bandwidths are configured as sub-BWPs within the first uplink BWP that is configured as a sub-portion of an uplink channel bandwidth (see Li, Fig. 17, pars. [0287-0288]: the sub-band indicator can be present in the DCI scheduling type-1 RO(s), such that for the configured active UL BWP containing the DCI-scheduled type-1 RO(s) with bandwidth larger than the sub-band bandwidth, the type-1 RO can only be configured on one or multiple of the sub-bands within the active UL BWP indicated by the sub-band indicator field (SIF). In a sub-example, the sub-band bandwidth can be one of the fixed by specification, configured by the higher layer parameter, or configured by the DCI. For instance, the sub-band can be 20 MHz for FR1 NR-U. In another instance, there can exist a finite set of supported sub-band bandwidths, and DCI or higher layer parameter can indicate the selected sub-band bandwidth, and see pars. [0291-0292]: one of the sub-bands within the active UL BWP can be configured to contain the type-1 ROs, and the bit-width for the sub-band indicator field can be determined as [log2(nsubband,BWP)], wherein nsubband,BWP is the number of non-overlapping sub-bands within the configured active UL BWP containing the DCI-scheduled type-1 RO(s). For instance, for active UL BWP of 80 MHz, and sub-band of 20 MHz, the bit-width for sub-band indicator field is 2. An illustration of this sub-example is provided in FIG. 17 (e.g., 1701). In another sub-example, one or multiple the sub-bands within the active UL BWP can be configured to contain the type-1 ROs through a bitmap, and the bit-width for the sub-band indicator field can be determined as nsubband,BWP, wherein nsubband,BWP is the number of non-overlapping sub-bands within the configured active UL BWP containing the DCI-scheduled type-1 RO(s). For instance, for active UL BWP of 80 MHz, and sub-band of 20 MHz, the bit-width for sub-band indicator field is 4. Another illustration of this sub-example is provided in FIG. 17 (e.g., 1702), Fig. 26, and pars. [0350-0351]: An illustration of this example is provided in FIG. 26 (e.g., 2602), wherein the SIF field is not present and thus each sub-band within the active UL BWP can contain the type-1 ROs, and f_o refers to the configured frequency offset within the sub-band. Another illustration of this example is provided in FIG. 26 (e.g., 2603), wherein the SIF field is present and sub-band 0 and sub-band 1 within the active UL BWP can contain the type-1 ROs, and f_o refers to the configured frequency offset within the sub-band; in this case, sub-bands are within an UL BWP, corresponding to uplink resource bandwidths configured as sub-BWP within a first uplink BWP under its broadest reasonable interpretation. Sub-bands that are part of an UL BWP are interpreted as being equivalent to the claimed sub-BWPs within a first uplink BWP),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the uplink resource bandwidths of Cirik with the uplink resource bandwidths being configured as sub-BWPs of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of decreasing random access delay (see Li, par. [0269]).
However, the combination of Cirik in view of Li does not teach:
configuring the UE with an active resource bandwidth within an activated uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs
Alfarhan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
configuring the UE with an active resource bandwidth within an activated uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs (see Alfarhan, par. [0150]: A trigger signal 210 (e.g., a PRACH resource trigger signal) may provide a PRACH resource configuration, for example, as defined herein. A PRACH resource trigger signal 210 may indicate the validity of a set of pre-configured PRACH resources. For example, the PRACH resource trigger signal 210 may provide a subset of configurations (e.g. a resource allocation, preambles, and/or interlaces) for one or more upcoming PRACH resources, and see par. [0211]: the WTRU 102 may be configured to attempt to transmit or retransmit a preamble (or initiate another RA procedure) on a different sub-band or LBT channel compared to a previous attempt, for example if the preamble attempt counter is above a certain configured number. The WTRU 102 may report a problem to higher layers (e.g., notify the RRC and/or trigger RLF). For example, the WTRU 102 may trigger RLF after attempting a number of preamble transmission attempts (that failed the LBT) on a number of LBT sub-bands (e.g. all subbands in the active BWP or a subband on each BWP); in this case, a PRACH resource configuration is sent to the UE including a subband (i.e. active resource bandwidth) that is within an active BWP of a plurality of BWPs may be used for random access)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the configuring subbands of the combination of Cirik in view of Li with the configuring subbands within a BWP of Alfarhan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing robustness against failure to acquire a channel in one or more LBT sub-bands (see Alfarhan, par. [0168]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the initial resource bandwidth spans a portion of an associated BWP of the two or more BWPs (see Cirik, par. [0136], lines 5-10: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure. If a wireless device is configured with a secondary carrier on a primary cell, the wireless device may be configured with an initial BWP for random access procedure on a secondary carrier) that is compatible with half-duplex communications (see Cirik, par. [0210], lines 1-5: One UL BWP for each uplink carrier and one DL BWP may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in FDD systems configured with BA. One DL/UL BWP pair may be active at a time in an active serving cell, for example, in TDD systems).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method. Cirik further teaches:
wherein the transmitting comprises:
transmitting radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures the two or more BWPs, the two or more uplink resource bandwidths within the first uplink BWP of the uplink channel bandwidth, and the initial resource bandwidth within the first uplink BWP (see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0132], lines 1-3: A Bandwidth Part (BWP) may comprise a subset of a total cell bandwidth of a cell. A base station may configure a wireless device with one or more BWPs, and see Cirik, Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP, and see Cirik, par. [0136], lines 5-7: one or more higher layer parameters may indicate at least one initial UL BWP for a random access procedure; in this case, RRC signaling configures a DL and UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more bandwidth parts), BWPs for transmissions in an UL bandwidth (corresponding to two or more resource bandwidths within the first bandwidth part), and an initial UL BWP (corresponding to the initial resource bandwidth)).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Cirik in view of Li, and further in view of Alfarhan, teaches the method. Cirik further teaches:
wherein a medium access control (MAC) entity at the UE switches from the active resource bandwidth to the initial resource bandwidth (see Cirik, Fig. 31, items 3108 and 3116, par. [0540]: The wireless device may switch from the first downlink BWP to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch from the first uplink BWP to an initial uplink BWP, for example, based on one or more PRACH occasions not being configured, by a base station, for the first uplink BWP. The wireless device may perform the random access procedure via the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, and see par. [0544], lines 5-9: At step 3108, the wireless device may determine that the PRACH occasions are not configured for the first uplink BWP. At step 3116, the wireless device may switch to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch to an initial uplink BWP, and see par. [0213]: A MAC entity may perform a random access procedure (e.g., based on an initiation of the random access procedure) on an active DL BWP and the active UL BWP, for example, if PRACH resources are configured for the active UL BWP. A MAC entity may switch to an initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP, for example, if PRACH resources are not configured for an active UL BWP (e.g., based on initiation of a random access procedure)).
The combination of Cirik in view of Li does not teach, but Alfarhan teaches:
wherein switching from active resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP to the initial resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP (see Alfarhan, par. [0211]: the WTRU 102 may be configured to attempt to transmit or retransmit a preamble (or initiate another RA procedure) on a different sub-band or LBT channel compared to a previous attempt, for example if the preamble attempt counter is above a certain configured number. The WTRU 102 may report a problem to higher layers (e.g., notify the RRC and/or trigger RLF). For example, the WTRU 102 may trigger RLF after attempting a number of preamble transmission attempts (that failed the LBT) on a number of LBT sub-bands (e.g. all subbands in the active BWP or a subband on each BWP); in this case, switching between subbands in an active BWP for random access is supported).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the switching of the combination of Cirik in view of Li with the switching subbands within a BWP of Alfarhan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing robustness against failure to acquire a channel in one or more LBT sub-bands (see Alfarhan, par. [0168]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “switching sub-bands based on failing previous LBT attempts or an inactivity timer, as in Alfarhan, does not teach or suggest ‘switching, based at least in part on the active resource bandwidth having the absence of random access occasions and the initial resource bandwidth having the one or more random access occasions, from the active resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP to the initial resource bandwidth within the activated uplink BWP’, as recited in amended independent claim 1” (see Applicant’s remarks, pages 9-12).
In the response filed, it appears that applicant is addressing the prima facie case of obviousness [based on the combination of references] by attacking the references individually and/or by simply attacking a secondary reference, i.e. Alfarhan.
MPEP 2145 (IV) clearly sets forth: One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The fact that applicant is attacking the references individually and/or attacking the secondary reference only, can be evidenced in the response, e.g. remarks, pg. 9-12, where applicant completely disregards and/or avoids the teachings of Cirik reference, which explicitly discloses the first uplink BWP (corresponding to an active resource bandwidth) does not have PRACH occasions, and the device switches to an initial UL BWP for performing the random access procedure, corresponding to the initial UL BWP having random access occasions. Both UL BWPs may be configured for transmissions in an UL bandwidth (i.e. be within the first bandwidth part) in Cirik, Fig. 31, items 3108 and 3116, par. [0540]: The wireless device may switch from the first downlink BWP to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch from the first uplink BWP to an initial uplink BWP, for example, based on one or more PRACH occasions not being configured, by a base station, for the first uplink BWP. The wireless device may perform the random access procedure via the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, par. [0544], lines 5-9: At step 3108, the wireless device may determine that the PRACH occasions are not configured for the first uplink BWP. At step 3116, the wireless device may switch to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch to an initial uplink BWP, and Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP.
Examiner also points to Alfarhan in par. [0211]: the WTRU 102 may be configured to attempt to transmit or retransmit a preamble (or initiate another RA procedure) on a different sub-band or LBT channel compared to a previous attempt, for example if the preamble attempt counter is above a certain configured number. The WTRU 102 may report a problem to higher layers (e.g., notify the RRC and/or trigger RLF). For example, the WTRU 102 may trigger RLF after attempting a number of preamble transmission attempts (that failed the LBT) on a number of LBT sub-bands (e.g. all subbands in the active BWP or a subband on each BWP).
These sections teach further support for using multiple subbands (i.e. bandwidths) in an active BWP for random access. Taken in combination, the references teach the limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues “uplink and downlink BWPs, as in Cirik, does not teach or suggest ‘monitoring, based at least in part on the active resource bandwidth having the absence of random access occasions and the initial resource bandwidth having the one or more random access occasions, the one or more random access occasions of the initial resource bandwidth of the activated uplink BWP for a random access request from the UE,’ as recited in amended independent claim 14” (see Applicant’s remarks, pages 12-14).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Cirik in par. [0540]: The wireless device may switch from the first downlink BWP to an initial downlink BWP and/or switch from the first uplink BWP to an initial uplink BWP, for example, based on one or more PRACH occasions not being configured, by a base station, for the first uplink BWP. The wireless device may perform the random access procedure via the initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, par. [0545], lines 1-4: A base station may receive a random access preamble, from a wireless device, for a random access procedure via an uplink BWP. The uplink BWP may be indicated (e.g., identified) with an uplink BWP-specific index, and Fig. 10, par. [0134], lines 1-9: A wireless device, configured for operation in one or more BWPs of a cell, may be configured by one or more higher layers (e.g., RRC layer). The wireless device may be configured for a cell with: a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for reception (e.g., a DL BWP set) in a DL bandwidth by at least one parameter DL-BWP; and a set of one or more BWPs (e.g., at most four BWPs) for transmissions (e.g., UL BWP set) in an UL bandwidth by at least one parameter UL-BWP).
These sections teach the base station monitors channels for all uplink BWP, including those configured with PRACH occasions, and, based on an index, identifies a BWP with a random access preamble, corresponding to a random access request. The uplink BWP for the random access procedure is determined by switching from a first BWP which does not have PRACH occasions configured (i.e. an active resource bandwidth having the absence of random access occasions) to the initial BWP (i.e. the initial resource bandwidth having the one or more random access occasions).
Applicant argues “Alfarhan describes switching LBT channels or sub-bands for a preamble transmission based on failing previous attempts or an inactivity timer, which does not teach or suggest ‘configuring the UE with an active resource bandwidth within an activated uplink BWP of the two or more BWPs,’ as recited in amended independent claim 14” (see Applicant’s remarks, page 14).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to par. [0150]: A trigger signal 210 (e.g., a PRACH resource trigger signal) may provide a PRACH resource configuration, for example, as defined herein. A PRACH resource trigger signal 210 may indicate the validity of a set of pre-configured PRACH resources. For example, the PRACH resource trigger signal 210 may provide a subset of configurations (e.g. a resource allocation, preambles, and/or interlaces) for one or more upcoming PRACH resources, and see par. [0211]: the WTRU 102 may be configured to attempt to transmit or retransmit a preamble (or initiate another RA procedure) on a different sub-band or LBT channel compared to a previous attempt, for example if the preamble attempt counter is above a certain configured number. The WTRU 102 may report a problem to higher layers (e.g., notify the RRC and/or trigger RLF). For example, the WTRU 102 may trigger RLF after attempting a number of preamble transmission attempts (that failed the LBT) on a number of LBT sub-bands (e.g. all subbands in the active BWP or a subband on each BWP)
These sections teach a PRACH resource configuration is sent to the UE including a subband (i.e. active resource bandwidth) that is within an active BWP of a plurality of BWPs may be used for random access. The combination of references therefore teaches the limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US 2021/0251017) teaches a random access method and a terminal for setting active BWPs.
Xing et al. (US 2022/0225425) teaches a random access method and an apparatus for performing random access in bandwidth parts based on a parameter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419