DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-12, 16, 19, 34-36, 38, 41-43, and 59-68 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-12, 16, 19, 34-36, 38, and 41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed on 04/09/2025, 07/29/2025 and 08/25/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-43 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 108243733) in view of Ran et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200260675), Hochheiser et al. (U.S. Pat. 3696269), and Greatline et al. (U.S. Pat. 6266595).
In regard to claim 42, Ding et al. discloses a pollen collecting element configured to collect pollen grains for release to artificially pollinate an agricultural area (Abstract), the pollen collecting element comprising a power supply, an electrode, and the electrode having an outer surface, wherein said outer surface acts as a pollen collection surface (Figs. 1-2 and Translated Specification Page 2 line 24 – Page 4 line 39, where there is at least a power supply (supplying power to the electrode chuck and other electronics of the device), an electrode (electrostatic chuck 8), and an electrode having an outer surface (the electrostatic chuck 8 at least has an outer surface) which acts as a pollen collection surface (where pollen is attracted to when the electrostatic chuck 8 is running); wherein, said power supply supplies voltage to the electrode, said electrode is configured to generate electric fields when the high voltage is supplied, wherein the electric fields apply, when the pollen grains are present at least external to the outer surface, electrostatic forces on the pollen grains (Figs. 1-2 and Translated Specification Page 4 lines 4-39, where the power supply at least supplies voltage to the electrode 8 and where the electrode 8 is at least configured to generate electric fields, when the high voltage is supplied, and apply the electrostatic forces on the pollen grains via the generated electric fields), and said pollen grains at least external to the outer surface are attracted by the electrostatic forces to move toward the electrode until stopped by contact with the pollen collecting surface of the element, whereby the outer surface acting as the pollen collecting surface collects pollen (Figs. 1-2 and Translated Specification Page 4 lines 4-39, where the pollen grains at least external to the outer surface are attracted to the pollen collection surface of the element (where pollen is attracted to when the electrostatic chuck 8 is running), by the electrostatic forces, and move toward the electrode 8 until stopped by contact with the pollen collection surface of the element (the outer surface of electrode 8 at least collects the pollen grains via the generated electric fields)). Ding et al. is silent on a high voltage power supply, said high voltage power supply supplies high voltage to the electrode; wherein the pollen collecting element exposes the pollen collection surface on an external portion of a pollen management system; one or more navigation sensors configured to provide data on a current location of the pollen collecting element. Ran et al. discloses a pollination element configured to release pollen grains to artificially pollinate an agricultural area (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where there is a pollination element 7 at least configured to release pollen grains to artificially pollinate an agricultural area), the pollination element comprising: a high voltage power supply, an electrode, and a surface (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where the pollination element 7 at least has a high voltage power supply 8, an electrode 18, and a surface 13); wherein, said high voltage power supply supplies high voltage to the electrode, and wherein the pollination element exposes the surface on an external portion of a pollen management system (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where said high voltage power supply 8 supplies high voltage to the electrode 18 and where the pollination element 7 at least exposes the surface 13 on an external portion of the pollen management system); one or more navigation sensors configured to provide data on a current location of the pollen collecting element (Paragraph [0074], where there is at least a navigation sensor configured to provide data on a current location (“a geographic position of the system is identified by means of a GPS sensor”)). Ding et al. and Ran et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pollination devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ding et al. such that a high voltage power supply, said high voltage power supply supplies high voltage to the electrode; wherein the pollen collecting element exposes the pollen collection surface on an external portion of a pollen management system; one or more navigation sensors configured to provide data on a current location of the pollen collecting element in view of Ran et al., since the pollen collection surface of Ding et al. could be positioned as shown with the electrode of Ran et al. The motivation would have been to use a power source to supply power to the electrode and thereby generate an electric field to attract pollen. Additionally, placing the pollen collection surface on an external portion of the pollen management system would allow for relatively easier access to and interaction with the external environment which contains the pollen grains. Lastly, the system could be used to identify the location where pollen is collected for data analysis, as desired by the user.
Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al. is silent on a covering of the electrode having an inner surface facing toward the electrode, and an outer surface facing away from the electrode. Hochheiser et al. discloses a covering of the electrode having an inner surface facing toward the electrode, and an outer surface facing away from the electrode (Fig. 1 and Column 2 lines 33-54, where there is a covering 12 of the electrode 14 at least having an inner surface facing toward the electrode 14, and an outer surface facing away from the electrode 14). Ding et al. and Hochheiser et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al.such that a covering of the electrode having an inner surface facing toward the electrode, and an outer surface facing away from the electrode in view of Hochheiser et al., since the electrode of Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al. could use the covering for an electrode of Hochheiser et al. The motivation would have been to cover the electrode with a dielectric material, in order to reduce wear and direct contact with outside materials, thereby improving efficiency and durability of the electrode.
Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al. and Hochheiser et al. is silent on a user interface is configured to guide an operator of the pollen collecting element in accordance with the current location of the pollen collecting element. Greatline et al. discloses a user interface is configured to guide an operator in accordance with the current location of the devices (Column 8 lines 1-62, where there is a user interface 36 configured to guide an operator in accordance with the current location of the devices (“the GPS receiver and stores this information in addressable locations so that the computing means 50 of the system controller 30 ”… “user interface allows the operator to monitor the operation of the navigation system controller as well as to provide instructions to the controller”)). Ding et al. and Greatline et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include agricultural devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al. and Hochheiser et al. such that a user interface is configured to guide an operator of the pollen collecting element in accordance with the current location of the pollen collecting element in view of Greatline et al., since the user interface of Greatline et al. could be used with the device of Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al. and Hochheiser et al. The motivation would have been to allow the user to see easily visualize and see the location of the device, on a user interface map, for data gathering and analysis.
In regard to claim 43, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., and Greatline et al. discloses the pollen collecting element of claim 42, further comprising at least one of an internal control unit, a vibration engine, a blower, or a suction unit (Ding et al., Figs. 1-2 and Translated Specification Page 4 lines 4-39, where the pollen collecting element at least has an internal control unit (for controlling electrical components of motor and fan) and a blower 6 (hot air blower)).
In regard to claim 59, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., and Greatline et al. discloses the pollen collecting element of claim 42, wherein the pollen collection surface comprises a flat surface region (Ding et al., Figs. 1-2 and Translated Specification Page 4 lines 4-39, where there is a pollen collection surface (pollen collecting plates 11) that at least has a flat surface region).
Claims 60-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 108243733) in view of Ran et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200260675), Hochheiser et al. (U.S. Pat. 3696269), and Greatline et al. (U.S. Pat. 6266595) as applied to claim 42, and further in view of Caldeira et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016035366).
In regard to claim 60, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., and Greatline et al. discloses the pollen collecting element of claim 42, together with the pollen management system operating as a pollination module, and further comprising: a pollen application element of the pollination module (Ran et al., Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where there is a pollen application element 7), configured to release the pollen (Ran et al., Paragraphs [0059-0060] and [0074]); a data acquisition module operably engaged with the pollination module, wherein said data acquisition module comprises at least one sensor, the at least one sensor including said one or more navigation sensors (Ran et al., Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060] and [0074], where there is a data acquisition module (“Unit 21 is configured for sensing meteorological variables such as wind velocity and direction, air temperature, relative humidity and luminance. Unit 22 is configured for identifying pollination targets and relative position of a pollination target to a pollinator and building a 3D model of a pollination target”) which at least operably engages with the pollination module and where the data acquisition module 23 at least has sensors 21/22 and “GPS sensor”); a server in communication with the pollination module, and the data acquisition module, wherein the server is configured to process data acquired by the data acquisition module (Ran et al., Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where there is a server 23 in communication with the pollination module and the data acquisition module 21/22 and where the server 23 is at least configured to process data acquired by the data acquisition module 21/22); an operation module comprising a controller in communication with the server and the pollination module (Ran et al., Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where there is an operation module with a controller (“said control unit is configured for controlling”) in communication with the server 23 and the pollination module), wherein said controller is configured to provide instructions to the pollination module (Ran et al., Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where the controller is at least configured to provide instructions to the pollination module (“said control unit is configured for controlling at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of a flow velocity of said pollen grains within said at least one electrostatic pollinator, a voltage on an electrode within said electrostatic pollinator, a dispensable dose of said pollen grains, a distance between said electrostatic pollinator and said cultivated trees or shrubs, a direction of a flow of said pollen grains, a position of said system relative to said cultivated trees or shrubs”)). Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al. and Hochheiser et al. is silent on a user interface. Caldeira et al. discloses a user interface (Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0048], where there is at least a user interface 370) and a server (Figs. 3 and 5 and Paragraphs [0069-0070], where there is a server 310 and 510) to provide commands for operating the device. Ding et al. and Caldeira et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pollination devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al. and Hochheiser et al. such that there is a user interface and a server to provide commands for operating the device in view of Caldeira et al. The motivation would have been to allow the user to interface with the control systems and data systems of the device, in order to provide input for the operating processes of the device.
In regard to claim 61, Din Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element and pollen management system of claim 60, wherein the data acquisition module is configured to transmit the acquired data to the server (Ran et al., Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where the data acquisition module 21/22 is configured to transmit the acquired data to the server 23); and wherein the instructions provided the to the pollination module by the controller are based on the data processed by the server (Ran et al., Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0059-0060], where the instructions provided the to the pollination module by the controller (“control unit”) are at least based on the data processed by the server 23).
In regard to claim 62, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element and pollen management system of claim 60, wherein the at least one sensor is selected from the group consisting of IR camera, temperature sensor, humidity sensor, LIDAR, Sound recorder, GNSS, 4D imaging sensor, hyperspectral imaging, IMU, and a light sensor (Ran et al., Paragraph [0059], where there is at least a temperature sensor 21; Caldeira et al., Paragraph [0027], where there is at least a light sensor 140).
In regard to claim 63, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element and pollen management system of claim 60, wherein the server is configured to receive the acquired data, to store the acquired data, to generate a pollination heat map based on the acquired data (Caldeira et al., Paragraphs [0051-0054 and 0068-0070], where the server 310/510 is configured to receive the acquired data, to store the acquired data, and at least generate a pollination heat map (“pollination plan” seems equivalent to the pollination heat map detailed in the Applicant’s Specification dated 10/06/2022) based on the acquired data).
In regard to claim 64, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element and pollen management system of claim 63, wherein the server is configured to transmit the pollination heat map to the operation module (Caldeira et al., Paragraphs [0068-0070], where the server 310/510 is at least configured to transmit the pollination heat map (“pollination plan”) to the operation module).
In regard to claim 65, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element and pollen management system of claim 60, wherein the data are selected from location data (GPS), IMU data, visual data, and climate related data (Caldeira et al., Paragraphs [0036-0037, 0047, and 0055], where the data is at least selected from IMU data (inertial navigation), visual data (camera), and climate related data (temperature and sunlight); Ran et al., Paragraph [0074], where the data is selected at least from a GPS sensor to determine geographic position); and wherein the data are real-time data selected from the data acquired by the at least one sensor of the data acquisition module (Ran et al., Paragraphs [0059 and 0073], where the data is at least real-time data selected from the data acquired by the at least one sensor 22 (“identifying pollination targets and relative position of a pollination target to a pollinator”)).
In regard to claim 66, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element and pollen management system of claim 60, wherein the server is further configured to control at least one of: an area to be pollinated, pollination time, frequency of pollination episodes, number of pollination episodes, and duration of each pollination episode (Caldeira et al., Paragraphs [0068-0070], where the server 310/510 is at least configured to control an area to be pollinated and pollination time (“pollination plan”)).
In regard to claim 67, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element and pollen management system of claim 60, wherein the agricultural area is a field of a crop or an orchard (Ran et al., Paragraph [0065], where the agricultural area is an orchard).
In regard to claim 68, Ding et al. as modified by Ran et al., Hochheiser et al., Greatline et al. and Caldeira et al. discloses the pollen collecting element of claim 42, wherein the electrode extends along the pollen collecting surface (Ding et al., Fig. 1, where the electrode 8 at least extends along the pollen collecting surface; Ran et al., Figs. 2-3, where the electrode 18 at least extends along the external surface).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (filed 07/27/2026) with respect to the rejection of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Ding et al. (CN 108243733) in view of Ran et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200260675), Hochheiser et al. (U.S. Pat. 3696269), and Greatline et al. (U.S. Pat. 6266595) disclose the applicant’s claim 42, as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above.
Specifically, Greatline et al. teaches a user interface is configured to guide an operator in accordance with the current location of the devices in Column 8 lines 1-62, where there is a user interface 36 configured to guide an operator in accordance with the current location of the devices (“the GPS receiver and stores this information in addressable locations so that the computing means 50 of the system controller 30 ”… “user interface allows the operator to monitor the operation of the navigation system controller as well as to provide instructions to the controller”). Additionally, Ran et al. etaches one or more navigation sensors configured to provide data on a current location of the pollen collecting element in Paragraph [0074], where there is at least a navigation sensor configured to provide data on a current location (“a geographic position of the system is identified by means of a GPS sensor”).
As previously stated, regarding the argument that the electrode of Ding et al. cannot be placed at an area considered to be “an external portion” of the system, the office maintains that there is nothing preventing such a modification of structure. Doing so would not destroy the ability of the device to function. The intended function of Ding et al. is simply to collect pollen. This function is not prevented by the combination of Ding et al. (CN 108243733) with Ran et al. The modifying references are brought in to solely teach the structures which are mapped in the rejections above. The inclusion of these structures do not destroy the function of Ding et al. The rejections are therefore deemed proper and maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of pollination devices and electrodes.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647