DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 11/11/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 08/13/2025. Claims 1, 7, 12 and 13 have been amended. Claims 2-4, 6, 8-10 and 14-15 are cancelled. Claim 16 is newly added. Claims 1, 5, 7, 11-13 and 16 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11-13 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Main Argument:
Therefore, Matsumura fails to disclose "wherein, based on ... (iii) spatial relation information regarding a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted," as recited in the present claims.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the nature of amendments of the independent claims, the Office no longer relies on Matsumura and instead introduces Zarifi (US 2022/0360378), “Methods and Apparatuses for Configuration of Sounding Reference Signal for Serving and Neighboring Cell Measurements”. Zarifi suggests or discloses “wherein, based on ... (iii) spatial relation information regarding a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted," in ¶0021-¶0022 and ¶0066 along with Figs. 5-10, as well as (ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS in ¶0141.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0030527), Kim hereinafter, and further in view of Zarifi (US 2022/0360378), Zarifi hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0011 - a method for a terminal);
receiving configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS); (0011 - receiving information about a resource of a sounding reference signal (SRS) from a base station);
and transmitting the SRS based on the configuration information, (¶0011 - determining a beam to be used for SRS transmission based on the SRS resource information… and transmitting the SRS at the determined transmission power over the determined beam);
wherein transmission power of the SRS is obtained based on a path-loss reference, and (Fig. 8 & ¶0012 - the transmission power may be determined in consideration of at least one of a pathloss associated with the determined beam);
Yet, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (iii) spatial relation information regarding a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Zarifi teaches wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (Fig. 5-10 & ¶0013 - These examples may enable the SRS to be used for mobility purposes, positioning purposes, or any other application that may require the ED to transmit SRS to a cell (including a serving cell or a non-serving cell));
(ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (¶0141 - In such a case, and also in the case that PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS is not configured to the ED, it would be desirable to provide a fallback procedure, to enable the ED to proceed with transmission of the SRS to the non-serving cell, even in the absence of a detected PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS or in the absence of a configured PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS);
(iii) spatial relation information regarding a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, (¶0017 - In any of the examples, the DL RS may be … a DL positioning reference signal (PRS). ¶0066 - For enabling UL beam management/alignment towards a non-serving cell, there should be configuration of a spatial relation between a reference DL RS from a non-serving cell and the target SRS. The reference DL RS can be in the form of a … DL-PRS, for example);
the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted (¶0021 - receiving, in a second communication from a serving cell for the ED via radio resource control (RRC), an identifier (ID) of the DL RS and a cell ID of a cell that originates the DL RS, wherein the configuration information received in the first communication also includes the ID of the DL RS and the cell ID; and transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the cell identified by the cell ID, according to path loss (PL) information or spatial domain transmission filter (TF) information associated with the DL RS). Please also see ¶0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zarifi to the teaching of Kim. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications. In various examples, the present disclosure is related to methods and apparatuses for configuration of sounding reference signal power (¶0002, Karifi).
Re. Claim 7, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver; and (Fig. 11 & ¶0157 – transceiver 1110);
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, (Fig. 11 & ¶0157 – a controller);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: (Fig. 11);
receive configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS); (Fig. 2-3 & 0011 - receiving information about a resource of a sounding reference signal (SRS) from a base station);
and transmit the SRS based on the configuration information, (¶0011 - determining a beam to be used for SRS transmission based on the SRS resource information… and transmitting the SRS at the determined transmission power over the determined beam);
wherein transmission power of the SRS is obtained based on a path-loss reference, and (Fig. 8 & ¶0012 - the transmission power may be determined in consideration of at least one of a pathloss associated with the determined beam);
Yet, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (iii) spatial relation information for a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Zarifi explicitly teaches wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (Fig. 5-10 & ¶0013 - These examples may enable the SRS to be used for mobility purposes, positioning purposes, or any other application that may require the ED to transmit SRS to a cell (including a serving cell or a non-serving cell));
(ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (¶0141 - In such a case, and also in the case that PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS is not configured to the ED, it would be desirable to provide a fallback procedure, to enable the ED to proceed with transmission of the SRS to the non-serving cell, even in the absence of a detected PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS or in the absence of a configured PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS);
(iii) spatial relation information for a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, (¶0017 - In any of the examples, the DL RS may be … a DL positioning reference signal (PRS). ¶0066 - For enabling UL beam management/alignment towards a non-serving cell, there should be configuration of a spatial relation between a reference DL RS from a non-serving cell and the target SRS. The reference DL RS can be in the form of a … DL-PRS, for example);
the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted (¶0021 - receiving, in a second communication from a serving cell for the ED via radio resource control (RRC), an identifier (ID) of the DL RS and a cell ID of a cell that originates the DL RS, wherein the configuration information received in the first communication also includes the ID of the DL RS and the cell ID; and transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the cell identified by the cell ID, according to path loss (PL) information or spatial domain transmission filter (TF) information associated with the DL RS). Please also see ¶0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zarifi to the teaching of Kim. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications. In various examples, the present disclosure is related to methods and apparatuses for configuration of sounding reference signal power (¶0002, Karifi).
Re. Claim 11, Kim and Zarifi teach Claim 7.
Yet, Kim does not explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to communicate with at least one of a mobile terminal, a network, and an autonomous driving vehicle other than a vehicle including the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Zarifi explicitly teaches the at least one processor is configured to communicate with at least one of a mobile terminal, a network, and an autonomous driving vehicle other than a vehicle including the UE (Fig. 1, 2B (processing unit 250) & ¶0085 - Any ED 110 may be alternatively or additionally configured to interface, access, or communicate with any other BS 170, the internet 150, the core network 130, the PSTN 140, the other networks 160, or any combination of the preceding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zarifi to the teaching of Kim. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications. In various examples, the present disclosure is related to methods and apparatuses for configuration of sounding reference signal power (¶0002, Karifi).
Re. Claim 12, Kim teaches a method performed by a base station (BS), the method comprising: transmitting configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS); (Fig. 2-3 & 0015 - transmitting information about a resource of a sounding reference signal (SRS) to a terminal);
and receiving the SRS in response to the configuration information, (¶0015 - determining a beam to be used for SRS reception from the terminal; and receiving the SRS over the determined beam);
wherein transmission power of the SRS is based on path-loss reference, and (Fig. 8 & ¶0012 - the transmission power may be determined in consideration of at least one of a pathloss associated with the determined beam);
Yet, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (iii) spatial relation information for a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Zarifi explicitly teaches wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (Fig. 5-10 & ¶0013 - These examples may enable the SRS to be used for mobility purposes, positioning purposes, or any other application that may require the ED to transmit SRS to a cell (including a serving cell or a non-serving cell));
(ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (¶0141 - In such a case, and also in the case that PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS is not configured to the ED, it would be desirable to provide a fallback procedure, to enable the ED to proceed with transmission of the SRS to the non-serving cell, even in the absence of a detected PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS or in the absence of a configured PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS);
(iii) spatial relation information for a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, (¶0017 - In any of the examples, the DL RS may be … a DL positioning reference signal (PRS). ¶0066 - For enabling UL beam management/alignment towards a non-serving cell, there should be configuration of a spatial relation between a reference DL RS from a non-serving cell and the target SRS. The reference DL RS can be in the form of a … DL-PRS, for example);
the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted (¶0021 - receiving, in a second communication from a serving cell for the ED via radio resource control (RRC), an identifier (ID) of the DL RS and a cell ID of a cell that originates the DL RS, wherein the configuration information received in the first communication also includes the ID of the DL RS and the cell ID; and transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the cell identified by the cell ID, according to path loss (PL) information or spatial domain transmission filter (TF) information associated with the DL RS). Please also see ¶0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zarifi to the teaching of Kim. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications. In various examples, the present disclosure is related to methods and apparatuses for configuration of sounding reference signal power (¶0002, Karifi).
Re. Claim 13, Kim teaches a base station (BS) comprising:
a transceiver; (Fig. 12 & ¶0162 – transceiver 1210);
and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver, (Fig. 12 & ¶0162 – controller 1220);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: (Fig. 12);
transmit configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS); (Fig. 2-3 & 0015 - transmitting information about a resource of a sounding reference signal (SRS) to a terminal);
and receive the SRS in response to the configuration information, (¶0015 - determining a beam to be used for SRS reception from the terminal; and receiving the SRS over the determined beam);
wherein transmission power of the SRS is based on path-loss reference, (Fig. 8 & ¶0012 - the transmission power may be determined in consideration of at least one of a pathloss associated with the determined beam);
Yet, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (iii) spatial relation information for a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Zarifi explicitly teaches wherein, based on (i) the SRS being for positioning, (Fig. 5-10 & ¶0013 - These examples may enable the SRS to be used for mobility purposes, positioning purposes, or any other application that may require the ED to transmit SRS to a cell (including a serving cell or a non-serving cell));
(ii) a path-loss reference RS not being configured for the SRS, and (¶0141 - In such a case, and also in the case that PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS is not configured to the ED, it would be desirable to provide a fallback procedure, to enable the ED to proceed with transmission of the SRS to the non-serving cell, even in the absence of a detected PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS or in the absence of a configured PL CSI-RS, TF CSI-RS, PL PRS or TF PRS);
(iii) spatial relation information for a spatial relation between a downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) and the SRS being configured, (¶0017 - In any of the examples, the DL RS may be … a DL positioning reference signal (PRS). ¶0066 - For enabling UL beam management/alignment towards a non-serving cell, there should be configuration of a spatial relation between a reference DL RS from a non-serving cell and the target SRS. The reference DL RS can be in the form of a … DL-PRS, for example);
the path-loss reference is obtained based on at least one of a resource of the DL PRS and a cell identifier of a cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted (¶0021 - receiving, in a second communication from a serving cell for the ED via radio resource control (RRC), an identifier (ID) of the DL RS and a cell ID of a cell that originates the DL RS, wherein the configuration information received in the first communication also includes the ID of the DL RS and the cell ID; and transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the cell identified by the cell ID, according to path loss (PL) information or spatial domain transmission filter (TF) information associated with the DL RS). Please also see ¶0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zarifi to the teaching of Kim. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications. In various examples, the present disclosure is related to methods and apparatuses for configuration of sounding reference signal power (¶0002, Karifi).
Re. Claim 16, Kim and Zarifi teach Claim 1.
Yet, Kim does not explicitly teach the cell identifier includes a physical cell identifier (PCID) of the cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Zarifi explicitly teaches the cell identifier includes a physical cell identifier (PCID) of the cell in which the DL PRS is transmitted (Fig. 5-10 & ¶0074 - In the embodiment of the present disclosure, some parameters are required to uniquely identify the spatialRelationInfo RS … This, depending on the DL RS type (SSB, CSI-RS, or DL PRS), includes … PCID … In such a case, to uniquely identify the spatialRelationInfo RS, it is required to indicate to the UE the DL RS resource ID and the PCID of the corresponding serving or neighboring cell. ¶0116 - The configuration information may include a field indicating the physical cell ID (PCID) of the cell (e.g., non-serving cell) that will send the PL PRS or TF PRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zarifi to the teaching of Kim. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communications. In various examples, the present disclosure is related to methods and apparatuses for configuration of sounding reference signal power (¶0002, Karifi).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Zarifi, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0400505), Matsumura hereinafter.
Re. Claim 5, Kim and Zarifi teach Claim 1.
Yet, Kim and Zarifi do not explicitly teach based on the spatial relation information being configured for at least one SRS resource that is some of SRS resources included in a SRS resource set, the path-loss reference is used for all of the SRS resources.
However, in the analogous art, Matsumura explicitly teaches based on the spatial relation information being configured for at least one SRS resource that is some of SRS resources included in a SRS resource set, the path-loss reference is used for all of the SRS resources (¶0084 - the UE may receive at least one of information relating to one or more SRS resource sets… and information relating to one or more SRS resources… ¶0289 - In this case, the UE may apply the default spatial relation to all of the SRS resources in the SRS resource set. ¶0313 - The default spatial relation may be a pathloss reference RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Matsumura to the teachings of Kim and Zarifi. The motivation would be because the invention provides a terminal and a radio communication method capable of appropriately determining QCL parameters for the multi-panel/TRP (¶0008, Matsumura).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0385415) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-8 & ¶0001-¶0354.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465