DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
The examiner would like to note that the formula taught by the applicant may be present in the prior art but taught in a different mathematical or algebraic style. The examiner notes that these differences do not equate to the art “not teaching” the limitations of the present invention rather they are just taught using different mathematical methods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US20220359910A1 with foreign priority extending to 12/11/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses a solid material having a lithium, metal, phosphorous, sulfur, and halogen elements [0007-0012, Nakayama]. Nakayama further discloses a general formula LiaMbPScXd: wherein 3.0≤a≤6.5 (most preferably 4.0≤a≤6.0), 0.001≤b≤3.0 (most preferably 0.08≤b≤0.80), 3.5≤c≤5.5 (most preferably 4.2≤c≤5.0), 0.7≤d≤2.8 (most preferably 1.1≤a≤1.8) [0043-0049, Nakayama]. Where M is a metal with 1, 2, or 3 valence electrons and X is a halogen that is F, Cl, Br, and/or I [0025, 0027, Nakayama].
Nakayama provides teachings further narrowing down the scope of the molar ratios of the individual elements. Specifically, phosphorous is most preferably 7.9-8.2 mol% based on the total molar amount of constituent elements of sulfide solid electrolytes [0031, Nakayama]. The ratio of lithium to phosphorous is most preferably 4.6-5.5 [0032, Nakayama]. The ratio of sulfur to phosphorous is 4.3-4.6 [0033, Nakayama]. The ratio of halogen to phosphorous is 1.4-1.8 [0034, Nakayama].
Nakayama discloses that the metal element may be a divalent metal such as magnesium (Mg) and calcium (Ca) [0028, Nakayama].
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.", see MPEP 2131.03.
Nakayama discloses explicit examples such as Li5.3M0.1PS4.4X1.7, M = Mg or Ca and X = Br and Cl [example 4 and 5, Nakayama]. This satisfies the applicant’s general formula when M = Mg or Ca then m = 2, y = 0.1, x = 0.7, n = 0.1, and a/c = 17
Li(6+2*0.1-0.7-2*0.1)M0.1PS(5+0.1-0.7)X(1+0.7) = Li(5.3)M0.1PS(4.4)X(1.7)
However, Nakayama is explicitly silent to 1) 0<n≤0.05 and 2) for the molar ratio X/M = a/c, the following condition is satisfied: 15.3 ≤ a/c ≤15.55.
However, prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that the broader teachings of Nakayama include variations of the disclosed examples.
For instance, Nakayama discloses explicit examples such as Li5.3M0.1PS4.4X1.7, M = Mg or Ca and X = Br and Cl [example 4 and 5, Nakayama]. One would appreciate that similar variations of this formula such as (A) Li5.18M0.11PS4.35X1.7 or (B) Li5.35M0.1PS4.5X1.55
The above equation(s) satisfies all of Nakayama’s teachings for constructing a solid electrolyte material. Such as the molar ratio of phosphorous to total molar amount of the constituent elements of the electrolytes was 7.9-8.2 mol% ((A) 8.1 mol%; (B) 8.0 mol%) [0031, Nakayama], the ratio of lithium to phosphorous being between 4.6-5.5 ((A) Li/P = 5.18; (B) Li/P = 5.35) [0032, Nakayama], the ratio of sulfur to phosphorous being 4.3-4.6 ((A) S/P = 4.35; (B) S/P = 4.5)[0033, Nakayama], the ratio of halogen to phosphorous being 1.4-1.8 ((A) X/P = 1.7; (B) X/P = 1.55) [0034, Nakayama], the content of metal element to phosphorous being 0.08-0.65 ((A) M/P = 0.11; (B) M/P = 0.1) [0035, Nakayama]. Satisfying these ratios are known to A) improve lithium ion conductivity and B) suppress the generation of sulfide gas [0031-0035, Nakayama].
Additionally, the above formula’s have an:
x = 0.7 (A) and 0.55 (B)
y = 0.11 (A) and 0.10 (B)
n = 0.05 (A) (B)
m = 2 (A) (B)
X/M = a/c = 15.45 (A) and 15.55 (B)
molar ratio X/M = a/c of 15.45 (A) and 15.55 (B)
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.", see MPEP 2131.03.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nakayama such that the solid material was (A) Li5.18M0.11PS4.35X1.7 or (B) Li5.35M0.1PS4.5X1.55 where M = Mg or Ca and X = Br and Cl. Both of these materials have structures which fall within a known range for producing solid materials with A) improve lithium ion conductivity and B) suppress the generation of sulfide gas [0031-0035, Nakayama].
In regards to claim 2, modified Nakayama teaches where M is Mg or Ca and y = 0.1 [example 4 and 5, Nakayama].
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.", see MPEP 2131.03.
In regards to claim 3, modified Nakayama discloses that M may be Ca and X may be Cl [0025, 0028, Nakayama].
In regards to claim 6, modified Nakayama discloses a molar ratio of X/P being 1.4-1.8 which overlaps with the applicant’s claimed range of 1.45-1.6 [0034, Nakayama]. Furthermore Nakayama discloses the molar ratio of M/P = 0.08-0.65 which overlaps with the applicant’s claimed range of 0.01-0.15[0035, Nakayama]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05).
In regards to claim 12 and 13, modified Nakayama discloses an electrochemical cell comprising a solid material wherein the solid material is a solid electrolyte (“separator”) between the positive and negative electrode [0014-0017, Nakayama].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Nakayama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie (CN110931846A).
In regards to claim 5, modified Nakayama discloses the solid material, wherein X is Cl [0025, table 2, Nakayama].
However, Nakayama is silent to the metal being Al or Ga.
However, Xie discloses a solid electrolyte with a general formula Li6–nxMxPS5Br wherein M is preferably Al [0007-0010, Xie].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nakayama such that the metal element was Al. The presence of aluminum in solid materials/electrolyte has been shown to have produce materials with higher electrolyte conductivity [0007, 0024, Xi].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for details.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Xie and Aihara in claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments in regards to Nakayama in claim 1 have been considered but are found to not be persuasive. Upon further consideration the teachings of Nakayama overlap with the limitations featured in the previous claim 7. See rejection of claim 1 above for further details.
No other arguments were presented, the examiner maintains the rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miyashita (US20170222257A1) and Miyashita (US20170352916A1) each teach of a “n value” for sulfur. Or rather they teach that a variation in the halide concentration may be different than the variation in sulfur and lithium concentration. In the present invention this is seen as an increase in an “x” value for the halide while sulfur and lithium are changed by “n-x”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724