DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 10/15/2026. Claims 17, 22-23, and 33 are amended, claim 34-35 are new, and claims 17-19, 22-23, 25-27, 29-35 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
The claims have been amended to recite “the first component is a first subpart of a micromechanical spring element, the second component is a second subpart of the micromechanical spring element”. The Specifications provides en haec verba support for the structure in [0030]: ”the first component 10a represents a first part, in particular a first subpart, and the second component 10b represents a second part, in particular a second subpart, of a first micromechanical spring element 7a, which is disposed on a common carrier substrate 16a of the micromirror arrangement 8a by means of a first mount 4a.” Applicant depicts subparts of micromechanical springs in Fig. 1A-1B providing an unclear definition of the corresponding structure. In Fig. 1A, the subpart 10a and the subpart 10b are shown as distinct elements with no connection therebetween. Dashed lines in the drawings depict the underlying structures of the subparts 10a and 10b and the drawings show there is discontinuity under a central region of the mirror. In Fig. 1B, the subparts 10a and 10b are shown in “sectional view” as substantially continuous though with a line that separates components near the mount 4a shown as regions with different hatching patterns. The depiction in Fig. 1B is inconsistent with the depiction in Fig. 1A as there is no cross-sectional view of Fig. 1A that would have continuity near the mount 4a. The drawings in combination with [0030] do not provide for a single, clear interpretation of the claimed “subpart of a micromechanical spring element”. A person having ordinary skill in the art would not understand the Specifications (and claim) to limit the invention to the first and second components being portions of a continuous, integrally formed, single-material spring element. While the depiction in Fig. 1B appears to show components as portions of a continuous spring element, an artisan would not understand the portions to be integrally formed or of a single material. An artisan would not understand Fig. 1B to depict components 10a and 10b as flexing as spring portions in unison as there is no further description of mounting and physical contact with the system surrounding the spring elements. An artisan would understand the depiction in Fig. 1A to show that components 10a and 10b appear as components of a system and thus subparts of a spring element would be understood as different elements of a spring system. For the purpose of examination herein, the phrase “subpart of a spring element” will not be understood to require continuity of the subparts, nor integral forming, nor a sameness of material or functionality. The separate y-hinges in Keyworth Fig. 17 deform along a same axis in a same spring system for permitting rotation relative to a y-axis. Therefore the separate y-hinges are subparts of a spring element, as claimed, despite being discontinuous in the central region beneath the mirrors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 17-19, 22-23, 25, 27, 29, and 31-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US Pat. No. 8,208,192 to Keyworth et al. (hereinafter Keyworth) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Pat. No. 8,208,192 to Keyworth et al. (hereinafter Keyworth).
Regarding claims 17 and 33, Keyworth discloses a micromirror arrangement (Fig. 17) and projection apparatus (Fig. 28A; col. 12), comprising: at least a first micromirror (top unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17), a second micromirror (middle unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17), and a third micromirror (lower unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17); wherein the second micromirror includes a first component (top unlabeled hinge of middle mirror, Fig. 17) and a second component (bottom unlabeled hinge of middle mirror, Fig. 17), the first and second components being first and second functional components (hinged, Fig. 17; col. 10, ll. 11-20), the first component being disposed such that, in plan view, the first component overlaps a first mirror surface of the first micromirror (Fig. 17), and the second component is disposed such that, in plan view, the second component overlaps a third mirror surface of the third micromirror (Fig. 17), wherein the first micromirror further includes at least one third component (hinge 512, Fig. 17), the third component being a third functional component (hinge 512, Fig. 17), wherein the third component is disposed such that, in plan view, the third component overlaps a second mirror surface of the second micromirror (hinge 512 overlaps middle unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17), a first main extension plane, in plan view, of the first component (y-z plane, annotated Fig. 17 below), and a third main extension plane, in plan view, of the third component extend substantially parallel to one another (y-z plane, annotated Fig. 17 below), side by side (Figs. 17), wherein there is no overlapping of the first component (top unlabeled hinge of middle mirror, Fig. 17) and the third component (hinge 512, Fig. 17) in plan view (Fig. 17), the first component is a first subpart of a micromechanical spring element the second component is a second subpart of the micromechanical spring element (frame including y-hinges include y-hinges as subparts, Fig. 17), and a first longitudinal axis of the first subpart is
colinear with a second longitudinal axis of the second subpart (Fig. 17).
The below drawing is meant to illuminate that which is understood to be the frame including y-hinges and overall matching the micromechanical spring element. The three-dimensional frame and method of manufacturing is depicted in connection with Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2.
As noted in the Claim Interpretation section above, there are multiple interpretations of the “subpart of the micromechanical spring element”. The above rejection is based on the interpretation that the disparate y-hinges integrated via the depicted from supporting the mirror surface. Under another interpretation, the reading of “subpart of the micromechanical spring element” requires a sameness of the structure that excludes subparts connected via a portion of the spring that does not function as a spring. This excludes the above reliance on Keyworth as the Fig. 17 embodiment alone does not teach that the y-hinges are a same component as the frame connecting the structure therebetween. The claimed invention would nonetheless be obvious in view of manufacturing steps and teachings from other embodiments of Keyworth.
In Fig. 1A-1B, Kayworth discloses that an upper frame layer 12 itself includes multiple hinges supporting the mirror during actuation (col. 3, ln. 53-col. 6, ln. 61).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to integrate a spring element with subparts as taught by Keyworth. The motivation would have been to simplify manufacturing with a step of simultaneously providing a support frame and hinges (Figs. 1A-1B, 17).
Regarding claim 18, Keyworth discloses the at least first, second, and third micromirror are arranged as an array (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 19, Keyworth discloses the second micromirror is disposed between the first and the third micromirror (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 22, Keyworth discloses the first and the third component have cross-sections that differ from one another (hinge 512 and top unlabeled hinge of unlabeled middle rectangular mirror are mirrored and thus different in cross-section along hinge bends; Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 23, Keyworth discloses the first and the third component have cross-sections that are the same (hinge 512 and top unlabeled hinge of unlabeled middle rectangular mirror are mirrored and thus the same in cross-section at a mid-line of hinges; Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 25, Keyworth discloses the first, second, and third micromirror are disposed along the common main extension plane (“top plane”, Abstract & Claim 1; Fig. 17) offset from a main extension plane (mid plane of frame, Abstract & Claim 1; Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 27, Keyworth discloses components of the first, second, and third micromirrors are made at least in part of silicon (col. 12, ll. 22-34).
Regarding claim 29, Keyworth discloses components of the micromirrors are at least parts of a vertical comb drive (hinges of comb drive are part of a comb drive, Fig. 17; col. 2, ll. 14-37).
Regarding claim 31, Keyworth discloses the micromirror arrangement has a fill factor of at least 90% for a one-dimensional array (col. 12, ll. 46-59).
Regarding claim 32, Keyworth discloses the micromirror arrangement has a fill factor of at least 80% for a two-dimensional array (Figs. 17 & 28A; col. 12, ll. 46-59).
Regarding claims 34 and 35, Keyworth discloses the first subpart is overlapped, in plan view, by the first micromirror and by the second micromirror and not by the third micromirror, and the second subpart is overlapped, in plan view, by the second micromirror and by the third micromirror and not by the first micromirror (Fig. 17).
Claims 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyworth as applied to Claim 17, and further in view of US Pat. No. 7,605,971 to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii).
Regarding claim 26, Keyworth discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the at least first, second, and third micromirror have a common carrier substrate.
Ishii discloses the at least first, second, and third micromirror have a common carrier substrate (substrate 303, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a common substrate as taught by Ishii with the system as disclosed by Keyworth. The motivation would have been to provide a uniform reference surface by which control of mirror angles is based.
Regarding claim 30, Keyworth discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the micromirror arrangement comprises at least sixteen micromirrors arranged in a 4x4, array.
Ishii the micromirror arrangement comprises at least sixteen micromirrors arranged in a 4x4, array (mirror elements 300, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a common substrate as taught by Ishii with the system as disclosed by Keyworth. The motivation would have been to deflect light beams for the purpose of projecting an image (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Keyworth does not establish that the pair of y-hinges is “part of the same micromechanical spring element” and “the vertical offset between each member of each of the hinge pairs shows that the members of no pair have no respective longitudinal axes that are colinear with one another”. The Claim Interpretation section and 102(a)/103(a) rejection above provides clearer evidence of the Keyworth micromechanical spring element and corresponding subparts. As the Keyworth support frame is integrally formed as an upper frame layer to include a hollow rectilinear frame connected to the y-hinges. Additionally, the frame and y-hinges matching the claimed micromechanical spring element and subparts is illustrated above with a longitudinal axis labeled. The y-hinges share a longitudinal axis and thus the respective longitudinal axes can be said to be colinear.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872