fDETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 9/17/2025. Claims 17 and 33 are amended, claim 24 is canceled, and claims 17-19, 22-23, 25-33 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20, 22-23, 25, 27-29, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. No. 8,208,192 to Keyworth et al. (hereinafter Keyworth).
Regarding claims 17 and 33, Keyworth discloses a micromirror arrangement (Fig. 17) and projection apparatus (Fig. 28A; col. 12), comprising: at least a first micromirror (top unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17), a second micromirror (middle unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17), and a third micromirror (lower unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17); wherein the second micromirror includes a first component (top unlabeled hinge of middle mirror, Fig. 17) and a second component (bottom unlabeled hinge of middle mirror, Fig. 17), the first and second components being first and second functional components (hinged, Fig. 17; col. 10, ll. 11-20), the first component being disposed such that, in plan view, the first component overlaps a first mirror surface of the first micromirror (Fig. 17), and the second component is disposed such that, in plan view, the second component overlaps a third mirror surface of the third micromirror (Fig. 17), wherein the first micromirror further includes at least one third component (hinge 512, Fig. 17), the third component being a third functional component (hinge 512, Fig. 17), wherein the third component is disposed such that, in plan view, the third component overlaps a second mirror surface of the second micromirror (hinge 512 overlaps middle unlabeled rectangular mirror, Fig. 17), a first main extension plane, in plan view, of the first component (y-z plane, annotated Fig. 17 below), and a third main extension plane, in plan view, of the third component extend substantially parallel to one another (y-z plane, annotated Fig. 17 below), side by side (Figs. 17), wherein there is no overlapping of the first component (top unlabeled hinge of middle mirror, Fig. 17) and the third component (hinge 512, Fig. 17) in plan view (Fig. 17), wherein the first, second, and third micromirror are disposed alonq a common first main extension plane (disposed along a plane parallel to the “sheet” from the perspective of Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 18, Keyworth discloses the at least first, second, and third micromirror are arranged as an array (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 19, Keyworth discloses the second micromirror is disposed between the first and the third micromirror (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 22, Keyworth discloses the first and the third component have cross-sections that differ from one another (hinge 512 and top unlabeled hinge of unlabeled middle rectangular mirror are mirrored and thus different in cross-section along hinge bends; Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 23, Keyworth discloses the first and the third component have cross-sections that are the same (hinge 512 and top unlabeled hinge of unlabeled middle rectangular mirror are mirrored and thus the same in cross-section at a mid-line of hinges; Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 25, Keyworth discloses the first, second, and third micromirror are disposed along the common main extension plane (“top plane”, Abstract & Claim 1; Fig. 17) offset from a main extension plane (mid plane of frame, Abstract & Claim 1; Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 27, Keyworth discloses components of the first, second, and third micromirrors are made at least in part of silicon (col. 12, ll. 22-34).
Regarding claim 28, Keyworth discloses components of the micromirrors are at least parts of micromechanical spring elements (hinges, Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 29, Keyworth discloses components of the micromirrors are at least parts of a vertical comb drive (hinges of comb drive are part of a comb drive, Fig. 17; col. 2, ll. 14-37).
Regarding claim 31, Keyworth discloses the micromirror arrangement has a fill factor of at least 90% for a one-dimensional array (col. 12, ll. 46-59).
Regarding claim 32, Keyworth discloses the micromirror arrangement has a fill factor of at least 80% for a two-dimensional array (Figs. 17 & 28A; col. 12, ll. 46-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyworth as applied to Claim 17, and further in view of US Pat. No. 7,605,971 to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii).
Regarding claim 26, Keyworth discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the at least first, second, and third micromirror have a common carrier substrate.
Ishii discloses the at least first, second, and third micromirror have a common carrier substrate (substrate 303, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a common substrate as taught by Ishii with the system as disclosed by Keyworth. The motivation would have been to provide a uniform reference surface by which control of mirror angles is based.
Regarding claim 30, Keyworth discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the micromirror arrangement comprises at least sixteen micromirrors arranged in a 4x4, array.
Ishii the micromirror arrangement comprises at least sixteen micromirrors arranged in a 4x4, array (mirror elements 300, Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a common substrate as taught by Ishii with the system as disclosed by Keyworth. The motivation would have been to deflect light beams for the purpose of projecting an image (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues “Each of the independent claims has been amended to recite the feature of the first, second, and third micromirror are disposed along a common first main extension plane… Keyworth et al. disclose in Figure 17 an array where the mirrors are provided with overlaps, but the mirrors are not arranged along the same main extension axis; instead, they are laterally offset from each other (the middle one relative to the two outer mirrors)”. Examiner respectfully disagrees as the claim does not exclude latera offsetting as the claim does not require alignment of the micromirror centers. The annotated image below depicts the edge of a common first extension plane anticipating the claim language. The claim is broad enough to extend to several other interpretations of “a common first main extension plane”, including a plane parallel to the plan on which the plan view is drawn in Fig. 17. It is also noted that there is no claimed correspondence between “a common first main extension plane” and “a first main extension plane … of the first component” in the preceding recitation. While it is understood that Applicant’s micromirror arrangement aligns geometric centers of the mirrors, the claim is not so limited and the amendment does not distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872