DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination (RCE) Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/17/2025. Claims 1-40 are pending in this application and have been considered below.
4. The claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) of claims 11, 16, and 19 is acknowledged by the amendment. Therefore, the claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) of 11, 16, and 19 remains unchanged. See below for details.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, 21 and 31 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
7. The claims (11, 16, and 19) in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim limitations (1) “uplink measuring means for measuring an uplink positioning reference signal received from via the transceiver from a second user equipment separate from the first user equipment, the uplink positioning reference signal having an uplink channel configuration; or sidelink measuring means for measuring a first sidelink positioning reference signal received from via the transceiver from a third user equipment separate from the first user equipment, the first sidelink positioning reference signal having a first sidelink channel configuration; or sending means for sending a second sidelink positioning reference signal via the transceiver to a fourth user equipment separate from the first user equipment, the second sidelink” in claim 11; (2) “means for receiving positioning information, from the transceiver, received by the transceiver from another user equipment via a sidelink channel; and means for sending the positioning information to a network entity” in claim 16; and (3) “means for determining positioning information from the first sidelink positioning reference signal; and means for sending the positioning information to a network entity” in claim 19 in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1, 6 9-11, 16, 19-21, 26, 29-31, 36 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (US 20170079006) ((hereinafter LI).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 21 and 31:
As shown in figures 1-12, LI discloses a first user equipment (see positioning node in figures 4 and 8. In par 0056, LI teaches “the positioning node is specifically a terminal that supports a device to device D2D communications function”) configured for wireless signal transfer (see wireless signal exchange in figures 1-2, 4), the first user equipment (see positioning node in figures 4 and 8) comprising:
a transceiver (see transmitter 702 / receiver 701 in figure 8) configured to transmit outbound signals wirelessly and receive inbound signals wirelessly (figures 1-2, 4, par 0118);
a memory (705 in figure 8); and
a processor (704 in figure 8), communicatively coupled to the transceiver (701/702 in figure 8) and the memory (705 in figure 8), and configured to at least one of:
measure an uplink positioning reference signal received via the transceiver (steps 4-5 of figure 4 shows positioning node measure an uplink positioning reference signal received UE), from a second user equipment (see US in figure 4) separate from the first user equipment (see positioning node in figures 4 and 8), the uplink positioning reference signal having an uplink channel configuration (in par 0129, LI teaches “The N positioning nodes receive, according to the configuration information, the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the UE 30, and obtain N measurement results according to the uplink positioning reference signal. In par 0131, LI teaches) (par 0127-0134); or
measure a first sidelink positioning reference signal received via the transceiver from a third user equipment separate from the first user equipment, the first sidelink positioning reference signal having a first sidelink channel configuration; or
send a second sidelink positioning reference signal via the transceiver to a fourth user equipment separate from the first user equipment, the second sidelink positioning reference signal having a second sidelink channel configuration.
LI also disclose “a non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium” as recited in claim 31 (par 0210, 0228, 0238, 0240).
Regarding claims 6, 16, 26 and 36:
LI further discloses send the second sidelink positioning reference signal (see step 4 in figure 4); receive positioning information, from the transceiver, received by the transceiver from another user equipment (see UE in figure 4) via a sidelink channel (see steps 3-4 in figure 4); and send the positioning information to a network entity (see base station in figure 4) (see step 6 in figure 4).
Regarding claims 9, 19, 29 and 39:
LI further discloses measure the first sidelink positioning reference signal (see steps 5-6 in figure 4); determine positioning information from the first sidelink positioning reference signal (see steps 5-6 in figure 4); and send the positioning information to a network entity via the transceiver (see base station in figure 4) (see step 6 in figure 4).
Regarding claims 10, 20, 30 and 40:
LI further discloses wherein the processor is configured to send the second sidelink positioning reference signal associated with at least one of a user equipment identification (par 0017, 0032, 0055), corresponding to the first user equipment, or a cell identification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 2-5, 12-15, 22-25 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of Baek et al. (US 20220416976) (hereinafter Baek).
Regarding claims 2, 12, 22 and 32:
LI discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the processor is configured to send the second sidelink positioning reference signal with an uplink positioning reference signal format, a downlink positioning reference signal format, a sidelink synchronization signal format, a sidelink channel state information reference signal format, a sidelink phase tracking reference signal format, or a sidelink demodulation reference signal format.
However, Baek in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is configured to send the second sidelink positioning reference signal with an uplink positioning reference signal format, a downlink positioning reference signal format, a sidelink synchronization signal format (par 0087-0090), a sidelink channel state information reference signal format, a sidelink phase tracking reference signal format, or a sidelink demodulation reference signal format. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use sidelink synchronization signal format as taught by Baek to modify the system and method of LI in order to detect a synchronization signal ID of the system (par 0088) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claims 3, 13, 23 and 33:
LI discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the processor is configured to measure the first sidelink positioning reference signal with the first sidelink positioning reference signal having an uplink positioning reference signal format, a downlink positioning reference signal format, a sidelink synchronization signal format, a sidelink channel state information reference signal format, a sidelink phase tracking reference signal format, or a sidelink demodulation reference signal format.
However, Baek in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is configured to measure the first sidelink positioning reference signal with the first sidelink positioning reference signal having an uplink positioning reference signal format, a downlink positioning reference signal format, a sidelink synchronization signal format, a sidelink channel state information reference signal format (par 0130), a sidelink phase tracking reference signal format, or a sidelink demodulation reference signal format. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL CSI) as taught by Baek to modify the system and method of LI in order to channel quality information for the system (par 0130) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claims 4, 14, 24 and 34:
LI discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the processor is configured to send the second sidelink positioning reference signal with at least one of resource repetition or beam sweeping.
However, Baek in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor (102 in figure 21) is configured to send the second sidelink positioning reference signal with at least one of resource repetition (par 0180-0192) or beam sweeping. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use sidelink positioning reference signal resource allocation as taught by Baek to modify the system and method of LI in order to efficiently use PSFCH resources of the system (par 0034) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claims 5, 15, 25 and 35:
LI discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the processor is configured to send the second sidelink positioning reference signal and to implement signal muting on the second sidelink positioning reference signal.
However, Baek in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor (102 in figure 21) is configured to send the second sidelink positioning reference signal and to implement signal muting (off interpreted to be muting. Par 0177-0178) on the second sidelink positioning reference signal (par 0177-0178, 0182-0190). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use sidelink positioning reference signal resource allocation as taught by Baek to modify the system and method of LI in order to efficiently use PSFCH resources of the system (par 0034) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
15. Claims 7-8, 17-18, 27-28 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of REN et al. (US 20220407639) (hereinafter REN).
Regarding claims 7, 17, 27 and 37:
LI discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the processor is configured to receive assistance data from the transceiver and is configured to at least one of measure the first sidelink positioning reference signal based on the assistance data or measure the uplink positioning reference signal based on the assistance data.
However, REN in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive assistance data from the transceiver (see step 4 in figure 2) and is configured to at least one of measure the first sidelink positioning reference signal based on the assistance data or measure the uplink positioning reference signal based on the assistance data (par 0007-0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use assistance data as taught by REN to modify the system and method of LI in order to obtain positioning measurements (par 0012) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claims 8, 18, 28 and 38:
LI discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the assistance data comprise an expected reference signal time difference value and an uncertainty of the expected reference signal time difference value corresponding to the first sidelink positioning reference signal or the uplink positioning reference signal.
However, REN in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the assistance data comprise an expected reference signal time difference value and an uncertainty of the expected reference signal time difference value (see Observed Time Difference Of Arrival (OTDOA) in par 0003-0012) corresponding to the first sidelink positioning reference signal or the uplink positioning reference signal (par 0007-0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use assistance data as taught by REN to modify the system and method of LI in order to obtain positioning measurements (par 0012) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Conclusion
/KABIR A TIMORY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631