DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 12, 14, 15, 16 have been amended.
Claims 2, 5, 13, 18 – 22 have been cancelled.
Claims 24 – 29 has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 23 repeats subject matter that has already been recited in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 – 12, 14 – 17, 23 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite:
Claim 1:
receiving information about an identity of the product;
printing at production time a selected portion of time-dependent data that determines a time of creation on at least the product or a product related information carrier, wherein the time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the time-dependent data comprises time-variant data, and wherein the time-variant data is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the time-variant data is extracted, the selection constrained by a generation rate and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production;
storing the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image; and
recording an image of the product and the printed selected portion and uploading the recorded image on the same or another data, to provide an immutable proof that printing has exactly occurred at a given time, for subsequent validation of one or several of the product or the product related information by comparing the printed time-dependent data to the recorded image
physically and temporally, in high-speed production environment to prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data, binding the printed time-variant data and the recorded image to the production process through the variable time-variant data selection tied to the generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during each unique unit is produced.
Claim 12:
query a source and collect data relevant to the source comprising time-dependent data, wherein the time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the time-variant data is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the time-variant data is extracted, the selection constrained by a generation rate and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production;
store the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image;
obtain product related data about the product;
generate a print code comprising a combination of said product related data and the time-dependent data;
print the print code;
associate the data comprising product related data and blockchain time-dependent data together, along with any other relevant data
record an image of the product and the printed selected portion of the blockchain
store the recorded image for future validation of the product and/or product related information
store associated data for future validation of the product and/or product related information
wherein in high-speed production environments prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data by physical and temporally binding the printed time-variant data and the recorded images to the production process through the time-variant data selection tied to the generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which unique unit is produced
Claim 29:
- obtaining information about an identity of the product;
- at production time providing printed information on a print receiving position of an empty product package, the printed information comprising a selected portion of data, said portion of the data comprising time-dependent data that determines a time of creation of the data;
- storing the selected portion of the data, product relevant information and a unique identification on the product for subsequent validation of the product and/or the product relevant information; after printing the time-dependent data on an empty product package, imaging the time-dependent data and along with the unique identification;
- after filling the empty package, printing product relevant information, and imaging the time-dependent data, the unique identification and the product relevant information; and
- storing images obtained via the two imaging and recording times the images are stored, wherein the images and the time the images are stored are independently verified, creating a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced
The invention is directed towards the abstract idea of collecting and organizing information for alter comparison for product authentication, which corresponds to both “Mental Processes” and “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” as it is directed towards steps that can be performed in the human mind and/or using pen and paper, e.g., a user can write down information about a product, as well as write the information onto a product, so that the information can be filed away for later retrieval to allow a user to compare the information provided on a product with known information, i.e. filed information, to determine if the product is authentic, as well as fulfilling the legal obligation of ensuring that a product is authentic through the storage and reference of verifiable data.
The limitations of:
Claim 1:
receiving information about an identity of the product;
printing at production time a selected portion of time-dependent data that determines a time of creation on at least the product or a product related information carrier, wherein the time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the time-dependent data comprises time-variant data, and wherein the time-variant data is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the time-variant data is extracted, the selection constrained by a generation rate and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production;
storing the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image; and
recording an image of the product and the printed selected portion and uploading the recorded image on the same or another data, to provide an immutable proof that printing has exactly occurred at a given time, for subsequent validation of one or several of the product or the product related information by comparing the printed time-dependent data to the recorded image
physically and temporally, in high-speed production environment to prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data, binding the printed time-variant data and the recorded image to the production process through the variable time-variant data selection tied to the generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during each unique unit is produced.
Claim 12:
query a source and collect data relevant to the source comprising time-dependent data, wherein the time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the time-variant data is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the time-variant data is extracted, the selection constrained by a generation rate and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production;
store the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image;
obtain product related data about the product;
generate a print code comprising a combination of said product related data and the time-dependent data;
print the print code;
associate the data comprising product related data and blockchain time-dependent data together, along with any other relevant data
record an image of the product and the printed selected portion of the blockchain
store the recorded image for future validation of the product and/or product related information
store associated data for future validation of the product and/or product related information
wherein in high-speed production environments prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data by physical and temporally binding the printed time-variant data and the recorded images to the production process through the time-variant data selection tied to the generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which unique unit is produced
Claim 29:
- obtaining information about an identity of the product;
- at production time providing printed information on a print receiving position of an empty product package, the printed information comprising a selected portion of data, said portion of the data comprising time-dependent data that determines a time of creation of the data;
- storing the selected portion of the data, product relevant information and a unique identification on the product for subsequent validation of the product and/or the product relevant information; after printing the time-dependent data on an empty product package, imaging the time-dependent data and along with the unique identification;
- after filling the empty package, printing product relevant information, and imaging the time-dependent data, the unique identification and the product relevant information; and
- storing images obtained via the two imaging and recording times the images are stored, wherein the images and the time the images are stored are independently verified, creating a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced,
are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer. That is, other than reciting a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer in the context of this claim encompasses a user can write down information about a product, as well as write the information onto a product, so that the information can be filed away for later retrieval to allow a user to compare the information provided on a product with known information, i.e. filed information, to determine if the product is authentic. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” and “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer to communicate, store, and print information, as well as performing operations that a human can perform in their mind and/or using pen and paper, i.e. writing down product identification information and/or authentication information. The generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer can perform the insignificant extra solution steps of communicating, storing, and printing (outputting) information (See MPEP 2106.05(g) while also reciting that the a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer are merely being applied to perform the steps that can be performed in the human mind and/or using pen and paper; "[use] of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.” Therefore, according to the MPEP, this is not solely limited to computers but includes other technology that, recited in an equivalent to “apply it,” is a mere instruction to perform the abstract idea on that technology (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a generic processor executing computer code stored on a computer medium, generic blockchain, and generic printer to perform the steps of:
Claim 1:
receiving information about an identity of the product;
printing at production time a selected portion of time-dependent data that determines a time of creation on at least the product or a product related information carrier, wherein the time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the time-dependent data comprises time-variant data, and wherein the time-variant data is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the time-variant data is extracted, the selection constrained by a generation rate and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production;
storing the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image; and
recording an image of the product and the printed selected portion and uploading the recorded image on the same or another data, to provide an immutable proof that printing has exactly occurred at a given time, for subsequent validation of one or several of the product or the product related information by comparing the printed time-dependent data to the recorded image
physically and temporally, in high-speed production environment to prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data, binding the printed time-variant data and the recorded image to the production process through the variable time-variant data selection tied to the generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during each unique unit is produced.
Claim 12:
query a source and collect data relevant to the source comprising time-dependent data, wherein the time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the time-variant data is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the time-variant data is extracted, the selection constrained by a generation rate and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production;
store the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image;
obtain product related data about the product;
generate a print code comprising a combination of said product related data and the time-dependent data;
print the print code;
associate the data comprising product related data and blockchain time-dependent data together, along with any other relevant data
record an image of the product and the printed selected portion of the blockchain
store the recorded image for future validation of the product and/or product related information
store associated data for future validation of the product and/or product related information
wherein in high-speed production environments prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data by physical and temporally binding the printed time-variant data and the recorded images to the production process through the time-variant data selection tied to the generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which unique unit is produced
Claim 29:
- obtaining information about an identity of the product;
- at production time providing printed information on a print receiving position of an empty product package, the printed information comprising a selected portion of data, said portion of the data comprising time-dependent data that determines a time of creation of the data;
- storing the selected portion of the data, product relevant information and a unique identification on the product for subsequent validation of the product and/or the product relevant information; after printing the time-dependent data on an empty product package, imaging the time-dependent data and along with the unique identification;
- after filling the empty package, printing product relevant information, and imaging the time-dependent data, the unique identification and the product relevant information; and
- storing images obtained via the two imaging and recording times the images are stored, wherein the images and the time the images are stored are independently verified, creating a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced,
amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Additionally:
Claims 3, 7, 10 are directed towards reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claims 4, 5 are directed towards storing information and writing (printing) it out, as well as reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea (blockchain).
Claim 6 is directed towards human activities, extra-solution activities, and collecting and comparing information.
Claim 8 is directed to descriptive subject matter describing the selected portion, as well as reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claim 9 is directed to descriptive subject matter, as well as reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claim 11 is directed towards human activities, extra-solution activities, and reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claim 13, 14, 15 is directed towards reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claim 16 is directed to descriptive subject matter describing the selected portion, as well as reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claim 17 is directed towards human activities, extra-solution activities, and reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claim 23 is directed towards human activities, extra-solution activities, and reciting generic technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea.
Claims 24 – 28 are directed towards the collection and comparison of information and, based on a rule(s), identify options, in this case, comparing sets of information to determine if the information/product is authentic or suspicious
In summary, the dependent claims are simply directed towards providing additional descriptive factors that are considered for determining if a product is authentic. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7 – 10, 12, 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US PGPub 20180174094 A1) in view of Veenma (EP 3572924 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Ren discloses a computer implement method to ensure validity of one or several of a product and product related information, the method comprising:
- receiving information about an identity of the product (¶ 18, 21, 22 wherein information about an identity of a product is received);
- printing by means of a printer at production time a selected portion of blockchain comprising blockchain time-dependent data that determines a time of creation of the blockchain on at least the product or a product related information carrier, wherein the blockchain time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the blockchain time-dependent data comprises time-variant blockchain data (TVBD), and wherein the TVBD is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the TVBD is extracted, the selection constrained by a block generation rate of the blockchain and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production (¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product);
- storing the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image (¶ 18 wherein the unique identification comprises at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image;
¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product.); and
- recording, […], [data] of the product and the printed selected portion of the blockchain and uploading the recorded [data] to the same or another blockchain, to provide an immutable proof that printing has exactly occurred at a given time, for subsequent validation of one or several of the product or the product related information by comparing the printed blockchain time-dependent data to the recorded [data] retrieved from the blockchain (¶ 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. In other words, to maintain the chain of information for the product during each product experience, the system scans the printed information and compares it to the information stored in the blockchain to update the chain for the particular product whose printed information was scanned so as to avoid mixing up product information from a plurality of different products, thereby allowing for tracking of the product to verify dates and other attributes of the product, while allowing for transparency to stakeholders/third parties;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product.
Finally, the Examiner asserts that storing information in a blockchain results in the stored information being immutable proof of the stored data, i.e. that printing has exactly occurred at a given time.),
- physically and temporally, in high-speed production environments to prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data, binding the printed TVBD and the recorded [data] to the production process through the variable TVBD selection tied to the blockchain block generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged [data] that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which unique unit is produced (¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production and preventing pre-printing or post-dating of production data since it is performed at the time of the event.).
Ren discloses a system and method for creating and printing identification information onto a product based on information retrieved from a blockchain and product information, as well as scanning the created information for storage in the blockchain and later retrieval, e.g., for product verification, as was discussed above. Although Ren discloses that the identification information, which can be provided on a QR Code, barcode, UPC, or the like, can be scanned, Ren fails to disclose all types of scanning technologies that can be used.
To be more specific, Ren fails to explicitly disclose:
- recording, by an image-recording unit, an image of the product and the printed selected portion of the blockchain and uploading the recorded image to the same or another blockchain, to provide an immutable proof that printing has exactly occurred at a given time, for subsequent validation of one or several of the product or the product related information by comparing the printed blockchain time-dependent data to the recorded image retrieved from the blockchain
- physically and temporally, in high-speed production environments to prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data, binding the printed TVBD and the recorded image to the production process through the variable TVBD selection tied to the blockchain block generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which unique unit is produced
However, Veenma, which is also directed towards utilizing blockchain in order to link printed product information with blockchain information, further teaches that it is well-known in the art to utilize a wide range of identifiers with corresponding reading devices. Similar to Ren, Veenma teaches that barcodes and QR codes can be printed onto a product and that the codes are scanned by a scanning device, but further teaches that there are a wide range of different scanning devices, such as, but not limited to, vision camera devices, thereby resulting in the system scanning and recording an image of the product, which the specification has defined to be a unique identification of the product, e.g., image of a barcode, QR-code, or the like (See Summary; Page 5 “The term “image” as used herein, may refer to a digital or an analog representation of visual information (e.g., a picture, a video, a photograph, animations, a set of characters of figures, etc.).”). In other words, Veenma teaches capturing and storing an image of a QR code, dotcode, or etc. along with the information contained within the code, e.g. product data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and well-known that different technologies can be used to scan different types of identifiers and that many of them can be substituted with one another while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. scanning an identifier.
(For support see: ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the selected portion of the blockchain is a hash portion of the blockchain (Ren – ¶ 18, 21, 23 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain is a hash portion of the blockchain).
In regards to claims 4, 10, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses:
(Claim 4) the method of claim 1, further comprising recording an image of at least part of the product including the printed selected portion of the blockchain and the unique identification.
(Claim 10) the method according to claim 1, wherein the imaging the product is carried out by means of an imaging system by which the unique identification, the selected portion of the blockchain and product related information are imaged
(Ren – ¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein Ren discloses a system and method for creating and printing identification information onto a product based on information retrieved from a blockchain and product information, as well as scanning the created information for storage in the blockchain and later retrieval, e.g., for product verification, as was discussed above, and where Ren further discloses that the identification information, which can be provided on a QR Code, barcode, UPC, or the like, can be scanned. Ren further discloses wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product.;
Ren – ¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product;
Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein Veenma teaches that barcodes and QR codes can be printed onto a product and have the codes scanned by a scanning device, but further teaches that there are a wide range of different scanning devices, such as, but not limited to, vision camera devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the selected portion of the blockchain is obtained from an independent, immutable and accessible blockchain source (Ren – ¶ 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain is obtained from an independent, immutable and accessible blockchain source).
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the selected portion of the blockchain is comprised of one or several of:
data that is new at creation of the blockchain block, wherein the TVBD is newly generated with each block;
(Ren – ¶ 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain is comprised of content of data is known on creation of the data; content of data cannot be influenced; and a length of the contents is sufficient to eliminate correctly guessing the contents; ¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production.).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the printing on the product is carried out by one or several of:
a production-line coding printer;
pre-printed with a unique serial code prior to production; or
at production time the product is printed with the blockchain time-dependent data and product relevant information
(Ren – ¶ 18, 26, 23 wherein the printing on the product is carried out by one or several of:
a production-line coding printer;
pre-printed with a unique serial code prior to production; or
at production time the product is printed with the blockchain time-dependent data and product relevant information).
In regards to claim 12, Ren discloses a controller capable of creating a mark to be printed on a product, the controller unit comprising a processor, a memory and a communication interface, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to:
communicate with a blockchain monitoring unit to query a blockchain source and collect data relevant to the blockchain comprising time-dependent data, wherein the blockchain time dependent data includes production data for the product and a unique identification, wherein the blockchain time-dependent data comprises time-variant blockchain data (TVBD), and wherein the TVBD is selected with variable properties including at least one of a number of characters, a type of characters, and an exact position within a block of the blockchain from which the TVBD is extracted, the selection constrained by a block generation rate of the blockchain and a production line speed to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production (¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product);
store the unique identification comprising at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image (¶ 18 wherein the unique identification comprises at least one of a serial code, barcode, QR-code, RFID or an image;
¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product.);
obtain product-related data about the product (¶ 8, 21, 22 wherein information about an identity of a product is received);
In regards to:
generate a print code comprising a combination of said product related data and the blockchain time-dependent data;
instruct a printer to print the print code;
instruct [a data] recorder to record [data] of the product and the printed selected portion of the blockchain; and
store the recorded [data] on the same or another blockchain for future validation of the product and/or product related information […]
(¶ 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain and information related to the product are used to generate unique identification for the product and printed onto the product, as well as having the information associated with one another;
¶ 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product.),
wherein the controller operates in high-speed production environments and is configured to prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data by physical and temporally binding the printed TVBD and the recorded [data] to the production process through the variable blockchain time dependent data selection tied to the blockchain block generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged [data] that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which unique unit is produced (18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production and preventing pre-printing or post-dating of production data since it is performed at the time of the event.)
Ren discloses a system and method for creating and printing identification information onto a product based on information retrieved from a blockchain and product information, as well as scanning the created information for storage in the blockchain and later retrieval, e.g., for product verification, as was discussed above. Although Ren discloses that the identification information, which can be provided on a QR Code, barcode, UPC, or the like, can be scanned, Ren fails to disclose all types of scanning technologies that can be used.
To be more specific, Ren fails to explicitly disclose:
instruct an image recorder to record an image of the product and the printed selected portion of the blockchain;
store the recorded image on the same or another blockchain for future validation of the product and/or product related information using automated image analysis to detect visual alterations indicative of tampering
wherein the controller operates in high-speed production environments and is configured to prevent pre-printing or post-dating of production data by physical and temporally binding the printed TVBD and the recorded image to the production process through the variable blockchain time dependent data selection tied to the blockchain block generation rate and constrained by production-line speed, combined with staged imaging that creates a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which unique unit is produced
However, Veenma, which is also directed towards utilizing blockchain in order to link printed product information with blockchain information, further teaches that it is well-known in the art to utilize a wide range of identifiers with corresponding reading devices. Similar to Ren, Veenma teaches that barcodes and QR codes can be printed onto a product and that the codes are scanned by a scanning device, but further teaches that there are a wide range of different scanning devices, such as, but not limited to, vision camera devices, thereby resulting in the system scanning and recording an image of the product, which the specification has defined to be a unique identification of the product, e.g., image of a barcode, QR-code, or the like (See Summary; Page 5 “The term “image” as used herein, may refer to a digital or an analog representation of visual information (e.g., a picture, a video, a photograph, animations, a set of characters of figures, etc.).”). In other words, Veenma teaches capturing and storing an image of a QR code, dotcode, or etc. along with the information contained within the code, e.g. product data detect visual alterations indicative of tampering. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and well-known that different technologies can be used to scan different types of identifiers and that many of them can be substituted with one another while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. scanning an identifier.
(For support see: ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38, 49)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the controller of claim 12, wherein a blockchain is freely queried to collect TVBD, being data associated with the blockchain that is newly generated as time passes (Ren – ¶ 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production).
In regards to claim 15, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the controller of claim 14, wherein the TVDB has variable TVBD properties, including:
variable time resolution based on a blockchain's block generation rate;
variable difficulty, wherein the probability of pre-guessing the TVDB, achievable by choosing certain properties of the TVDB, comprising one or several of a number of characters, the type of characters, the exact place within the blockchain where the characters are taken from and/or deduced from
(Ren – ¶ 20, 23, 26 wherein the TVDB has variable TVBD properties, including:
variable time resolution based on a blckchain's block generation rate;
variable difficulty, wherein the probability of pre-guessing the TVDB, achievable by choosing certain properties of the TVDB, comprising one or several of a number of characters, the type of characters, the exact place within the blockchain where the characters are taken from and/or deduced from).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the controller unit of claim 14, wherein the blockchain time-independent data comprises:
data that is new at creation of the blockchain block, wherein the TVBD is newly generated with each block;
(Ren – ¶ 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain is comprised of content of data is known on creation of the data; content of data cannot be influenced; and a length of the contents is sufficient to eliminate correctly guessing the contents; ¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production.).
In regards to claim 23, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the recorded image is uploaded on the same or another blockchain (Ren – ¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product.;
Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein the recorded data is an image
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious).
In regards to claim 24, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising verifying the product by:
accessing the unique identification to retrieve the stored blockchain time- dependent data and the recorded image from the blockchain;
comparing the printed blockchain time-dependent data on the product to the retrieved blockchain time-dependent data from a public blockchain source; and
determining a mismatch indicating manipulation or invalidity if the compared data do not correspond, thereby detecting that the product was not produced at the claimed time or that the printed portion has been altered
(¶ 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. In other words, to maintain the chain of information for the product during each product experience, the system scans the printed information and compares it to the information stored in the blockchain to update the chain for the particular product whose printed information was scanned so as to avoid mixing up product information from a plurality of different products, thereby allowing for tracking of the product to verify dates and other attributes of the product, while allowing for transparency to stakeholders/third parties and determining whether there is a mismatch of the scanned and stored information, which would indicating invalidity of the product not being produced at the claimed time; see also Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein data is scanned to determine validity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).).
In regards to claim 25, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the verifying further comprises:
comparing the timestamp of the blockchain block corresponding to the printed blockchain time-dependent data with an expected production time from product related information; and
identifying suspect production data if the timestamp does not match the expected production time, thereby confirming authenticity or detecting forged dates
(¶ 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. In other words, to maintain the chain of information for the product during each product experience, the system scans the printed information and compares it to the information stored in the blockchain to update the chain for the particular product whose printed information was scanned so as to avoid mixing up product information from a plurality of different products, thereby allowing for tracking of the product to verify dates and other attributes of the product, while allowing for transparency to stakeholders/third parties and determining whether there is a mismatch of the scanned and stored information, which would indicating invalidity of the product not being produced at the claimed time; see also Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein data is scanned to determine validity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).).
In regards to claim 26, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising performing verification through:
scanning the unique identification and the printed selected portion of the blockchain on the product;
retrieving stored data associated with the unique identification, including the recorded image and blockchain time-dependent data; and
comparing at least one of:
- the scanned printed blockchain time-dependent data to the retrieved blockchain time-dependent data, or
- the scanned image of the product to the stored recorded image uploaded to the blockchain using automated image analysis to detect visual changes;
wherein differences detected in the comparison indicate tampering or inauthenticity of the product or product related information
(¶ 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. In other words, to maintain the chain of information for the product during each product experience, the system scans the printed information and compares it to the information stored in the blockchain to update the chain for the particular product whose printed information was scanned so as to avoid mixing up product information from a plurality of different products, thereby allowing for tracking of the product to verify dates and other attributes of the product, while allowing for transparency to stakeholders/third parties and determining whether there is a mismatch of the scanned and stored information, which would indicating invalidity of the product not being produced at the claimed time; see also Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein data is scanned to determine validity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).).
In regards to claim 27, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the verification is performed by at least one of:
manual visual inspection of the printed data and product;
automated computer processing including optical character recognition (OCR) on the scanned production data and unique identification for comparison; or
image analysis comparing the stored recorded image with a newly captured image to identify visual changes
(¶ 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. In other words, to maintain the chain of information for the product during each product experience, the system scans the printed information and compares it to the information stored in the blockchain to update the chain for the particular product whose printed information was scanned so as to avoid mixing up product information from a plurality of different products, thereby allowing for tracking of the product to verify dates and other attributes of the product, while allowing for transparency to stakeholders/third parties and determining whether there is a mismatch of the scanned and stored information, which would indicating invalidity of the product not being produced at the claimed time; see also Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein data is scanned to determine validity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).).
In regards to claim 28, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
during verification, querying a public blockchain using the printed blockchain time-dependent data or a portion thereof; and
confirming that the blockchain time-dependent data matches a block created within a time window corresponding to the production time, thereby providing independent verification that printing occurred after the block's creation and preventing pre-printing or post-dating of the product
(Ren – ¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production and preventing pre-printing or post-dating of production data since it is performed at the time of the event.
Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 Veenma teaches that barcodes and QR codes can be printed onto a product and that the codes are scanned by a scanning device, but further teaches that there are a wide range of different scanning devices, such as, but not limited to, vision camera devices, thereby resulting in the system scanning and recording an image of the product, which the specification has defined to be a unique identification of the product, e.g., image of a barcode, QR-code, or the like. In other words, Veenma teaches capturing and storing an image of a QR code, dotcode, or etc. along with the information contained within the code, e.g. product data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and well-known that different technologies can be used to scan different types of identifiers and that many of them can be substituted with one another while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. scanning an identifier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).).
______________________________________________________________________
Claims 6, 11, 17, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US PGPub 20180174094 A1) in view of Veenma (EP 3572924 A1) in further view of Vogt et al. (US PGPub 20080197969 A1).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
imaging the product during the production and storing the image and a time the image is stored separately on blockchain for independent verification, […] creating a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced by linking the images to blockchain timestamps that prevents pre-printing or post-dating of production data (Ren – ¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein Ren discloses a system and method for creating and printing identification information onto a product based on information retrieved from a blockchain and product information, as well as scanning the created information for storage in the blockchain and later retrieval, e.g., for product verification, as was discussed above, and where Ren further discloses that the identification information, which can be provided on a QR Code, barcode, UPC, or the like, can be scanned. Ren further discloses wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production and preventing pre-printing or post-dating of production data since it is performed at the time of the event.;
Ren – ¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product;
Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein Veenma teaches that barcodes and QR codes can be printed onto a product and have the codes scanned by a scanning device, but further teaches that there are a wide range of different scanning devices, such as, but not limited to, vision camera devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious).
The combination of Ren and Veenma discloses a system and method for combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product in a blockchain. Although the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses that the authentication information is provided on the product at or during manufacturing and the information is scanned, i.e. imaged, into the blockchain, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose that the imaging/scanning is performed at multiple stages, i.e. after printing the authentication information on an empty product package and, again, after filling a package and printing authentication information on the package.
To be more specific, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose:
the method of claim 1, further comprising:
imaging the product during the production and storing the image and a time the image is stored separately on blockchain for independent verification, wherein the imaging is performed at multiple states including after printing the selected portion of the blockchain on an empty package and after filling the package with product relevant information creating a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced by linking the images to blockchain timestamps that prevents pre-printing or post-dating of production data.
However, Vogt, which is also directed to combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product for later access to determine authenticity, further teaches that it would have been obvious to scan, i.e. image, authentication information at multiple stages. Specifically, Vogt teaches attaching or embedding a bottle with a scannable tag, attaching or embedding a neck seal with a scannable tag, and attaching a container or case storing the bottle with its contents with a scannable tag. Vogt teaches that the tags are linked with one another in a database as a means of preserving the authenticity of the bottle and its contents by allowing a purchaser to scan the tags or have a producer have the tags scanned to verify that the bottle and its contents have not been tampered with, e.g., refilling the contents of the bottle with a counterfeit beverage or counterfeiting the bottles.
Vogt teaches that the bottles are embedded with a scannable tag at the time of its manufacturer and the bottle identification information scanned, i.e. imaged, into a global database and during the bottle process, the contents are poured into the bottle and sealed with a neck seal, which also has its own scannable tag and identification information. Once the neck seal has been attached, the identification information of the bottle and neck seal are linked with one another. Additionally, the bottled contents can be placed into a case and the case will be attached with its own scannable tag and linked with the bottle and its contents. Consequently, Vogt discloses a manufacturing, packaging, and distribution process where authentication information provided on multiple scannable tags are scanned at different stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity, as well as verify the harvest date of the contents.
(For support see: ¶ 7, 8, 10, 11, 46, 50, 51, 55, 56, 63, 66, 69, 70, 73, 74, 83, 84, 89, 90, 91)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in the anti-counterfeiting system and method of the combination of Ren and Veenma with the ability to take images of a product at multiple stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as taught by Vogt, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it beneficial, in view of the teachings of Vogt, to utilize multiple scannable tags that can be scanned, i.e. imaged, at multiple stages as this allows for the linking of authentication information of the product and its packaging so that if the contents and/or its packaging are tamped with, the system will be able to inform a user that the contents may not be authentic, as well as verify the harvest date of the contents.
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses a system and method for combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product in a blockchain. Although the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses that the authentication information is provided on the product at or during manufacturing and the information is scanned, i.e. imaged, into the blockchain, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose that the imaging/scanning is performed at multiple stages, i.e. after printing the authentication information on an empty product package and, again, after filling a package and printing authentication information on the package.
To be more specific, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose:
the method of claim 10, wherein the imaging is carried out at multiple stages:
after printing the selected portion of the blockchain on an empty product package along with a unique identification;
after filling the empty product package, print a product relevant information on the package.
However, Vogt, which is also directed to combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product for later access to determine authenticity, further teaches that it would have been obvious to scan, i.e. image, authentication information at multiple stages. Specifically, Vogt teaches attaching or embedding a bottle with a scannable tag, attaching or embedding a neck seal with a scannable tag, and attaching a container or case storing the bottle with its contents with a scannable tag. Vogt teaches that the tags are linked with one another in a database as a means of preserving the authenticity of the bottle and its contents by allowing a purchaser to scan the tags or have a producer have the tags scanned to verify that the bottle and its contents have not been tampered with, e.g., refilling the contents of the bottle with a counterfeit beverage or counterfeiting the bottles.
Vogt teaches that the bottles are embedded with a scannable tag at the time of its manufacturer and the bottle identification information scanned, i.e. imaged, into a global database and during the bottle process, the contents are poured into the bottle and sealed with a neck seal, which also has its own scannable tag and identification information. Once the neck seal has been attached, the identification information of the bottle and neck seal are linked with one another. Additionally, the bottled contents can be placed into a case and the case will be attached with its own scannable tag and linked with the bottle and its contents. Consequently, Vogt discloses a manufacturing, packaging, and distribution process where authentication information provided on multiple scannable tags are scanned at different stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity, as well as verify the harvest date of the contents.
(For support see: ¶ 7, 8, 10, 11, 46, 50, 51, 55, 56, 63, 66, 69, 70, 73, 74, 83, 84, 89, 90, 91)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in the anti-counterfeiting system and method of the combination of Ren and Veenma with the ability to take images of a product at multiple stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as taught by Vogt, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it beneficial, in view of the teachings of Vogt, to utilize multiple scannable tags that can be scanned, i.e. imaged, at multiple stages as this allows for the linking of authentication information of the product and its packaging so that if the contents and/or its packaging are tamped with, the system will be able to inform a user that the contents may not be authentic, as well as verify the harvest date of the contents.
In regards to claim 17, the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses the controller unit according to claim 14, to instruct the image recorder to carry out image recording at multiple stages:
imaging the blockchain time-dependent data along with the unique identification after printing it on an empty product package; and
imaging after filling a package, print the production data
(Ren – wherein Ren discloses a system and method for creating and printing identification information onto a product based on information retrieved from a blockchain and product information, as well as scanning the created information for storage in the blockchain and later retrieval, e.g., for product verification, as was discussed above, and where Ren further discloses that the identification information, which can be provided on a QR Code, barcode, UPC, or the like, can be scanned.
Ren – Specifically, ¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product.;
Ren – ¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product;
Veenma – ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38 wherein Veenma teaches that barcodes and QR codes can be printed onto a product and have the codes scanned by a scanning device, but further teaches that there are a wide range of different scanning devices, such as, but not limited to, vision camera devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious)
The combination of Ren and Veenma discloses a system and method for combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product in a blockchain. Although the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses that the authentication information is provided on the product during manufacturing and the information is scanned, i.e. imaged, into the blockchain, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose that the imaging/scanning is performed at multiple stages, i.e. after printing the authentication information on an empty product package and, again, after filling a package and printing authentication information on the package.
To be more specific, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose:
the controller unit according to claim 14, to instruct the image recorder to carry out image recording at multiple stages:
imaging the blockchain time-dependent data along with the unique identification after printing it on an empty product package; and
imaging after filling a package, print the production data.
However, Vogt, which is also directed to combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product for later access to determine authenticity, further teaches that it would have been obvious to scan, i.e. image, authentication information at multiple stages. Specifically, Vogt teaches attaching or embedding a bottle with a scannable tag, attaching or embedding a neck seal with a scannable tag, and attaching a container or case storing the bottle with its contents with a scannable tag. Vogt teaches that the tags are linked with one another in a database as a means of preserving the authenticity of the bottle and its contents by allowing a purchaser to scan the tags or have a producer have the tags scanned to verify that the bottle and its contents have not been tampered with, e.g., refilling the contents of the bottle with a counterfeit beverage or counterfeiting the bottles.
Vogt teaches that the bottles are embedded with a scannable tag at the time of its manufacturer and the bottle identification information scanned, i.e. imaged, into a global database and during the bottle process, the contents are poured into the bottle and sealed with a neck seal, which also has its own scannable tag and identification information. Once the neck seal has been attached, the identification information of the bottle and neck seal are linked with one another. Additionally, the bottled contents can be placed into a case and the case will be attached with its own scannable tag and linked with the bottle and its contents. Consequently, Vogt discloses a manufacturing, packaging, and distribution process where authentication information provided on multiple scannable tags are scanned at different stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity.
(For support see: ¶ 7, 8, 10, 11, 46, 50, 51, 55, 56, 63, 66, 69, 70, 73, 74, 83, 84, 89, 90, 91)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in the anti-counterfeiting system and method of the combination of Ren and Veenma with the ability to take images of a product at multiple stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as taught by Vogt, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it beneficial, in view of the teachings of Vogt, to utilize multiple scannable tags that can be scanned, i.e. imaged, at multiple stages as this allows for the linking of authentication information of the product and its packaging so that if the contents and/or its packaging are tamped with, the system will be able to inform a user that the contents may not be authentic.
In regards to claim 29, Ren discloses a computer executed method to ensure validity of a product and/or product relevant information, the method comprising:
- obtaining information about an identity of the product (¶ 18, 21, 22 wherein information about an identity of a product is received);
- at production time, providing by means of a printer, printed information on a print receiving position of an empty product package, the printed information comprising a selected portion of a blockchain, said portion of the blockchain comprising blockchain time-dependent data that determines a time of creation of the blockchain (¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product);
- storing the selected portion of the blockchain, product relevant information and a unique identification on the product for subsequent validation of the product and/or the product relevant information; after printing the blockchain time-dependent data on an empty product package, [data] the blockchain time-dependent data and along with the unique identification (¶ 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. In other words, to maintain the chain of information for the product during each product experience, the system scans the printed information and compares it to the information stored in the blockchain to update the chain for the particular product whose printed information was scanned so as to avoid mixing up product information from a plurality of different products, thereby allowing for tracking of the product to verify dates and other attributes of the product, while allowing for transparency to stakeholders/third parties;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product.
Finally, the Examiner asserts that storing information in a blockchain results in the stored information being immutable proof of the stored data, i.e. that printing has exactly occurred at a given time);
- […], printing product relevant information, and [data] the blockchain time-dependent data, the unique identification and the product relevant information (¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product); and
- storing [data] obtained via the […] [data] and recording times the [data] are stored, wherein the [data] and the time the [data] are stored are […] verified, creating a unit-specific, […] verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced (¶ 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26 wherein a selected portion of a blockchain comprising time-dependent data of when the block was created and product information are printed onto a product/package at its time of production, thereby comprising a block in the blockchain being a time-variant block, i.e. TVBD that includes a number of characters. A block is stored within the blockchain each time the product experiences an event, such as, creation, shipping, registration, transactions, etc., i.e. type of block. The system generates a unique code for the product produced on a particular date, which is based on, at least, the combination of product information (which is stored and retrieved from the blockchain, e.g., when the product was created, thereby allowing the system to identify a specific block amongst a plurality of blocks in the blockchain, i.e. exact position) and when the code was generated and where the unique code, as well as the original product code, is then stored within the blockchain, thereby creating an enhanced product code that can be used for tracking and product verification/authentication, as well as storing information pertaining to shelf-life period of time for a perishable product. The selection of the block is constrained by the speed of the available technology and occurrence of events, i.e. block generation rate and production line speed, which allows for the system to achieve a desired timestamp granularity without delaying high-speed production.;
¶ 4, 18, 17, 22, 23, 26 wherein the selected portion of the blockchain, information related to the product, and a unique identification of the product are stored for later validation of the product.).
Ren discloses a system and method for creating and printing identification information onto a product based on information retrieved from a blockchain and product information, as well as scanning the created information for storage in the blockchain and later retrieval, e.g., for product verification, as was discussed above. Although Ren discloses that the identification information, which can be provided on a QR Code, barcode, UPC, or the like, can be scanned, Ren fails to disclose all types of scanning technologies that can be used.
To be more specific, Ren fails to explicitly disclose:
- storing the selected portion of the blockchain, product relevant information and a unique identification on the product for subsequent validation of the product and/or the product relevant information; after printing the blockchain time-dependent data on an empty product package, imaging the blockchain time-dependent data and along with the unique identification
- after filling the empty package, printing product relevant information, and imaging the blockchain time-dependent data, the unique identification and the product relevant information
- storing images obtained via the two imaging and recording times the images are stored, wherein the images and the time the images are stored are independently verified, creating a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced
However, Veenma, which is also directed towards utilizing blockchain in order to link printed product information with blockchain information, further teaches that it is well-known in the art to utilize a wide range of identifiers with corresponding reading devices. Similar to Ren, Veenma teaches that barcodes and QR codes can be printed onto a product and that the codes are scanned by a scanning device, but further teaches that there are a wide range of different scanning devices, such as, but not limited to, vision camera devices, thereby resulting in the system scanning and recording an image of the product, which the specification has defined to be a unique identification of the product, e.g., image of a barcode, QR-code, or the like (See Summary; Page 5 “The term “image” as used herein, may refer to a digital or an analog representation of visual information (e.g., a picture, a video, a photograph, animations, a set of characters of figures, etc.).”). In other words, Veenma teaches capturing and storing an image of a QR code, dotcode, or etc. along with the information contained within the code, e.g. product data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious and well-known that different technologies can be used to scan different types of identifiers and that many of them can be substituted with one another while still achieving the same predictable result, i.e. scanning an identifier.
(For support see: ¶ 27 #5, 7, 9, ¶ 38)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself-that is in the substitution of an image of a product using a scanning device, as taught by Veenma, for the generic scanning device disclosed by Ren.
Thus, the simply substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art, to pick an image based identifier scanning, as taught by Veenma, and incorporate it into the generic identifier scanning system and method of Ren since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (using known technologies to scan image information of a product) to the recognized need (how to scan image information of a product) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (the advantages, benefits, and required resources are known).
The combination of Ren and Veenma discloses a system and method for combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product in a blockchain. Although the combination of Ren and Veenma discloses that the authentication information is provided on the product at or during manufacturing and the information is scanned, i.e. imaged, into the blockchain, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose that the imaging/scanning is performed at multiple stages, i.e. after printing the authentication information on an empty product package and, again, after filling a package and printing authentication information on the package.
To be more specific, the combination of Ren and Veenma fails to explicitly disclose:
- after filling the empty package, printing product relevant information, and imaging the blockchain time-dependent data, the unique identification and the product relevant information
- storing images obtained via the two imaging and recording times the images are stored, wherein the images and the time the images are stored are independently verified, creating a unit-specific, independently verifiable time bound during which each unique unit is produced
However, Vogt, which is also directed to combating fraudulent activity by storing authentication information of a product for later access to determine authenticity, further teaches that it would have been obvious to scan, i.e. image, authentication information at multiple stages. Specifically, Vogt teaches attaching or embedding a bottle with a scannable tag, attaching or embedding a neck seal with a scannable tag, and attaching a container or case storing the bottle with its contents with a scannable tag. Vogt teaches that the tags are linked with one another in a database as a means of preserving the authenticity of the bottle and its contents by allowing a purchaser to scan the tags or have a producer have the tags scanned to verify that the bottle and its contents have not been tampered with, e.g., refilling the contents of the bottle with a counterfeit beverage or counterfeiting the bottles.
Vogt teaches that the bottles are embedded with a scannable tag at the time of its manufacturer and the bottle identification information scanned, i.e. imaged, into a global database and during the bottle process, the contents are poured into the bottle and sealed with a neck seal, which also has its own scannable tag and identification information. Once the neck seal has been attached, the identification information of the bottle and neck seal are linked with one another. Additionally, the bottled contents can be placed into a case and the case will be attached with its own scannable tag and linked with the bottle and its contents. Consequently, Vogt discloses a manufacturing, packaging, and distribution process where authentication information provided on multiple scannable tags are scanned at different stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity, as well as verify the harvest date of the contents.
(For support see: ¶ 7, 8, 10, 11, 46, 50, 51, 55, 56, 63, 66, 69, 70, 73, 74, 83, 84, 89, 90, 91)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in the anti-counterfeiting system and method of the combination of Ren and Veenma with the ability to take images of a product at multiple stages, e.g., when the bottle and case are empty and when the bottle and case are filled, as taught by Vogt, as a means of preserving the authenticity of a product and avoiding or identifying fraudulent activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it beneficial, in view of the teachings of Vogt, to utilize multiple scannable tags that can be scanned, i.e. imaged, at multiple stages as this allows for the linking of authentication information of the product and its packaging so that if the contents and/or its packaging are tamped with, the system will be able to inform a user that the contents may not be authentic, as well as verify the harvest date of the contents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under 35 USC 112(b)
The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn due to amendments.
A new rejection under 35 USC 112(b) has been provided due to amendments.
Rejection under 35 USC 112(a)
The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn due to amendments.
New rejections under 35 USC 112(a) has been provided due to amendments.
Rejection under 35 USC 101
The rejection under 35 USC 101 has been maintained.
The Examiner asserts that the claimed invention is directed to, inter alia, an idea of a solution or outcome and fails to recite the necessary details of how the solution to a problem is accomplished. The claimed invention has been amended to recite that it is tied to high-speed production environments and preventing pre-printing or post-dating of production data in high-speed environments while not delaying high-speed production. However, the claimed invention fails to recite any particulars to how this is achieved other than reciting generic technology that has been recited at a high level of generality and making the conclusionary statement that the technology/claimed invention achieves this outcome. The claimed invention does not disclose how the block generate rate and production line speed are being controlled, what technological improvements are being performed, or what technology has been developed to achieve this end result. The claimed invention simply recites generic technology and data that the system is processing and then simply states that the end result is achieved without reciting how. This is insufficient to overcome the rejection or demonstrate what improvements have been made to the technology or how the issue that arose in technology is being resolved. Although the claimed invention recites TVBD and what it is intended to achieve, the claimed invention fails to recite how the TVBD is linked to how the technology is being improved upon in order to achieve its desired result. The claimed invention only describes the information that is contained in the TVBD, thereby establishing that the TVBD is simply data while failing to demonstrate how the data is achieving its desired end result.
As was previously discussed, recording and uploading is directed towards extra-solution activities and insufficient to demonstrate a technological improvement, resolving an issue that arose in technology, or deeply rooted in technology (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), i.e. recording (storing) and uploading (transmitting/receiving).
With that said, the claimed invention is similar to those of Content Extraction v Wells Fargo in that the claimed invention is utilizing a generic device to capture and store images in as much the same way that a human can look at an image and write down or draw an image using pen and paper. The claimed invention is not improving upon the recording, storage, or uploading technology, resolving an issue that arose in this technology, and, based on the example provided above, not deeply rooted in technology. The claimed invention is reciting generic technology recited at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea for the benefits that it provides, i.e. faster, more efficient, less prone to human error, and etc.
Second, the Examiner asserts that the claimed invention is reciting benefits that are known in blockchain technology and applying the generic technology for these benefits. The claimed invention has simply explicitly recited elements that are known in the technology and not improving upon the technology because it is not improving how blockchain technology securely stores, manages, and provides information, resolving an issue that arose in blockchain technology, and, referring to example provided above, not deeply rooted in technology. The claimed invention is reciting generic blockchain technology at a high level of generality and applying it to the abstract idea for the benefits that it provides, i.e. immutable, secure, and etc.
As a result, the limitation is directed towards reciting generic technology at a high level of generality, i.e. blockchain, and applying it to the abstract idea to perform the extra-solution activity of storing and transmitting information, i.e. recording and uploading. The Examiner asserts that the limitation is directed towards activities that can be performed by a human in their mind (remembering information and conveying the information) or with the aid of pen and paper (writing down the information and providing the information).
Rejections under 35 USC 102/103
The Examiner asserts that the applicant’s arguments are directed towards newly amended limitations and are, therefore, considered moot. However, the Examiner has responded to the newly submitted amendments, which the arguments are directed to, in the rejection above, thereby addressing the applicant’s arguments.
Pertinent Arguments
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “This also allows for the ability to set the difficulty of pre-guessing the blockchain timestamp by choosing a number of characters to be printed…”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Li et al. (CN 110930168 B); Southwell et al. (US Patent 12,475,481 B2); Aljawhari (US PGPub 2017/0262862 A1); Javaheri (US PGPub 2020/0184416 A1) – which disclose the utilization of blockchain to store and retrieve data, e.g., product information, product labels, and other information that requires validation, to verify later collected data against the blockchain data
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GERARDO ARAQUE JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/GERARDO ARAQUE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629 3/13/2026