DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Regarding the claims, Applicant has presented no substantive arguments. Applicant has amended the claims and added new broader claims. Therefore, there is nothing to agree or disagree with. Please see the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020) and further in view of Jung (2020/0107353) and further in view of Xue (2018/0049203).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processing system configured to: (See Yu fig. 10, para. 154; UE with a processor)
signaling indicating candidate transmission configuration indicator (TCI)
states; (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that supports
indicating more than two TCI states, wherein the MAC CE includes,
for each TCI code point: a first TCI state ID field indicating a first TCI state ID; and optional at least second and third TCI state IDfields that, if present, indicate at least second and third TCI state IDs and wherein the MAC CE includes a first presence field that indicates whether the optional second TCI state ID field is present in the MAC CE; and (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates (e.g. a UE receives this indication) for a CORESET ID and Serving Cell ID, two or more TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (first and second TCI state); contained in the MAC-CE is a TCI State ID #1 and #2;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated; para. 74; PDCCH processing; see also para. 70-77 which describe what each field does; para. 79; receiving the MAC CE)
process the scheduled PDSCH in accordance with the more than two TCI states
indicated by the TCI code point. (See Yu para. 109; PDCCH monitoring for activated TCI states)
Yu does not explicitly disclose receive a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) with a TCI code point that indicates more than two TCI states for reception of the PDSCH. However, Jung does disclose receive a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) with a TCI code point that indicates more than two TCI states for reception of the PDSCH. (See Jung para. 81; TCI codepoint indicated in DCI with two TCI states) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of receive a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) with a TCI code point that indicates more than two TCI states for reception of the PDSCH of Jung with the motivation being to support multi-TRP or multi-beam PDSCH reception and further it reduces DCI signaling overhead and further it permits fast dynamic switching and further to improve throughout and/or reliability of connections.
Yu discloses that the UE is configured. Yu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives the signaling. However, Xue does disclose that the UE receives the signaling. (See Xue para. 169; UE receives configuration including CORESET) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of that the UE receives the signaling of Xue with the motivation being to allow for flexibility in configuration of resources to meet network load and end user demands and further to allow for diversified devices to connect to the network with differing capabilities and further to assign resources according to the current wireless environment to increase reliability and reduce delay.
Regarding claim 5, Yu in view of Jung in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the MAC CE includes:
if the optional second TCI state ID field is present, a second presence field that indicates whether the optional third TCI state ID field is present. (See Yu fig. 5, 6;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated)
Regarding claim 12, Yu in view of Jung in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the signaling indicating candidate TCI states comprises radio resource control (RRC) signaling (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling) that configures a set of TCI state patterns for a set of network entities. (See Yu para. 79-82, table 1; two lists may contain different TCI states; for example set of predetermined combinations pattern by activation of ith TCI state ID in each list (e.g. pattern); set could be 1 or more)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020) and further in view of Jung (2020/0107353) and further in view of Xue (2018/0049203) and further in view of Zhang (2022/0077982; Filed 7 Jan 2020).
Regarding claim 11, Yu in view of Jung in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein:
Yu discloses the MAC CE. Yu does not explicitly disclose indicating a DMRS for PDSCH that is used for a single frequency network (SFN) and processing it differently than those for non-SFN. However, Zhang does disclose indicating a DMRS for PDSCH that is used for a single frequency network (SFN) and processing it differently than those for non-SFN. (See Zhang para. 49, 50; PDSCH DMRS are associated with two groups associated with 1st and second TCI state for non-SFN; para. 53; UE assumes SFN and SFN demodulation based upon being in common group and same PDSCH is associated with two TCI-state IDs; para. 47; MAC CE indicates grouping (has bits)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of indicating a DMRS for PDSCH that is used for a single frequency network (SFN) and processing it differently than those for non-SFN of Zhang with the motivation being to remove ambiguity about how the UE should interpret and process the transmission and further to allow the UE to know which receiver algorithm to apply quickly and further prevents incorrect channel estimation and further it enables faster mode switching if necessary and further it reduces signaling overhead.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020) and further in view of Xue (2018/0049203).
Regarding claim 33, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processing system configured to: (See Yu fig. 10, para. 154; UE with a processor)
signaling indicating candidate transmission configuration indicator (TCI)
states; (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates, for a
control resource set (CORESET) identifier (ID) and a serving cell ID, multiple TCI states
of the candidate TCI states are activated for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) processing, wherein the multiple TCI states includes only a first TCI state and a second TCI state, wherein the MAC CE includes an indication that indicates that the multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated, and wherein the MAC CE includes: a first TCI state ID field indicating a first TCI state ID corresponding to the first TCI state, and a second TCI state ID field indicating a second TCI state ID corresponding to the second TCI state; and (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates (e.g. a UE receives this indication) for a CORESET ID and Serving Cell ID, two or more TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (only first and second TCI state); contained in the MAC-CE is a TCI State ID #1 and #2;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated; para. 74; PDCCH processing; see also para. 70-77 which describe what each field does; para. 79; receiving the MAC CE)
monitor for a PDCCH transmission in accordance with the MAC CE. (See Yu para. 109; PDCCH monitoring for activated TCI states)
Yu discloses that the UE is configured. Yu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives the signaling. However, Xue does disclose that the UE receives the signaling. (See Xue para. 169; UE receives configuration including CORESET) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of that the UE receives the signaling of Xue with the motivation being to allow for flexibility in configuration of resources to meet network load and end user demands and further to allow for diversified devices to connect to the network with differing capabilities and further to assign resources according to the current wireless environment to increase reliability and reduce delay.
Regarding claim 37, Yu in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 33, wherein the signaling indicating candidate TCI states comprises radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a set of TCI state patterns for a set of network entities. (See Yu para. 79-82, table 1; two lists may contain different TCI states; for example set of predetermined combinations pattern by activation of ith TCI state ID in each list (e.g. pattern); set could be 1 or more)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020) and further in view of Xue (2018/0049203).
Regarding claim 41, Yu discloses a network entity, comprising:
a processing system configured to: (See Yu fig. 10, para. 154; BS with a processor)
signaling indicating candidate transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states; (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
transmit, to the UE, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that
indicates, for a control resource set (CORESET) identifier (ID) and a serving cell ID,
multiple TCI states of the candidate TCI states are activated for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) processing, wherein the multiple TCI states includes only a first TCI state and a second TCI state, wherein the MAC CE includes an indication that indicates that the multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated, and wherein the MAC CE includes: a first TCI state ID field indicating a first TCI state ID corresponding to the first TCI state, and a second TCI state ID field indicating a second TCI state ID corresponding to the second TCI state; and (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates (e.g. a UE receives this indication) for a CORESET ID and Serving Cell ID, two or more TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (only first and second TCI state); contained in the MAC-CE is a TCI State ID #1 and #2;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated; para. 74; PDCCH processing; see also para. 70-77 which describe what each field does; para. 79; receiving the MAC CE (from network))
transmit, to the UE, a PDCCH transmission in accordance with the MAC CE. (See Yu para. 109; PDCCH monitoring for activated TCI states by UE (e.g. PDCCH transmission by network (e.g. PDCCH stands for physical downlink control channel; downlink meaning from network to UE))
Yu discloses that the UE is configured. Yu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives the signaling. However, Xue does disclose that the UE receives the signaling. (See Xue para. 169, 179; UE receives (e.g. from network) configuration including CORESET; gNB configures (e.g. transmits to UE)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of that the UE receives the signaling of Xue with the motivation being to allow for flexibility in configuration of resources to meet network load and end user demands and further to allow for diversified devices to connect to the network with differing capabilities and further to assign resources according to the current wireless environment to increase reliability and reduce delay.
Regarding claim 45, Yu in view of Xue discloses the network entity of claim 41, wherein the signaling indicating candidate TCI states comprises radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a set of TCI state patterns for a set of network entities. (See Yu para. 79-82, table 1; two lists may contain different TCI states; for example set of predetermined combinations pattern by activation of ith TCI state ID in each list (e.g. pattern); set could be 1 or more)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 57, 60, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020).
Regarding claim 57, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processing system configured to: (See Yu fig. 10, para. 154; UE with a processor)
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates, for a
control resource set (CORESET) identifier (ID) and a serving cell ID, multiple transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states are activated for physical downlink
control channel (PDCCH) processing, wherein the multiple TCI states include a first TCI
state corresponding to a first TCI state ID and a second TCI state corresponding to a second TCI state ID, wherein the CORESET ID and the serving cell ID correspond to the first TCI state ID and the second TCI state ID, and wherein the MAC CE includes an
indication that indicates that the multiple TCI states are indicated; and (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates (e.g. a UE receives this indication) for a CORESET ID and Serving Cell ID, two or more TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (first and second TCI state); contained in the MAC-CE is a TCI State ID #1 and #2;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated; para. 74; PDCCH processing; see also para. 70-77 which describe what each field does; para. 79; receiving the MAC CE)
monitor for a PDCCH transmission in accordance with the MAC CE. (See Yu para. 109; PDCCH monitoring for activated TCI states)
Regarding claim 60, Yu discloses the UE of claim 57, wherein the multiple TCI states include only the first TCI state and the second TCI state. (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates two TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (only first and second TCI state))
Regarding claim 72, Yu discloses the UE of claim 60, wherein the CORESET ID is 4 bits, the serving cell ID is 5 bits, the first TCI state ID is 7 bits, and the second TCI state ID is 7 bits. (See Yu fig. 5; Octet (e.g. 8 bits); coreset ID is 4; serving cell ID is 5; TCI states are 7bits; see also para. 72-74 which describe the fields of the MACCE)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 62, and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020) and further in view of Xue (2018/0049203).
Regarding claim 62, Yu discloses the UE of claim 57, wherein the processing system is configured to indicating candidate TCI states, and wherein the candidate TCI states include the first TCI state and the second TCI state. (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
Yu discloses that the UE is configured. Yu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives the signaling. However, Xue does disclose that the UE receives the signaling. (See Xue para. 169; UE receives configuration including CORESET) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of that the UE receives the signaling of Xue with the motivation being to allow for flexibility in configuration of resources to meet network load and end user demands and further to allow for diversified devices to connect to the network with differing capabilities and further to assign resources according to the current wireless environment to increase reliability and reduce delay.
Regarding claim 63, Yu in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 62, wherein the signaling is radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 58, 64, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020).
Regarding claim 58, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processing system configured to: (See Yu fig. 10, para. 154; UE with a processor)
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates
multiple transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states are activated for physical
downlink control channel (PDCCH) processing, wherein the multiple TCI states include a first TCI state corresponding to a first TCI state identifier (ID) and a second TCI state corresponding to a second TCI state ID, wherein the MAC CE indicates a control resource set (CORESET) ID and a serving cell ID, and wherein the CORESET ID and the serving cell ID correspond to the first TCI state ID and the second TCI state ID, and wherein the MAC CE includes an indication that indicates that the multiple TCI states are indicated; and (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates (e.g. a UE receives this indication) for a CORESET ID and Serving Cell ID, two or more TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (first and second TCI state); contained in the MAC-CE is a TCI State ID #1 and #2;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated; para. 74; PDCCH processing; see also para. 70-77 which describe what each field does; para. 79; receiving the MAC CE)
monitor for a PDCCH transmission in accordance with the MAC CE. (See Yu para. 109; PDCCH monitoring for activated TCI states)
Regarding claim 64, Yu discloses the UE of claim 58, wherein the multiple TCI states include only the first TCI state and the second TCI state. (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates two TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (only first and second TCI state))
Regarding claim 73, Yu discloses the UE of claim 64, wherein the CORESET ID is 4 bits, the serving cell ID is 5 bits, the first TCI state ID is 7 bits, and the second TCI state ID is 7 bits. (See Yu fig. 5; Octet (e.g. 8 bits); coreset ID is 4; serving cell ID is 5; TCI states are 7bits; see also para. 72-74 which describe the fields of the MACCE)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 66 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020) and further in view of Xue (2018/0049203).
Regarding claim 66, Yu discloses the UE of claim 58, wherein the processing system is configured to indicating candidate TCI states, and wherein the candidate TCI states include the first TCI state and the second TCI state. (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
Yu discloses that the UE is configured. Yu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives the signaling. However, Xue does disclose that the UE receives the signaling. (See Xue para. 169; UE receives configuration including CORESET) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of that the UE receives the signaling of Xue with the motivation being to allow for flexibility in configuration of resources to meet network load and end user demands and further to allow for diversified devices to connect to the network with differing capabilities and further to assign resources according to the current wireless environment to increase reliability and reduce delay.
Regarding claim 67, Yu in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 66, wherein the signaling is radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 59 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020).
Regarding claim 59, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processing system configured to: (See Yu fig. 10, para. 154; UE with a processor)
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates, for
physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception, a control resource set
(CORESET) identifier (ID), a serving cell ID, and multiple transmission configuration
indicator (TCI) state IDs, wherein the multiple TCI state IDs include a first TCI
state ID corresponding to a first TCI state and a second TCI state ID corresponding to a second TCI state, wherein the CORESET ID and the serving cell ID correspond to the first TCI state ID and the second TCI state ID, and wherein the MAC CE includes an indication that indicates that the multiple TCI state IDs are indicated; and(See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates (e.g. a UE receives this indication) for a CORESET ID and Serving Cell ID, two or more TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (first and second TCI state); contained in the MAC-CE is a TCI State ID #1 and #2;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated; para. 74; PDCCH processing; see also para. 70-77 which describe what each field does; para. 79; receiving the MAC CE)
monitor for a PDCCH transmission in accordance with the MAC CE. (See Yu para. 109; PDCCH monitoring for activated TCI states)
Regarding claim 68, Yu discloses the UE of claim 59, wherein the multiple TCI state IDs include MAC CE indicates only the first TCI state ID and the second TCI state ID. (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates two TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (only first and second TCI state))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 70 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020) and further in view of Xue (2018/0049203).
Regarding claim 70, Yu discloses the UE of claim 59, wherein the processing system is configured to indicating candidate TCI states, and wherein the candidate TCI states include the first TCI state and the second TCI state. (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
Yu discloses that the UE is configured. Yu does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives the signaling. However, Xue does disclose that the UE receives the signaling. (See Xue para. 169; UE receives configuration including CORESET) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Yu to include the teaching of that the UE receives the signaling of Xue with the motivation being to allow for flexibility in configuration of resources to meet network load and end user demands and further to allow for diversified devices to connect to the network with differing capabilities and further to assign resources according to the current wireless environment to increase reliability and reduce delay.
Regarding claim 71, Yu in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 70, wherein the signaling is radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (See Yu para. 41, 60, 69; CORESET configured with a set of candidate TCI states by RRC signaling)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 74-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (2023/0106244: Provisional 62/984740; Date 3 March 2020).
Regarding claim 74, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processing system configured to: (See Yu fig. 10, para. 154; UE with a processor)
receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates, for
physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception, a control resource set
(CORESET) identifier (ID), a serving cell ID, and multiple transmission configuration
indicator (TCI) state IDs, wherein the multiple TCI state IDs include only a first TCI state
ID corresponding to a first TCI state and a second TCI state ID corresponding to a second TCI state, wherein the CORESET ID and the serving cell ID correspond to the first TCI state ID and the second TCI state ID, and (See Yu fig. 5, 6; MAC-CE that indicates (e.g. a UE receives this indication) for a CORESET ID and Serving Cell ID, two or more TCI States (e.g. multiple TCI states) of candidate TCI states which are activated; 3rd state is optional here (first and second TCI state); contained in the MAC-CE is a TCI State ID #1 and #2;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated; para. 74; PDCCH processing; see also para. 70-77 which describe what each field does; para. 79; receiving the MAC CE)
wherein the CORESET ID is 4 bits, the serving cell ID is 5 bits, the first TCI state ID is 7 bits, and the second TCI state ID is 7 bits; and (See Yu fig. 5; Octet (e.g. 8 bits); coreset ID is 4; serving cell ID is 5; TCI states are 7bits; see also para. 72-74 which describe the fields of the MACCE)
monitor for a PDCCH transmission in accordance with the MAC CE. (See Yu para. 109; PDCCH monitoring for activated TCI states)
Regarding claim 75, Yu discloses the UE of claim 74, wherein the MAC CE includes an indication that indicates that the multiple TCI state IDs are indicated. (See Yu fig. 5, 6;para. 75; C3, C4 continuation bit is indication that indicates that multiple TCI states for the PDCCH processing are indicated)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are allowed.
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461