Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 and dependents therein are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation to gas jets and liquid surface tension “are controlled to form a plurality of droplets” describes a method step, whereas the claim is directed to an atomization device. As such, the metes and bounds of the phrase are unclear. Examiner recommends replacing the phrase with “are configured to be controlled to form a plurality of droplets” (emphasis added).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “biological material bacteriophage” should be amended to recite “biological material or bacteriophage”. The deletion of “or” in claim 1 must be a typo, as clear from applicant’s arguments on p. 5, paras. 6 and 7 (reciting/arguing the claim language of “providing a liquid comprising a dispersed active biological material or bacteriophage”), as well as from the similarly amended claim 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 5, 7, and 9, and 11 - 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mezhericher (“Aerosol-assisted synthesis of submicron particles at room temperature using ultra-fine liquid atomization”), or under the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mezhericher in view of Chang (“Phage Therapy for Respiratory Infections”).
Regarding claim 1, Mezhericher discloses a method for creating aerosols of droplets, aerosols of particles, or powders, comprising: providing a liquid comprising a dispersed active biological material (see p. 607, c. 1, para. 1, p. 618, c. 2, para. 2, biotechnological precursor solution, which is left functional per p. 618, c. 1, para. 3; solutes in precursor solution are dispersed via mixing, see general teaching on p. 610, c. 2, para. 1; see also list in Fig. 8, active biomolecules such as “whey protein” or “trehalose”; examiner notes that applicant has defined “active” to refer to the product that induces the therapeutic effect, akin to “active ingredient”, see provided specification, p. 4: ll. 15 – 23; as such, the active biological material may include biomolecules such as amino acids, nucleotides, polysaccharides or simple sugars, and lipids, see p. 9: 4 - 8), aerating the liquid in an atomization chamber to form bubbles, such that the bubbles rise to a surface of the liquid (see p. 608, c. 1, para. 1, Fig. 1a, illustrating aerating gas forming bubbles that then rise to the surface; see Fig. 2a, element 1, for illustration of the atomization chamber); forming a submicron droplet aerosol by causing a gas jet to be directed through an opening in a tube towards at least one of the bubbles in the atomization chamber (see p. 608, c. 1, para. 1, Fig. 1a, illustrating gas jets passing through the bubbles to form droplets; see Fig. 1b illustrating the submicron size) and controlling a ratio of energy rates supplied by the gas jet and dissipated by the liquid surface tension of the at least one of the bubbles (p. 615. c. 1, para. 2 – c. 2: para. 1, see also equation 10; the energy rate is supplied by gas pressure of Pair, see applicant’s specification of [0074]; this is controlled with respect to the Ohnesorge number, which is a ratio of surface tension that dissipates the gas pressure as described in the cited paragraphs), thereby resulting in a plurality of droplets of the submicron droplet aerosol having a diameter of 0.2-1 um (p. 618, c. 1, para. 3, p. 608, c. 1, para. 1) optionally forming a dry particle aerosol via solvent evaporation of the submicron droplet aerosol (see Figs. 2a and 2b, drying pipe 3, p. 610, c. 1, para. 1); and optionally forming a powder of submicron or nano-structured particles by passing the dry particle aerosol through a particle collector (see Figs. 2 and 2b, trap 4, p. 610, c. 1, para. 1).
Without admitting otherwise, it is additionally noted that it would have been obvious to modify the functional biotechnological aerosol of Mezhericher to include a bacteriophage. Chang discloses a method of creating aerosols to produce viable bacteriophage at 1 um diameter for inhalatory treatment, see p. 5. Para. 3. Chang additionally discloses that the bacteriophage may be used to form a dry particle via spray drying at low temperatures to produce viable bacteriophage for inhalatory treatment, see p. 6: paras. 2 - 3. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the aerosol liquid of Mezhericher to comprise a bacteriophage as taught in Chang for the benefit of producing an aerosol or spray dried bacteriophage used in inhalatory treatments such as for bacterial respiratory infections, see abstract. The liquid and dry powder formulations for nebulization and inhalation have been extensively studied to determine safety and efficacy, see. p. 2, para. 2, as well as p. 5, para. 3, p. 6, paras. 2 - 3.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein a pressure of a gas provided to the tube in order to cause the gas jets is based on a viscosity of the liquid (see Fig. 7b, wherein the generate flow rate of droplets depends on the ohnesorge number, a measure of viscocity, and pressure is chose accordingly; see p. 616, equation 10, and p. 615, c. 2, para. 1).
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein a viscosity of the liquid is between 5 and 1000 times the viscosity of water (p. 609, c. 2, para. 1).
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the solvent evaporation involves subjecting the droplet aerosol a gas having a temperature between 0° C. and 120° C (p. 609, c. 2, para. 2).
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the submicron droplet aerosol or dry particle aerosol is then provided to a patient (pharmaceuticals are by definition provided to patients).
9. A system for creating aerosols of droplets, aerosols of particles, or powders, comprising: an atomization chamber; a tube within the atomization chamber, the tube configured to be partially submerged in a liquid, the tube comprising openings through a side wall of the tube, the openings arranged such that at least some openings are configured to direct a gas jet towards a bubble on a surface of the liquid to form a submicron droplet aerosol, the liquid containing a dispersed active biological material or bacteriophage, wherein a ratio of energy rates supplied by the gas jet and dissipated by the liquid surface tension of the bubble are controlled for form a plurality of droplets of the submicron droplet aerosol having a diameter of 0.2-1 um optionally, at least one chamber configured to form a dry particle aerosol via solvent evaporation of the submicron droplet aerosol; and optionally, a particle collector configured to collect dry particles from the dry particle aerosol (see claim 1 above; examiner additionally notes that the system need only be fully capable of controlling formation of the droplets, e.g. upon selection of the appropriate pressure and liquid; see discussion in section 35 USC 112(b) above).
11. The system according to claim 9, wherein an air pressure of the gas jet is based on a viscosity of the liquid (see claim 3 above).
12. The system according to claim 9, wherein a viscosity of the liquid is between 5 and 1000 times the viscosity of water (see claim 4 above).
13. The system according to claim 9, wherein the at least one chamber is configured to subject the submicron droplet aerosol to a gas having a temperature between 0° C. and 120° C (see claim 5 above).
14. The system according to claim 9, wherein the at least one chamber is configured to subject the submicron droplet aerosol to lyophilization (claim is anticipated, because the features of claim 14 depend on an optional limitation).
15. The system according to claim 9, wherein the submicron droplet aerosol or dry particle aerosol is configured to be introduced in-line with a ventilation machine (the atomization chamber has an outlet sized as fully capable of being fitted to a T-connection introducing the aerosol in line with a ventilation machine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mezhericher, or alternatively Mezhericher in view of Chang, in view of “Atomization of liquids by disintegrating thin liquid films using gas jets” (hereinafter “Mezhericher 2”).
Regarding claims 6, Mezhericher discloses the method according to claim 1. Mezhericher 2 discloses a similar method of producing aerosol (see Figs. 1a and 1b), wherein the aerosol formed into a dry particle via a solvent evaporation step includes lyophilization (see p. 99, c. 1, para. 1 “spray freeze drying”; see also evidencing reference to “Spray-freeze-drying: A novel process for the drying of foods and bioproducts”, spray freeze drying involves a solution being atomized, solidified and sublimed at low temperature and pressure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the aerosol of Mezhericher according to the aerosol lyophilization disclosed in Mezhericher 2 for the benefit of a widely used process of forming dry particles that prevents against thermal degradation.
14. The system according to claim 9, wherein the at least one chamber is configured to subject the submicron droplet aerosol to lyophilization (see claim 6 above).
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mezhericher, or alternatively Mezhericher in view of Chang, in view of Boehm (US 20070119449).
Regarding claim 7, Mezhericher discloses the method according to claim 1. Boehm discloses a nebulizer that generates aerosol via jet pressure, wherein the droplet aerosol is then provided to a patient (see [0025], [0070]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the atomization chamber of Mezhericher for introduction in-line with a ventilation machine as taught in Boehm for the benefit of providing the aerosol medicament while ventilating the patient, see [0002, 0003].
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the patient is being treated with a ventilation machine, and the submicron droplet aerosol or dry particle aerosol is introduced in-line with the ventilation machine (see claim 7 above).
15. The system according to claim 9, wherein the submicron droplet aerosol or dry particle aerosol is configured to be introduced in-line with a ventilation machine (see claim 7 above).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 10384218 B2 in view of Mezhericher. Mezhericher renders obvious an active biological material for the benefit of pharmaceutical applications, as well as controlling a ratio of energy rates supplied by the gas jet and dissipated by the liquid surface tension of the at least one of the bubbles thereby resulting in a plurality of droplets of the submicron droplet aerosol having a diameter of 0.2-1 um, for the benefit of improved manufacture, see claim 1 above, as well as p. 618, c. 1, para. 4. Examiner notes that optional limitations or dependents reciting optional limitations in the application claim(s) do not require a teaching in the reference claim(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2, para. 2, applicant argues that Mezhericher does not disclose a solution that contains biological materials dispersed throughout. However, p. 610, c. 2, para. 1, gives the general teaching of precursor solution preparation. The paragraph discloses mixing/dispersal of the active solute in preparation of the precursor solution. Surely, not every solute is within the purview of the paper, as clear from the paragraph, as well as Fig. 8 which compares the tested solutes against other potential materials (including biological material). The disclosure in p. 607, c. 1, para. 1 and p. 618, c. 2, para. 2, states that the formed pharmaceutical and biotechnological precursor solutions are used to produce the submicron aerosols.
On page 2, para. 3, applicant states that the amended claims require the biological material be active, which implies functionality. Mezhericher discloses exactly this – the production of functional submicron aerosols made from the pharmaceutical or biotechnological precursor, see p. 618, c. 1, para. 3 (“[A] novel aerosol-assisted technology for the synthesis of functional submicron particles was developed.” (emphasis added)). For example, the materials maintain functionality because they are not subjected to treatments such as elevated temperatures, see p. 618, c. 1, para. 5, c. 2, para. 2, as well as p. 607, c. 1, para. 1.
In page 2, para. 3, applicant states that Mezhericher does not establish “that the specific biological activity of a dispersed bacteriophage or biological material” retains its biological activity. In the event applicant attempts to argue that a viable biological material such as bacteriophage – or another, such as a virus or cell – should maintain its viability, examiner notes that such an argument relies on features not claimed. Applicant has defined “active” to refer to the product that induces the therapeutic effect, akin to “active ingredient”, see provided specification, p. 4: ll. 15 – 23. As such, the active biological material may include biomolecules such as amino acids, nucleotides, polysaccharides or simple sugars, and lipids, see p. 9: 4 – 8, rather than referring to biological viability of the biological material.
Regarding applicant’s argument on p. 6, para. 4, please see the relevant sections in Mezhericher found in claim 1 above.
As such, examiner hereby maintains rejection of claims 1, 9, and dependents therein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799