DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 3-8, 13 and 15-19 have been amended by the Applicant. Previous claims 1-20 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 13.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application of National Stage entry of PCT/KR2021/004449 , International Filing Date: 04/08/2021that claims foreign priority to KR 10-2020-0043891, filed 04/10/2020 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. (hereafter Im, of record see IDS dated 12/20/2024) US 20180367714 A1 in view of Hu et al. (hereafter Hu, or record) US 20180329276 A1 and in view of Cheong et al. (hereafter Cheong, or record) US 20100060966 A1.
In regard to intendent claim 1, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) a camera actuator (i.e. as camera module with OIS, AF and zoom actuators, see Abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-25,55-69,71-88]) comprising:
a housing (e.g. 1010, paragraphs [63, 68-82]);
a prism unit disposed in the housing (prism 1110 and moving holder 1120, paragraphs [76-88]); and
a first driving unit that drive the prism unit (1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110, e.g. paragraphs [81-96], e.g. Figs. 3-4),
wherein the prism unit (1110, 1120) includes: a prism ( prism reflecting member 1110, paragraphs [64, 84-96]); and
a prism mover disposed to surround the prism (i.e. as moving holder 1120 around and for prism 1110, e.g. paragraphs [76-96]),
wherein the first driving unit rotates the prism (1110), the prism mover (1120), of the prism unit about a first virtual line serving as a first rotational axis with respect to the housing and rotates the prism (1110), the prism mover (1120) of the prism unit about a second virtual line perpendicular to the first virtual line serving as a second rotational axis with respect to the housing, (i.e. as 1140 rotates 1120, 1110 and holding part of 1120 for 1110 with respect to 1010 about left-right virtual axis direction, OIS X, and rotated about up-down virtual axis direction (OIS Y) that are perpendicular, with three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 91-96,109-117]).
But Im is silent that the prism mover includes and moves a second driving unit disposed between the prism and the prism mover and that second driving unit rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing and the prism mover, and that a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit.
However, Hu teaches in same filed of inventions (see Figs. 1-10) of a camera actuator (optical system to control the reflecting unit for optical image stabilization (OIS) and focus e.g. 100, see title, abstract, paragraphs [2, 6-13,28-39]), and further teaches that that the prism mover includes and moves a second driving unit (DA2,DA3) disposed between the prism (302) and the prism mover (as DA1 moves/tilts 310, with prism 302, holder/frame 304,308 with 2nd, 3rd driver assemblies DA2,DA3, see paragraphs [31, 35-37], Figs. 1-3, and DA2,DA3 is between mover 304, 308 with prism 302, and DA1 as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 4-6, paragraphs [28-39], Figs. 1-3, allowing driving assemblies to control the reflecting unit(prism) to adjust the focus position of the reflecting light on the light-sensing element, for optical image stabilization improving the image quality paragraphs [11, 53]) and that the second driving unit (DA2,DA3 rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing and the prism mover (i.e. as DA2 rotates 302,308 in up-down virtual direction rotational Ax, Y axis on slated surface of 308,306, and DA3 rotates 302,308 in left-right virtual direction s rotation along Ay , Z axis on slated surface of 308,306 with respect to base 312, 300, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 4-6, paragraphs [28-39] Figs. 1-3.
Further, Cheong teaches in the related field of invention of piezoelectric actuator and method for driving a mirror (see Figs. 1-8, abstract, e.g. paragraphs [9-25, 38-50]) and further teaches second driving unit disposed between the prism and the mover and rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing, (i.e. as micromirror device 1 with piezoelectric elements 10,10a-d with support 20, hinge member 30and post 40 between base 11 and reflective element, mirror 50, and rotates 50 around X-axis, and Y-axis, with method for driving 50, e.g. paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4, 7 providing precise movement control and adjustment of the micromirror using feedback and misplacement error detection, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module actuator first driving part for reflective prism member of Im to include the second driving unit, as piezoelectric reflector driver according to teachings of Cheong, and that is disposed between the prism and the prism mover and that rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes extending along slanted inner surface of the prism mover according to teaching of Hu, in order to provide precise movement control and adjustment of the reflector using feedback and misplacement error detection, (see Hu e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48]), and thus allow driving assemblies to control the reflecting unit(prism) to fine adjust focus position for optical image stabilization thereby improving the image quality (see Cheong paragraphs [11, 53]).
Further, as a result of the combination of Im with Cheong and Hu, the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the first driving unit tilts the prism, the prism mover, and also the second driving unit (as 1140 rotates/tilts 1120, 1110, and the included DA2/DA3 of Hu and modified by Cheong, in left-right direction (OIS X) and up-down direction (OIS Y) that are with three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 91-96,109-117], with Hu in Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-39], and Cheong paragraphs [38-51], Figs. 2-4), and that a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit (given that piezoelectric actuator elements 10 provide small precise movements to the reflecting micromirror, see Im, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48-49], while first driving unit for driving the prism unit as 1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110 provides rotations of the moving holder with reflecting prism using VCMs having magnets and coils , e.g. paragraphs [77-94], e.g. Figs. 3-4).
In regard to intendent claim 13, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) a camera module (as camera module 1000 part of electronic device 1, paragraphs [50-62], e.g. Figs. 1-4) comprising: a first camera actuator; and
a second camera actuator (i.e. as camera module with OIS, AF and zoom actuators, see Abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-25,55-69,71-88]), wherein the first camera actuator performs an OIS (Optical Image Stabilizer) function (i.e. as 1st driving part 1140 for OIS, paragraphs [81, 87-94]), wherein the second camera actuator performs an auto focusing or zoom function (i.e. 2nd driving part 1240 for AF and zoom, paragraphs [81, 123-128], Figs. 1-4), wherein light incident from an outside is incident on the second camera actuator through the first camera actuator (as light incident of reflecting prism 1110 of 1st driving part then reflects through lenses of 2nd driving part 1240 paragraphs [81, 187-94, 23-128], Figs. 1-4), wherein the first camera actuator (1000 part with 1140, Figs. 2-4) includes:
a housing (e.g. 1010, paragraphs [63, 68-82]);
a prism unit disposed in the housing (prism 1110 and moving holder 1120, paragraphs [76-88]); and
a first driving unit that drives the prism unit (1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110, e.g. paragraphs [81-94], e.g. Figs. 3-4),
wherein the prism unit (1110, 1120) includes:
a prism ( prism reflecting member 1110, paragraphs [64, 84-96]); and
a prism mover disposed to surround the prism (i.e. as moving holder 1120 around and for prism 1110, e.g. paragraphs [76-96]),
wherein the first driving unit rotates the prism (1110), the prism mover (1120), of the prism unit about a first virtual line serving as a first rotational axis with respect to the housing and rotates the prism (1110), the prism mover (1120) of the prism unit about a second virtual line perpendicular to the first virtual line serving as a second rotational axis with respect to the housing, (i.e. as 1140 rotates 1120, 1110 and holding part of 1120 for 1110 with respect to 1010 about left-right virtual axis direction, OIS X, and rotated about up-down virtual axis direction (OIS Y) that are perpendicular, with three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 91-96,109-117]).
But Im is silent that the prism mover includes and moves a second driving unit disposed between the prism and the prism mover and that second driving unit rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing and the prism mover, and that a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit.
However, Hu teaches in same filed of inventions (see Figs. 1-10) of a camera actuator (optical system to control the reflecting unit for optical image stabilization (OIS) and focus e.g. 100, see title, abstract, paragraphs [2, 6-13,28-39]), and further teaches that that the prism mover includes and moves a second driving unit (DA2,DA3) disposed between the prism (302) and the prism mover (as DA1 moves/tilts 310, with prism 302, holder/frame 304,308 with 2nd, 3rd driver assemblies DA2,DA3, see paragraphs [31, 35-37], Figs. 1-3, and DA2,DA3 is between mover 304, 308 with prism 302, and DA1 as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 4-6, paragraphs [28-39], Figs. 1-3, allowing driving assemblies to control the reflecting unit(prism) to adjust the focus position of the reflecting light on the light-sensing element, for optical image stabilization improving the image quality paragraphs [11, 53]) and that the second driving unit (DA2,DA3 rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing and the prism mover (i.e. as DA2 rotates 302,308 in up-down virtual direction rotational Ax, Y axis on slated surface of 308,306, and DA3 rotates 302,308 in left-right virtual direction s rotation along Ay , Z axis on slated surface of 308,306 with respect to base 312, 300, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 4-6, paragraphs [28-39] Figs. 1-3.
Further, Cheong teaches in the related field of invention of piezoelectric actuator and method for driving a mirror (see Figs. 1-8, abstract, e.g. paragraphs [9-25, 38-50]) and further teaches second driving unit disposed between the prism and the mover and rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing, (i.e. as micromirror device 1 with piezoelectric elements 10,10a-d with support 20, hinge member 30and post 40 between base 11 and reflective element, mirror 50, and rotates 50 around X-axis, and Y-axis, with method for driving 50, e.g. paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4, 7 providing precise movement control and adjustment of the micromirror using feedback and misplacement error detection, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module actuator first driving part for reflective prism member of Im to include the second driving unit, as piezoelectric reflector driver according to teachings of Cheong, and that is disposed between the prism and the prism mover and that rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes extending along slanted inner surface of the prism mover according to teaching of Hu, in order to provide precise movement control and adjustment of the reflector using feedback and misplacement error detection, (see Hu e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48]), and thus allow driving assemblies to control the reflecting unit(prism) to fine adjust focus position for optical image stabilization thereby improving the image quality (see Cheong paragraphs [11, 53]).
Further, as a result of the combination of Im with Cheong and Hu, the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the first driving unit tilts the prism, the prism mover, and also the second driving unit (as 1140 rotates/tilts 1120, 1110, and the included DA2/DA3 of Hu and modified by Cheong, in left-right direction (OIS X) and up-down direction (OIS Y) that are with three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 91-96,109-117], with Hu in Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-39], and Cheong paragraphs [38-51], Figs. 2-4), and that a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit (given that piezoelectric actuator elements 10 provide small precise movements to the reflecting micromirror, see Im, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48-49], while first driving unit for driving the prism unit as 1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110 provides rotations of the moving holder with reflecting prism using VCMs having magnets and coils , e.g. paragraphs [77-94], e.g. Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) the second driving unit includes a plurality of piezoelectric devices (as per combination, Im includes driver 10 with piezoelectric cells 10a-d of Cheong, paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4), wherein the prism mover includes the inner surface which faces one side surface of the prism and is inclined at a predetermined angle (i.e. as inner surface of 1120 at angle facing surface of 1110, Figs. 3A, 2-4, paragraphs [76-96], with Hu modification to include DA2,DA3 with inclined surface in 308, paragraphs [31-39], Figs.), and wherein the plurality of piezoelectric devices is disposed on the inner surface of the prism mover (due to combination as pzt’s 10a-d are below the reflecting element, Im Figs. 2-4, paragraphs [76-96], Cheong, paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) the first driving unit (1140) includes a plurality of sub driving units including a coil unit and a magnet (i.e. three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 109-117]), wherein the plurality of sub driving units includes:
a first sub driving unit facing a first outer surface of the prism mover; a second sub driving unit facing a second outer surface of the prism mover (i.e. as 1143a,b on one side and 1145a,b on another side of 1120,1110, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 109-117]); and
a third sub driving unit facing a lower surface of the prism (mover unit 1141a,b, on lower side of 1120,1110, , Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 109-117]), wherein the first and second sub driving units face each other in a first direction in which the first virtual line extends (i.e. as 1143a,b on faces 1145a,b in x-direction left-right direction, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 109-117]), and wherein the third sub driving unit faces the prism unit in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction (1141a,b, faces 1120,1110, in y-direction up-down direction, perpendicular to x-direction Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 109-117]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) the first and second sub driving units rotate the prism unit in the second virtual line ion with respect to the housing (as best understood 1143a,b form 1145a,b rotate/tilt the 1120,1110 around y-axis direction, for OIS X, see Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 109-117]).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) the third driving sub unit rotates the prism unit about the first virtual line with respect to the housing (as best understood 1141a,b rotates 1120,1110 around x axis direction for OIS Y, see Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 109-117]).
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 18, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the plurality of piezoelectric devices (as device 1 with 10a-c is applied to reflector 1110 of Im, see claim 1 above) includes: first and second piezoelectric devices spaced apart from each other in the third direction; and third and fourth piezoelectric devices spaced apart from each other in a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction. (i.e. as due to shape and symmetry of 1 with 10a-d applied to angled surface of 1120 below 1110, 10b-d spaced in x (horizontal direction), and 10a-c in vertical direction, see Cheong paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4, and applied according to DA2,DA3 spaced along Ax, and Ay directions, see Hu Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-39]), wherein the prism is provided to be rotationally movable in the third direction based on the second virtual line by at least one of the first piezoelectric device or the second piezoelectric device on the prism mover (i.e. as due to application of device 1 with 10a-d to rotate reflector prism holder 1120,1110 in Im Figs. 3-4, and see Cheong paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4, and applied according to DA2,DA3 spaced along Ax, and Ay directions, providing tilting along Ax or Ay directions, see Hu Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-39]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) with the plurality of piezoelectric devices (as device 1 with 10a-c is applied to reflector 1110 of Im, see claim 1 above) wherein the prism is provided to be rotatably movable in the fourth direction based on the first virtual line by at least one of the third piezoelectric device or the fourth piezoelectric device on the prism mover (i.e. as due to application of device 1 with 10a-d to rotate reflector prism holder 1120,1110 in Im Figs. 3-4, and see Cheong paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4, and applied according to DA2,DA3 spaced along Ax, and Ay directions, providing tilting along Ax or Ay directions, see Hu Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-39]).
Regarding claims 9, and 20, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) the second driving unit (piezoelectric device 1 of Cheong as applied to Im) includes: a circuit board disposed on the inner surface of the prism mover (i.e. 1 has base sides 11 accommodating 15 with 10a-d on inner surface of 1120 below 1110 of Im Figs. 3-4, see Cheong paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4,); and a base layer disposed on the circuit board and including a plurality of openings, wherein the plurality of piezoelectric devices are respectively disposed in the plurality of openings (i.e. as support 20 with openings for 10a-c and hinge 30, also as bottom layer of 15, 10 with 10a-d in/between openings 13, see Cheong paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 10, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im (see Figs. 1-14) with Cheong teaches the base layer includes an elastically deformable material (i.e. as support 20 and hinge 30 are deformable, see Cheong paragraphs [38-51, 53], as depicted in Figs. 2-4). .
Regarding claims 11, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the first driving unit drives the prism unit in a first driving method, and wherein the second driving unit drives the prism in a second driving method different from the first driving method (given that piezoelectric actuator elements 10 with small precise movements to the reflecting micromirror, see Cheong, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48-49], while first driving unit for driving the prism unit as 1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110 provides rotations of the moving holder with reflecting prism using VCMs having magnets and coils , see Im, e.g. paragraphs [77-94], e.g. Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 12, the Im-Hu -Cheong combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Im (see Figs. 1-14) with Cheong teaches that a thickness of each of the plurality of piezoelectric devices is greater than or equal to a thickness of the base layer (i.e. as support 20 and hinge 30, or bottom of 10 at lower parts of 15, thinner than piezoelectric elements 10a-d, see Cheong paragraphs [38-51, 53], as depicted in Figs. 2-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant’s arguments, filed in the Remarks dated 03/27/2026 with respect to anticipatory rejection of claim 1over Hu reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 over Hu reference has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 03/27/2026 regarding the obviousness rejection over cited prior art of Im, Hu and Cheong, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 15-16 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Hu either alone or when used in combination does not disclose that (1) “a first driving unit that drives the prism unit, wherein the prism unit includes a prism; a prism mover disposed to surround the prism; and a second driving unit disposed between the prism and the prism mover and that drives the prism, wherein the first driving unit rotates the prism, the prism mover, and the second driving unit of the prism unit about a first virtual line serving as a first rotational axis with respect to the housing and rotates the prism, the prism mover, and the second driving unit of the prism unit about a second virtual line perpendicular to the first virtual line serving as a second rotational axis with respect to the housing, wherein the second driving unit rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing and the prism mover, and wherein a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit”, as Im doesn’t not disclose second driving, Hu does not apply as explained for anticipation rejection and has different driving units, and Cheong, fails to overcome the deficiencies of Im and Hu, however, without providing further reasons and explanations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (1) as noted in the rejections above, the cited prior art of Im teaches most limitations of amended claims 1 and 13 and in combination with cited prior art of Hu and Cheong teaches and renders obvious all limiations of claim 1 (as well as claim 13) as, Im teaches (see Figs. 1-14) a camera actuator (i.e. as camera module with OIS, AF and zoom actuators, see Abstract, e.g. paragraphs [3-25,55-69,71-88]) comprising:
a housing (e.g. 1010, paragraphs [63, 68-82]);
a prism unit disposed in the housing (prism 1110 and moving holder 1120, paragraphs [76-88]); and
a first driving unit that drive the prism unit (1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110, e.g. paragraphs [81-96], e.g. Figs. 3-4),
wherein the prism unit (1110, 1120) includes: a prism ( prism reflecting member 1110, paragraphs [64, 84-96]); and
a prism mover disposed to surround the prism (i.e. as moving holder 1120 around and for prism 1110, e.g. paragraphs [76-96]),
wherein the first driving unit rotates the prism (1110), the prism mover (1120), of the prism unit about a first virtual line serving as a first rotational axis with respect to the housing and rotates the prism (1110), the prism mover (1120) of the prism unit about a second virtual line perpendicular to the first virtual line serving as a second rotational axis with respect to the housing, (i.e. as 1140 rotates 1120, 1110 and holding part of 1120 for 1110 with respect to 1010 about left-right virtual axis direction, OIS X, and rotated about up-down virtual axis direction (OIS Y) that are perpendicular, with three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 91-96,109-117]).
But Im is silent that the prism mover includes and moves a second driving unit disposed between the prism and the prism mover and that second driving unit rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing and the prism mover, and that a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit.
Thus Hu was used as Hu teaches in same filed of inventions (see Figs. 1-10) of a camera actuator (optical system to control the reflecting unit for optical image stabilization (OIS) and focus e.g. 100, see title, abstract, paragraphs [2, 6-13,28-39]), and further teaches that that the prism mover includes and moves a second driving unit (DA2,DA3) disposed between the prism (302) and the prism mover (as DA1 moves/tilts 310, with prism 302, holder/frame 304,308 with 2nd, 3rd driver assemblies DA2,DA3, see paragraphs [31, 35-37], Figs. 1-3, and DA2,DA3 is between mover 304, 308 with prism 302, and DA1 as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 4-6, paragraphs [28-39], Figs. 1-3, allowing driving assemblies to control the reflecting unit(prism) to adjust the focus position of the reflecting light on the light-sensing element, for optical image stabilization improving the image quality paragraphs [11, 53]) and that the second driving unit (DA2,DA3 rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing and the prism mover (i.e. as DA2 rotates 302,308 in up-down virtual direction rotational Ax, Y axis on slated surface of 308,306, and DA3 rotates 302,308 in left-right virtual direction s rotation along Ay , Z axis on slated surface of 308,306 with respect to base 312, 300, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 4-6, paragraphs [28-39] Figs. 1-3.
Further, Cheong was used as Cheong teaches in the related field of invention of piezoelectric actuator and method for driving a mirror (see Figs. 1-8, abstract, e.g. paragraphs [9-25, 38-50]) and further teaches second driving unit disposed between the prism and the mover and rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes with respect to the housing, (i.e. as micromirror device 1 with piezoelectric elements 10,10a-d with support 20, hinge member 30and post 40 between base 11 and reflective element, mirror 50, and rotates 50 around X-axis, and Y-axis, with method for driving 50, e.g. paragraphs [38-51], as depicted in Figs. 2-4, 7 providing precise movement control and adjustment of the micromirror using feedback and misplacement error detection, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48]).
Hence, as presented above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module actuator first driving part for reflective prism member of Im to include the second driving unit, as piezoelectric reflector driver according to teachings of Cheong, and that is disposed between the prism and the prism mover and that rotates the prism about the first virtual line and the second virtual line as the first and second rotational axes extending along slanted inner surface of the prism mover according to teaching of Hu, in order to provide precise movement control and adjustment of the reflector using feedback and misplacement error detection, (see Hu e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48]), and thus allow driving assemblies to control the reflecting unit(prism) to fine adjust focus position for optical image stabilization thereby improving the image quality (see Cheong paragraphs [11, 53]). Further, as a result of the combination of Im with Cheong and Hu, the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the first driving unit tilts the prism, the prism mover, and also the second driving unit (as 1140 rotates/tilts 1120, 1110, and the included DA2/DA3 of Hu and modified by Cheong, in left-right direction (OIS X) and up-down direction (OIS Y) that are with three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 91-96,109-117], with Hu in Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-39], and Cheong paragraphs [38-51], Figs. 2-4), and that a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit (given that piezoelectric actuator elements 10 provide small precise movements to the reflecting micromirror, see Im, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48-49], while first driving unit for driving the prism unit as 1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110 provides rotations of the moving holder with reflecting prism using VCMs having magnets and coils , e.g. paragraphs [77-94], e.g. Figs. 3-4).
Additionally, the teachings of Im, Hu and Cheong are applied in combination. Specifically, as a result of the combination of Im with Cheong and Hu, the combination also teaches and renders obvious that the first driving unit tilts the prism, the prism mover, and also the second driving unit (as 1140 rotates/tilts 1120, 1110, and the included DA2/DA3 of Hu and modified by Cheong, in left-right direction (OIS X) and up-down direction (OIS Y) that are with three magnet-coil units 1141a,b, 1143a,b 1145a,b, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [81-83, 91-96,109-117], with Hu in Figs. 3-6, paragraphs [31-39], and Cheong paragraphs [38-51], Figs. 2-4), and that a driving displacement of the second driving unit is smaller than a driving displacement of the first driving unit (given that piezoelectric actuator elements 10 provide small precise movements to the reflecting micromirror, see Im, e.g. paragraphs [11-13, 21-24, 41, 48-49], while first driving unit for driving the prism unit as 1st driving part 1140 for driving 1120 with 1110 provides rotations of the moving holder with reflecting prism using VCMs having magnets and coils , e.g. paragraphs [77-94], e.g. Figs. 3-4).
Therefore, the cited prior art of Im with Hu and Cheong teaches and renders obvious the above limitations noted under issue 1, and all limitations in independent claims 1 and 13.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 16 of the Remarks dated 03/27/2026.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872