Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IB2021/053096 (04/15/2021),
and claims foreign priority to ITALY 102020000008209 (04/17/2020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, step d, uses the language “the NaBr salt” which lacks an antecedent basis in the claims as it is unclear whether the claim is referring to the earlier salt recited in the claim or is referencing a different new salt. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would find the claim confusing and ambiguous such that the claim is rendered indefinite. Thus, the claim including those that depend therefrom, claims 1-21, are rejected as indefinite.
Claim 9 includes the language “preferable” which renders the claim indefinite (MPEP 2173.05(d)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonelli et al. (Helv. Chim. Acta. 2005, 88, 154-159) in view of Campisi et al. (US20110189265).
Regarding claim 1, Leonelli teaches preparation of HA-paclitaxel conjugate as shown in Scheme 2 (p. 156):
The experimental details of the preparation are provided on p. 158:
Thus, Leonelli teaches the claim’s step (a) activating paclitaxel in CH2Cl2 (organic solvent) with 4-bromobutanoic acid (aka 4-bromobutyric acid spacer/linker), with DMAP (catalyst) to obtain compound (6) (intermediate of the HA-paclitaxel conjugate). Leonelli teaches equivalents to claim’s step (b) with the intermediate being washed, dried, evaporated, column chromatograph (CC) and crystallized (“EtOH/hexane 1:1”) to give a “white solid”. Leonelli teaches equivalent to step d including washing with ethanol and water, dialysis against distilled water and freeze-drying.
Leonelli does not specifically teach the particular crystallizing step in step b, the use of DMSO in step c, and step d’s purifying steps.
Campisi teaches preparation of conjugates of HA with chemotherapeutic drugs, including HA-paclitaxel conjugates (Abstract). Campisi teaches synthesis of the HA-drug conjugates including combining the drug intermediate with HA TBA in DMSO ([0085]; [0093]-[0094]) followed by the addition of an NaBr solution and precipitation with ethanol, and washing with ethanol ([0086]-[0087]; [0095]; [0097]) followed by drying under vacuum at 40 C ([0087]; [0089]; [0095]).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Leonelli would have readily considered combining the teachings with Campisi which is in the same field of endeavor of HA-drug conjugate preparations. One of ordinary skill in the would consider routine the modification of Leonelli’s preparation steps to optimize the purity and efficacy of the resulting HA-drug conjugate product, including using well-known steps of isolation/purification by crystallization as suggested by Leonelli in precipitation of solids as well as using known solvents and rearranging preparation/purification steps. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered utilizing the solvent DMSO instead of Leonelli’s DMP in view of Campisi’s success with DMSO in the same step of preparing HA TBA salt. One of ordinary skill in the art would also have considered replacing Leonelli’s brine (NaCl) with Campisi’s NaBr in view of Campisi’s success with NaBr in the same/equivalent ion exchange/precipitation step. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also considered utilizing a similar workup as Campisi’s including filtration/washing with ethanol and drying at 40C both at atmospheric pressure and under vacuum which would be saturated initially in the process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the modified combination due to the high level of skill in the art and the prior art being to the same type of HA-drug conjugate preparation.
Regarding claim 2, Leonelli teaches the carbodiimide is EDC.
Regarding claim 3, Leonelli teaches the catalyst is DMAP.
Regarding claim 3, Leonelli teaches the catalyst is DMAP.
Regarding claim 4, Leonelli teaches use of hexane as a solvent in the equivalent step b which is a homolog of heptane (differing by one repeating -CH2- group) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect similar effect and utilize such as solvent in the crystallization step (see MPEP 2144.09).
Regarding claim 5, sample workup steps including drying are routine in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would know that time and temperature are results effective variables as Leonelli and Campisi varied time and temperature in their workups, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the same variables and arrive at the claimed invention through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 6, Leonelli teaches the HA is ~ 185 kDa.
Regarding claims 7-8, specifying the origin of the HA, the claim does not recite this as a required step, but instead uses the language as a means of defining the structure of the product which is characterized by average molecular weight. As with claim 6, Leonelli teaches the HA is ~ 185 kDa. In addition, Campisi teaches the HA derivatization in the same range and is fermentative in origin ([0071]).
Regarding claim 9, the process of claims 1-8 are rendered obvious as detailed above and the product produced by the process steps is also rendered obvious. In addition, Campisi teaches similar levels of derivatization, fermentative origin, molecular weight, solid, and purity all of which one of ordinary skill in the art would consider in optimization of the resulting product to improve therapeutic efficacy and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, the process of claims 1-8 are rendered obvious as detailed above and the product produced by the process steps is also rendered obvious. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize purity of the resulting product to improve therapeutic efficacy and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, Campisi teaches the HA derivatization in the same range ([0071]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize through routine experimentation for therapeutic efficacy and arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 12-13, Leonelli suggests the use of the conjugate for treating ovarian cancer (p. 155) and Campisi teaches formulations including 5% glucose ([0078], [0100]-[0102], [0124], [0150], [0163]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would consider in optimization of the formulation and arrive at the claimed invention through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 14, Leonelli teaches the use of EDC.
Regarding claim 15, Campisi teaches the HA derivatization in the same range ([0071]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize through routine experimentation for therapeutic efficacy and arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 16, Leonelli teaches use of hexane as a solvent in the equivalent step b which is a homolog of heptane (differing by one repeating -CH2- group) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect similar effect and utilize such as solvent in the crystallization step (see MPEP 2144.09).
Regarding claim 17-19, sample workup steps including drying are routine in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would know that time and temperature are results effective variables as Leonelli and Campisi varied time and temperature in their workups, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the same variables and arrive at the claimed invention through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 20, Leonelli teaches the HA is ~ 185 kDa.
Regarding claims 21-22, Leonelli suggests the use of the conjugate for treating ovarian cancer (p. 155) and Campisi teaches formulations including 5% glucose ([0078], [0100]-[0102], [0124], [0150], [0163]) which one of ordinary skill in the art would consider in optimization of the formulation and arrive at the claimed invention through routine experimentation.
With each of the above claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art in the same field of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9789200. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are to a scope of HA-antitumoral compounds where the supporting disclosure includes antitumoral of HA-paclitaxel and as detailed in the 35 USC 103 rejection over Leonelli et al. (Helv. Chim. Acta. 2005, 88, 154-159) in view of Campisi et al. (US20110189265 – PGPUB of US9789200), and incorporated herein, renders the instant claims obvious for the same reasons.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626