DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Claims 21-37 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 and similarly 31 recite “storing at least one operating parameter limit of an intended use of the medical-technical device” (emphasis added), however the specification does not describe the operating parameter limit in regards to an intended use of the device. While applicant has cited Par. 30, 34-36 and 60 to disclose the amended/new language, regarding intended use, Par. 30 recites “determined whether the components survive the intended use without failure with a predetermined certainty. Further, according to the invention, the simulation is performed beforehand outside the device, and the results of the simulation are assigned, based on determined parameters, to the actual scenario of use, and the result of the assigned simulation is used for determining the risk of failure of the components”, while Par. 34-36 and 60 discuss parameters of particular components of the device. Neither of these describe an operating parameter limit of an intended use of the medical-technical device, rather they describe operating parameter limits of components of the device.
In addition, claim 27 and similarly 35 recite “displayed as a percentage likelihood of failure” however the cited portion of the specification does not describe displaying a percentage of the likelihood of failure nor does the rest of the specification describe said feature.
In addition, claim 30 and similarly 36 recite “wherein the step of outputting the indication based on the determined risk of failure includes a control signal configured to trigger a shutdown, maintenance prompt, or operational restriction of the medical-technical device” however the cited portion of the specification does not describe said elements.
Further, claim 32 recites “minimally invasive surgical procedures” however the cited portion of the specification does not describe said elements.
Claims 22-26, 28-29, 33-34, and 37 are rejected based on their inherited deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 21 and similarly in claim 31 recite(s) “A method for predicting failure of a medical-technical device” and ‘simulating… a future operational scenario of the medical-technical device based on the stored at least one operating parameter; comparing the simulated future operational scenario with the at least one operating parameter limit; determining, based on the comparison, whether a risk of failure exists for the medical-technical device in the simulated future operational scenario;’ which are directed to mathematical calculations and/or mental processes as evidenced by the calculating likelihood, i.e. probability.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “a processing unit” and “storing the sensed at least one operating parameter on a memory, the memory including at least one operating parameter limit associated with an intended use of the medical-technical device;” are considered to be simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The elements of “sensing, during operation of the medical-technical device, at least one operating parameter of at least one wear-prone component using at least one sensor;” and “outputting an indication based on the determined risk of failure” are considered to be data gathering and outputting steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The element of “at least one wear-prone component” and “a medical-technical device” is considered to be a nominal or token extra-solution component of the claim, and is nothing more than an attempt to generally link the method to a particular technological environment.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “a processing unit” and “storing the sensed at least one operating parameter on a memory, the memory including at least one operating parameter limit associated with an intended use of the medical-technical device;” are considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d). The elements of “sensing, during operation of the medical-technical device, at least one operating parameter of at least one wear-prone component using at least one sensor;” and “outputting an indication based on the determined risk of failure” are considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g)(ii), well-understood, routine and conventional in the field per MPEP 2106.05(d), the additional elements amount to nothing more than a recitation of the words “apply it” MPEP 2106.05(f)(1) also see MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)(iii) “Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result”. The elements of “at least one wear-prone component” and “a medical-technical device” are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use per MPEP 2106.05(h) “Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token post solution components did not make the concept patentable” and well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see US 20190357873 A1, US 20070156285 A1, US 20190376991 A1).
Claims 22-24, 32, and 35 are not integrated into a practical application or include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use per MPEP 2106.05(h) “Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token post solution components did not make the concept patentable” and well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see US 20190357873 A1, US 20070156285 A1, US 20190376991 A1).
Claims 25 and 33 are considered to further describe the abstract ideas above.
Claims 28 and 37 are not integrated into a practical application or include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because it is considered to be simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer and well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Claim 26-27, 29-30 and 34-36 is not integrated into a practical application or include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are considered to be are considered to be data gathering and outputting steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity and adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g)(ii), well-understood, routine and conventional in the field per MPEP 2106.05(d), the additional elements amount to nothing more than a recitation of the words “apply it” MPEP 2106.05(f)(1) also see MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)(iii) “Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 25-28, 31, 33 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UEBLER (US 20190357873 A1).
In claim 1, UEBLER discloses a method for predicting failure of a medical-technical device (Par. 2 “a medical device” Fig. 1, 10), the method comprising: sensing, during operation of the medical-technical device, at least one operating parameter (Par. 11, 134 “output parameter”) of at least one wear-prone component using at least one sensor (Par. 134 “sensor”, Par. 11, 109, 134 “failure or malfunction of one or several components”, “electrical and/or mechanical components”); storing the sensed at least one operating parameter on a memory (Par. 134 “memory”, Par. 71 “data may be stored by one or more computer readable recording mediums”, Par. 104 “difference between a standard value and an actual output parameter exceeds a threshold value”), the memory including at least one operating parameter limit associated with an intended use of the medical-technical device (Par. 104 “difference between a standard value and an actual output parameter exceeds a threshold value”, Par. 134 “the sensor detects an oscillation of a magnet used by a magnetic imaging device” “a deviation of the measured parameter from a default value”); simulating, by a processing unit (Par. 66), a future operational scenario of the medical-technical device based on the stored at least one operating parameter (Par. 73 “acts and symbolic representations of operations [e.g., in the form of flow charts, flow diagrams, data flow diagrams, structure diagrams, block diagrams, etc.] that may be implemented in conjunction with units and/or devices discussed in more detail below”); comparing the simulated future operational scenario with the at least one operating parameter limit (Par. 104 “difference between a standard value and an actual output parameter exceeds a threshold value”); determining, based on the comparison, whether a risk of failure exists for the medical-technical device in the simulated future operational scenario (Par. 110 “risk for the malfunction is provided for an individual medical device”); and outputting an indication based on the determined risk of failure (Fig. 1 32, Par. 2 “predicting a malfunction”, Par. 119 “informed about the probability that the warning message is caused by a specific defect” examiner considers said probability to be functionally equivalent to said percentage).
In claim 25, UEBLER discloses wherein the step of simulating the future operational scenario includes applying a predefined use profile corresponding to a planned medical procedure (Par. 166 “rendering 103 at least one virtual output parameter 22 of the virtual model 20 based on simulating a malfunction of at least one virtual component 21, [0170] (d) providing 104 the at least one virtual output parameter 22 to the medical device software; [0171] (e) correlating 105 the response of the medical device software 30 to the at least one virtual output parameter 22”).
In claim 26, UEBLER discloses wherein the step of outputting an indication includes generating an alert if the simulated future operational scenario exceeds the at least one operating parameter limit (Par. 171-173 “in particular any warning message 31 generated by the medical device software, to the simulated malfunction of the at least one virtual component 21; [0172] Repeating (f) steps (c) to (e) for a plurality of different simulated malfunctions and [0173] feeding a warning message generated by the medical device software 30 to the knowledge base 50, and in response the knowledge base 50 provides a probability value 51, wherein the probability value 51 specifies a probability for a malfunction of a certain component 11”).
In claim 27, UEBLER discloses wherein the indication includes a visual display of a remaining usable life, a number of remaining cycles, or a likelihood of failure expressed as a percentage (Par. 104 “information about a deviation of a specific or several different specific output parameters from the corresponding default value. Such warning messages are evidently most useful in providing maintenance service, since they allow providing service, e.g. replacing defective components, before complete failure and resulting downtime of the medical device”, Par. 132 “machine learning system suggests to change the maintenance interval when one or several warning messages indicate a failure of a component or sub-unit of the medical device in the near future”, Par. 161 “machine learning system 40 might provide a probability 51 that a total failure occurs within a defined time interval to the operator 35 of the medical device 10”).
In claim 28, UEBLER discloses updating the at least one stored operating parameter limit upon replacement of the wear-prone component (Par. 101, 104, 158).
In claim 30, UEBLER discloses wherein the step of outputting the indication based on the determined risk of failure includes a control signal configured to trigger a shutdown, maintenance prompt (Par. 103 “The warning message is forwarded or sent to a server, in particular to a central managing server, that, for example, coordinates the maintenance, and the message is then displayed on a screen”), or operational restriction of the medical-technical device.
In claim 31, UEBLER discloses a medical-technical system (Par. 2 “a medical device” Fig. 1, 10) comprising: at least one sensor configured to sense (Par. 134 “sensor”), during operation, an operating parameter (Par. 11, 134 “output parameter”) of at least one wear-prone component of the medical-technical device (Par. 11, 109, 134 “failure or malfunction of one or several components”, “electrical and/or mechanical components”); a memory (Par. 134 “memory”) configured to store the sensed operating parameter and at least one operating parameter limit associated with an intended use of the medical-technical device (Par. 71 “data may be stored by one or more computer readable recording mediums” Par. 104 “difference between a standard value and an actual output parameter exceeds a threshold value”); a processor (Par. 66) configured to simulate a future operational scenario of the medical-technical device based on the stored operating parameter (Par. 73 “acts and symbolic representations of operations [e.g., in the form of flow charts, flow diagrams, data flow diagrams, structure diagrams, block diagrams, etc.] that may be implemented in conjunction with units and/or devices discussed in more detail below”), compare the simulated future operational scenario with the stored operating parameter limit (Par. 104 “difference between a standard value and an actual output parameter exceeds a threshold value”), and determine a risk of failure based on the comparison (Par. 110 “risk for the malfunction is provided for an individual medical device” Par. 104 “difference between a standard value and an actual output parameter exceeds a threshold value”); and an interface (Par. 103 “displayed on a screen”) configured to output an indication based on the determined risk of failure (Fig. 1 32, Par. 2 “predicting a malfunction”, Par. 119 “informed about the probability that the warning message is caused by a specific defect” examiner considers said probability to be functionally equivalent to said percentage).
In claim 33, UEBLER discloses wherein the processor is configured to simulate a future use scenario (Par. 104 “difference between a standard value and an actual output parameter exceeds a threshold value”, Par. 161 “machine learning system 40 might provide a probability 51 that a total failure occurs within a defined time interval to the operator 35 of the medical device 10”) comprising a sequence of expected operational loads (Par. 133 “predicts a crucial defect of one component depending on the warning message of a sequence of warning messages in the near future”).
In claim 35, UEBLER discloses wherein the interface includes a display configured to show a failure likelihood as a percentage or as a number of remaining operational cycles (Par. 104 “information about a deviation of a specific or several different specific output parameters from the corresponding default value. Such warning messages are evidently most useful in providing maintenance service, since they allow providing service, e.g. replacing defective components, before complete failure and resulting downtime of the medical device”, Par. 132 “machine learning system suggests to change the maintenance interval when one or several warning messages indicate a failure of a component or sub-unit of the medical device in the near future”, Par. 161 “machine learning system 40 might provide a probability 51 that a total failure occurs within a defined time interval to the operator 35 of the medical device 10”).
In claim 36, UEBLER discloses wherein the processor is further configured to generate a shutdown command or maintenance recommendation if the simulated future operational scenario exceeds the stored operating parameter limit (Par. 103 “The warning message is forwarded or sent to a server, in particular to a central managing server, that, for example, coordinates the maintenance, and the message is then displayed on a screen”).
In claim 37, UEBLER discloses wherein the memory is further configured to be updated upon component replacement to reset wear data (Par. 101, 104, 158).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UEBLER in view of Rudorfer (US 20190376991 A1).
In claim 22, UEBLER does not explicitly disclose wherein the medical-technical device is a liquid pump for laparoscopy, arthroscopy, hysteroscopy, uroscopy, or an insufflation device.
Rudorfer teaches wherein the medical-technical device is a liquid pump (Par. 3, Par. 15 “pump”) for laparoscopy, arthroscopy, hysteroscopy, uroscopy, or an insufflation device (Par. 15 “aspiration/dispense system” examiner considers to be equivalent to a insufflation device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have wherein the medical-technical device is a liquid pump for laparoscopy, arthroscopy, hysteroscopy, uroscopy, or an insufflation device based on the teachings of Rudorfer in view of Uebler in order to reduced mean time to repair (Rudorfer Par. 16) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 23, UEBLER does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one wear-prone component is an electric motor.
Rudorfer teaches wherein the at least one wear-prone component is an electric motor (Par. 15, 20 “motors, or other electrical components”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have wherein the at least one wear-prone component is an electric motor based on the teachings of Rudorfer in view of Uebler in order to reduced mean time to repair (Rudorfer Par. 16) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 24, UEBLER does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one operating parameter comprises at least one of:(i) current drawn by the motor, (ii) rotational speed of the motor, (iii) temperature, (iv) vibration, or (v) operating duration.
Rudorfer teaches wherein the at least one operating parameter comprises at least one of:(i) current drawn by the motor, (ii) rotational speed of the motor, (iii) temperature, (iv) vibration, or (v) operating duration (Par. 20 “flow” “vibration”, “noise”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have wherein the at least one operating parameter comprises at least one of:(i) current drawn by the motor, (ii) rotational speed of the motor, (iii) temperature, (iv) vibration, or (v) operating duration based on the teachings of Rudorfer in view of Uebler in order to reduced mean time to repair (Rudorfer Par. 16) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 34, UEBLER does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is configured to measure one or more of. electric current, rotational speed, internal temperature, or vibrational signature.
Rudorfer teaches wherein the at least one sensor is configured to measure one or more of. electric current, rotational speed, internal temperature, or vibrational signature (Par. 20 “flow” “vibration”, “noise”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have wherein the at least one sensor is configured to measure one or more of. electric current, rotational speed, internal temperature, or vibrational signature based on the teachings of Rudorfer in view of Uebler in order to reduced mean time to repair (Rudorfer Par. 16) thus leading to an improved system.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UEBLER in view of Heldman (US 20140074179 A1).
In claim 29, UEBLER does not explicitly disclose wherein the step of outputting the indication includes transmitting the indication using SMS and/or email.
UEBLER does not explicitly disclose wherein the step of outputting the indication includes transmitting the indication using SMS and/or email.
Heldman teaches wherein the step of outputting the indication includes transmitting the indication using SMS and/or email (Par. 182).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have wherein the step of outputting the indication includes transmitting the indication using SMS and/or email based on the teachings of Heldman in view of Uebler in order for the clinician, physician or technician can access them for review (Heldman Par. 182).
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UEBLER in view of Rudorfer and in further view of SILLMAN (US 20070156285 A1).
In claim 32, UEBLER does not explicitly disclose wherein the medical-technical device is configured as a pump for use in minimally invasive surgical procedures.
Rudorfer teaches wherein the medical-technical device is configured as a pump (Par. 15).
SILLMAN teaches wherein the medical-technical device is for use in minimally invasive surgical procedures (Par. 3 “Medical robotic systems such as those used in performing minimally invasive surgical procedures”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have wherein the medical-technical device is configured as a pump as taught by Rudorfer since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have for use in minimally invasive surgical procedures as taught by SILLMAN in UEBLER combined with Rudorfer, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s 112(a) arguments, the rejection applies to the new claims as the new matter is still in the new claims and the cited portions as previously recited do not disclose said subject matter. Regarding the 101 arguments, the previous rejection applies to the new claims as well. Regarding applicant’s 103 arguments, examiner notes that “real time” is not recited in the claims. As cited above the prior art of record discloses the new claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20110177021 A1 COMPOSITION FOR FORMING A TEMPORARY OBSTRUCTION AND METHOD OF FORMING THE SAME; US 20120252709 A1 VESSELS, CONTACT SURFACES, AND COATING AND INSPECTION APPARATUS AND METHODS.
/B.J.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857