DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-16, 18, 25-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Axelsson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20050160472), hereinafter “Axelsson”.
Regarding claim 15, Axelsson teaches a method performed by a terminal in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving signals using a frequency band (Axelsson: [0049] - “A receiver receives the broadcast transmission. In step 400 there is detected the SI. Preferably, a certain satellite system transmission is received but other systems can be applied as well. The received broadcast transmission has also certain characterizing parameters, for example, the applied frequency.” ; Axelsson teaches a terminal or receiver receiving signals with certain parameters, one of those parameters being an applied frequency for the signal.);
and identifying whether the signals are received using a non-terrestrial network (NTN) based on the frequency band (Axelsson: [0028] - “The DSID identifies the type of the delivery system (Satellite, Cable, Terrestrial), a band the satellite is transmitting” ; [0040] - “The exemplary satellite_delivery_system_descriptor defines a frequency for the satellite connection.” ; Axelsson teaches identifying the type of delivery system used and the type of band the satellite is transmitting with. The satellite descriptor includes a frequency used for the satellite connection. This specific frequency or band used for the satellite connection shows that the signal is received using a satellite or NTN.),
wherein in case that the frequency band is for the NTN, the signals are received using the NTN (Axelsson: [0047] - “Bit 12 (306) depicts the band which the satellite is applying in transmission. A value "0" for the bit 306 indicates Ku band having an approximate frequency 11 GHz. A value "1" for the bit 306 indicates C band having an approximate frequency 4 GHz. Bit 13 (308) is reserved for future use.” ; [0049] - “A receiver receives the broadcast transmission. In step 400 there is detected the SI. Preferably, a certain satellite system transmission is received but other systems can be applied as well. The received broadcast transmission has also certain characterizing parameters, for example, the applied frequency.” ; Axelsson shows that a satellite operates on certain or specific frequency bands and this applied frequency is associated with the parameters of a received signal. This parameter information in the SI shows that the signal is received using the applied frequency and the signal is received from a satellite if the frequency is used by the satellite.).
Regarding claim 16, Axelsson teaches receiving system information block (SIB) for the NTN; and identifying that the NTN-based communication is performed in case that the SIB for the NTN is received (Axelsson: [0028] - “A Delivery System Identifier (DSID) is used within a descriptor and the DSID is referred to in a Network Information Table (NIT). The DSID identifies the type of the delivery system (Satellite, Cable, Terrestrial), a band the satellite is transmitting and the position in which the satellite appears on the sky. The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI).” ; Axelsson teaches an identifier (DSID) that contains many different types of information such as the frequency a satellite is communicating on and the type of delivery system used. This identifier information is referred to in the network information table (NIT) and this table is contained in the Service Information (SI) of a signal. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
Regarding claim 18, Axelsson teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes location information of a satellite providing service to the terminal (Axelsson: [0039] - "Some embodiments of the invention apply the descriptors. The descriptors are referred to in the NIT.... The delivery system descriptors comprises, for example, a satellite_delivery_system_descriptor." ; [0040] - "The exemplary satellite_delivery_system_descriptor defines a frequency for the satellite connection... The satellite delivery system descriptor defines also orbital_position. " ; [0028] - "The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI)." ; Axelsson teaches a descriptor that includes information such as location information for a satellite. This descriptor is referred to in the NIT which is contained in the SI. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
Regarding claim 25, Axelsson teaches a terminal in a communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive signals using a frequency band (Axelsson: [0019] - “computer program code for causing the system to compare a delivery system identifier with parameters stored in a receiver for receiving the broadcast transmission” ; [0049] - “A receiver receives the broadcast transmission. In step 400 there is detected the SI. Preferably, a certain satellite system transmission is received but other systems can be applied as well. The received broadcast transmission has also certain characterizing parameters, for example, the applied frequency.” ; Axelsson teaches computer program code that is stored in a terminal or receiver receiving signals with certain parameters, one of those parameters being an applied frequency for the signal. The computer program code controls the system and is stored in the receiver.),
and identify whether the signals are received using a non-terrestrial network (NTN) based on the frequency band (Axelsson: [0028] - “The DSID identifies the type of the delivery system (Satellite, Cable, Terrestrial), a band the satellite is transmitting” ; [0040] - “The exemplary satellite_delivery_system_descriptor defines a frequency for the satellite connection.” ; Axelsson teaches identifying the type of delivery system used and the type of band the satellite is transmitting with. The satellite descriptor includes a frequency used for the satellite connection. This specific frequency or band used for the satellite connection shows that the signal is received using a satellite or NTN.),
wherein in case that the frequency band is for the NTN, the signals are received using the NTN (Axelsson: [0047] - “Bit 12 (306) depicts the band which the satellite is applying in transmission. A value "0" for the bit 306 indicates Ku band having an approximate frequency 11 GHz. A value "1" for the bit 306 indicates C band having an approximate frequency 4 GHz. Bit 13 (308) is reserved for future use.” ; [0049] - “A receiver receives the broadcast transmission. In step 400 there is detected the SI. Preferably, a certain satellite system transmission is received but other systems can be applied as well. The received broadcast transmission has also certain characterizing parameters, for example, the applied frequency.” ; Axelsson shows that a satellite operates on certain or specific frequency bands and this applied frequency is associated with the parameters of a received signal. This parameter information in the SI shows that the signal is received using the applied frequency and the signal is received from a satellite if the frequency is used by the satellite.).
Regarding claim 26, Axelsson teaches receive system information block (SIB) for the NTN, and identify that the NTN-based communication is performed in case that the SIB for the NTN is received (Axelsson: [0028] - “A Delivery System Identifier (DSID) is used within a descriptor and the DSID is referred to in a Network Information Table (NIT). The DSID identifies the type of the delivery system (Satellite, Cable, Terrestrial), a band the satellite is transmitting and the position in which the satellite appears on the sky. The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI).” ; Axelsson teaches an identifier (DSID) that contains many different types of information such as the frequency a satellite is communicating on and the type of delivery system used. This identifier information is referred to in the network information table (NIT) and this table is contained in the Service Information (SI) of a signal. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
Regarding claim 28, Axelsson teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes location information of a satellite providing service to the terminal (Axelsson: [0039] - "Some embodiments of the invention apply the descriptors. The descriptors are referred to in the NIT.... The delivery system descriptors comprises, for example, a satellite_delivery_system_descriptor." ; [0040] - "The exemplary satellite_delivery_system_descriptor defines a frequency for the satellite connection... The satellite delivery system descriptor defines also orbital_position. " ; [0028] - "The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI)." ; Axelsson teaches a descriptor that includes information such as location information for a satellite. This descriptor is referred to in the NIT which is contained in the SI. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20070019762), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches a method performed by a node supporting a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a communication system, the method comprising: identifying whether to transmit signals using NTN; and in case that the signals are to be transmitted using the NTN, transmitting the signals using a frequency band for the NTN (Lee: [0017] - “In another aspect of the present invention, a communication terminal is provided.” ; [0006] - "Digital Multimedia Broadcasts (DMBs), which have also been introduced, are divided into terrestrial and satellite DMBs depending on whether a terrestrial or satellite band is used to transmit the DMB signals." Lee teaches a communication terminal that can support both satellite and terrestrial communications. Lee also teaches that broadcasts can be either a terrestrial or satellite broadcast and that it will identify whether to use either a terrestrial or satellite DMB to transmit the broadcast signal based on whether a terrestrial or satellite band is used.).
Regarding claim 30, Lee teaches a node supporting a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a communication system, the node comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: identify whether to transmit signals using NTN, and in case that the signals are to be transmitted using the NTN, transmit the signals using a frequency band for the NTN (Lee: [0017] - “In another aspect of the present invention, a communication terminal is provided.” ; [0006] - "Digital Multimedia Broadcasts (DMBs), which have also been introduced, are divided into terrestrial and satellite DMBs depending on whether a terrestrial or satellite band is used to transmit the DMB signals." Lee teaches a communication terminal, which can be seen as a transceiver, that can support both satellite and terrestrial communications. Lee also teaches that broadcasts can be either a terrestrial or satellite broadcast and that it will identify whether to use either a terrestrial or satellite DMB to transmit the broadcast signal based on whether a terrestrial or satellite band is used.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 27 are rejected as being unpatentable over Axelsson, in view of Yu et al. (English Translation of WIPO (WO-2019095575-A1) downloaded from IP.com), hereinafter “Yu”.
Regarding claim 17, Axelsson teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes time information associated with a satellite providing service to the terminal (Axelsson: [0033] - “Some embodiments of the invention apply Service Information (SI). SI comprises digital data describing the delivery system, content and scheduling/timing of broadcast data streams.” ; Axelsson teaches the Service Information (SI) including time information for received satellite signal. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).),
However, Axelsson fails to teach wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point (Yu: [Page 26, Paragraph 2] -“the access network device may also add a new SIB to carry the time information." ; "A terminal device is a device with wireless transceiver capability...; it can also be deployed on the water (such as ships); it can also be deployed in the air (such as airplanes, balloons, and Satellite, etc.).” ; [Page 7, Paragraph 5] - “where the first indication message includes time information of the terminal device, and the granularity of the time information is 1 us or 100 ns or 1 ms;" ; [Page 20, Paragraph 11] - "Here, the first indication message may further include at least one of the following: a time information reference point, and a time type.” ; [Page 20, Paragraph 14] - “Specifically, the time information reference point may be a specific frame number or a subframe number or a specific time slot of a certain subframe or a boundary of a specific first symbol in a certain subframe (the boundary includes an initial And the last two cases); or a specific frame number or subframe number closest to the time when the message was received or a specific time slot or a specific number of a certain subframe in a certain subframe The boundary of the symbol (the boundary includes both the start and end)." ; Yu teaches that a SIB can be configured to carry timing information for a terminal, wherein the terminal can be a satellite. The timing information includes a time type that indicate the units for time and also a time information reference point. This reference point can be used as a start/end boundary or a specific time slot.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether a received signal is from a non-terrestrial network from Axelsson to incorporate a System Information Block (SIB) including time information for the received satellite signal wherein the time information includes units of time after a certain reference point from Yu. This allows the system to properly synchronize the communication between the satellite and the terminal due to the fact that satellites can operate in different orbits with vary delays. This reduces any timing errors and also ensures efficient communication of signals.
Regarding claim 27, Axelsson teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes time information associated with a satellite providing service to the terminal Axelsson: [0033] - “Some embodiments of the invention apply Service Information (SI). SI comprises digital data describing the delivery system, content and scheduling/timing of broadcast data streams.” ; Axelsson teaches the Service Information (SI) including time information for received satellite signal. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).),
However, Axelsson fails to teach wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point (Yu: [Page 26, Paragraph 2] -“the access network device may also add a new SIB to carry the time information." ; "A terminal device is a device with wireless transceiver capability...; it can also be deployed on the water (such as ships); it can also be deployed in the air (such as airplanes, balloons, and Satellite, etc.).” ; [Page 7, Paragraph 5] - “where the first indication message includes time information of the terminal device, and the granularity of the time information is 1 us or 100 ns or 1 ms;" ; [Page 20, Paragraph 11] - "Here, the first indication message may further include at least one of the following: a time information reference point, and a time type.” ; [Page 20, Paragraph 14] - “Specifically, the time information reference point may be a specific frame number or a subframe number or a specific time slot of a certain subframe or a boundary of a specific first symbol in a certain subframe (the boundary includes an initial And the last two cases); or a specific frame number or subframe number closest to the time when the message was received or a specific time slot or a specific number of a certain subframe in a certain subframe The boundary of the symbol (the boundary includes both the start and end)." ; Yu teaches that a SIB can be configured to carry timing information for a terminal, wherein the terminal can be a satellite. The timing information includes a time type that indicate the units for time and also a time information reference point. This reference point can be used as a start/end boundary or a specific time slot.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether a received signal is from a non-terrestrial network from Axelsson to incorporate a System Information Block (SIB) including time information for the received satellite signal wherein the time information includes units of time after a certain reference point from Yu. This allows the system to properly synchronize the communication between the satellite and the terminal due to the fact that satellites can operate in different orbits with vary delays. This reduces any timing errors and also ensures efficient communication of signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 29 are rejected as being unpatentable over Axelsson, in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220086765), hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 19, Axelsson fails to teach wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to receive a RAR message.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to receive a RAR message (Zhang: [0021] - "The UE expects to receive the RAR within a time window, of which the start and end are configured by the gNB via system information block (SIB)." ; [0055] - "These access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs, TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell)." ; Zhang teaches that the SIB can contain information for a start and end time for a RAR window to receive a RAR message. This SIB is configured by a satellite station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether a received signal is from a non-terrestrial network from Axelsson to incorporate a System Information Block (SIB) including information for a random access response (RAR) window to receive any RAR messages from Zhang. By providing a RAR window in the SIB, this allows the terminal to send an access attempt during the proper RAR window without wasting any resources by sending multiple access attempts and missing any responses that fall outside of the RAR window. This improves the overall efficiency of the system and prevents any data loss and access failures.
Regarding claim 29, Axelsson fails to teach teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to receive a RAR message.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to receive a RAR message (Zhang: [0021] - "The UE expects to receive the RAR within a time window, of which the start and end are configured by the gNB via system information block (SIB)." ; [0055] - "These access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs, TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell)." ; Zhang teaches that the SIB can contain information for a start and end time for a RAR window to receive a RAR message. This SIB is configured by a satellite station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether a received signal is from a non-terrestrial network from Axelsson to incorporate a System Information Block (SIB) including information for a random access response (RAR) window to receive any RAR messages from Zhang. By providing a RAR window in the SIB, this allows the terminal to send an access attempt during the proper RAR window without wasting any resources by sending multiple access attempts and missing any responses that fall outside of the RAR window. This improves the overall efficiency of the system and prevents any data loss and access failures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23 and 31 are rejected as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Axelsson.
Regarding claim 21, Lee fails to teach transmitting system information block (SIB) for the NTN; and identifying that the NTN-based communication is performed in case that the SIB for the NTN is received.
In the same field of endeavor, Axelsson teaches transmitting system information block (SIB) for the NTN; and identifying that the NTN-based communication is performed in case that the SIB for the NTN is received (Axelsson: [0028] - “A Delivery System Identifier (DSID) is used within a descriptor and the DSID is referred to in a Network Information Table (NIT). The DSID identifies the type of the delivery system (Satellite, Cable, Terrestrial), a band the satellite is transmitting and the position in which the satellite appears on the sky. The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI).” ; Axelsson teaches an identifier (DSID) that contains many different types of information such as the frequency a satellite is communicating on and the type of delivery system used. This identifier information is referred to in the network information table (NIT) and this table is contained in the Service Information (SI) of a signal. This Service Information (SI) is included in every broadcast to help define the type of network being used. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee to incorporate the broadcast signal including service information (SI) that includes identifier information from Axelsson. Sending the SI for the NTN allows the receiving terminal device to accurately identify the type of network used and the frequency band the network is operating on which reduces any connection failures and improves reliability in the system.
Regarding claim 23, Lee fails to teach wherein the SIB for the NTN includes location information of a satellite providing service to a terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, Axelsson teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes location information of a satellite providing service to a terminal (Axelsson: [0039] - "Some embodiments of the invention apply the descriptors. The descriptors are referred to in the NIT.... The delivery system descriptors comprises, for example, a satellite_delivery_system_descriptor." ; [0040] - "The exemplary satellite_delivery_system_descriptor defines a frequency for the satellite connection... The satellite delivery system descriptor defines also orbital_position. " ; [0028] - "The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI)." ; Axelsson teaches a descriptor that includes information such as location information for a satellite. This descriptor is referred to in the NIT which is contained in the SI. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee to incorporate the SI to include location information for the satellite from Axelsson. This location information allows the system to accurately adjust and optimize transmissions and transmission power according to the satellites position. Knowing the location of a satellite also reduces any delays and communication errors while also saving power in the system.
Regarding claim 31, Lee fails to teach transmit system information block (SIB) for the NTN, and identify that the NTN-based communication is performed in case that the SIB for the NTN is received.
In the same field of endeavor, Axelsson teaches transmit system information block (SIB) for the NTN, and identify that the NTN-based communication is performed in case that the SIB for the NTN is received (Axelsson: [0028] - “A Delivery System Identifier (DSID) is used within a descriptor and the DSID is referred to in a Network Information Table (NIT). The DSID identifies the type of the delivery system (Satellite, Cable, Terrestrial), a band the satellite is transmitting and the position in which the satellite appears on the sky. The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI).” ; Axelsson teaches an identifier (DSID) that contains many different types of information such as the frequency a satellite is communicating on and the type of delivery system used. This identifier information is referred to in the network information table (NIT) and this table is contained in the Service Information (SI) of a signal. This Service Information (SI) is included in every broadcast to help define the type of network being used. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee to incorporate the broadcast signal including service information (SI) that includes identifier information from Axelsson. Sending the SI for the NTN allows the receiving terminal device to accurately identify the type of network used and the frequency band the network is operating on which reduces any connection failures and improves reliability in the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Yu.
Regarding claim 22, Lee fails to teach wherein the SIB for the NTN includes time information associated with a satellite providing service to a terminal, and wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes time information associated with a satellite providing service to a terminal, and wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point (Yu: [Page 26, Paragraph 2] -“the access network device may also add a new SIB to carry the time information." ; "A terminal device is a device with wireless transceiver capability...; it can also be deployed on the water (such as ships); it can also be deployed in the air (such as airplanes, balloons, and Satellite, etc.).” ; [Page 7, Paragraph 5] - “where the first indication message includes time information of the terminal device, and the granularity of the time information is 1 us or 100 ns or 1 ms;" ; [Page 20, Paragraph 11] - "Here, the first indication message may further include at least one of the following: a time information reference point, and a time type.” ; [Page 20, Paragraph 14] - “Specifically, the time information reference point may be a specific frame number or a subframe number or a specific time slot of a certain subframe or a boundary of a specific first symbol in a certain subframe (the boundary includes an initial And the last two cases); or a specific frame number or subframe number closest to the time when the message was received or a specific time slot or a specific number of a certain subframe in a certain subframe The boundary of the symbol (the boundary includes both the start and end)." ; Yu teaches that a SIB can be configured to carry timing information for a terminal, wherein the terminal can be a satellite. The timing information includes a time type that indicate the units for time and also a time information reference point. This reference point can be used as a start/end boundary or a specific time slot.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee to incorporate a System Information Block (SIB) including time information for the received satellite signal wherein the time information includes units of time after a certain reference point from Yu. This allows the system to properly synchronize the communication between the satellite and the terminal due to the fact that satellites can operate in different orbits with vary delays. This reduces any timing errors and also ensures efficient communication of signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 24, Lee fails to teach wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to transmit a RAR message.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to transmit a RAR message (Zhang: [0021] - "The UE expects to receive the RAR within a time window, of which the start and end are configured by the gNB via system information block (SIB)." ; [0055] - "These access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs, TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell)." ; Zhang teaches that the SIB can contain information for a start and end time for a RAR window to receive a RAR message. This SIB is configured by a satellite station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee to incorporate a System Information Block (SIB) including information for a random access response (RAR) window to receive any RAR messages from Zhang. By providing a RAR window in the SIB, this allows the terminal to send an access attempt during the proper RAR window without wasting any resources by sending multiple access attempts and missing any responses that fall outside of the RAR window. This improves the overall efficiency of the system and prevents any data loss and access failures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Axelsson, further in view of Yu.
Regarding claim 32, Lee fails to teach wherein the SIB for the NTN includes time information associated with a satellite providing service to a terminal, and wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point.
In the same field of endeavor, Axelsson teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes time information associated with a satellite providing service to a terminal (Axelsson: [0033] - “Some embodiments of the invention apply Service Information (SI). SI comprises digital data describing the delivery system, content and scheduling/timing of broadcast data streams.” ; Axelsson teaches the Service Information (SI) including time information for received satellite signal. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).),
However, Axelsson fails to teach wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches wherein the time information indicates a time in multiples of a specific time unit after a reference point (Yu: [Page 26, Paragraph 2] -“the access network device may also add a new SIB to carry the time information." ; "A terminal device is a device with wireless transceiver capability...; it can also be deployed on the water (such as ships); it can also be deployed in the air (such as airplanes, balloons, and Satellite, etc.).” ; [Page 7, Paragraph 5] - “where the first indication message includes time information of the terminal device, and the granularity of the time information is 1 us or 100 ns or 1 ms;" ; [Page 20, Paragraph 11] - "Here, the first indication message may further include at least one of the following: a time information reference point, and a time type.” ; [Page 20, Paragraph 14] - “Specifically, the time information reference point may be a specific frame number or a subframe number or a specific time slot of a certain subframe or a boundary of a specific first symbol in a certain subframe (the boundary includes an initial And the last two cases); or a specific frame number or subframe number closest to the time when the message was received or a specific time slot or a specific number of a certain subframe in a certain subframe The boundary of the symbol (the boundary includes both the start and end)." ; Yu teaches that a SIB can be configured to carry timing information for a terminal, wherein the terminal can be a satellite. The timing information includes a time type that indicate the units for time and also a time information reference point. This reference point can be used as a start/end boundary or a specific time slot.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee and a System Information Block (SIB) including time information for the received satellite signal from Axelsson to incorporate the time information including units of time after a certain reference point from Yu. This allows the system to properly synchronize the communication between the satellite and the terminal due to the fact that satellites can operate in different orbits with vary delays. This reduces any timing errors and also ensures efficient communication of signals.
Regarding claim 33, Lee and Yu fails to teach wherein the SIB for the NTN includes location information of a satellite providing service to the terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, Axelsson teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes location information of a satellite providing service to the terminal (Axelsson: [0039] - "Some embodiments of the invention apply the descriptors. The descriptors are referred to in the NIT.... The delivery system descriptors comprises, for example, a satellite_delivery_system_descriptor." ; [0040] - "The exemplary satellite_delivery_system_descriptor defines a frequency for the satellite connection... The satellite delivery system descriptor defines also orbital_position. " ; [0028] - "The NIT is contained in the Service Information (SI)." ; Axelsson teaches a descriptor that includes information such as location information for a satellite. This descriptor is referred to in the NIT which is contained in the SI. The system information block (SIB) can be defined and is utilized in the same manner as the Service Information (SI).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee and a System Information Block (SIB) including time information wherein the time information includes units of time after a certain reference point from Yu to incorporate the SI to include location information for the satellite from Axelsson. This location information allows the system to accurately adjust and optimize transmissions and transmission power according to the satellites position. Knowing the location of a satellite also reduces any delays and communication errors while also saving power in the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 34 is rejected as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Axelsson, further in view of Yu, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 34, Lee, Axelsson, and Yu fails to teach wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to transmit a RAR message.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the SIB for the NTN includes information for random access response (RAR) window to transmit a RAR message (Zhang: [0021] - "The UE expects to receive the RAR within a time window, of which the start and end are configured by the gNB via system information block (SIB)." ; [0055] - "These access nodes can be referred to as BS, gNBs, RAN nodes, eNBs, NodeBs, RSUs, TRxPs or TRPs, and so forth, and can comprise ground stations (e.g., terrestrial access points) or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell)." ; Zhang teaches that the SIB can contain information for a start and end time for a RAR window to receive a RAR message. This SIB is configured by a satellite station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the instant application to have modified the method of identifying whether to transmit a signal using a NTN and transmitting the signal using an NTN frequency band from Lee and a System Information Block (SIB) including time information for the received satellite signal from Axelsson wherein the time information includes units of time after a certain reference point from Yu to incorporate a System Information Block (SIB) including information for a random access response (RAR) window to receive any RAR messages from Zhang. By providing a RAR window in the SIB, this allows the terminal to send an access attempt during the proper RAR window without wasting any resources by sending multiple access attempts and missing any responses that fall outside of the RAR window. This improves the overall efficiency of the system and prevents any data loss and access failures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied on is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Wei (U.S. Publication No. 20220337310) teaches receiving a signal from a coverage area and identifying whether the coverage area is formed by a NTN based on the frequency of the received signal.
/M.S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465