DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 11/12/2025 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 10-16 have been canceled. Claims 1-9 are pending, Claims 3, 5-6 and 8-9 have been withdrawn, and Claims 1-2, 4 and 7 have been considered on the merits, insofar as they read on the elected species of TP508, subcutaneous injection, and a subject is diagnosed with a respiratory virus infection. All arguments have been fully considered.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claims 1-2 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Carney (US 2013/0101574 A1; 4/25/2013. Cited on IDS) under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney (US 2013/0101574 A1; 4/25/2013. Cited on IDS) in view of Lee et al (Evol Med Public Health. 2016;1:95–109.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the” on line 1 should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney (US 2013/0101574 A1; 4/25/2013. Cited on IDS) in view of Bridges (Public Health England. 2009;1-108.).
The instant claims recite a method of treating a subject with respiratory distress comprising administering to the subject TP508 or a derivate thereof.
Carney teaches a method of reducing the risk of developing systemic bacterial, fungal or viral infection in a subject, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a thrombin peptide derivative, wherein the subject has been exposed to a bacterial, fungal or viral infection (para 0077, 0172), the subject has pneumonia or other pulmonary conditions that could lead to acute respiratory distress syndrome or systemic infections (para 0079), and the thrombin peptide derivative is TP508 (para 0153). Carney teaches the method wherein said administering includes subcutaneous injection (para 0180-0181).
Carney does not teach the method is for treating a subject with respiratory distress (claim 1).
However, Carney does teach the method wherein the thrombin peptide derivative including TP508 is used for reducing the risk of mortality in a subject exposed to a lethal dose of radiation, reducing the risk of developing bacterial, fungal or viral infection in a subject exposed to radiation, treating a subject with traumatic injury, dermal injury and/or burn injury who is also exposed to radiation, reducing radiation related injury in a subject undergoing radiation therapy, reducing the risk of developing a radiation induced illness in a subject undergoing radiation therapy (para 0025). Bridges teaches within a few hours of a very high dose of radiation, respiratory distress can occur (p.9 para 5, p.55 col right – para 4), and acute radiation pneumonitis develops 2-6 months after exposure and is manifested by cough, dyspnea, and respiratory difficulties (p.55 col right – para 3).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a subject with respiratory distress using TP508, since Bridges discloses that respiratory distress can occur after radiation exposure, and Carney discloses that a thrombin peptide derivative including TP508 is useful for reducing the risk of mortality in a subject exposed to a lethal dose of radiation, reducing the risk of developing bacterial, fungal or viral infection in a subject exposed to radiation, treating a subject with traumatic injury, dermal injury and/or burn injury who is also exposed to radiation, reducing radiation related injury in a subject undergoing radiation therapy, reducing the risk of developing a radiation induced illness in a subject undergoing radiation therapy. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to treat a subject with respiratory distress using TP508, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney (US 2013/0101574 A1; 4/25/2013. Cited on IDS) in view of Bridges (Public Health England. 2009;1-108.) as applied in claims 1-2 and 4 above, further in view of Lee et al (Evol Med Public Health. 2016;1:95–109.).
References cited above do not teach the method wherein the subject is diagnosed with a respiratory virus infection (claim 7).
However, Carney does teach the method reduces the risk of developing systemic bacterial, fungal or viral infection in a subject, wherein the subject has pneumonia or other pulmonary conditions that could lead to acute respiratory distress syndrome or systemic infections (para 0077, 0079. 0174). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that a wide range of viral, bacterial and fungal agents can cause pneumonia, and viruses are the most common etiologic agent (Abstract of Lee).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a subject diagnosed with a respiratory virus infection, since Lee discloses that viruses are the most common etiologic agent that can cause pneumonia, and Carney discloses a method of reducing the risk of developing systemic bacterial, fungal or viral infection in a subject, wherein the subject has pneumonia or other pulmonary conditions that could lead to acute respiratory distress syndrome or systemic infections. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to treat a subject diagnosed with a respiratory virus infection, with a reasonable expectation for successfully reducing the risk of developing systemic bacterial, fungal or viral infection in the subject.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Carney provides no specific examples, data, or disclosure for ARDS treatment or prevention as the primary outcome. However, these arguments are moot since those rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759