DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and species 1 (Figs. 1-2, 4-5 and 12-13) which is drawn to claims 15 and 23-28 is acknowledged. Claims 16-22 and 29-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/07/2022 and 07/03/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 23-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Tamura (JP 2013157162 A and see PDF translation attached).
Regarding claim 15, Tamura discloses, an induction heating type cooktop (see induction heating cooker Figs. 1, 3 and 9) comprising:
a case (see support base 26 in Fig. 9);
a cover plate (see top plate 1 in Figs. 1 and 9) coupled to an upper end of the case (see Fig. 9), the cover plate (1) including an upper plate portion (see annotated Fig. 9) configured to support an object to be heated (see container 82 in Fig. 9);
a thin film (see magnetic stainless steel plate in Fig. 9 and disclosed in the specification “the magnetic stainless steel plate 81 is pasted”, wherein since “thin” is a relative term, in light of the instant application’s specification, the thin film is construed as a coating as disclosed in para 0084 “the thin film TL may be thinly coated”) disposed on the upper plate portion (see annotated Fig. 9);
a first working coil (see main coil 51 in Fig. 3 and Fig. 9) and a second working coil (see auxiliary coil 52 in Fig. 3 and Fig. 9) disposed inside the case (see Fig. 9);
an inverter (see inverter circuit 12 in Fig. 3) connected to the first working coil (51); and
a first switch (see IGBTs 74 and IGBTs 75 that are switching elements in Fig. 3) connected between the first working coil and the second working coil (wherein as seen in Fig. 3, the electric current runs upwardly from power supply 9 to the switching elements IGBTs 24 and IGBTs 25 and then to the first/main coil 51, wherein the electric current also runs downwardly from power supply 9 to the switching elements IGBTs 74 and IGBTs 75 and then second/ auxiliary coil 52, hence, switching elements IGBTs 74 and IGBTs 75 are connected between coils 51 and 52).
Regarding claim 23, Tamura discloses, the induction heating type cooktop of claim 15, and Tamura further discloses, wherein the inverter (12) is configured to:
when the first switch (74 and 75) is turned on, apply electric current to the first working coil and the second working coil (disclosed in the specification “the inverter circuit 12 and the inverter circuit 62 and the energization ratio of the high-potential side IGBT (IGBT 24, IGBT 74)”. In other words, all the switches 24, 25, 74 and 75 are turned on such that the current is applied to both coils 51 and 52), and
when the first switch (74, 75) is turned off (as seen in Fig. 3 and disclosed in the specification “The main coil 51 and the auxiliary coil 52 are connected to different drive circuits, and are energized independently”, the firs switches 74, 75 can be turn off while the switch 24 and 25 are on), apply the electric current to the first working coil (since the switches 24 and 25 are on, the current is supplied to first/main coil 51 by invert 12) without applying the electric current to the second working coil (since the switches 74 and 75 are off, no current is applied to the second/auxiliary coil 52).
Regarding claim 24, Tamura discloses, the induction heating type cooktop of claim 15, and Tamura further discloses, further comprising: a controller (see 13 control circuit in Fig. 3) configured to turn on or off the first switch (disclosed in the specification “the control circuit 13 drives the inverter circuit 12 and the inverter circuit 62 with a specific drive signal for load determination, reads the output signals of the input current detection circuit 10 and the input current detection circuit 60, and inputs the input current value”).
Regarding claim 27, Tamura discloses, the induction heating type cooktop of claim 15, and Tamura further discloses, wherein, when a magnetic object (see pot 80 in Fig. 9, wherein pot 80 comprises magnetic stainless steel plate 81) to be heated is disposed on an upper surface of the upper plate portion (see Fig. 9), the magnetic object to be heated is directly heated by the first working coil via induction or is heated by the first working coil and the second working coil based on the target power (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in the speciation “the pasting pan 80 is configured, for example, by attaching a disk-shaped magnetic stainless steel plate 81 that is easily induction-heated to the outer surface of the center of the bottom surface of an aluminum material container 82 with high thermal conductivity”), and wherein, when a non-magnetic object (see aluminum container 82 in Fig. 9) to be heated is disposed on the upper surface of the upper plate portion (see Fig. 9), the non-magnetic object (82) to be heated is heated indirectly by the thin film (81) which is heated by the first working coil and the second working coil via induction (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in the speciation “the pasting pan 80 is configured, for example, by attaching a disk-shaped magnetic stainless steel plate 81 that is easily induction-heated to the outer surface of the center of the bottom surface of an aluminum material container 82 with high thermal conductivity”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 -26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (JP 2013157162 A) in view of Nomura (JP 2015079763 A and see PDF translation attached).
Regarding claim 25, Tamura discloses, the induction heating type cooktop of claim 24, and Tamura further discloses, wherein the controller (13) is configured to the first switch based on whether a target power of the induction heating type cooktop matches an output power of the induction heating type cooktop (disclosed in the specification “The inverter circuit 12 and the inverter circuit 62 are driven and controlled so that the total input power becomes the input power corresponding to the target power provided for each set thermal power. More specifically, as shown in FIG. 4, by changing the energization ratio of the high-potential-side IGBT (IGBT 24, IGBT 74) in a state where the frequency is constant, the input power according to the energization ratio is obtained. At this time, as shown in FIG. 10, power control is performed so that the input power of the inverter circuit 12 of the main coil 51 and the input power of the inverter circuit 62 of the auxiliary coil 52 are equal […] The control circuit 13 is connected to the inverter so that the sum of the input power of the inverter circuit 12 of the main coil 51 and the input power of the inverter circuit 62 of the auxiliary coil 52 becomes the input power corresponding to the target power provided for each set thermal power”).
However, Tamura does not explicitly disclose, the controller turns on or off the first switch based on whether a target power of the induction heating type cooktop matches an output power of the induction heating type cooktop.
Nonetheless, Nomura teaches, the controller (see control circuit 31 in Fig. 2) turns on (see Fig. 3a, coil 2 is on) or off (see Fig. 3c, coil 2 is off) the first switch (see switches 17 and 18 in Fig. 2) based on whether a target power of the induction heating type cooktop matches an output power of the induction heating type cooktop (disclosed in the specification “The first inverter drive circuit 26 outputs a drive signal for alternately turning on and off the upper and lower switches 12 and 13 of the first inverter circuit 5. The second inverter drive circuit 27 outputs a drive signal for alternately turning on and off the upper and lower switches 17 and 18 of the second inverter circuit 7. The first output current detector 28 detects the current flowing through the first load circuit 6, and the second output current detector 29 detects the current flowing through the second load circuit 8. The control circuit 31 controls the cooker based on a signal from the operation input circuit 30. The control circuit 31 drives only the first inverter circuit 5 (first operation mode) when the set power from the operation input circuit 30 is equal to or lower than the predetermined power (first operation mode), and first and second when the set power is higher than the predetermined power. The inverter circuits 5 and 7 are driven simultaneously (second operation mode)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the controller of Tamura wherein the controller turns on or off the first switch based on whether a target power of the induction heating type cooktop matches an output power of the induction heating type cooktop as taught/suggested by Nomura in order to save energy.
Regarding claim 26, Tamura in view of Nomura discloses, the induction heating type cooktop of claim 25.
Tamura does not explicitly disclose, wherein the controller is further configured to: after turning off the first switch, determine whether the target power matches the output power match, and in response to the target power being different than the output power, turn on the first switch to connect the second working coil in series with the first working coil.
Nonetheless, Nomura teaches, wherein the controller (31) is further configured to: after turning off (see Fig. 3c) the first switch (17 and 18), determine whether the target power matches the output power match, and in response to the target power being different than the output power, turn on (see Fig. 3a) the first switch (17 and 18) to connect the second working coil (2) in series with the first working coil (disclosed in the specification “The first inverter drive circuit 26 outputs a drive signal for alternately turning on and off the upper and lower switches 12 and 13 of the first inverter circuit 5. The second inverter drive circuit 27 outputs a drive signal for alternately turning on and off the upper and lower switches 17 and 18 of the second inverter circuit 7. The first output current detector 28 detects the current flowing through the first load circuit 6, and the second output current detector 29 detects the current flowing through the second load circuit 8. The control circuit 31 controls the cooker based on a signal from the operation input circuit 30. The control circuit 31 drives only the first inverter circuit 5 (first operation mode) when the set power from the operation input circuit 30 is equal to or lower than the predetermined power (first operation mode), and first and second when the set power is higher than the predetermined power. The inverter circuits 5 and 7 are driven simultaneously (second operation mode)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the controller of Tamura wherein the controller is further configured to: after turning off the first switch, determine whether the target power matches the output power match, and in response to the target power being different than the output power, turn on the first switch to connect the second working coil in series with the first working coil as taught/suggested by Nomura in order to save energy.
Regarding claim 28, Tamura discloses, the induction heating type cooktop of claim 27, and Tamura further discloses, wherein, when the target power matches the output power when the first switch is controlled, and when the target power does not match the output power when the first switch is controlled, the first switch is turned on and the magnetic object is heated by both of the first working coil and the second working coil (disclosed in the specification “The inverter circuit 12 and the inverter circuit 62 are driven and controlled so that the total input power becomes the input power corresponding to the target power provided for each set thermal power. More specifically, as shown in FIG. 4, by changing the energization ratio of the high-potential-side IGBT (IGBT 24, IGBT 74) in a state where the frequency is constant, the input power according to the energization ratio is obtained. At this time, as shown in FIG. 10, power control is performed so that the input power of the inverter circuit 12 of the main coil 51 and the input power of the inverter circuit 62 of the auxiliary coil 52 are equal […] The control circuit 13 is connected to the inverter so that the sum of the input power of the inverter circuit 12 of the main coil 51 and the input power of the inverter circuit 62 of the auxiliary coil 52 becomes the input power corresponding to the target power provided for each set thermal power”).
However, Tamura does not explicitly disclose, wherein, when the target power matches the output power when the first switch is turned off, the magnetic object to be heated is directly heated by the first working coil without activating the second working coil, and wherein, when the target power does not match the output power when the first switch is turned off, the first switch is turned on and the magnetic object is heated by both of the first working coil and the second working coil.
Nonetheless, Nomura teaches, wherein, when the target power matches the output power when the first switch (17 and 18) is turned off (see Fig. 3c), the magnetic object (pan 33a in Fig. 3c) to be heated is directly heated by the first working coil (1) without activating the second working coil (2), and wherein, when the target power does not match the output power when the first switch is turned off, the first switch is turned on (17 and 18) and the magnetic object is heated by both of the first working coil and the second working coil (disclosed in the specification “The first inverter drive circuit 26 outputs a drive signal for alternately turning on and off the upper and lower switches 12 and 13 of the first inverter circuit 5. The second inverter drive circuit 27 outputs a drive signal for alternately turning on and off the upper and lower switches 17 and 18 of the second inverter circuit 7. The first output current detector 28 detects the current flowing through the first load circuit 6, and the second output current detector 29 detects the current flowing through the second load circuit 8. The control circuit 31 controls the cooker based on a signal from the operation input circuit 30. The control circuit 31 drives only the first inverter circuit 5 (first operation mode) when the set power from the operation input circuit 30 is equal to or lower than the predetermined power (first operation mode), and first and second when the set power is higher than the predetermined power. The inverter circuits 5 and 7 are driven simultaneously (second operation mode)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the operations of the switches of Tamura wherein, when the target power matches the output power when the first switch is turned off, the magnetic object to be heated is directly heated by the first working coil without activating the second working coil, and wherein, when the target power does not match the output power when the first switch is turned off, the first switch is turned on and the magnetic object is heated by both of the first working coil and the second working coil as taught/suggested by Nomura in order to save energy.
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761