DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Huang fails to disclose modified metal coordination complexes that comprise capping groups as claimed.
However, Huang teaches that the composition comprises metal-coordination complexes, preferably chromium [00135], and that the metal ion can be associated with a coordination anion such as sulphate [00138]. In the instant claims the first method step is providing a formulation comprising the components and the metal coordination complex includes chromium and sulphates. As Huang teaches the same metal coordination complex it is unclear how this differs from the instant claims.
Applicant further discuses how the approach in Huang is not uniform in content. Which does not appear to be included in the claims, but as Huang teaches the same components being provided it is unclear how it would be different from the instant claims.
Applicant discusses how in Huang most of the metal-ligand complex is immediately depleted by the polymeric binder and therefore an excess must be added which differs from the instant method. However, as noted above Huang teaches the same metal coordination complex with the same sulfate and the same chromium metal. Further, there does not appear to be anything in any claim related to relative amounts of the components being added. Accordingly, the rejections of record are maintained as Huang teaches the same metal coordination complex.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6 January 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-11, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (WO 2017165916, hereinafter referred to as “Huang”).
As to Claim 1: Huang teaches a conductive material comprising a first active material, a second active material, a metal-coordination complex, a binder, and a liquid carrier [0010-0014] and that the liquid carrier can be removed (i.e., curing the liquid formulation) [0014]. Huang further teaches that the active material can be silicon [0049] and the metal coordination complex can be chromium which has a counter ion such as a sulphate [0135-0138].
As to Claim 2: Huang teaches the method of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the polymeric binder can form dative bonds with the metal-coordination complex [0061].
As to Claim 4: Huang teaches the method of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the various materials and precursors can be mixed [0073].
As to Claim 5: Huang teaches the method of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the metal-coordination complex can be made in advance of the mixture [0175].
As to claim 8: Huang teaches the method of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches an example wherein the metal-coordination complex is formed at a pH of 3.7 [0177].
As to Claims 9 and 10: Huang teaches the method of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the ligand can be carboxylate (i.e., carboxylic acid) [0144] and the binder can be polyacrylic acid [0061].
As to Claim 11: Huang teaches the method of claim 9 (supra). Huang further teaches that the metal ion can be associated with a counter ion such as an acetate [0138].
As to Claim 15: Huang teaches the method of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the active material preferably has a surface comprising nitrogen [0118].
As to Claims 19 and 20: Huang teaches the method of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the polymeric binder can be polyacrylic acid [0061].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2,4-5,8-11,15 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/486,582 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are drawn to methods comprising providing liquid formulations comprising a liquid carrier, an active material, a polymeric binder, and a modified metal coordination complex, and curing the liquid formulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767