DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 11/17/2025 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 19-21 have been canceled. Claims 1-18 and 22-23 are pending, Claims 1-18 have been withdrawn, and Claims 22-23 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claims 22-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akhmerov et al (Circulation Research. 2020;126:1443-1455.) in view of Mozos et al (Dis Markers. 2017:2017:1-14.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dound et al (WO 2021/191864 A1; 9/30/2021.) in view of Shioi et al (Nutrients. 2020;12:583.).
The instant claims recite a method of treating COVID-19 disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient a composition comprising vitamin K to treat COVID-19 disease, wherein said vitamin K is administered in an amount that reduces dp-ucMGP levels.
Dound teaches a food / nutraceutical supplement comprising vitamin K used for the preventive management of severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus and COVID-19 (p.5 para 3), wherein vitamin K has a potential role in prevention of COVID-19 (p.8 para 2), and the food / nutraceutical supplement is administered to a subject suffering from said disease using any amount, any form of pharmaceutical dosage form via any route of administration effective for treating the disease (p.10 para 5).
Dound does not teach vitamin K in an amount that reduces dp-ucMGP levels (claim 22) as well as the claimed amount (claim 23).
However, Dound does teach a food / nutraceutical supplement comprises vitamin K is used for the preventive management of severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus and COVID-19, wherein vitamin K has a potential role in prevention of COVID-19, and the food / nutraceutical supplement is administered to a subject suffering from said disease using any amount effective for treating the disease. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that vitamin K reduces dp-ucMGP levels, as evidenced by Shioi. Shioi teaches vitamin K supplementation dose-dependently decreased dp-ucMGP levels in the groups with 180, 360, 720, and 1080 µg (p.6 para 3).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the claimed amount of vitamin K to reduce dp-ucMGP levels, since Shioi discloses that the claimed amount of vitamin K is known to reduce dp-ucMGP levels. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to administer the claimed amount of vitamin K to reduce dp-ucMGP levels with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Knight does not anticipate the current claims. However, these arguments are moot since those rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant argues that none of the cited references make the current claims obvious. However, these arguments are moot since those rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759