Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in support of the declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 2/24/26 are hereby acknowledged. However, the examiner believes that the claim scope, as amended, as well as the rejections set forth below in view of their application of the cited art, have rendered the substance of the declaration unpersuasive to overcome the rejections.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but, with all due respect, are unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments directed to the references Guo and Xi individually are not persuasive because they are directed to claim features that are in fact not rejected by the respective reference in its individual capacity; instead, those features are rejected by a combination of references, not any one individual reference alone.
Applicant takes issue, on page 11 of the Response, with the examiner’s statement that to a phosita, the CRI/RSRP and SSBRI/RSRP parameters in Xi, on the one hand, and the CRI-SINR and SSB-Index-SInR parameters disclosed in Guo/3gpp, on the other, are parameters that “are respectively clearly intimately related quality metrics”. Applicant alleges that this statement is “conclusory”. The examiner respectfully disagrees, because this statement is merely factual, not conclusory. It is commonly known as a technical fact, and not as a matter of opinion, that signal/interference/noise ratio, and signal received power, which are the two metrics measured by these parameters/quantities respectively, are closely related and widely used for measuring the robustness of a signal and/or channel. This common purpose shared by these parameters thus serves as a natural motivation for substituting and/or incorporating these parameters with each other, accomplishing the method of the claimed invention. Thus, the examiner does not believe Applicant’s contention here is persuasive.
As to the remainder of Applicant’s arguments to the effect that the rejections have allegedly not established a case of obviousness for combining the cited teachings, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the combination statement(s) in the rejections set forth a prima facie case that the common purpose shared by the respective parameters in question, as well as the similarities in the teachings and the technical context and environment in which those teachings were presented, would sufficiently motivate a phosita to combine the cited teachings to accomplish the claimed invention. Therefore, the factual and/or technical bases on which the rejections are based are “found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.” This suffices to sustain the examiner’s burden to demonstrate obviousness under Section 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23,1,12,27,2-3,5,7-8,16,13-14,18-19,24-25,28-29,10,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 38.212 v16.1.0 (2020-3) (provided by Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter “3GPP”), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0297603 A1 to Guo et al., further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0288479 A1 to Xi et al.
As to claim 23, 3GPP discloses An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor configured to execute instructions stored on at least one memory to cause the UE to (page 64, disclosing transmitting CSI on PUSCH via UCI, thus teaching to a phosita that the csi is transmitted by a UE to a eNB/base-station, UE and eNB/base-station teaching the recited processor, transmitter, nontransitory computer readable media, and other components conventionally associated with UE/eNB/base-station)
measure one or more metrics to be reported in one or more physical layer channel state information (CSI) reports (page 64, disclosing transmitting CSI on PUSCH via UCI, thus teaching to a phosita that the csi is transmitted by a UE to a eNB/base-station; further see pages 65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, e.g., CRI, wideband CQI, SINR, RSRP, etc., [such CSI fields teaching “metrics”], teaching to a phosita that such csi fields/metrics are measured at the UE);
determine a field mapping order per physical layer CSI report (pages 64-66, see discussion above); and
to transmit the physical layer CSI reports via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), with the one or more metrics in CSI fields occurring in accordance with the determined field mapping order (page 64, disclosing transmitting CSI on PUSCH via UCI, thus teaching to a phosita that the csi is transmitted by a UE to a eNB/base-station; further see pages 65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, e.g., CRI, wideband CQI, SINR, RSRP, etc., [such CSI fields teaching “metrics”], teaching to a phosita that such csi fields/metrics are measured at the UE).
3GPP does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein each physical layer CSI report has a single part when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CSI-RS Resource Indicator - signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (cri- SINR) or synchronization signal block index - signal-to-interference-plus-noise Ratio (SSB-Index-SINR).
Guo discloses wherein each physical layer CSI report has a single part when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CSI-RS Resource Indicator - signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (cri- SINR) or synchronization signal block index - signal-to-interference-plus-noise Ratio (SSB-Index-SINR). (paragraphs 327-338, see, e.g., paragraphs 327, 334 and 335-8, disclosing scenarios where depending on the value that the “higher layer parameter reportQuantity” is set to, the UE may be configured to measure more than one “Resource” settings, where one may be “for channel measurement” and another one for “interference measurement”, and then report or feed back the multiple measurements; whereas, in contrast, in paragraph 333, the UE is only configured “with one Resource setting for channel measurement for L1-SINR computation, when the “higher layer parameter reportQuantity” is set to “cri-sinr” or “ssbri-sinr” [thus teaching “when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CSI-RS Resource Indicator - signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (cri- SINR) or synchronization signal block index - signal-to-interference-plus-noise Ratio (SSB-Index-SINR)”], where “the UE can report one or more CRI or SSBRI and their corresponding SInr measurement”, teaching that the UE may report only one signal “CRI or SSBRI” and its corresponding SInR measurement”, thus teaching “wherein each physical layer CSI report has a single part”, to a PHOSITA, at least since in contrast to paragraphs 327, 334 and 335-8, where the CSI may comprise multiple portions or “parts”, the embodiment in paragraph 333 contemplates the scenario where the CSI has only one “part”, i.e., SINR for one csi-rs resource in the one configured resource set, teaching this limitation).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Guo’s teachings may be combinable with 3gpp’s teachings to reject this claim, since both references are directed to wireless communication infrastructures featuring cqi/csi feedback mechanisms, and since it would have been obvious to a phosita that the physical layer csi reports disclosed in 3gpp may be further modified by or incorporated with the features of the CSI reporting scheme disclosed in Guo, i.e., comprising only one CSI part when the report quantity parameter is set to the recited “csi sinr” or “ssb index sinr”. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and signaling therefor for communication status and quality feedback methods in wireless communication systems. (Guo, paragraphs 1-15 and 327-338; Faxer, paragraphs 1-30; 3gpp, pages 46-68; Kang, paragraphs 1-30; 3gpp, page 64). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
Guo and 3GPP do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein each physical layer CSI report consists of a single part when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CRI/RSRP or SSBRI/RSRP.
Xi discloses wherein each physical layer CSI report consists of a single part when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CRI/RSRP or SSBRI/RSRP (paragraphs 214-216 and Fig. 12: “When the higher layer parameter ReportQuantity is configured with one of the values ‘CRI/RSRP’ or ‘SSBRI/RSRP’, the CSI report may comprise a single part …”).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Xi’s teachings may be combinable with Guo and 3gpp’s combined teachings to reject this claim, since the cited references are directed to wireless communication infrastructures featuring cqi/csi feedback mechanisms, and since it would have been obvious to a phosita that the physical layer csi reports collectively taught by Guo and 3gpp may be further modified by or incorporated with the features of the CSI reporting scheme disclosed in Xi to reject this claim. In particular, Guo and 3gpp’s teaching of “wherein each physical layer CSI report has a single part when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CSI-RS Resource Indicator - signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (cri- SINR) or synchronization signal block index - signal-to-interference-plus-noise Ratio (SSB-Index-SINR)” and Xi’s teaching of “wherein each physical layer CSI report consists of a single part when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CRI/RSRP or SSBRI/RSRP” are combinable to reject “wherein each physical layer CSI report consists of a single part when a higher layer report quantity parameter is configured with one of the values: CSI-RS Resource Indicator - signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (cri- SINR) or synchronization signal block index - signal-to-interference-plus-noise Ratio (SSB-Index-SINR)”, since a pHOSITA would have found it obvious to substitute the CRI/RSRP and SSBRI/RSRP parameters in Xi with the CRI-SINR and SSB-Index-SInR parameters disclosed in Guo/3gpp, since to a phosita, these parameters are respectively clearly intimately related quality metrics. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and signaling therefor for communication status and quality feedback methods in wireless communication systems. (Guo, paragraphs 1-15 and 327-338; Faxer, paragraphs 1-30; 3gpp, pages 46-68; Kang, paragraphs 1-30; Xi, paragraphs 1-3; 3gPP, page 64). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
AS to claims 1, 12 and 27, see rejection for claim 23.
As to claim 2, 3GPP, Xi and Guo teach the method as in the parent claim 1.
3GPP further discloses wherein the field mapping order is based on a table associated with the one or more metrics. (pages 65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”).
As to claim 3, 3GPP, Xi and Guo teach the method as in the parent claim 1.
3GPP further discloses wherein the one or more metrics comprise at least one of: a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI);a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) resource block indicator (SSBRI); or a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR). (pages 65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, including “SSBRI”, “SINR”)
As to claim 5, 3GPP, Xi and Guo teach the method as in the parent claim 3.
3GPP further discloses wherein: the field mapping order dictates that, after an absolute SINR value occurs, one or more differential SINR values occur; and the one or more differential SINR values are relative to the absolute SINR value. (pages 50-51,65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, including “SINR” and “differential SINR”, further see Table 6.3.1.1.2-6A)
As to claim 7, 3GPP, Xi and Guo teach the method as in the parent claim 1.
3GPP further discloses wherein the field mapping order is the same as a field mapping order used for reports transmitted via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH). (pages 50-51,65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, which is transmitted through PUSCH, as discussed on page 64; further see pages 46-53, especially Tables 6.3.1.1.2-[9,10,11], disclosing field mapping order for CSI transmitted through UCI on PUCCH [see pages 46-47], which reflect the same mapping order as Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A])
As to claim 8, 3GPP, Xi and Guo teach the method as in the parent claim 1.
3GPP further discloses wherein the CSI fields of the physical layer CSI reports are mapped to a single uplink control information (UCI) bit sequence (pages 50-51,65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, which is transmitted through PUSCH, as discussed on page 64; further see Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[6,7], disclosing that all CSI part 1 fields are mapped to one single UCI bit sequence and all CSI part 2 fields are all mapped to another single UCI bit sequence, thus teaching that the CSI fields in CSI part 1 may teach the recited “CSI fields”, and thus are mapped to a single UCI sequence, teaching this limitation, and similarly for CSI fields in CSI part 2)
As to claim 16, 3GPP, Xi and Guo teach the method as in the parent claim 12.
3GPP further discloses wherein: the field mapping order dictates that, after an absolute SINR value occurs, one or more differential SINR values occur; and the differential SINR values are relative to the absolute SINR value. (pages 50-51,65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, including “SINR” and “differential SINR”, further see Table 6.3.1.1.2-6A)
As to claims 13-14,18-19, see rejection for claims 2-3,7-8.
As to claims 24-25, see rejection for claims 2-3.
As to claims 28-29, see rejection for claims 2-3.
AS to claim 10, 3gPP, Guo and Xi teach the method as in the parent claim 1.
3gpp further discloses wherein the single part is associated with a first uplink control information (UCI) bit sequence of at least two UCI bit sequences. (pages 50-51,65-66, Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[3,4,5,5A], disclosing mapping, ordering and including of certain “CSI fields” in each “CSI report #n”, which is transmitted through PUSCH, as discussed on page 64; further see Tables 6.3.2.1.2-[6,7], disclosing that all CSI part 1 fields are mapped to one single UCI bit sequence and all CSI part 2 fields are all mapped to another single UCI bit sequence, teaching this limitation)
As to claim 21, see rejection for claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 22, 4,15,26,30,6,17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463