Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 25, 28, and 47 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 25, 28-29, 32-33, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 20210243283 A1 (Foreign Priority June 5, 2018) in view of Gao et al. US 20220326728 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Han discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (fig. 2, a schematic diagram of a message transmission process according to a PTP version of a sending port set by a network side device, sections 0055-0056), comprising: memory (fig. 9, processor 901 that is coupled to a memory 902, section 0137); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (fig. 9, processor with memory, section 0137) and configured to: transmit (fig. 9, transceiver 903 coupled to processor 901 and memory 902, section 0137), to a first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061), a first message (see, the generation of the first PTP message based on the PTP version of the sending port from a network side device, section 0061) comprising capability information (see, follow up, delay request, and delay response message in a first PTP message that can indicate capacity, section 0062) indicating that the apparatus (fig. 2, a schematic diagram of a message transmission process according to a PTP version of a sending port set by a network side device, sections 0055-0056) is capable of operating as a precision time protocol (PTP) grand master clock (see, PTP message field can include a grandmaster clock quality field, sections 0094-0097; noted, state of the sending port is a master clock, section 0101); receive, from the first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061), a second message (see, the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064) comprising one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message includes at least one of the following: a PTP announce (Announce) message, a synchronization (Sync) message, a follow-up (Follow_Up) message, a delay request (Delay_Req) message, and a delay response (Delay_Resp) message, section 0062) (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061) after transmission of the first message (see, the second PTP message compared to the previous PTP message based on version where a previous lower PTP version cannot be compatible with a new higher PTP version and new higher PTP version can be compatible with the previous lower PTP version implying the aftermath of a previous PTP message, section 0076); generate, based on the one or more PTP parameters received from the first device, at least one Announce message including first time information from the one or more PTP parameters; and transmit, to one or more downstream devices in communication with the apparatus, the generated at least one Announce message including the first time information, wherein the first device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices (see, the network side device is provided with multiple ports for information interaction with other network side devices or user terminals and uses a PTP message which has a PTT version supported by the network side device in the information for interaction with other network side devices, section 0053).
Han discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: generate, based on the one or more PTP parameters received from the first device, at least one Announce message including first time information from the one or more PTP parameters; and transmit, to one or more downstream devices in communication with the apparatus, the generated at least one Announce message including the first time information, wherein the first device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices.
However Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses: generate, based on the one or more PTP parameters received from the first device, at least one Announce message including first time information from the one or more PTP parameters (see, first announce message is generated based on a default configuration about a local clock state of the clock distribution apparatus, section 0068 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus includes clock information such as clock quality from a further upstream apparatus such as a grandmaster, GM, clock apparatus, or a boundary clock apparatus, section 0046 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus operates in precision time protocol, section 0050 Gao); and transmit, to one or more downstream devices in communication with the apparatus (see, a GM clock announce message which will be further introduced to downstream, section 0059 Gao), the generated at least one Announce message including the first time information (see, a downstream apparatus such as a second clock distribution apparatus receives these announce messages respectively via network transmission path, section 0054 Gao), wherein the first device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices (see, downstream apparatus as distinct from the clock distribution apparatus, section 0060 Gao).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the apparatus of Han with the first announce message as taught by Gao. The motivation would have been to improve clock distribution.
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Han discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the first device, an activation message (fig. 7, the PTP Announce message to select a device such as to assume if it is a master clock, sections 0108-0110) to enable the at least one processor to be configured to transmit (fig. 9, processor 901 is configured to execute the program stored in the memory 902 and control the transceiver to send a first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port through the sending port, section 0137) PTP messages (see, the transmission of multiple PTP messages between ports, sections 0089-0090) to the one or more downstream devices (see, receiving port corresponding to the sending port for devices where the sending port can be a master or slave, sections 0010-0015), wherein, to generate the at least one Announce message (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061), the at least one processor is configured to generate the at least one Announce message (see, after the network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061) further based on the activation message (see, the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064) (see, the PTP Announce message that allows the network side device to determine the state of the sending port as a master or slave clock, section 0104).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Han discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message includes at least one of the following: a PTP announce (Announce) message, a synchronization (Sync) message, a followup (Follow_Up) message, a delay request (Delay_Req) message, and a delay response (Delay_Resp) message, section 0062) includes PTP version-type information (see, PTP version used by the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Han discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the capability information (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061) includes PTP version-type information (see, PTP version used by the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064; noted, that the port can send and receive information, section 0087).
Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), Han discloses a method of wireless communication at a first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061), comprising: transmitting, to a second device, a first message (see, the generation of the first PTP message based on the PTP version of the sending port from a network side device, section 0061) comprising capability information (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061) indicating that the first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061) is capable of operating as a precision time protocol (PTP) grand master clock (see, PTP message field can include a grandmaster clock quality field, sections, 0094-0097); receiving, from the second device, a second message (see, the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064) comprising one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message includes at least one of the following: a PTP announce (Announce) message, a synchronization (Sync) message, a follow-up (Follow_Up) message, a delay request (Delay_Req) message, and a delay response (Delay_Resp) message, section 0062) after transmission of the first message (see, the generation of the first PTP message based on the PTP version of the sending port from a network side device, section 0061); generating, based on the one or more PTP parameters received from the second device, a at least one Announce message including time information from the one or more PTP parameters; and transmitting, to one or more downstream devices in communication with the first device, the generated at least one Announce message including the time information, wherein the second device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices.
Han discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: generating, based on the one or more PTP parameters received from the second device, a at least one Announce message including time information from the one or more PTP parameters; and transmitting, to one or more downstream devices in communication with the first device, the generated at least one Announce message including the time information, wherein the second device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices.
However Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses: generating, based on the one or more PTP parameters received from the second device, a at least one Announce message including time information from the one or more PTP parameters(see, first announce message is generated based on a default configuration about a local clock state of the clock distribution apparatus, section 0068 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus includes clock information such as clock quality from a further upstream apparatus such as a grandmaster, GM, clock apparatus, or a boundary clock apparatus, section 0046 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus operates in precision time protocol, section 0050 Gao); and transmitting, to one or more downstream devices in communication with the first device (see, a GM clock announce message which will be further introduced to downstream, section 0059 Gao), the generated at least one Announce message including the time information (see, a downstream apparatus such as a second clock distribution apparatus receives these announce messages respectively via network transmission path, section 0054 Gao), wherein the second device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices (see, downstream apparatus as distinct from the clock distribution apparatus, section 0060 Gao).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Han with the first announce message as taught by Gao. The motivation would have been to improve clock distribution.
Regarding claim 28 (Currently Amended), Han discloses apparatus for wireless communication (fig. 2, a schematic diagram of a message transmission process according to a PTP version of a sending port set by a network side device, sections 0055-0056), comprising: memory (fig. 9, processor with memory, section 0137); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (fig. 9, processor with memory, section 0137) and configured to: receive, from a first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061), a first message (see, the generation of the first PTP message based on the PTP version of the sending port from a network side device, section 0061) comprising capability information (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061) indicating that the first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061) is capable of operating as a precision time protocol (PTP) grand master clock (see, PTP message field can include a grandmaster clock quality field, sections, 0094-0097); transmit, based on the received capability information (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061), a second message (see, the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064) comprising one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message includes at least one of the following: a PTP announce (Announce) message, a synchronization (Sync) message, a follow-up (Follow_Up) message, a delay request (Delay_Req) message, and a delay response (Delay_Resp) message, section 0062) to the first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061); an activation message to enable the first device to transmit, based on the one or more PTP parameters, at least one Announce message to one or more downstream devices in communication with the first device, wherein the apparatus is distinct from the one or more downstream devices, the at least one Announce message including time information from the one or more PTP parameters.
Han discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: transmit, to the first device, an activation message to enable the first device to transmit, based on the one or more PTP parameters, at least one Announce message to one or more downstream devices in communication with the first device, wherein the apparatus is distinct from the one or more downstream devices, the at least one Announce message including time information from the one or more PTP parameters.
However Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses: transmit, to the first device, an activation message to enable the first device to transmit (see, downstream apparatus will use parameters from the first announce message, section 0070 Gao), based on the one or more PTP parameters (see, a downstream apparatus such as a second clock distribution apparatus receives these announce messages respectively via network transmission path, section 0054 Gao), at least one Announce message to one or more downstream devices in communication with the first device (see, a GM clock announce message which will be further introduced to downstream, section 0059 Gao), wherein the apparatus is distinct from the one or more downstream devices (see, downstream apparatus as distinct from the clock distribution apparatus, section 0060 Gao), the at least one Announce message including time information from the one or more PTP parameters (see, first announce message is generated based on a default configuration about a local clock state of the clock distribution apparatus, section 0068 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus includes clock information such as clock quality from a further upstream apparatus such as a grandmaster, GM, clock apparatus, or a boundary clock apparatus, section 0046 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus operates in precision time protocol, section 0050 Gao).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the apparatus of Han with the first announce message as taught by Gao. The motivation would have been to improve clock distribution.
Regarding claim 29 (Previously Presented), Han discloses the apparatus of claim 28, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 9, a network side device 900, including: a processor 901, a memory 902, and a transceiver 903, section 0136), wherein, to transmit the second message comprising the one or more PTP parameters to the first device (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061), the at least one processor are further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, the second message (see, the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064) comprising one or more updated PTP parameters to the first device (see, the transceiver to send a first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port through the sending port, section 0137).
Regarding claim 32 (Original), Han discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message includes at least one of the following: a PTP announce (Announce) message, a synchronization (Sync) message, a followup (Follow_Up) message, a delay request (Delay_Req) message, and a delay response (Delay_Resp) includes PTP version-type information (see, PTP version used by the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064).
Regarding claim 33 (Original), Han discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the capability information (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061) includes PTP version-type information (see, PTP version used by the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064; noted, that the port can send and receive information, section 0087).
Regarding claim 47 (Currently Amended), Han discloses a method of wireless communication at a first device, comprising: receiving, from a second device (see, the use of setting the state of the sending port of a second device to master to send a second PTP message to a receiving port of a first device after a first message, sections 0143-148), a first message (see, the generation of the first PTP message based on the PTP version of the sending port from a network side device, section 0061) comprising capability information (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061) indicating that the second device (see, the use of setting the state of the sending port of a second device to master to send a second PTP message to a receiving port of a first device after a first message, sections 0143-148) is capable of operating as a precision time protocol (PTP) grand master clock (see, PTP message field can include a grandmaster clock quality field, sections, 0094-0097); transmitting, based on the received capability information (see, message fields that include fields such as synchronization domain number (domain Number) field, a PTP version (version PTP) field, a grandmaster clock quality (grandmaster clock quality) field, a PTP profile Specific 1 field, and a PTP profile Specific 2 field which can indicate different capabilities of the PTP message, sections 0093-0094; noted, the network side device can support different PTP version to support compatibility between different devices on higher/lower PTP versions, sections 0059-0061), a second message (see, the second PTP message received by the identified receiving port corresponding to the sending port is determined as the PTP version of the sending port, section 0064) comprising one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message includes at least one of the following: a PTP announce (Announce) message, a synchronization (Sync) message, a follow-up (Follow_Up) message, a delay request (Delay_Req) message, and a delay response (Delay_Resp) message, section 0062) to the second device (see, the use of setting the state of the sending port of a second device to master to send a second PTP message to a receiving port of a first device after a first message, sections 0143-148); and transmitting, to the second device (see, the use of setting the state of the sending port of a second device to master to send a second PTP message to a receiving port of a first device after a first message, sections 0143-148), an activation message to enable the second device to transmit, based on the transmitted one or more PTP parameters, at least one Announce message to one or more downstream devices in communication with the second device, wherein the first device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices, the at least one Announce including time information from the one or more PTP parameters.
Han discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: transmitting, to the second device, an activation message to enable the second device to transmit, based on the transmitted one or more PTP parameters, at least one Announce message to one or more downstream devices in communication with the second device, wherein the first device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices, the at least one Announce including time information from the one or more PTP parameters.
However Gao from a similar field of endeavor discloses: transmitting, to the second device, an activation message to enable the second device to transmit (see, downstream apparatus will use parameters from the first announce message, section 0070 Gao), based on the transmitted one or more PTP parameters (see, a downstream apparatus such as a second clock distribution apparatus receives these announce messages respectively via network transmission path, section 0054 Gao), at least one Announce message to one or more downstream devices in communication with the second device (see, a GM clock announce message which will be further introduced to downstream, section 0059 Gao), wherein the first device is distinct from the one or more downstream devices (see, downstream apparatus as distinct from the clock distribution apparatus, section 0060 Gao), the at least one Announce including time information from the one or more PTP parameters (see, first announce message is generated based on a default configuration about a local clock state of the clock distribution apparatus, section 0068 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus includes clock information such as clock quality from a further upstream apparatus such as a grandmaster, GM, clock apparatus, or a boundary clock apparatus, section 0046 Gao; noted, clock distribution apparatus operates in precision time protocol, section 0050 Gao).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Han with the first announce message as taught by Gao. The motivation would have been to improve clock distribution.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 20210243283 A1 (Foreign Priority June 5, 2018) in view of Gao et al. US 20220326728 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Aweya et al. US 20200021378 A1 (Domestic Priority July 16, 2018).
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: receive, from the first device, one or more updated PTP parameters, wherein at least one parameter of the one or more updated PTP parameters is distinct from the one or more PTP parameters; generate, based on the one or more updated PTP parameters received from the first device, a second PTP message including second time information from the one or more updated PTP parameters; and transmit the second PTP message including the second time information to the one or more downstream devices.
However Aweya from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: receive, from the first device, one or more updated PTP parameters (see, event messages Sync and Delay_Resp messages in the PTP message that update the PTP message, sections 0009-0010 Aweya), wherein at least one parameter of the one or more updated PTP parameters is distinct from the one or more PTP parameters; generate, based on the one or more updated PTP parameters received from the first device (see, event messages including Follow_Up and Delay-Resp can be used to update time information, section 0010), a second PTP message (see, the sending of a further timing message (PTP Follow_Up message) after a first timing message (PTP Sync message), section 0057 Aweya) including second time information (see, timing message includes timing information, sections 0085-0089; noted, the further timing message also known as a PTP Follow_Up message indicates a second information, section 0091 Aweya) from the one or more updated PTP parameters (see, second further timing message with updated PTP parameter, sections 0091-0092 Aweya); and transmit the second PTP message (see, synchronization message exchanges that includes multiple sending and receiving of PTP event messages, section 0012) including the second time information (see, timing message includes timing information, sections 0085-0089; noted, the further timing message also known as a PTP Follow_Up message indicates a second information, section 0091 Aweya) to the one or more downstream devices (see, transparent clocks information downstream devices of events such as delays, section 0015; noted, transparent clocks act invisibly to the grand master, section 0014 Aweya).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the updated PTP parameters as taught by Aweya. The motivation would have been to provide retransmission.
Claims 4 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 20210243283 A1 (Foreign Priority June 5, 2018) in view of Gao et al. US 20220326728 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Yahagi et al. US 20060116152 A1 (Foreign Priority January 10, 2003).
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the first device (fig. 7, the PTP Announce message to select a device such as to assume if it is a master clock, sections 0108-0110), a deactivation message to stop transmission (see, a Delay_Req message for a PTP message, to request a delay from slave to master, section 0062) of PTP messages (see, the transmission of multiple PTP messages between ports, sections 0089-0090) to the one or more downstream devices (see, receiving port corresponding to the sending port for devices where the sending port can be a master or slave, sections 0010-0015); and refrain from transmitting the PTP messages (see, a Delay_Req message for a PTP message, to request a delay from slave to master, section 0062; noted, the transmission of multiple PTP messages between ports, sections 0089-0090) to the one or more downstream devices (see, receiving port corresponding to the sending port for devices where the sending port can be a master or slave, sections 0010-0015) based on the deactivation message.
However Yahagi from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a deactivation message (fig. 17, the base station control device 301 sends a PtP channel transmission stop message for canceling the PtP channel 3 to the base station 201, sections 0098-0112 Yahagi; noted, the downlink transmission power of the PtP channel used for distributing the content to the user terminals , section 0068 Yahagi) to stop transmission of PTP messages to the one or more downstream devices; and refrain from transmitting the PTP messages to the one or more downstream devices based on the deactivation message (fig. 17, the base station control device 301 sends a PtP channel transmission stop message for canceling the PtP channel 3 to the base station 201, sections 0098-0112 Yahagi; noted, the downlink transmission power of the PtP channel used for distributing the content to the user terminals , section 0068 Yahagi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the PTP stop message as taught by Yahagi. The motivation would have been to stop a device.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 30 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the first device, a deactivation message (see, a Delay_Req message for a PTP message, to request a delay from slave to master, section 0062) to stop the first device (fig. 7, the PTP Announce message to select a device such as to assume if it is a master clock, sections 0108-0110) from transmitting PTP messages (fig. 9, processor 901 is configured to execute the program stored in the memory 902 and control the transceiver to send a first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port through the sending port, section 0137; noted, the transmission of multiple PTP messages between ports, sections 0089-0090) to the one or more downstream devices (see, receiving port corresponding to the sending port for devices where the sending port can be a master or slave, sections 0010-0015).
However Yahagi from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a deactivation message (fig. 17, the base station control device 301 sends a PtP channel transmission stop message for canceling the PtP channel 3 to the base station 201, sections 0098-0112 Yahagi; noted, the downlink transmission power of the PtP channel used for distributing the content to the user terminals, section 0068 Yahagi) to stop the first device from transmitting PTP messages to the one or more downstream devices.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the PTP stop message as taught by Yahagi. The motivation would have been to stop a device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 20210243283 A1 (Foreign Priority June 5, 2018) in view of Gao et al. US 20220326728 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Wang et al. US 20210359778 A1 (Domestic Priority November 19, 2018).
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to generate, based on the one or more PTP parameters, the at least one Announce message including the first time information (see, a network side device determines the PTP version of the sending port, it can generate the first PTP message that uses the PTP version of the sending port, section 0061), the at least one processor is configured to: generate the first time information based on an absolute timing of radio frames based on a 5G system (5GS) clock, wherein the one or more PTP parameters comprises the absolute timing of radio frames, wherein the first time information comprises the absolute timing of radio frames.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to generate , based on the one or more PTP parameters, the at least one Announce message including the first time information, the at least one processor is configured to: generate the first time information (see, the use of timing information to improve scheduling of radio resources, section 0773 Sachs) based on an absolute timing of radio frames (see, 802.1Qbv standard ensures frames arrive at the 5GS from the TSN network with minimum jitter, section 0773 Sachs) based on a 5G system (5GS) clock (see, 5GS transmits frames based on TSN traffic, section 0773 Sachs), wherein the one or more PTP parameters comprises the absolute timing of radio frames, wherein the first time information comprises the absolute timing of radio frames.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the timing information as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to transmit frames based on a 5G system.
The combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more PTP parameters comprises the absolute timing of radio frames, wherein the first time information comprises the absolute timing of radio frames.
However Wang from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the one or more PTP parameters comprises the absolute timing of radio frames (see, 5G internal system clock can be made available to UE with signaling of time information related to absolute timing of radio frames using System information Block (SIB)/Radio Resource Control (RRC) based methods, section 0045 Wang; noted, timing information as generalized Precision Time Protocol (gPTP) messages, including the information on the incoming sync message timestamping, section 0046 Wang), wherein the first time information comprises the absolute timing of radio frames (see, 5G internal system clock can be made available to UE with signaling of time information related to absolute timing of radio frames using System information Block (SIB)/Radio Resource Control (RRC) based methods, section 0045 Wang).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs with the absolute timing of radio frames as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to enable 5G system support for conveying time synchronization.
Claims 6-8, 11-13, 19, 31, 34-35, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 20210243283 A1 (Foreign Priority June 5, 2018) in view of Gao et al. US 20220326728 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019).
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the first PTP message, the at least one processor is configured to broadcast the first PTP message to the one or more downstream devices.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the first PTP message, the at least one processor is configured to broadcast (see, the broadcast of message to the UE related to time domain where the UE will only select the time domains from the broadcasted time signal information that it requires for a PTP domain, section 2341 Sachs) the first PTP message (see, UE acts as master clock to the TSN end stations using the (g)PTP protocol for use of PTP message exchange as performed in the TSN network, section 1106 Sachs) to the one or more downstream devices (see, grandmaster (GM) is a node that transmits timing information to all other nodes in a master-slave architecture which indicates from a grandmaster downstream to slaves, section 2309 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the broadcast of messages as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to provide broadcasting conditions.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the first PTP message, the at least one processor is configured to multicast the first PTP message to the one or more downstream devices.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the first PTP message (see, UE acts as master clock to the TSN end stations using the (g)PTP protocol for use of PTP message exchange as performed in the TSN network, section 1106 Sachs), the at least one processor is configured to multicast (see, multicast as dedicated RRC or SIB signaling next to the time signal transmission or as part of the time signaling in RRC or SIB messages of an outgoing PTP message, section 2354 Sachs) the first PTP message (see, UE acts as master clock to the TSN end stations using the (g)PTP protocol for use of PTP message exchange as performed in the TSN network, section 1106 Sachs) to the one or more downstream devices (grandmaster (GM) is a node that transmits timing information to all other nodes in a master-slave architecture, section 1512 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the multicast of messages as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to provide multicasting conditions.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to transmit the first PTP message, the at least one processor is configured to unicast the first PTP message to the one or more downstream devices.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein to transmit the first PTP message, the at least one processor is configured to unicast (see, unicast as dedicated RRC or SIB signaling next to the time signal transmission or as part of the time signaling in RRC or SIB messages of an outgoing PTP message, section 2354 Sachs) the first PTP message (see, UE acts as master clock to the TSN end stations using the (g)PTP protocol for use of PTP message exchange as performed in the TSN network, section 1106 Sachs) to the one or more downstream devices (grandmaster (GM) is a node that transmits timing information to all other nodes in a master-slave architecture, section 1512 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the unicast of messages as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to provide unicasting conditions.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Original), the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the PTP version-type information includes one of generalized PTP (gPTP)/IEEE 802. IAS, PTP over IEEE 802.3/Ethernet, PTP over user datagram protocol (UDP) over Internet protocol version 4 (IPv4), and PTP over UDP over IPv6.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the PTP version-type information includes one of generalized PTP (gPTP)/IEEE 802. IAS, PTP over IEEE 802.3/Ethernet (see, time synchronization is based on the exchange of packets containing time information as defined in IEEE 802.1AS-rev, section 0745; noted, the 5G system shall support clock synchronization defined by IEEE 802.1AS across 5G-based Ethernet links with PDU-session type Ethernet, section 0754 Sachs), PTP over user datagram protocol (UDP) over Internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) (see, an Internet Protocol (IP) is used as for transporting the gPTP frames, section 2391 Sachs), and PTP over UDP over IPv6 (see, an Internet Protocol (IP) is used as for transporting the gPTP frames, section 2391 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the PTP version as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to include internet version of PTP.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Original), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a device-side (DS) time sensitive networking (TSN) translator (DS-TT), and the first device comprises a user equipment (UE).
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a device-side (DS) time sensitive networking (TSN) translator (DS-TT) (see, 5G device connected to a TSN network, section 0761 Sachs; noted, the receiving entity in the 5GC can translate the requested TSN stream requirements to QoS requirements for the UE that is connected to the TSN sensor, section 1254 Sachs), and the first device comprises a user equipment (UE) (see, a TSN domain can link between two devices starting with a first UE, section 0759 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the TSN network as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to provide translation between device and TSN.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Original), the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more downstream devices includes a device coupled to the apparatus via an Ethernet port.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more downstream devices includes a device coupled to the apparatus via an Ethernet port (see, time synchronization is based on the exchange of packets containing time information as defined in IEEE 802.1AS-rev, section 0745; noted, the 5G system shall support clock synchronization defined by IEEE 802.1AS across 5G-based Ethernet links with PDU-session type Ethernet, section 0754 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the Ethernet as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to include internet version of PTP.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: the apparatus of claim 1, Regarding claim 19 (Original), wherein the apparatus comprises a user equipment (UE), and the first device comprises a base station.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a user equipment (UE) (fig. 165, radio network node 12 is configured to receive from the UE 10 data on a radio resource, sections 1626-1629; noted, fig. 195, network node 1300 may be referred as a base station, section 1879 Sachs), and the first device comprises a base station (fig. 165, radio network node 12 is configured to receive from the UE 10 data on a radio resource, sections 1626-1629; noted, fig. 195, network node 1300 may be referred as a base station, section 1879 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the UE and base station as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to provide network specification.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 31 (Original), the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the time information is related to an absolute timing of radio frames based on a 5G system (5GS) clock.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the time information (see, the use of timing information to improve scheduling of radio resources, section 0773 Sachs) is related to an absolute timing of radio frames (see, 802.1Qbv standard ensures frames arrive at the 5GS from the TSN network with minimum jitter, section 0773 Sachs) based on a 5G system (5GS) clock (see, 5GS transmits frames based on TSN traffic, section 0773 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the timing information as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to transmit frames based on a 5G system.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 34 (Original), the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the PTP version-type information includes one of generalized PTP (gPTP)/IEEE 802. IAS, PTP over IEEE 802.3/Ethernet, PTP over user datagram protocol (UDP) over Internet protocol version 4 (IPv4), and PTP over UDP over IPv6.
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the PTP version-type information includes one of generalized PTP (gPTP)/IEEE 802. IAS, PTP over IEEE 802.3/Ethernet (see, time synchronization is based on the exchange of packets containing time information as defined in IEEE 802.1AS-rev, section 0745; noted, the 5G system shall support clock synchronization defined by IEEE 802.1AS across 5G-based Ethernet links with PDU-session type Ethernet, section 0754 Sachs), PTP over user datagram protocol (UDP) over Internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) (see, an Internet Protocol (IP) is used as for transporting the gPTP frames, section 2391 Sachs, see, UDP/TCP/IP in section 1116, or PTP messages using UDP/IP), and PTP over UDP over IPv6 (see, an Internet Protocol (IP) is used as for transporting the gPTP frames, section 2391 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the PTP version as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to include internet version of PTP.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 35 (Original), the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the apparatus comprises a user equipment (UE), and the first device comprises a device-side (DS) time sensitive networking (TSN) translator (DS-TT).
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the apparatus comprises a user equipment (UE) (see, a TSN domain can link between two devices starting with a first UE, section 0759 Sachs), and the first device comprises a device-side (DS) time sensitive networking (TSN) translator (DS-TT) (see, 5G device connected to a TSN network, section 0761 Sachs; noted, the receiving entity in the 5GC can translate the requested TSN stream requirements to QoS requirements for the UE that is connected to the TSN sensor, section 1254 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the TSN network as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to provide translation between device and TSN.
The combination of Han and Gao discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 41 (Original), the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the apparatus comprises a base station, and the first device comprises a user equipment (UE).
However Sachs from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the apparatus comprises a base station (fig. 165, radio network node 12 is configured to receive from the UE 10 data on a radio resource, sections 1626-1629; noted, fig. 195, network node 1300 may be referred as a base station, section 1879 Sachs), and the first device comprises a user equipment (UE) (fig. 165, radio network node 12 is configured to receive from the UE 10 data on a radio resource, sections 1626-1629; noted, fig. 195, network node 1300 may be referred as a base station, section 1879 Sachs).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han and Gao with the UE and base station as taught by Sachs. The motivation would have been to provide network specification.
Claims 14-15 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. US 20210243283 A1 (Foreign Priority June 5, 2018) in view of Gao et al. US 20220326728 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Sachs et al. US 20200259896 A1 (Domestic Priority February 13, 2019), and in further view of Roberts et al. US 20140226984 A1 (Domestic Priority November 10, 2009).
The combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 12, wherein, to transmit the first message comprising the capability information, the at least one processor is configured to; transmit the capability information in an uplink port management information container.
However Roberts from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 12, wherein, to transmit the first message comprising the capability information (see, PTP message with synchronization information, section 0025 Roberts), the at least one processor is configured to; transmit the capability information (see, the packets containing information within time stamp correction field, section 0037 Roberts; noted, correction fields are used by timing protocol packets such as PTP packets to use transient network elements by measuring them and applying them to said packets to be carried, sections 0027-0028 Roberts) in an uplink port management information container (see, upstream direction of a PTP packet, section 0037 Roberts; noted, a link connected to the port receiving a PTP event message, section 0042 Roberts) comprising the first message (see, an initial PTP message associated with a PTP packet, section 0063 Roberts).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs with the transmission of PTP packets as taught by Roberts. The motivation would have been to provide containers for transmission.
The combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Original), the apparatus of claim 14, wherein, to receive the second message comprising the one or more PTP parameters, the memory and the at least one processor is configured to receive the one or more PTP parameters in a downlink port management information container.
However Roberts from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 14, wherein, to receive the second message comprising the one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message with synchronization information, section 0025 Roberts), the at least one processor is configured to receive the one or more PTP parameters (see, the packets containing information within time stamp correction field, section 0037 Roberts; noted, correction fields are used by timing protocol packets such as PTP packets to use transient network elements by measuring them and applying them to said packets to be carried, sections 0027-0028 Roberts) in a downlink port management information container (see, downstream direction of a PTP packet, section 0037 Roberts; noted, a link connected to the port receiving a PTP event message, section 0042 Roberts) comprising the second message (see, a next PTP message associated with a second PTP packet, section 0065 Roberts).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs with the transmission of PTP packets as taught by Roberts. The motivation would have been to provide containers for transmission.
The combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 36 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 35, wherein, to transmit the first message comprising the capability information, the at least one processor is configured to; receive an uplink port management information container comprising the first message.
However Roberts from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 35, wherein, to transmit the first message comprising the capability information (see, PTP message with synchronization information, section 0025 Roberts) (see, the packets containing information within time stamp correction field, section 0037 Roberts; noted, correction fields are used by timing protocol packets such as PTP packets to use transient network elements by measuring them and applying them to said packets to be carried, sections 0027-0028 Roberts), the at least one processor is configured to; receive an uplink port management information container (see, upstream direction of a PTP packet, section 0037 Roberts; noted, a link connected to the port receiving a PTP event message, section 0042 Roberts) comprising the first message (see, an initial PTP message associated with a PTP packet, section 0063 Roberts).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs with the transmission of PTP packets as taught by Roberts. The motivation would have been to provide containers for transmission.
The combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 37 (Original), the apparatus of claim 36, wherein, to receive the second message comprising the one or more PTP parameters, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the one or more PTP parameters in a downlink port management information container comprising the second message.
However Roberts from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 36, wherein, to receive the second message comprising the one or more PTP parameters (see, PTP message with synchronization information, section 0025 Roberts), the at least one processor is configured to transmit the one or more PTP parameters (see, the packets containing information within time stamp correction field, section 0037 Roberts) in a downlink port management information container (see, downstream direction of a PTP packet, section 0037 Roberts; noted, a link connected to the port receiving a PTP event message, section 0042 Roberts) comprising the second message (see, a next PTP message associated with a second PTP packet, section 0065 Roberts).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Han, Gao, and Sachs with the transmission of PTP packets as taught by Roberts. The motivation would have been to provide containers for transmission.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473