DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana et al. (US 2020/0246771) in view of Jungo et al. (US Pat. 4,431,164) and Chen et al. (Talanta 107, 2013, 111-117).
Considering Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 12: Khurana et al. teaches a process for producing a hydrogel microsphere (¶0006) comprising generating by means of a capillary a monodisperse/controlled sized droplet (¶0006), incubating the droplet to induce gelation (¶0006); contacting the droplet with a reservoir fluid where the droplet is immiscible in the reservoir fluid (¶0032); and crosslinking the droplet in the reservoir fluid to form a hydrogel microsphere (Example 2). Khurana et al. implicitly teaches embodiments where the first fluid as being denser than the reservoir fluid (¶0084, “some examples” implies that there are other examples where the first fluid has a higher density). Khurana et al. teaches using a mixture of oils, such as mineral oil, silicon oil, or a perfluorinated oil (¶0084). As the oils have different chemical compositions, they would necessarily have different densities.
Khurana et al. does not teach generating the first droplet in a gaseous phase. However, Jungo et al. teaches forming gelled microspheres in a gaseous atmosphere with microwave heating during the crossing of the gaseous phase (2:1-30). Khurana et al. and Jungo et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogel microsphere formation. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the gaseous phase microwave heating step in the initial gelation step of Khurana et al., as in Jungo et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Jungo et al. suggests, to provide more control of the gelation of the microspheres (1:3-14).
Khurana et al. does not teach generating the droplets with a piezoelectric material connected to an alternative current generator. However, Chen et al. teaches a capillary system for forming droplets including a piezoelectric material connected to an actuator/an alternating current generator (Fig. 1). Chen et al. teaches the voltage forms droplets by separation (Section 2.6). Khurana et al. and Chen et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely forming droplets in a capillary system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the piezoelectric system of Chen et al. in the droplet formation of Khurana et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Chen et al. suggests, to precisely control the drop formation (Section 4).
Considering Claims 4 and 5: Khurana et al. teaches the first fluid as being an acrylamide and the second fluid as being a synthetic oil (¶0135).
Considering Claim 8: Khurana et al. teaches the reservoir fluid as comprising TEMED (¶0135).
Considering Claim 10: Khurana et al. teaches incubating the hydrogel precursor at a controlled temperature (¶0043).
Considering Claim 11: Khurana et al. teaches fist fluid as having a charge (¶0121).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana et al. (US 2020/0246771) in view of Jungo et al. (US Pat. 4,431,164) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (CN 1069162260). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 106916260.
Considering Claim 9: Khurana et al. and Jungo et al. collectively teach the process of claim 1 as shown above.
Khurana et al. teaches the first fluid as comprising potassium persulfate (¶0135). However, Ji et al. teaches ammonium persulphate as being a functional equivalent to potassium persulfate in forming hydrogel microspheres (pg. 3). Khurana et al. and Ji et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogel microspheres. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted ammonium persulphate for the potassium persulphate of Khurana et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ji et al. suggests, they are functional equivalent gel initiators (pg. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the frequency of the droplet formation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
B) In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). While Khurana et al. does not teach the claimed drop formation system, this is remedied by the newly applied Chen et al.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767