DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana et al. (US 2020/0246771) in view of Jungo et al. (US Pat. 4,431,164).
Considering Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 12: Khurana et al. teaches a process for producing a hydrogel microsphere (¶0006) comprising generating by means of a capillary a monodisperse/controlled sized droplet (¶0006), incubating the droplet to induce gelation (¶0006); contacting the droplet with a reservoir fluid where the droplet is immiscible in the reservoir fluid (¶0032); and crosslinking the droplet in the reservoir fluid to form a hydrogel microsphere (Example 2). Khurana et al. implicitly teaches embodiments where the first fluid as being denser than the reservoir fluid (¶0084, “some examples” implies that there are other examples where the first fluid has a higher density). Khurana et al. teaches using a mixture of oils, such as mineral oil, silicon oil, or a perfluorinated oil (¶0084). As the oils have different chemical compositions, they would necessarily have different densities.
Khurana et al. does not teach generating the first droplet in a gaseous phase. However, Jungo et al. teaches forming gelled microspheres in a gaseous atmosphere with microwave heating during the crossing of the gaseous phase (2:1-30). Khurana et al. and Jungo et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogel microsphere formation. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the gaseous phase microwave heating step in the initial gelation step of Khurana et al., as in Jungo et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Jungo et al. suggests, to provide more control of the gelation of the microspheres (1:3-14).
Considering Claims 4 and 5: Khurana et al. teaches the first fluid as being an acrylamide and the second fluid as being a synthetic oil (¶0135).
Considering Claim 8: Khurana et al. teaches the reservoir fluid as comprising TEMED (¶0135).
Considering Claim 10: Khurana et al. teaches incubating the hydrogel precursor at a controlled temperature (¶0043).
Considering Claim 11: Khurana et al. teaches fist fluid as having a charge (¶0121).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khurana et al. (US 2020/0246771) in view of Jungo et al. (US Pat. 4,431,164) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (CN 1069162260). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 106916260.
Considering Claim 9: Khurana et al. and Jungo et al. collectively teach the process of claim 1 as shown above.
Khurana et al. teaches the first fluid as comprising potassium persulfate (¶0135). However, Ji et al. teaches ammonium persulphate as being a functional equivalent to potassium persulfate in forming hydrogel microspheres (pg. 3). Khurana et al. and Ji et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely hydrogel microspheres. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted ammonium persulphate for the potassium persulphate of Khurana et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ji et al. suggests, they are functional equivalent gel initiators (pg. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 6, 2016 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the storage of biodegradable molecules) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767