DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions & Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are examined of which claims 1-5 were amended in Applicant’s reply.
Claims 6-8 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 May 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “wherein C, N, Si, Mn, Cr, Ni, and Cu represent contents by wt% of the elements, respectively” should not be parentheses. Further, the latter phase should recite what the recitations is applicable to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-5, Claim 1 recites “the remainder of Fe and other unavoidable impurities”. As the claim does not recite “unavoidable impurities” or define what “other unavoidable impurities” is, it is unclear what element or group of elements would encompass the term “other unavoidable impurities” of instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
(mass%)
Prior Art US’015
(mass%)
Prior Art EP’435
(mass%)
C
> 0 – 0.08
0.005 – 0.05
0.05 – 0.15
N
0.2 – 0.25
0.01 – 0.30
0.1 – 0.2
Si
0.8 – 1.5
0.1 – 2
0.7 – 2.5
Mn
8.0 – 9.5
0.1 – 15
8 – 9.9
Cr
15.0 – 16.5
11 – 20
13 – 15
Ni
> 0 – 1.0
0.5 – 8
0.2 or less
Cu
0.8 – 1.8
0.1 – 5
> 0 – 1.0
Fe +
impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0233015 A1 of Hamada (US’015).
Regarding claims 1-5, US 2010/0233015 A1 of Hamada (US’015) teaches “a stainless steel sheet used chiefly in structural components requiring strength and impact absorption capability, and particularly to a stainless steel sheet for automobile and bus impact absorption components such as front side members, pillars and bumpers, and for structural components such as vehicle suspension members and rims, railcar bodies and the like” “The inventors carried out a study on metal structure in relation to deformation mechanism at the time of sustaining high-speed deformation. As a result, they discovered a technique that enables improvement of impact energy absorption during high-speed deformation of an austenitic stainless steel while simultaneously achieving excellent sheet workability.” with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I. {abstract, [0001], [0008]-[0014], [0020]-[0041], claims 1-7}.
It is noted that the prior art is silent regarding expressions (1) to (4) of the instant claims. However, as the prior art discloses a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the various elements of the instant alloy overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art (see compositional analysis above), the ranges of the formulaic expression of the instant claims would also overlap or lie inside the values of the prior art resulting from the instant formulaic expressions. In addition, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Regarding claims 2-5, as noted above, it is unclear how these properties are connected to the stainless steel. If they are reciting the capability of the steel or in other words, the properties are directed to those being attained having a particular process performed in the future, the properties would be attained by doing the process on the steel of the prior art since the steel of the prior art and that of the instant steel have substantially identical composition (see above) and structure (austenitic stainless steel). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/059660 A1 via its English equivalent EP 3674435 A1 of Choi (EP’435).
Regarding claims 1-5, WO 2019/059660 A1 via its English equivalent EP 3674435 A1 of Choi (EP’435) teaches “a high strength and high ductility steel sheet suitable for structural materials such as automobiles and railroad tracks and more particularly, the present disclosure relates to a low alloy steel sheet with excellent strength and ductility by minimizing alloying elements such as Ni and controlling a microstructure with Cr and Mn as main components” “the microstructure of the low alloy steel sheet includes martensite phase at a volume fraction of 20% or less, and the remainder includes an austenite phase” “Therefore, it is preferable that the content of Cr is limited to 13.0 to 15.0% in order to solidify the initial phase into ferrite within the range of the desired alloying element and to maintain the corrosion resistance of the minimum stainless steel level.”with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I. {abstract, [0001], [0011]-[0054], claims 1-10}.
It is noted that the prior art is silent regarding expressions (1) to (4) of the instant claims. However, as the prior art discloses a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the various elements of the instant alloy overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art (see compositional analysis above), the ranges of the formulaic expression of the instant claims would also overlap or lie inside the values of the prior art resulting from the instant formulaic expressions. In addition, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
Regarding claims 2-5, as noted above, it is unclear how these properties are connected to the stainless steel. If they are reciting the capability of the steel or in other words, the properties are directed to those being attained having a particular process performed in the future, the properties would be attained by doing the process on the steel of the prior art since the steel of the prior art and that of the instant steel have substantially identical composition (see above) and structure (austenitic stainless steel). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). Moreover, the prior art teaches “the elongation of the low alloy steel sheet may be 30% or more” “the yield strength of the low alloy steel sheet is 520 MPa or more” {[0016]-[0018]} which reads on the properties of the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 Oct 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the arguments that the embodiments provided by the prior art do not teach the claimed matter, the arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).See MPEP § 2123.
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 716.02(d). To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 716.02(d) II. However, there is no data in the instant specification that clearly demonstrates the criticality of the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is deemed obvious over the prior art teachings.
As noted above, the prior art renders the instant claims obvious. If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification, In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 750, 34 USPQ2d 1684, 1687 (Fed. Cir. 1995), by counsel, In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 299, 36 USPQ2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fed. Cir. 1995), or by way of an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, e.g., Soni, 54 F.3d at 750, 34 USPQ2d at 1687; In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1474, 223 USPQ 785, 789-90 (Fed. Cir. 1984). However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP § 2145. Attorney argument is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art. The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration. See MPEP § 2145 I.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733